Fujifilm X-E2 Review

5.0
November 18, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 denton

“replaced instead by same high-resolution OLED electronic viewfinder as the X-E1. “

This isn’t exactly true, is it? Doesn’t the X-E2 have a faster refresh rate? That would make it different, I think.

5:49 pm - Monday, November 18, 2013

#2 David H Dennis

This review has at least one puzzling error: It says you can press the “View Mode” button to switch between the EVF and the LCD.  Actually, the View Mode button was removed from the previous XE1 and many people have complained vociferously about its absence.

Also in one spot it implied that there is an adjustment for parallax in the EVF, which of course is a very strange assertion considering that parallax exists only in rangefinder-style optical viewfinders, not EVFs.

Also, page 1 of the owners’ manual, which I downloaded while awaiting my XE2 to be delivered claims the paper manual is included, and I think at least one other review mentions that it is.  This review says there is no paper manual. 

In view of this, I wonder how much of this review was pre-written with the XE1 or some other Fuji camera model in mind

D

10:09 pm - Monday, November 18, 2013

#3 Jon

Thanks for a great review, the sample images are just not in the same league as my Nikon D600 and D800 with stabilised lenses but Id still consider one of these as a holiday camera

2:46 pm - Tuesday, November 19, 2013

#4 John White

Interesting review. The Fuji X series cameras are nice, but I really don’t like the RAW cooking thats going on under hood. Yes there’s less noise in the files, but at the expense of detail that you can’t ever get back. I’d rather have slightly more noise and more detail. So, will I put my NEX-7 up for sale? No, I don’t think so. Maybe the next generation Fuji sensors will be better.

2:31 pm - Friday, December 13, 2013

#5 karl bratby

thanks for the review, its certainly on my shopping list to complement my Xpro 1.

11:11 pm - Saturday, January 11, 2014

#6 Alex Hill

Fuji has lenses comparable to the Canon L line, from build to optics. They’re metallic from sun shield to mount, and the optics in my opinion surpass many Canon L’s. As for the X-Trans sensor, it competes on a par with the 5D mark III and D800, in both level of detail and ISO. So much so up to ISO 6400 and 12800, but beyond that it starts washing colors a bit. But at ISO 6400 there’s no difference between them. Probably the AF is the only big pro for the DSLRs (and the optical viewfinder).

The Fuji X-E2 - all that you wanted to know: http://maxcnash.com/maxs-review-of-the-fujifilm-x-e2/

8:47 pm - Friday, January 31, 2014

#7 Tim L

I came over to say exactly what David Dennis has already put quite well.  This reads like a cut-and-paste review from another camera combined with information from Fuji’s press release.

1.  There is no View Mode button.  Seriously, someone pointed this out 6 months ago and you haven’t correct it?

2.  There is no such thing as parallax error with an EVF.

3.  The AF speed was not measured with the 18-50.  It was measured with a 14mm f/2.8.

There may be others.  I quit reading at this point.

1:20 am - Thursday, April 17, 2014

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, 1080p, samples, lens, test, compact system camera, jpeg, camera, sample images, full hd, mirrorless, csc, raw, digital slr, sample, retro, 60fps, 18mm, 55mm, rangefinder, videos, xe1, 16.3 megapixel, x-e2, xe2, fujifilm x-e2, fujifilm x-e2 review

Tracker Pixel for Entry