Fujifilm X-T1 Review

5.0
February 4, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ruslan

Correct: “(2103) was a great year for compact system cameras” Thanks for the great review!

12:19 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#2 Eric Ouellet

Thanks for the great review. You did not talk that much (or I don’t see it ???) about movie quality and focus in it ? I would have appreciate to have a little bit more info about movie. But thanks so much it’s nice to have so quick review!

3:25 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#3 Francois Gervais

Hello! Very nice review. But, please don’t throw away your Fuji E-X1, or your Fuji x100s.

3:48 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#4 SUBRAMONIAM S

Good review. How’s the AF speed?

your review of X-E2 made my wallet lighter last month. Great camera it is. my DSLR now gathers dust.

4:52 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#5 Dave

On the first page, the review praised the autofocus speed, but then said that the CAF (at least for video?) hunts. 

Can we get some more explanation.  Is it just the video AF that is hunting, or it is just the C-AF?  Is the video AF different?

Every camera focuses pretty quick in bright light with unmoving subjects.  The new breed of cameras seem to be making improvements with low-light, tracking, and C-AF. 

Is Fuji keeping up with Olympus in the AF wars?  If so, then this is some pretty big news.  Even if they are in the same ballpark, it would be nice to hear a subjective opinion.

5:25 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#6 Pete

It does not come in Silver AFAIK, and it does not have an OVF (in the part where you talk about the distance scale in the viewfinder).

6:10 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#7 steven k

I assume base ISO RAW IQ is identical to the XE-2?

9:47 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#8 Eric Ouellet

:-) ... Thanks a lot to add more information about the movie. That answer my interrogations and you did it super fast! Thanks Mark.

1:38 am - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#9 Aires

Thank you for the very informative review. It official, I need this camera

2:02 am - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#10 Jim McDermott

The K7 (!!!!) is Pentax’s only competitor for this camera? Really? A camera that hasn’t been produced for 3 years? K5II? K5IIS? K3? Being bribed by Canikon, are we?

3:22 am - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#11 Mark Hillyer

Thanks for a great review - I have the money saved and burning a hole in my pocket. I just want to actually pick one up and have a play before parting with the cash.  I just hope that Adobe can finally update Lightroom 4/5 to retain the film emulations!!

2:48 pm - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#12 Brian Eaves

Is there a setup menu for owners name or Copyright? So my name can be embed in the RAW files

5:50 pm - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#13 Rick Van Coevering

The styling of the camera body of the Fuji X-T1 is neither new nor unique to the X series: it is based upon the design of the X-S1 with the same rubberized coating on the camera body and similar ergonomics. 

 

2:39 pm - Tuesday, February 11, 2014

#14 Mike S.

Seems like the whole review beats around the bush when it comes to auto-focus accuracy and speed…...which could only mean one thing.

I’m a huge fan of Fuji and their philosophy, but it’s time they hit the nail on the head when it comes to auto-focus. It’s the only thing that’s holding me back from fully diving in. I’m sure I’m not alone on this.

1:14 am - Wednesday, February 12, 2014

#15 logan ross

Hi,
I was wondering whether you experienced improved shutter-blackout tines for the evf. I am currently using an x-e1 and the black out period is long enough to prevent certain types of shooting.  Thank you.

1:49 am - Wednesday, February 12, 2014

#16 Alex B

Thank you for your review, it is very helpful. I would like to hear more about your impressions on the speed of the auto focusing on moving subjects. Would the x-t1 be sutible for sports photography?

5:18 am - Friday, February 14, 2014

#17 Thy

Hi,

In your image comparison, the jpeg looks pink while the raw looks red. Which one is closest to the actual color?

Is there any way to set the camera to compensate for this issue?

Thanks

3:10 pm - Friday, February 28, 2014

#18 Randolph

The reviewer made a HUGE MISTAKE.

On the first page, it says “Firstly, there’s a handy blue distance scale along the bottom of the viewfinder (both the OVF and EVF) and on the LCD screen if you’re using that for composition.”

There is NO OVF on the XT1.

Can’t believe this mistake hasn’t been corrected in a month since making this review public.

2:03 am - Thursday, March 27, 2014

#19 Jonathan

Re Silent Mode, I’m really disappointed you got this wrong:

“....and most importantly the shutter-release sound, instantly making the X-T1 perfectly suited to candid photography”.

Silent mode DOESN’T disable the shutter-release sound!

It was a major buying criteria for me.

6:26 am - Saturday, July 19, 2014

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, 1080p, samples, 16 megapixel, lens, test, compact system camera, jpeg, camera, wi-fi, sample images, wireless, full hd, mirrorless, csc, dslr, wifi, raw, sample, digital slr, EVF, retro, 60fps, 18mm, rangefinder, 55mm, electronic viewfinder, slr, videos, 18-55mm, remote, x-t1, xt1, 50-230mm, fujifilm x-t1, x-t1 review, fujifilm x-t1 review, interval timer

Tracker Pixel for Entry