Fujifilm XQ1 Review

4.5
November 25, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mary

Been waiting on this review and I am impressed.  Looks like the Canon S120 has been replaced by the XQ1 as the best pocket camera.

8:30 pm - Monday, November 25, 2013

#2 Marco

Too late to be good…even if it’s really a nice toy.
No way to knock out Sony Rx100….
Of course a 1 inch sensor would have changed the whole matter.

7:25 am - Tuesday, November 26, 2013

#3 Cesare

Interesting review. Obviously all depends of what you are looking for.  Wide angle : XQ1 , weight : XQ1 , cost : XQ1 - QUALITY OF THE SHOTS : Sony RX100. Finally all depends of your wallet and of the dimension of your shirt pockets !!

2:50 pm - Tuesday, November 26, 2013

#4 ian drury

Thanks for your review, it certainly has the features to become a good alternative to the RX100 especially if like me your funds won’t stretch to the Sony.
Seems like Fuji have listened to the lens & switch problems of the XF1 & sorted it out for the better.
Looking at the sample photos the results are very good to my untrained eyes.
Next to find a stockist where I can go to test an XQ1 out against some of the rivals.

This just might prove to be my next serious compact !

9:53 pm - Tuesday, November 26, 2013

#5 Eric

The Nikon Coolpix A is the best compact camera by far.

2:10 am - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#6 Thijs

Thanks for the review, very helpful and I can’t wait to test it in the store.
Anyone knows when this camera will be launched in Europe (the Netherlands especially)?

7:35 pm - Thursday, November 28, 2013

#7 uzevla

Even here, people talk about image quality and just say that RX100 is “better” (1” sensor, Exmor etc). What to expect from common people just looking to buy premium compact ?
Of course, sony knows all this (after all, they are in marketing more than in photo equipment) so Fuji doesn’t stand a chance…
However, just for me, I would like the owners to give us more insight about this camera (Note: quality of image is not important if I DON’T have the image to compare). So, my issue is: I need fast/quick shooter.

What’s the flash sync speed ? (shooting kids outdoor, sometimes in the sun, will have ZERO image quality on RX100. Why? without flash, you won’t see faces. With fill-in flash, it’s all white as that’s what you get from ~1/200 sync speed).

What’s the flash recycle time ?
quick shoots indoor - RX100 will give you NO image quality during 5sec when flash recycles - simply because you cannot take pictures in-between :)

Zoom speed ?
Is it manual zoom ring like on XF1 ?

Image quality on the zoom end ?
RX100 is crap.

What’s the LCD quality?
I don’t expect the LCD from RX100 but a regular 900K 3” LCD (e.g. any cheap DSLR)
Hopefully, this is not some “improved” version of the LCD from X100 or X-E1, with no visibilty in the sun, including that horrible “sunlight” mode with all that fake software contrast.

3:27 am - Monday, December 2, 2013

#8 uzevla

Was able to find some more info on this camera:
Flash recycle: 1.3 sec from shoot to shoot with flash on.
Flash sync speed: 1/4000

Too sad these parameters are completely irrelevant to regular people just looking to buy P&S.
Together with phase detection AF and it’s low light capabilities, this seems like a much better camera than RX100.

4:25 am - Tuesday, December 3, 2013

#9 mulder

I like the camera and i think it would suit me well, but i can’t see any sample image with satisfying sharpness. This is not what i expect of a camera without a low pass filter. Am i the only one who’s missing sharpness?

10:57 pm - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#10 Andy

How does the XQ1 compare with the S120?

10:55 pm - Sunday, December 8, 2013

#11 Dave

Inferior to the RX100 series?  I have owned both the Rx100 and Rx100 M2 and returned both of them.  Most over-rated cameras on the planet.  Irritating to use. Awful menus.  Cold uninspiring colors. Cameras only a pixel peeper could love.  If you think the best way to judge wine quality is with a chemistry instead of sipping the wen, then the RX100 series is for you.  Not a camera for phitographers, but a camera for geeks who think photography is purely about specs and measurement.

I have also owned the Fuji XF1, X10, X20, Canon S110, and S120.  All of these with the exception of the XF1 and its awkward handling are vastly more satisfying to she, with very pleasing results for people who appreciate pictures more than pixels.

I have also owned for XQ1 for a week now.  It is easily my favourite convenience camera. By far the fastest operation and autofocus of the entire group. Awesome Fuji colors that mean far more than a nerd’s game of pixel peeping.  Excellent ergonomics, and intuitive fast access to all settings,  and…Get this…. The first USB charger based camera allows you to use the camera while plugged into power, and actually operates off USBpower, no need for a ridiculous expensive, DC kit to run the camera from a plugged in power source.

In my experience the Fuji XQ1 easily and decisively dethrones the vastly over rated and overpriced RX100 series. It is IMO the current king of ultra compact digital cameras.  Only major flaw, the worst in class, wireless connectivity.  What an embarrassment to Fuji.  Some at Fuji deserves to fall on a sword over the terrible wireless feature on this camera?

8:29 am - Sunday, December 15, 2013

#12 Eugene

In my opinion the clickless control ring must be replaced with a control ring having positiv clicks! This is the only thing why I will not buy this XQ1.

1:14 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#13 jan

i tried this camera and returned it,why?
everybody is looking at specifications,but you have to take pictures and then make your judgement.
i find;xq1 is a verry fast camera,deleting pictures are fast,very fast shutter speed,startup time.
in the dark give this camera a very good picture.
But,i have taken in daylight pictures of my son,this picture is not so sharp as the canon sx280.always a bit softer.try standard mode and the adjust the iso and f valeu..
i take some micro shots from flowers.I am missing for this price the crisp picture that canon sx280 can produce.believe me,i tried to convince myself
that it was my fault,but after trying and trying i know that i have to made a choice between speed or quality. 
The xq1 is the winner in dark light an speed.
Speed is very important for me but crisp pictures more..

11:46 am - Friday, January 31, 2014

#14 uzevla

As Dave indicated above, RX100 is horrible when it comes to that feeling you got a photographer’s camera. It really is a P&S and has many limits.
Would never settle for it otherwise but for me Fuji just failed. Horrible pictures. Maybe I and Jan got bad samples as all the pics I see on internet look much better…
These days I am learning to use RX100 again - which aperture is ok to use, doing PP on every single picture, keeping flash on the lowest so it recycles in ~2sec…
After all, both cameras are 400$ now so RX100 seems like a better value these days…

12:34 am - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#15 jan

i see now that we are getting next month the panasonic tz60 with 30x zoom;lets hope that is a winner,i save my money for now until i found samples on flickr.
normaly i going today to get the pana fz200,but i like wifi and a smaller cam,

9:16 am - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#16 Jay

Ah - I am tempted - but is it better than my trusty f31d? A true fuji classic ...

9:36 pm - Thursday, February 13, 2014

#17 Jazzist

The xq1 is £269 on Amazon.co.uk, minus £30 cash back from Fuji.

The rx100 is £369 minus £50 cash back from Sony.

If the Fuji is even in the same ball park it’s by far the better buy.

3:50 pm - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

#18 MM

Been owning this camera for 2-3 months now and can say it’s an absolute pleasure for the price/size bracket; it’s equal or somehow better than the S120, lower price with superb shutter response. Not the RX100 but the price is about 30% lower too and will probably continue to drop.
You could get some older Olympus or Panasonic models with similar picture quality, but if you also need to pull out 60fps, 1080p video once in a while and possibly squeeze some decent 4x slomo in post production, older models just won’t cut it.

9:56 am - Friday, September 5, 2014

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, compact, review, 1080p, samples, images, 12 megapixel, camera, wi-fi, wireless, full hd, manual, jpegs, fujifilm, compact camera, wifi, 1920x1080, zoom, 4x zoom, 25mm, smartphone, f1.8, retro, premium, digital, 4x, 12fps, advanced, rx100, xq1, Fujifilm XQ1, fujifilm xq1 review, fujifilm xq1, Fujifilm XQ1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry