Nikon 1 J2 Review

4.0
October 26, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jan Toude

The lack of auto exposure bracketing is to some extent compensated by in-camera HDR mode: “Backlighting. When HDR (high dynamic range) is turned on while in backlighting mode, the camera composites images taken at different exposures.” Source: http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/acil/bodies/j2/features02.htm

How to use in-camera HDR: Nikon 1 J2 User’s manual, P.30. See http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/Nikon1/1J2UM_EN.pdf

Sample photos taken in Backlighting HDR mode (compared to Active D-Lighting) may be found in the Japanese Nikon 1 J2 review: http://dc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/review/newproduct/20121003_563597.html

5:18 pm - Friday, October 26, 2012

#2 alansky

On paper, the J1 and J2 look good. In real life, they remind me of kitchen appliances more than cameras.

9:16 pm - Monday, October 29, 2012

#3 Mark Rauter

Oh dear… is there any chance that somebody make the review pics who knows a little bit about photography?!
Most of the pics with absolutly useless setings?!
Same with the review of the Nikon J2.

For example Pic No. 14:
who the hell would use f11 and ISO1600 in daylight?? Also you should know that apartures smaller than 7-8 reduce the quality of the lense (diffraction).

Or pic 41? Why F16?
No one would do so!

Or Pic 46:
Do u think that it is a great idea to demonstrate iso12800 in bright light with f8 and 1/200s!!
Hey guys, everybody would use open apartures in lowlight , maybe one stop down, and much lower isos, maybe 400 or 800, for such a pic!

It would be very helpfull to get an impression of high iso capabilities to make a nightsession and take ISO1600-6400 with open apartures and shutter speeds between 1/10 and 1/100s.
Only in darker areas you will see how the noise reduction works, not in sunlight and with ISO3200!

But nevertheless, thanks for your efforts!

9:46 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#4 fotoartysta

nikon p7700 - offers best image quality best lens

3:01 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#5 fotoartysta

nikon p 7700 - is best camera - best lens best image quality , bez white balance

3:03 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#6 Sheila

I just recently got the Nikon 1 J2 and LOVE it!! I was just wondering if anyone can help me tho…i go to a lot of concerts and would like to know what setting is best to use for taking pictures at concerts/ what lens i would need.  (I’m not looking for professional photos, but good quality pics)

1:07 am - Saturday, December 29, 2012

#7 Natasha

Sheila, try a good book about photography basics or a workshop. The J2 is a nice little camera. It offers the same image quality as the more expensive V1, but in a much smaller body. If size and weight are important to you, get the J2. If you need a viewfinder, more grip and double the battery life, get the V1. Nowadays the V1 is ver cheap and if you look hard enough, you’ll find a V1 kit for less money then the J2 kit!

7:46 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#8 CILLA

with Nikon J2 can I print picture with the date on it? Seems like I could only see the date while in camera but once I transfer to my computer, date is gone. Please advise how and thank you.

5:53 pm - Thursday, July 25, 2013

#9 Thanh Lee

I have a Nikon J2. I can’t turn on the camera. Help me!

5:00 am - Sunday, October 27, 2013

#10 bak

Same problem. My NIkon J2 doesn’t turn on.
How to reset ?

7:38 am - Monday, December 9, 2013

#11 Reza Nasih Ulwan

I just bought my J2 about 1 month ago in Malaysia.. I bring it here in France where the weather colder than Malaysia. After 4days, I cant open it. help me

9:16 am - Sunday, May 11, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, hdmi, compact system camera, nikon, mirrorless, csc, RAW, 1080i, 10fps, 10 megapixel, 60fps, stereo sound, NEF, nikon j2, nikon j2 review, 1 J2 Review, Nikon 1 J2 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry