Nikon 1 Nikkor 10mm f/2.8 Review

4.5
November 17, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Igor

What about distortion?
Sharpness: How much lines in stadart test table could it distinguish?

5:26 pm - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#2 Lomography

This prime looks really good I like the silver color but how sharp is it? I am looking to purchase this weekend.

8:34 pm - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#3 Dan

Is it me or do all the shots I have seen so far with the 10mm f/2.8 look flat?

2:08 am - Friday, November 18, 2011

#4 Andry simpson

Wow amazing. I want this. where i can buy this in los angeles?

4:29 pm - Saturday, November 19, 2011

#5 Steve Dunham

I’d be interested how this compares to the X100 when used for street candids. Incidentally, to my eyes at least, from the images shown, f4 looks sharper than f2.8 - which disagrees with what is stated in the text.

6:00 pm - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#6 Giles Whittaker

Are you sure this is a VR (vibration reduction) lens as you say?
In spite of Amazon’s title for this lens I do not believe it, as it is not supported by what Nikon says.
VR makes lenses bigger, which is presumably why it would have been omitted. The zooms do have VR.

11:24 am - Tuesday, July 24, 2012

#7 Greg

I would have blown the dust off the lens before taking close-up pics of it for this review.

However, the review is thorough and the lens looks like a great prime for Nikon’s new(ish) baby.

4:13 pm - Wednesday, August 29, 2012

#8 Nick

The Nikon 1 10mm f/2.8 doesn’t have VR nor is it sharpest at f/2.8. This lens is sharpest at f/4. However, I think it’s perfectly usable at f/2.8. Sharpness and contrast are a little lower, but this is something that can be fixed in post processing.

5:58 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#9 Jerry

The build quality of this lens is really surprisingly good. The lens barrel and the bayonet are metal. The lens has a good weight, focussing is internal and the ribbed ring provides a good grip. Very well done!

6:08 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#10 Angus Whitton

Looks like a bargain for £109.92 - however after following that link I couldn’t find it at that price.

10:04 am - Thursday, November 7, 2013

Entry Tags

review, wide-angle, lens, prime, landscape, nikon 1, kit lens, pancake, 10, Nikon 1 Nikkor 10mm f2.8, 10mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry