Nikon 1 S1 Review

4.0
February 25, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jay

The new NEX 3 N at the same price is a very formidable competitor.
The NEX 3 F is discontinued.

http://www.dpreview.com/news/2013/02/25/Just-Posted-Sony-NEX-3N-hands-on-preview

2:59 am - Tuesday, February 26, 2013

#2 Fine Art Photography Atlanta

this is a good camera. professionals are used this type of camera. and nikon is worlds truste band. http://www.karenimages.com/fineart.php

7:52 am - Tuesday, February 26, 2013

#3 bill

This is a very nice little camera but it is priced $100 too high so it does not fare as well in comparisons.  The problem I have with the Sony and it’s APS sensor are the lenses needed for it are not well matched in size to the body.  The Nikon 1’s with the one inch sensor are much more portable.

3:43 am - Wednesday, February 27, 2013

#4 Jim

Have a look at the size of the new Sony NEX 3N and its new zoom lens for size and weight.

3:58 am - Wednesday, February 27, 2013

#5 Gum Shoe Mike

I tried the NEX 3 F for a few days the specs look good on paper.  The glare on screen in even partial shade was bad.  That why I think the NEX 6 is so popular because of the viewfinder.  I tried N1 cameras and so far better outside.  I not fan of powerzoom lens as the primary shooting lens.  Different strokes for different folks.

9:24 pm - Thursday, February 28, 2013

#6 Jim

The NEX 3 N is not the NEX 3 F…..
Don’t confuse the two…

11:33 pm - Thursday, February 28, 2013

#7 Adam

Jim,

Have you seen the size of the Sony 55-210mm lens compared to the Nikon 30-110mm?  Portability wise, the Nikon wins.  Hopefully Sony can shrink the longer zooms like they did with the 16-50mm.

8:41 pm - Friday, March 1, 2013

#8 Eric

This camera has the same size sensor as the Sony RX100, but it has half the number of pixels, so each of its pixels must be twice as big as those of the Sony.

So why is there more noise in the Nikon’s raw images than in the Sony’s.

3:49 pm - Wednesday, November 13, 2013

#9 abdullah al ahmed

I agree with mr.vasquez, nikon s9200 is better than nikon j1 and s1. And yes…colonel mc laden purchased s9200 on ebay about a couple of months ago

8:18 am - Sunday, June 29, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, compact system camera, hdmi, nikon, mirrorless, csc, RAW, 10 megapixel, 60fps, stereo sound, NEF, 15fps, nikon s1, Nikon 1 S1 Review, nikon s1 review, 1 S1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry