Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G ED Review

4.5
November 16, 2010 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Rupert Stubbs

It’s a fantastic lens. Don’t underestimate the value of being able to isolate subjects together with a bigger sense of place.

I took it to Africa earlier this year, and got shots I would never have dreamed of without it - especially at dawn and dusk, the two most evocative times.

4:28 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#2 Frank Stanton

Great review; excellent sample pictures. Would you ever consider reviewing the Tokina 11-16 mm f2.8 wide angle zoom for the Nikon mount? It would be interesting to see if it might be a viable alternative to the Nikon wide angle zooms with regard to price ($600.00 US). Thanks

10:10 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#3 Derek

hey, Frank , the Tokina is a DX lens.

11:06 am - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

#4 Frank Stanton

What is your point? I asked about reviewing the Tokina 11-16mm lens with a Nikon mount as a low cost, but high speed alternanative to “Nike wide angle zooms.”. I said nothing about DX versus FX or single focal length. I said “Zooms”, not this particular wide angle (12mm); in other words, all Nikon wide angle zooms. The operative words are “wide angle” and “price”, not DX or FX. Get it? Perhaps English is your second language. Perhaps you ought to keep quiet, Mr. Expert!

11:43 am - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

#5 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Frank,

sorry for not replying to you earlier. To get back to your original question, we wouldn’t rule out reviewing Tokina lenses in the future. What we review (and when) always depends on a number of factors, including reader feedback, availability of review samples, our workloads and so forth. Your suggestion is highly appreciated, and we’ll definitely keep it in mind as we move forward.

9:24 pm - Friday, December 24, 2010

#6 Harvey

I thought this was a great review of superb lens.

Its a grave shame that Frank Stanton was so rude to the reviewer in his second post. Really Frank, must you be so rude? Its people like this that lower the tone of these excellent review sites.

10:33 pm - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#7 Daryl

I’m new to this site and enjoyed the review.  Your listing of other reviews is a first (that I’ve seen) and much appreciated. I’ll be coming back often.  The technicals such as Mtf curves show this lens to be world class, outdoing the likes of the Leica 21mm f1.4 Summilux for the Leica M, quite an accomplishment for a slr lens to outdo a rangefinder lens.  Nikon appears to be upping their game in primes to match the new megapixel cameras.

4:06 am - Saturday, February 18, 2012

Entry Tags

wide-angle, lens, nikon, 24mm, prime, landscape, wide angle, nikkor, f1.4, photojournalist, journalism, journalists, ultrawide, ultra-wide, 24 mm, Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24mm f1.4G ED Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry