Nikon AF-S Nikkor 85mm f/1.8G Review

4.5
February 16, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Garry Knight

In your second paragraph, you say: “Weighing in at approximately 350 grams, the AF-S Nikkor 85mm f/1.8G is fairly lightweight for a medium telezoom lens”. You might want to change the penultimate word.

Also, the price seems a little steep to me, especially when the 50mm f/1.8G sells for about £180.

12:03 am - Friday, February 17, 2012

#2 John

If it’s sluggish in focusing, it won’t be so good as a portrait lens for moving children.I find that young children are very quick and instant reactions are needed.

1:17 pm - Friday, February 17, 2012

#3 Chris Milner Photography

Pity theres no 1.4, or even 1.2 version to rival Canon, but then again that would make the price go sky high!

2:29 pm - Friday, February 17, 2012

#4 Andy

The lens isn’t made mostly from plastic. It’s magnesium.

2:38 am - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#5 Stylus

Chris what are you talking about there is a 1.4 version already

2:48 am - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#6 Mike

Well Nikon users should be happy because now they can have 35/1.8, 50/1.8 and 85/1.8. These lenses have very good price/performance ratio and they don’t cost a fortune - even together still less than £1000!

I hope Nikon will make another affordable lens which should be (from my point of view) 24/1.8:)

7:22 pm - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#7 mg428

What does the reviewer mean in his review with “The one exception is the lack of built-in Vibration Reduction, although the fast maximum aperture of f1/8 makes up for this to some extent (even the premium 85mm f/1.4 lens doesn’t offer this feature)”??

3:41 pm - Monday, February 20, 2012

#8 Mister

So, does anyone have side by side comparison with this lens and the 1.8D ?? So far, I am not seeing any reason to waste my money and upgrade to this lens, I love my 1.8D. By now I can see some sites that are posting tests on the new G lens, but NOT COMPARING the lens with the 1.8D, I wonder why?? Because maybe there just not enough reason to upgrade IF YOU ALREADY HAVE THE 1.8D
Was this lens made only for folks that simply have a camera that does not have the lens motor? Even is you did not have a 85mm lens, you can still buy the 1.8D at a BARGAIN PRICE now. I really dont care about silent lens, dont need it, some people i am sure they do, and this G lens is made of MAGNESIUM?? how much of a fraction of that material did Nikon put in it?? Again, i would like to see side by side comparison with the 1.8D.

6:38 pm - Monday, February 20, 2012

#9 fred

It seems to me the D model needs to be stopped down to get the same image quality as the G. In the samples it looks like 1.8g @ 1.8 = 1.8d @ 2.8

http://mgphotographer.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/nikon-85mm-1-8g-vs-1-8d-vs-1-4d-small-experiment/

2:58 pm - Thursday, February 23, 2012

#10 Mister

I just want to say something about the 1.8D lens when is set to f1.8. I have taken some beautiful, beautiful photos of friends and my kids at certain light circunstances, where their faces(skin tone) look “angelical” with that nice blurry look, THAT I COULD NOT GET WITH A SHARPER LENS, that is just the beauty of the 1.8D, in MY OPINION. IN FACT, when i have used other sharp lenses, people have complained that their white hair, or pimple or wrinkles are visible and they get embarrased by it. I know that the new G lens is sharper and more detailed even at f1.8 already. This is just a personal comment and observation, even though i like the performance of the new g lens, i really don’t think I need it, at least I WILL NOT GET RID OF MY 1.8D.

1:51 am - Saturday, February 25, 2012

#11 MrMoo

Ken Rockwell will be publishing a comparison with the 1.8D among others in the coming days

12:35 pm - Thursday, March 1, 2012

#12 Mister

Just want to let everyone know that I was in between selling my Nikkor 85mm 1.8D and using the money to get this sharper 1.8G, OR just keeping my 1.8D.

I made one of the best decisions in my life, I did sell my 1.8D and purchased the BLODDY, SOLID, INEXPENSIVE ROKINON 85mm 1.4 MANUAL FOCUS for my D7000 and I am BLOWN AWAY!!

I was scared in making this move beause of reviews saying that this lens is extremely difficult to use. BULL PUCKY!! This SWEAT lens is very easy and FUN to use. It teaches you to be an artist, improve your technics, and yes, be PATIENT and to pay attention. If you are impatient or have bad eye sight this is not the lens for you or ANY manual focus.

The Rokinon IS NOT FOR FAST MOVING SUBJECTS(manual focus), it is a PORTRAIT LENS, but this thing is VERY SHARP at 1.4 already, and the BOKEH IS INCREDIBLE. I personally do not see the Nikon 1.4D or the CHEAP MADE Sigma 1.4 to be any better. I am not a proffecional, just got into this hobby within the last three years and THIS IS MY FIRST MANUAL FOCUS LENS EVER. Is a shame what manufacturers are doing to reduce cost, making lenses made out of plastic WITH MOVING MOTORS IN THEM??? Althou Nikon is putting a better GLASS in the new 1.8G, this is the one and ONLY reason why I did not buy it, I just have a gut feeling that those lenses will not last, just as Ken Rockwell mentions in his reviews. Is just common sence. They sure don’t make things like they used to.

7:19 am - Sunday, March 11, 2012

#13 Ian Reynolds

Has anyone compared this in terms of image quality with the 85mm 1.4G ? Just trying to work out if it’s worth the extra cash.

8:58 pm - Sunday, October 12, 2014

Entry Tags

review, lens, test, nikon, f1.8, nikkor, 85mm, nikon 85mm, nikkor 85mm, Nikon AF-S Nikkor 85mm f1.8G

Tracker Pixel for Entry