Nikon Coolpix A Review

4.0
March 22, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

I like it for its size, otherwise too expensive and half baked compare to X100S. If the price goes down by 40%, I’ll buy it…

4:49 pm - Friday, March 22, 2013

#2 Red

Thank you for a well done review!

5:16 pm - Friday, March 22, 2013

#3 david

What are those three bright blobs to the left of the large tree in this sample?
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/nikon_coolpix_a/sample_images/nikon_coolpix_a_11.jpg

5:47 pm - Friday, March 22, 2013

#4 JS

Police choppers or burnt pixels??? UFO?

6:49 pm - Friday, March 22, 2013

#5 Ben

My god, a Nikon with an ISO button…..i am in shock!

7:36 pm - Friday, March 22, 2013

#6 Maesstro

If someone is interested theres some cameras comparison:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/81213985@N04/8578912232/in/photostream

7:59 pm - Friday, March 22, 2013

#7 Boon Goh

I’m surprised that Sigma’s DP1 Merrill isn’t listed as one of the CoolPix A’s rivals. It has an APS-C sensor, a 28mm (35mm equiv.) fixed lens, is about as compact, and costs less. It’ll be interesting to see how the CoolPix A’s no-AA Filter sensor compares to Sigma’s Foveon X3 sensor.  Enlarged prints (24"x36” and larger) from the DPx Merrill series have been very favorably compared to Full Frame DSLRs (by TheCameraStoreTV and Lloyd Chambers).

6:39 pm - Saturday, March 23, 2013

#8 Nikolay Mirchev

Nice review, but I think the price tag for such a camera is too high.

11:07 pm - Saturday, March 23, 2013

#9 Chris

Thanks for the review but just to point out - The camera does not have a 28mm lens, it has a 18.5mm lens that provides a FOV equiv. to 28mm in full frame terms. I’m sure you know, but the author of the review should be more precise in the description so that it does not mislead readers. Cheers.

2:53 am - Sunday, March 24, 2013

#10 BlackBox

Hmm… judging by the price Nikon is now spelled Hasselblad. I’m sorry but this price is ridiculous. It should cost LESS than the DSLRs this sensor was taken from - less moving parts, no bayonet. The only reason it’s priced so high is because it’s in the same group as Sigma DPs and the ridiculously overpriced Sony RX1.

12:00 pm - Sunday, March 24, 2013

#11 V.R. Rubin

I need read no further than “28m/m fixed lens. I’m sure the lens is a joy- but I don’t believe the majority of serious photogs use a 28 as a “normal” lens. As part of the old school of Leica/Nikon photogs- I find anything under 40m/m too wide for street photography. Obviously this is personal taste.

3:32 pm - Sunday, March 24, 2013

#12 frank cangialosi

why not $2099.95!

6:39 pm - Sunday, March 24, 2013

#13 Daniel

The thing i like about Nikon is their endless photo imaging options and speedy operation. The sample images looks good. Capturing precious moments with so much precision is worth paying for.

1:52 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#14 Mad Hungarian

I can’t buy this camera, it is too cheap.

4:07 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#15 MadMax

Almost same price of Fuji x 100S ?!
Ok, it’s smaller, but it doesn’t seem a good deal to me.

7:40 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#16 Thomas Mayer

Good product, like always with Nikon. I used it for a week and that’s a really good product. Ergonomic, strong and quick.

5:39 pm - Sunday, April 21, 2013

#17 aperture

my brother bought a nikon cool pix. we really loves nikon cameras :) very handy and easy to use :) -Julie

2:22 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#18 nigel

I want one - makes me remember my Nikon 28 Ti film camera.

Big sensor, good lens, small size, lovely controls, not as ‘hipster’ trendy as an X100(S) - what’s not to like?

Oh yeah the price - $500 less than the X100S here, sign me up :-)

4:21 am - Saturday, June 1, 2013

#19 andy

Now for sale in Hong Kong for 500 USD, at that price is there anything to compare?

5:49 am - Saturday, November 29, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, hdmi, nikon, coolpix, 28mm, wideangle, APS-C, 4fps, DX, a, 1.5x, Nikon Coolpix A Review, nikon a review, D7000

Tracker Pixel for Entry