Nikon Coolpix L110 Review

4.0
July 12, 2010 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

34 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 I love this Nikkon!!!!

So I’m totally sold on this. For a point and shoot, it’s got all the features I could as for. I’m just a little iffy on the price. Did anyone else find it cheaper than me? (The link is in this post title)

1:26 am - Tuesday, July 13, 2010

#2 Debt Management

The controls are basic, though. More expensive superzooms boast a full set of program-auto-exposure, aperture-priority, shutter-priority and manual-exposure modes, just like dSLRs, but you don’t get those with the L22.

9:58 am - Tuesday, July 13, 2010

#3 Craig

I would like to know how the L110 stacks up aganist the Fujifilm 1800 for picture quality. I’ve heard a lot of reviewers say, “Don’t make large prints from the L 110” What do they mean by large prints? I made a lot of 8x10’s and some people wanted to know if they were taken bt a professional. I guess it depends who’s looking at the pictures

12:40 am - Thursday, July 15, 2010

#4 fiona

Has anyone used this camera in low light eg concerts,club’s etc…also close up portraits…
Could u let me know if you would recommend this camera or any others for for these uses ...

9:21 pm - Sunday, July 25, 2010

#5 Sujith Nair

I own this camera and am pretty much satisfied with the functionalities of the camera. Photos taken using macro mode (close-up) is very good, so is HD video mode. I recommend this camera for budding photographers like me.

6:42 pm - Friday, August 6, 2010

#6 Abhik

SLR’s 2nd Younger Brothr….if u hav got good sense over photography u can click nice pics wid this cam .....View Finder is missing:( quit disapointing ...but d screen takes it al…over n al i"l 8 out of 10…....Good camera within this Price Range..!!! :)

1:17 pm - Thursday, August 12, 2010

#7 john

Wow. You guys (the website) seem disatisfied with anything affordable. “Satisfactory”? Nice. Try to review items in relative, yes relative, terms.

1:25 pm - Monday, November 29, 2010

#8 beth

I got this a few days back and I am going to take it back for a refund. I paid $199 at walmart black friday for it. The pics where not any sharper than a new cheap kodak cam that cost me $69. The So called HD video was choppy unless a tripod is used with it , as i find that useless. The sensor is small in order to get the pixel rating higher. The auto mode is terrible as most of the time it does NOT use the flash! overall do not waste your $$ on this piece of junk

3:41 am - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#9 Dr.Vijay

Can someone please tell me how to used Nikon L110 at its best ?
I am unable get good snaps.

9:44 am - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#10 Kristina

Yea some of the shots r blurry but i dun think its from me not havin a steady hand? need some tips on how to get this caremas best.

9:17 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#11 Ramon

I’m 15 years old, I’m an amateur photographer. I had a Canon Powershot before, but got this Nikon for Christmas. I really like because it’s a bigger camera, great to begin being a better photographer due to it’s image quality, but without being too manual and complicated.

It takes great shots, and the macro mode is awesome! I’m really into macro pics and this cam gives you very nice details (if you know how to focus)

I would recomend this cam for anyone who loves photography, not for everyday snapshots :D

3:10 am - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#12 Abhik

@Ramon…true said…..! :)

5:58 am - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#13 Ramon

thanks :D

3:07 pm - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#14 Swarnabha

I own this camera for the last seven months,giving me a satisfactory result.A tripod is must in sme cases,I think.

9:54 am - Thursday, January 13, 2011

#15 Raka

Hi, This is a good cam however, I face issues like blurred pics. Most of the time i get hazy pics even if the cam is rock still. Any one plz help how to get the best and clear pic and what should be the best optimized settings to avoid blurred pics.

8:09 pm - Thursday, January 27, 2011

#16 Swarnabha

Hi,first you click it half to register the focus then your display shows the ISO if it shows minimum then u are about to click a clear pic.

6:32 am - Friday, January 28, 2011

#17 Perry

My wife bought me this camera last summer for my birthday, and for a point and clicker, it’s the best I have ever owned, and I have owned point and clickers when they first came out that cost $500 dollars.

As for night pics, it’s a little grainy, and some pics are hard to see on the view finder on a bright sunny day, but for the money, and if you know nothing about how to set the ISO, light exposure, etc… This camera is extremely competetive, and gives you plenty of bang for the buck.

I have zoomed in on swans in a lake, from at least 100 yards and snapped photos of the swans so clear I could see water droplets on the feathers. Even the feathers are clear. To do this as with any camera, you must be perfectly still. I took those shots off the side of a bridge with my hand resting on the guard rail. This camera is definitely worth the $200 asking price they are asking now, but I would like to see what the L120 can do now. It’s $275, (the same price as the L110 when it first came out); but it has some features the L110 doesn’t have, but it’s more advanced than a simple point and click camera.

11:47 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#18 Lanz

I got this camera for christmas.
The price is just right for me for a bridge camera.
I love this camera. Im using for about 3 months now and i really dont see too much problem except from the battery life and some shutter lag during night shots. You should always raise the flash at night times. :) But its great in macro shots. Its gives SLR-ish type of shots.

3:57 am - Saturday, March 19, 2011

#19 Lanz

@raka
maybe you dont have proper lightning. theres actually a focusing technique to lessen camera blurs. Dont full way click it,  half-way press the shutter button until the white frame on the screen turns green, Dont click it if its red ;)

4:00 am - Saturday, March 19, 2011

#20 cristine

I think my flash needs to be brighter, Indoor shots come out worse than my old camera that was not as good quality.

Is there a setting I can adjust or is it just the camera?

4:05 pm - Tuesday, May 31, 2011

#21 jeff in the uk.

the camera takes burred photos every time its used in wide angle to normal. the zoom seem fine. and yes the focus box is green. i think nikon should answer this question…...

4:41 pm - Sunday, June 26, 2011

#22 Ramon

People who have blurry images:

The functions in this camera are for you to play with. Each one of them has certain specifications according to the setting of the picture. For example, for the camera to get the Macro function correctly working, you MUST have enough light, otherwise, it’ll be a blurry picture because that effect is accomplished with a larger aperture, wich means more light gets into the image sensor.

So, use the specific function for each setting, and the camera will be as great as it is, getting high quality pictures.

(:

4:10 pm - Monday, June 27, 2011

#23 Integrity.

Great like close up pics and nature. Looking forward to motion pics of which its blurry how do I get that right.

1:32 pm - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#24 Heather

I just got this ordered from amazon for 128 :)

3:50 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#25 Shanon

I just bought this camera from Target for $99.99. Have not used it too much yet but have read good reviews about it…

4:23 am - Sunday, November 27, 2011

#26 Vix

I own this camera, and, it takes fine pics. My only complaint is that in sports mode,the screen goes black and you can’t see what you’re shooting, making it almost unusable. An eyepiece would have been a nice addition.

6:54 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#27 Rick

We own this camera. Bought it from Target. This camera takes nice pictures when you can get it to take pictures. I believe that it is way to complicated. I played with it for 30 minutes trying to get the flash to work then I did know how I did it. The directions drag on and on with far to many settings to be useful. If I were you I would spend more money and get a better camera right from the start. The screen on my camera just quit working all of a sudden. Took it to Best Buy and they said that it will to costly to get fixed. That is how I found this page I am looking for help from Nicon or someone to see if I can find a cheap fix. If anyone knows of a repairman that help please let me know.

3:06 am - Sunday, July 15, 2012

#28 Beatrice

I’ve had my camera for over a year..@ fiona, for the night, club, or concert pics I normally use the party mode & it’s never failed, got some great night pics when we went camping….also, for the motion pics, I always use the sports set, I normally put set it @ consecutive shooting…don’t know if we can upload pics so y’all can see them, remember if u take a night shot, make sure ur subject doesn’t move until ur camera is ready for the next pick, & using a tripod is very handy!!  I have actually used this camera as an extra for some of my wedding photoshoots!! The only problem I’ve had is the battery life..when it starts getting low, the pics appear w/many hazy vertical lines, any suggestions on that?

3:45 am - Saturday, July 28, 2012

#29 Laura

I have one of these girls , and i love her. Am wondering if there is any external flash compatible with it . Thnak you guys

8:05 pm - Saturday, September 29, 2012

#30 Adi

find it to use with complete ease, and the result without flash in low ligh is just great ...

11:13 am - Saturday, December 8, 2012

#31 Korie

My zoom is getting stuck and sometimes I cant take the picture.  I have had it for about 2 yrs.  What do I do?

8:48 am - Saturday, December 29, 2012

#32 Kira

I have owned this camera for a few years, replacig a very cheap point and shoot and it’s fantastic! I’ve taken some fantastic pictures with it. The only time I don’t use it when it’s legitimately dark…like at night in the forestry parks in the city, where the nearest light is quite far away, not so fun then. Aside from that I love this camera and I take it everywhere with me as my “just in case” camera because my DSLR or old film camera’s just aren’t practical for carrying everywhere. Overall this camera is great as a point and shoot. I agree strongly with -Beatrice, I have also taken this camera to hired shoots as an extra, and battery life is a bit touchy - I always have to bring at least 2 extra sets of batteries in the winter as our -40C degress cut battery life very short. Overall definitely worth the money!

1:12 am - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#33 M Wayne

I’ve had this camera for three years and love it. I take it everywhere I go and always get great shots. People are surprised my photos are taken with such a small auto focus camera. I’ve never had a problem with battery life. In fact I’m very impressed with how long the batteries last. I take a few pics everyday and only change my batteries maybe four times a year.

11:40 pm - Tuesday, September 17, 2013

#34 monique

i have this camera for about 4 years,now the flash doesn’t work ,what i got to do for fix it?

5:12 pm - Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 12 megapixel, nikon, coolpix, 15x, 15x zoom, Nikon Coolpix L110 Review, l110, Nikon L110 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry