Nikon Coolpix L22 Review

3.5
July 15, 2010 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

42 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 atul pradhan

i am using it for 5 months and i feel its far better than the cameras of price below 10,000.its easy to use and very smarty look and also impresive

6:22 pm - Monday, August 30, 2010

#2 tony ash

i bought this yesterday and compared to my last camera it’s brilliant, i love the sound recording facility and for the price its excellent, your review was very helpful thank you

11:23 am - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#3 cindi reginald

I have this camera & absolutely hate it..wish I would of never bought it…really terrible for dimly lit settings

10:30 pm - Sunday, November 28, 2010

#4 Bruce

This a compact, easy-to-use camera that lives up to Nikon’s reputation of great image quality.  I still own my Nikon FM 35MM SLR (1978) and Coolpix 995 (2003), so I have high expectations for construction.  The L22 fails in that regard.  In particular, the battery door is of poor design.  The internal latch is far too small to counter the pressure of the battery springs.  This is compounded by unbelievably cheap plastic construction.  The latch failed after 90 days of use.  This camera has not been dropped or otherwise damaged by impact.  I have sent to Nikon for repair, and they are “evaluating” whether they will cover the battery door under its warranty program.  Check out the Internet for other complaints about this problem, and then consider a different model.

6:06 pm - Friday, December 24, 2010

#5 Barbara

This camera is terrible.  I purchased it to replace a very cheap digital camera and I am having to use the very cheap camera for Christmas.  Very slow, very blurry.  EXTREMELY disappointed!

5:44 pm - Saturday, December 25, 2010

#6 isa

it cost me 59 dollars and its much better than lots of 300 dollar cameras.
it does beautiful pictures, i cant believe this cheap nikon does a great job for the price.
i did not have blurry pictures and not slow either, i play with the settings and man love it !

3:52 pm - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#7 amy

I am NOT happy with this camera at all….I got it on Christmas and every picture has been blurry!! Also when deleting the horrible pictures it takes, it is slow and the moments passed for the pictures! I am going back to Kodak cameras!

6:49 pm - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#8 isabel

really? im very PICKY when it comes to cameras. i had the nikon s70 return the first day it was crap. the pics came out all blurry and slow as could be.
but i think this 59 dollar camera does a good job to me. i never got one blurry pictures. its not the faster camera i had owned but its just ok for me.
i love kodak 2 and im getting the m550 let you know how its going to be.
also i got a canon sd970 for my brother and you will believe i preffer this one !
sorry my english

7:11 pm - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#9 Steve S

Got it for my daughter for Christmas.  Returning in January.  Pictures are almost always underexposed, typically blurry, and the lag between pressing the shutter and the camera taking the picture is ridiculously slow (unacceptably so).  I’ve tried all their “Automatic” settings, and still the pictures come out totally underexposed.

FAIL.

6:56 am - Friday, January 14, 2011

#10 Dinesh Mehta

Certainly Worth the price. Very compacts and controls are easy to operate. Day light picture quality is very impressive.

3:38 pm - Friday, January 28, 2011

#11 lucy

had this Nikon L22 coolpix 2 weeks-cannot get it to snap the picture right off-most are blurry-and when I use the auto-top setting-red shadows come on to hinder me from seeing the subject well-I cannot get a good close up of rings or smalls. But wait-best is yet to come-where oh where can I get cropping of my pictures to frame them without added length and width-taking off un-wanted areas or some say re-cropping? it is not found as yet. It takes me to Paint-I can outline cropping-but does not stay when looking in my documents or picture to send to ebay. lucy

6:28 am - Friday, February 18, 2011

#12 George

Good enough to use it dring your travel. For the money you give is a very good camera. If you compare with other Nikon’s cameras is apoor camera.

12:01 pm - Thursday, February 24, 2011

#13 Steve

Flimsy battery door latch fails after a few changes of the battery.  Save your money and buy another model / brand

3:57 am - Monday, March 7, 2011

#14 dave

This is a piece of crap!! The battery door latch is broken (shitty plastic). We sent ours back to the company and were told it would cost nearly as much to repair as it cost to buy!! It was 2 months old!
DO NOT PURCHASE!!

11:45 pm - Saturday, March 12, 2011

#15 Ronald Baker

It ok camera the problem I have is does not come with manual on paperback just on cd which u can’t use the cd in the middle of the woods book manual is better u can order but they want $14 plus shipping cost thats crap should come with the manual

5:15 am - Sunday, April 17, 2011

#16 Laura

This camera works well for me. I needed something small and easy to point & shoot with now that I have two children. My other camera was larger and I wanted one I could toss in the diaper bag or purse without risking our other larger, more expensive camera.
My one complaint is the door that holds the batteries in and also covers the access to the SD card is poorly designed. It popped open a lot on me for a while and I eventually realized why. It’s because it was breaking. REALLY disappointing since the batteries are held in by that door which means when a TINY little piece of flimsy plastic breaks, ya cant use the camera without rigging it or getting it fixed.

6:35 am - Thursday, June 30, 2011

#17 Debbie

This camera was given to my for a Christmas gift.  I agree with everyone about the piece of crap battery door.  I sent mine back to Nikon thinking that they fix it since it was barely six months old. Oh sure they will fix it for $73.  Ridiculous.  I could put that money towards a camera that doesn’t have cheap parts.  I will never encourage anyone to buy Nikon.

2:00 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#18 me

honestly. who will pay this crap camera to get repair. its not worth 50 $

4:31 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#19 Shad

Hey well I have a Nikon CoolPix,  and well just got it for my birthday in March of this year.  My battery latch is broken,  and well its covered for a year but customer service cant find info out for me.  They tell me to send it to California for repair.  Instead of plastic,  can they use another form of a latch- do they not know about frequent opening might cause problems or they just dont care?

9:42 pm - Monday, July 18, 2011

#20 Monica

The Nikon Coolpix L22 is the biggest piece of crap camera.  I’d had this happen twice, 2 different cameras…..if it fals, when the camera is on, even from a short distance of 1 foot…..if it lands on the lens, it will dislodge the lens, and the camera will no longer function.  The first one was out of the warranty period, so I did nothing.  The second cameron - this happened 8 months after I purchased it.  Nikon refused to honor the warranty and wanted to charge me $87 plus shipping and handling to fix it….that’s more than I paid for the camera.  DO NOT BUY A COOLPIX from NIKON.

7:34 pm - Wednesday, August 17, 2011

#21 hollie

Hello does any one have any odea how to take this canera to piecses the lens has got stuck iv finaly managed to find a skrewdriver small enough and took the skrews out but its still stick together please help if you can as evern tho thos camera isnt brilliabt unless its in perfect conditions its still the only one i have so need it?! Xxthanksholliexx

2:16 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#22 hollie

Oh god i just read the last comment this is what has happend to mine:/ my mum and dad will kill me if the find out :/

2:17 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#23 Ronald Baker

I hate it I have bought 2 how dumb could I be the first one I dropped it and it landed on the carpet and after that it was fuzz and never worked right again i sent it in to get it fixed and they told me the warrant would not cover to fix the problen it had.  so like a idoit I got a second one because when it worked it took good pictures but low and behold the camera I replaced it with had focus problems right off the bat so I took it back to the store an bought a kodake c195 and it has been the best camera for the price I have had bought in a long time nikon Coolpix are a very bad camera don’t waste your money on one

10:33 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#24 Andy

Just WISH I had read this venue’s offerings before indulging a purchase of the Nikon Coolpix L22!!
As per many others who have commented, the battery door has been the problem. 3 months old and due to the crappy plastic retainer design, it now pops open at will. Returned it under warranty via Jessops (our UK retail supplier) and 2 weeks later, get a letter from them that states that they have been informed by the Nikon engineer that inspected it (and judging by the nonsensical reply, was probably designed by the same cretin) that it is due to “accidental damage” and therefore, not covered under the terms of the manufacturers warranty!
Hey! I don’t disagree. This WAS an accident but fortunately, not an accident caused by me. This is a DESIGN fault, not a consumer invoked related issue.. The biggest joke was at the end of the letter. They want over 63 GBP ( US$100 ) to effect a repair..
Rest assured, we have a resolve for this sort of treatment over here. It’s called Consumer Protection and the first stop is going to be the Trading Standards Organisation.  I’m sure they will be very pleased to see so many similar stories of this well below standard item.
I note that many of the complaints in this venue are U.S.A sourced? It’s a wonder then, that with this amount of complaints stateside, the U.S. clients haven’t started a CLASS action against Nikon for this faux par?? ;-)  Good luck to all. I’ll let you know how we get on, in due course..

11:14 am - Friday, September 16, 2011

#25 Vin

I have this camera. Trust me, my pics always comes out blurry, its always slow. Once slight move of your hand will blur it. It’s a piece of crap. Seriously, a crap.
Don’t buy it.

5:38 pm - Wednesday, October 5, 2011

#26 Andy

Hi again,, As promised, an update to the saga, although this will be more in line with U.K. users, I’m sure our USA cousins have an equal source of rebuke for lemons like this L22..
Well, I can assure you that even after having registered a complaint with Nikon (some 4 weeks ago)and having been given a reference number to quote in replies, together with the assurance that the matter was being accelerated to their customer service unit,, they have in fact (despite 2 more emails to them) given me less than jack sh*t in the form of a reply.
Customer Service?? I think you first have to understand the term, before attempting to employ it? This company clearly, does not.
So,, what else is left to do?
Judging by the amount of complaints about this inferior battery compartment cover I’ve read on various forums, for the U.S.A. I’m surprised that a ” class action ” has not yet begun?!
Budding advocates out there,, take note!!
Over this side of the pond, the actions are a little different.
I spoke with our Consumer Advice unit ( a facility run by the various county councils around the U.K. and supported at central level by the government as the Trading Standards Organisation, and was a little bewildered by their initial response.
It seems that if the Manufacturer will not honour the terms of their warranty, then the onus of reponsability is with the retailer!?
i.e. I’m supposed to write to the shop that the item was bought from and tell them, in no uncertain terms, that they have sold me a product that is unsatisfactory to use, purusuant to the governing act (in this case), The sale of goods act 1979, and that it is faulty. At the same time, offering them the opportunity to either, repair, replace or, refund my money.
To me, this sounds a bit harsh?!
After all, it’s not the shop’s fault that the item turned out to be a total piece of crap and as they have already attempted to point out,, it was Nikon’s decision to report that the camera was “accident damaged” and therefore, not to be repaired under warranty,so, the shops hand are tied, so to speak.
Something is SERIOUSLY wrong in this world when the resolve has to be borne by the retailer, who gets so little to benefit from, when they sell the item and give as much service to follow, whilst the actual manufacturer who MANUFACTURED from design, the occurring fault, just has to snap their fingers and say, it’s not our fault and that’s the end to it! :(
Whatever,, the outcome looks like its coming very close to a day in court with an expert witness, the broken camera, a host of your supportive reports (as found herein) and a legal bill to be borne by the retailer (should they not accept liability before then), which will be far, far more than the initial cost of the camera.
Something else is also wrong with this world when a Nikon camera costing 49 GBP in the UK, has an invoiced bill from Nikon of over 62 GBP for the repair costs!!!
No wonder the world is in monetary crisis?? ;-)))
Once again, I’ll keep you posted,,, but would LUUUUV to hear from anybody who has any similar episodes of this saga…

4:50 pm - Friday, October 7, 2011

#27 Helen

Im not an expert by far taking pictures bought this camera because of the point and shoot feature most pics ok, but camera battery door broke right away!! after reading your stories i know not to try to get it repaired, hope their is a suite against nikon, bad business practices and shoddy materials, so typical now in US made products, but they want everyone to buy american.

1:33 am - Sunday, October 16, 2011

#28 Eddie

This evening i went on line to research problem with battery door on my coolpix L22. This was the first site and appears i need not look farther. Haven’t dropped or banged my camera and it fell apart. I join the ranks of very unhappy nikon owners.

5:44 am - Sunday, October 16, 2011

#29 tammy

I bought the L22 model last Christmas to replace the L18. I dropped the L18 and the battery latch broke. Since I liked the camera, I replaced it with the L22. NOW THE BATTERY LATCH BROKE ON THE L22 AND IT HAS NOT BEEN DROPPED. I am not happy. At first I could not figure out how it broke but after reading all the posts on here I now see it is cheap plastic parts. It was made in China. Guess I will have to pay $300 for my next camera, which I hate to do since technology changes so fast.

1:39 pm - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#30 Alex

Still waiting for the class action for the broken bTtery compartment latch..I shave
The camera , which I received as a gift…no receipt or proof of purchase…still It’s a shame…

4:09 pm - Saturday, November 26, 2011

#31 P. Carr

Battery latch is weak. Be careful of what brand of mem card you use. Eats batteries like candy when using Flash. AND FOR YOUR OWN SAKE, NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM BEST BUYS! I never had an issue with fuzzy pictures or movies, BUT the card that Best Buys sold me almost fried my camera. PLUS, they wanted me to BUY another camera while Geek Squad (Dork Patrol) sent out camera for repair in two-six WEEKS right on December 11th! Camera is less than FIVE months old!
Thank goodness I caught a Nikon rep that told me how to fix camera over the phone. I still have to go to Best Buys on a Sunday to see if they will stand behind their funky chip!

8:28 am - Sunday, December 11, 2011

#32 daveinaz

The camera was dropped and the battery door no longer latches because the micro piece of s—t latch broke.  Doomed to be a problem with this camera…poor design and inferior construction.  You’ll regret buying this.

10:12 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#33 April Reder

I am sorry to say I selected this camera myself and didn not read any reviews.. only looking for the specs… It was not an easy camerea to use, I was dissapointed in the close-up focus.. But the icing on the cake is the cheap latch on the battery door.. I have been very careful and because of the heavy use to remove the memory card for downloading, it finally broke…One year to the day!!! After reading the outrageous cost to have it mailed to the service center and fixed I am convinced NOT to prolong my dissapointment in yet another NIkon camera!!! shame on Nikon for allowing this product to be distrubted… and not owning their resopsiblity to make a repair affordable you those of us that put our trust in their Long lived Name recognition.

6:33 pm - Wednesday, February 29, 2012

#34 ALEXIS JOHN NICER

I bought one. The latch for the battery is alreadybroken. I suggest Nikon to replace the Battery spring with a weaker one if the latch can’t carry the pressure of the batteries popping out of the camera.Otherwise, the latch should have been “slide type” to support the force from the spring inside.

2:29 am - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

#35 David Sheward

Nicon service is a joke! (Engineering not much better.)
L22 Battery door disfunction since day one.
L20 Stopped “powering up” ..so did the L22.
Nicon wanted $105 to fix the L22 (new $60.00)
and $97 to fix the L20 (new $48)
What a deal! LOL
Haven’t addressed the problems but spamming the “BJ” out of my email. (I opted for “NO”)
Last “offer” from them: “Free shipping on your new digital camera”.
Waiting for my check ...shipping on my new Canon was $7.95!

6:42 pm - Tuesday, May 22, 2012

#36 Mirko

Having the same battery door problem as everyone else.  The broken piece is on the camera body, not the door, so a new door from Ebay is no help.  Last Nikon I will ever buy!  Stay away!

5:08 am - Monday, June 25, 2012

#37 David Sheward

An “update” to Nikon service!
After much “banter via email” They agreed to fix cameras under waranty so I sent them back for the second time. Now I get a “communacation” that they will fix the L22 on waranty but not the L20 because “the L20 is too far out of waranty”.
Uh ..I bought the L20 AFTER the L22!
OBTW: Price went up to repair the L20 is now $105 not $97.
Still waiting for my check for shipping on my new Canon. LOL
Getting much better pic’s from it than my Nikon’s that are spending the summer “in transit”.
Nikon Service = F**k-Tards.

3:31 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#38 linda

i also have trouble with battery door as a result not only have the batterys fallen out i have also lost the memory card and did not realise untill i took the camera for repair i am very dissapointed with what i thought was a good company i will not buy from nikon again

4:30 pm - Saturday, July 7, 2012

#39 Charles King

This camera has given me much pleasure and very very good photos over the years.My photos have been praised by many professional photographers and others as well. My only complaint and not the cameras fault but hen a thoughtless kid ran into me and knocked it out of my hands and now I am going to hav to replace the battery compartment door. Again I have nothing but the highest praise for this camera.

11:48 pm - Monday, September 24, 2012

#40 Hasif

I need battery compartment cover of L22 Nikon digital camera as old one has broken

7:51 am - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#41 Isaac

Video time on this camera is around 30 minutes and thats the only info I have been looking for. So ur welcome if you were too. Yeah the battery port blows but nothin duct tape can’t fix. I only needed simple features and this simple camera did an awesome job. Great for make Youtube vids since most are only a few minutes long anyway. Neat and simple camera for simple needs

11:35 pm - Thursday, March 7, 2013

#42 Helen

I have been using my Nikon coolpix for 3 yrs. never had a problem with it until 3 mos. ago. The battery door cover doesn’t stay closed but when I take the batteries out it stays closed with no problem so i am totally lost as to why this happens. I have to use bl. elec. tape to keep the battery door cover closed.

12:15 am - Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, compact, 12 megapixel, nikon, beginner, coolpix, 3.6x zoom, Nikon Coolpix L22 Review, l22, nikon l22 review

Tracker Pixel for Entry