Nikon Coolpix L320 Review

4.0
May 24, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

73 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 milesafbrunskill

Any comments about this camera as I’m thinking about buying one?

7:51 pm - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#2 Zarak Zahid

I bought the camera and I am really impressed with it as the picture quality is great and the auto focus also works well although you can do it manually as the camera on whole is famous for it’s easy to use and that mean the camera is fully automatic that’s why you can’t do it manually. I will not recommend you to take videos from it as you can use your mobile if you have iPhone 5 or S4 but if you don’t have you can use it as video recorder and it will fulfill your need. The camera is in budget.

Overall 9/10 and RECOMMENDED

8:48 am - Wednesday, August 14, 2013

#3 manu tandon

The camera is slow, lenses take long time to get a focus lock, worse if light is compromised. Macro mode causes lots of distortion The distortion is most evident when we take pictures of 3 d objects

5:06 pm - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#4 Zarak Zahid

I already mentioned that the camera is in budget and the camera is best in the range

11:18 am - Sunday, September 1, 2013

#5 miles

Thanks for feedback, it’s a nice little bridge,but most fujifilm bridge cameras are better.  Must like it because I use it alot.

9:59 pm - Wednesday, September 11, 2013

#6 Ammako

camera is extremely perfect!!!!.....but the only reason is that the battery does not last forever :(....how can i fix it? pleaseeee…

1:26 am - Wednesday, October 2, 2013

#7 Joe

The first four frames record in around 2.5 seconds, which is 0.6fps, not the 1.2fps that Nikon state on the website.
The tester’s statement is absolutely wrong. 4 frames in 2.5 seconds is (4/2.5=) 1.6 fps, even better than Nikon states and not even close to the tester’s false statement 0.6 fps.

8:58 am - Monday, October 7, 2013

#8 miles

keep spare batteries with you and keep others on charge. I always have four spare batteries charging.

7:17 pm - Monday, October 7, 2013

#9 Mark G.

I just bought this camera a couple of weeks ago and the 1st real use i’m going to get out of it is when I go to a hockey game and i’m relatively far from the ice do anyone think that its got a good enough zoom on it to where when I take pictures its going to look like i’m close to the action?

3:32 pm - Friday, October 25, 2013

#10 ad

hey guys,
plizzz..help me to choose :| which one is better fujifilm fine pix sl300 or nikon coolpix l320?im thinking of buying either one of it for my final year project..zooming the masterpiece and etc..any suggestion? *im v indecisive :(*

7:04 am - Thursday, November 7, 2013

#11 Dustin

Joe is correct… the math was reversed. 0.6 would be seconds per frame NOT frames per second. You would think someone that reviews cameras for a living would know this.

7:53 am - Thursday, November 14, 2013

#12 Donna kooch

  What size battery does it take

6:17 pm - Saturday, November 23, 2013

#13 Roy Barker

Donna, it uses four AA batteries.

6:32 am - Sunday, November 24, 2013

#14 Lori

Does this camera imprint the date on picture?

3:30 pm - Monday, November 25, 2013

#15 Kenny

Is there a Wifi SDHC card available for the L320?  Like Eye-Fi, etc?

9:54 pm - Tuesday, November 26, 2013

#16 aruzinsky

This camera was advertised for $99 at Target as a Black Friday sale, so I thought I would look at some sample photos before buying one.  Based on nikon_coolpix_l320_23.jpg, alone, I have concluded that the image quality is so bad, that Nikon must have intentionally degraded the image in the camera’s firmware.  More specifically, there are outstanding halos around edges. I can’t help but think that previous reviewers must be blind or ignorant to tolerate such outstanding halos.  If this camera had a RAW format, I would seek third party demosaicing software to avoid such halos, but, this camera does not have a RAW format. I wouldn’t buy this camera at any price.

6:27 pm - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#17 Deborah

Aruzinsky…I just saw the camera advertised for $99 with a Target Red Card. Previously had a Panasonic Lumix. Find it difficult to use and have never loved it. Any advice on what to buy? Nothing too sophisticated. Easy to use, quick, great pic quality. Mostly for kids, family vacations, etc. Anyone???

1:39 am - Thursday, November 28, 2013

#18 Shawn

Aruzinky ... thanks so much for your review.  I was planning on a run to Target to purchase this camera.  I’d be interested, as Deborah is as to what camera you would recommend.

6:43 pm - Thursday, November 28, 2013

#19 DonnaKooch

      I have already purchased it so Thanks I am sure I well be satisfied.

7:39 pm - Thursday, November 28, 2013

#20 Duhhh-ave

fps calculation - I think you throw away the first as there is no process time involved so you are really calculating the time interval to the next frame you capture.  The math would be:
(4-first frame) / 2.5 seconds
  3 / 2.5 which equals 1.2 fps.

You’re welcome!

7:50 pm - Thursday, November 28, 2013

#21 Ron

I was all set to buy one of these but now I am not so sure. I have had a Nikon Coolpix 880 for years now and have hated it since day one. I can never get pics that are in focus, no matter the distance. I usually take a lot of closeups, mostly to advertise on the web. What is a good camera for that? Thanks.

3:26 am - Friday, November 29, 2013

#22 Don

Does it have a timer for self portraits?

2:45 pm - Friday, November 29, 2013

#23 Ron

Yes, Don, it (the 880) does have a timer.

4:07 pm - Friday, November 29, 2013

#24 aruzinsky

In response to questions, I am considering buying a Canon IXUS 255.  See

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/canon_ixus_255_hs_review/

If I could afford it, I would buy a Sigma DP3M. See

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/sigma_dp3_merrill_review/

and

http://www.sigma-dp.com/DP3Merrill/samplephoto.html

Everyone here should closely examine Sigma DP3M sample pictures to understand what “high image quality” means.

5:17 pm - Friday, November 29, 2013

#25 Don

Does the L320 have a timer for self portraits?

6:02 pm - Friday, November 29, 2013

#26 REDHAWK

no viewfinder ... no good.

11:00 pm - Saturday, November 30, 2013

#27 Amanda

Can you change the lense?

5:59 pm - Monday, December 2, 2013

#28 Oscar

Just bought one at Target a couple of days ago. I did call Nikon, the lense can not be changed. That being said it seems to be a great entry level camera for $99.00. Hard to beat, I also bought the extended warranty.
(Two years for $7.00)

I think this is a small investment for a great value.

10:27 pm - Monday, December 2, 2013

#29 Oscar

Just bought one over the weekend at Target as well $99.00. Also purchased an extended warranty. Two years $7.00.

Called Nikon: Lens is not interchangeable…

I think this is a small investment for a lot of value.
I will see how the Grand Canyon pics look in January.

10:35 pm - Monday, December 2, 2013

#30 Niki

Can you put on new lenses?

10:58 pm - Monday, December 2, 2013

#31 Doug R.

I bought one. Can you go wrong for $100??

10:59 pm - Monday, December 2, 2013

#32 Hollywood

Bought this at Target on Black Friday, used it in Savannah friday, saturday, and sunday. Worked great batteries lasted all day. Takes great pictures. Zoom is great as well.It’s a great basic level camera.

11:58 pm - Monday, December 2, 2013

#33 Oscar

Hello Oscar,

Thank you for calling Nikon Customer Support. It was my pleasure assisting you today. As per our conversation, all Nikon Coolpix camera lens are not interchangeable. If you have any further questions or concerns please give us a call back Monday through Friday between 9am-8pm EST at 1-800-NIKON-US(1-800-645-6687).

Your incident number for this case is: 131202-001310

Kind Regards,
Saadiyah
Nikon Tech Support

2:38 pm - Tuesday, December 3, 2013

#34 Liz

i just purchased the camera from targets black friday deal as well. i have not seen anyone mention anything about the lcd quality. the 3’’ lcd quality is horrible. i dont know if this is just mine, or you guys experience this as well. its close to or below vga quality. i know the quality is much better if seen on a computer but being able to see photos clearly on the camera is a must as well.

10:15 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#35 Alysia

Bought 1 black friday, and not impressed at all!

1:37 am - Friday, December 6, 2013

#36 Ron

I read a comment were one person loves this camera and then read another one were the person is not impressed at all. So now what do I do? I have a raincheck for one since my local Target store was out of them. But can you go wrong for a hundred bucks? But now I am also thinking about the Nikon 3200. I am so confused.

3:27 am - Friday, December 6, 2013

#37 Dennis

I bought one of these from Target Online, for the Black Friday price, before they sold out (ordered in the morning).  I got it last evening, so I haven’t developed my full impression yet.

So far, so good.  It meets my expectations.  It has enough features to keep me exploring for a while.  It’s not a $1,000 camera.  It’s not even a $500 camera.  However it seems like a heck of a $100 camera!

4:29 am - Saturday, December 7, 2013

#38 Roxy

I bought this camera online from Target (black friday special) and I really like the quality of the pictures I’ve taken so far.  Two years ago I bought the coolpix L105 from Target as well but I dropped it and had to returned it.  I’m very happy I got a new one, these cameras are very easy to use and the quality of the photos is outstanding for a point and shoot camera.  The only thing that I didn’t like though and sucks so much is that the screen’s resolution is extremely low.  I was very upset about that but seeing how good the photos turn out to be makes up for that defect.

6:02 am - Saturday, December 7, 2013

#39 Hanhan

Can anyone tell me what the shutter speed is like on the coolpix l320?

4:42 pm - Saturday, December 7, 2013

#40 Ron

Does anyone have any experience with the Nikon 3200? I think it may be a better choice than the L320. I can’t seem to find a L320 in stock anywhere anyway. Thanks…........

3:23 am - Sunday, December 8, 2013

#41 Lorisa Jimenez

I bought this camera on black friday at target wasn’t sure why i bought it.  Maybe because of the name and I also had a similar camera it was sony until my kids dropped it and it was a five hundred camera okay anyways.  I like the nikon camera except I was wondering if anyboday is having problems when you zoom it the lens is all over the place, like its not shake proof can someone help I really dont want to return it for 100 bucks you can’t beat that price.  Thanks in advance

4:56 pm - Monday, December 9, 2013

#42 Dennis

Hanhan -
The manual says it goes from 1/1500 to 1 second, and also has a 4 second exposure in Fireworks Show Scene Mode.

Lorisa -
If what you mean is that it is easy to overshoot on the zoom control, mine does that too.  I’m getting more used to the control, so it’s easier to get it where I want it.

2:45 am - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#43 G3

Just got this as a gift 12/14/2013. I want to use this, but I’m very satisfied with the camera on my iPhone and like having a product I can tuck in a pocket and recharge by chord. I am selling this new camera with a 16GB memory card on Amazon for $130. Just listed today. Amazon display name: grohrs3.

9:06 pm - Monday, December 16, 2013

#44 ABHAY RAMESH V.K

does the aa battery can be recharged? or when the charge is over we need to replace it and buy new aa batterys pls any one help me

4:15 am - Saturday, December 21, 2013

#45 Ron

Sure, if they’re recharable batteries. If they’re not rechargable, then you can’t recharge them. I use recharable batteries in my L320. they are much more convenient and it beats buying batteries all the time

9:01 pm - Saturday, December 21, 2013

#46 ABHAY RAMESH V.K

K THANK YOU BUT MY QUSTION is wich battery is getting with L320 rechargeble batterys or non rechargeble pls help

9:21 am - Sunday, December 22, 2013

#47 Ron

The batteries that come with the L320 are NOT rechargable. They are just regular batteries.

2:10 pm - Sunday, December 22, 2013

#48 tberry

My son was setting-up his L320 and selected a different language. Setup was not finished. When the camera is turned-on now, a message appears (unreadable of course), with an exclamation. The buttons will not work and apparently there is no hard reset option. Nikon could not provide help on the phone and Target no longer sells this model. Anyone have a suggestion to reset the camera before I give it a “hard” reset - we will actually return it to Target.
Thank you

9:57 pm - Friday, December 27, 2013

#49 Androniki

I got this camera for Christmas and i can say it’s pretty easy to use. The only thing that i found frustrating is the quality of the image. I can say it’s horrible and also the preview of the photo at the 3’ screen is also bad. As for the price, well it’s exactly what you pay. Low price= low quality

12:10 am - Saturday, December 28, 2013

#50 Stephen

I’m amazed at some of the poor comments for this camera. I got one as a gift and I’m very happy with it.
Camera’s don’t take bad pictures, people do.
The camera does exactly as it’s asked to do, play around with it, check different settings for the same scene, use a memory card and once you get used to the settings..you’re good to go :)
A couple of improvements could have been the option of RAW image alongside JPEG and perhaps more manual control over the shutter times. I like to take pictures of star trails and it’s not possible to set up and leave it to do it’s job, if you have all night then you could take a multitude of pics in the ‘fireworks’ mode though.
Great price, good product.

12:51 pm - Saturday, December 28, 2013

#51 gloria

Just bought this at target yesterday. I had a raincheck for $99 and it was on sale for $89 and I had a $8 coupon. Playing around and loving it so far! Zoomed to a cardinal in a tree and close ups of plants came out fabulous! I am in love <3

4:01 pm - Sunday, December 29, 2013

#52 Ghalib

I m using this camera and this is really very full featured semi dslr camera in a quite low price..
See Photos here… https://www.facebook.com/ain.ghain.photography

12:25 pm - Wednesday, January 1, 2014

#53 Desree

The quality of the pictures this camera can take is TERRIBLE. So many distortions; the photos seem as if they were taken in another dimension, .. horrible. I’m so disappointed. And I’ve tried many modes. Before this one I used a Canon camera with lower performances (pixel and zoom-wise), and this has never happened to me. I don’t know what to do with it now.

10:31 am - Sunday, January 5, 2014

#54 Jessica W.

I got this camera at Target for $99 for Black Friday. I was actually really excited for it and hoping it would be a great camera for me. I will eventually make the transition to a DSLR and these seemed like a good camera to play around with until then. I think the camera has potential, but it has to be on the right settings. It’s kind of hard to get it to that point, considering there aren’t a whole lot of settings. I have found that when I take photos indoors, they turn out great. However, I take a lot of portraits for my blog outside and I haven’t had much luck with that yet. I have tried different settings with and without flash and the pictures always look like washed out- on people. Faraway pictures look great, but when you zoom in it is very distorted. On the other hand, doing close-ups of objects has been very successful and my shots have turned out great. Has anyone had any luck with using this camera outside and how you can make your portraits look better quality?

Jessica

12:13 am - Monday, January 6, 2014

#55 AlbertZ

I got one on Black Fri. The macro mode is powerful and better than this review claims. If an optimum focus distance is chosen (indicated by a green triangle, ~21 mm, equivalent to ~118 mm), you can even get a lock when the first lens touchs the object (But doing so may damage the motor or scratch the lens).
  Vibration reduction mechanism is lens shift. But it doesn’t work satisfactarily. So tripod is still recommended indoor or at night.

1:55 am - Monday, January 6, 2014

#56 Emily

I have the camera, I love the lens and stuff, but i wanted to shoot videos! The videos depend on how much space your memory card has… Mine will only record for 30 minutes. Then the camera takes a while for it to focus when looking at photos. But the camera part of it is great.

12:15 am - Thursday, January 9, 2014

#57 TyB

“Camera’s don’t take bad pictures, people do.”
Seriously?  Yeah. 
I’ve had Nikon Coolpix before, and sadly my husband killed it.  IT, worked better than this, and it was several years old.  The time for taking the pics on this is not only absolutely horrid, it’s not adjustable!  And yes, I was told that by a lovely Nikon representative when I wrote in to ask.  If you enjoy only taking images of still life?  You’re good to go!  However, if you’re wanting to take images of life that refuse to sit still and wait around and pose for your slow as all camera?  Look elsewhere.  Aside from capturing real life in an awful blur, it’s a pretty decent camera for the price. 
I’m sending mine back to Target, as it’s not even worth the $100 I paid for it.  And by the way, it’s discontinued.  Stick with something current and decent.

1:24 am - Thursday, January 9, 2014

#58 Iman

Hey I bought this camera a few days ago..
I compared it with Canon and Fujifilm for one special feature.. I zoomed on a small thing and then focused on that .. it amazingly detected the thing and focused on it though I was in a far distance.
I really like it, however it has some noise in the dark environment.

5:53 pm - Thursday, January 16, 2014

#59 Tarantulaman

People, this is a GREAT entry bridge camera! Forget video, get a video camera. I,f you want to shoot photos, this does a brilliant job. Love, love, love it. Pin-sharp, clear, noise free. What are these others DOInG to get such poor results?

2:53 am - Sunday, January 19, 2014

#60 David

I bought this camera some days ago, and so far I’ve had nothing but disappointment. Though more so with the review on this site than the camera itself.
Looking at the sample images and the information written underneath them, I was under the impression that the shutter speed could be adjusted. But sadly, it’s apparently impossible.
I’ve compared the photos I’ve taken with this camera with photos I’ve taken with my iPhone 4 and my almost 8 year old digital camera and the L320 is unfortunately at the bottom of the list right now.

No matter what settings I use, what lighting I use, the pictures turn out horrible and do not get me started on the noise in them.

I deeply regret buying this camera. I wanted a small, good camera since I do a lot of running around when I photograph and therefore can’t carry around a big, heavy one. But I guess a big, heavy camera is better than a camera that takes worse pictures than an iPhone and a 8 years old digital camera.

7:57 am - Sunday, January 19, 2014

#61 Jackie

Does this camera have a continuous shoot mode?  I want to be able to hold own the button and have it snap picture after picture.  Will this camera do this?

7:42 pm - Sunday, January 19, 2014

#62 Nikky

Does anyone know if there’s a connector to import photos from cool pix camera to iphone5?

4:50 am - Thursday, January 23, 2014

#63 ROMAN

When using telephoto/zoom function while videotaping/filming, the whirring sound of zoom motor is heard abd recorded on the video itself, sopmething I haven’t experienced in any other model. Is it common on this model or is it something that has to be addressed to by Nikon repair shop?

10:40 am - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#64 Kevin Leonard

Bought this camera about 3 weeks ago and so far I am very pleased with it. I have taken quite a few pictures and videos, spent time having it on going through the menu getting to know the camera, and the original batteries still have lots of charge. I took some pictures in Auto mode with varying zoom settings in a recent snow storm and the images were vivid and clear even getting the snowflakes in motion with the high winds. Basically does what the reviews on this camera have said. I only wanted a Nikon, I wanted a budget model I could be rugged with, and the L320 is not a disappointment. I wish though the video was longer than 29 minutes but, hey, it’s not meant to be a camcorder so I can live with it.
I got this model for $123 plus tx and so far I think I got a great bargain.

5:05 am - Monday, March 31, 2014

#65 Kevin Leonard

On playback I did notice a slight noise when adjusting the zoom while shooting videos, more of a click each time I pressed the zoom in or out. I am not sure if the manual has a noise reduction on/off for this or not but I am going to take the time to look. But it does have wind noise reduction and that works great. I like the continuous shoot feature and that the camera picks the best of all the shots. I copied the user manual from the disc to my hard drive and I like the ease of use. It does shoot really clear videos and as a video camera it is OK, but as a photo camera it is more than OK. 4/5 rating.

5:23 am - Monday, March 31, 2014

#66 Joel

Hello thanks to Nikon..i bought this camera last week, it’s cool in looks and the image quality is rich both in camera screen and laptop. I got 2 years warranty card plus 2 pairs of rechargeable nikon original batteries with a bonus of 2 spare unrechargeable alkaline batteries. My first image was a bit blurry so i read the manual and only then i could able to take amazing and cool-clear pictures from it.
To take a shot just press-half way(the shutter-without releasing it) and when the focus turns green press the shutter and that’s it. Simple!
Thanks a million To Nikon. Love it.

6:05 pm - Saturday, April 5, 2014

#67 kishor

How many photo’s can I click with a single charge?

9:40 am - Monday, April 7, 2014

#68 Jon

sony h200 vs nikon l320

11:14 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#69 asal

My office has just bought this camera. And I become the one who uses the camera. I compare with some pocket camera and I recommed that you should buy the pocket camera instead of this. If we try to take picture of moving things, we will find that the camera can not take a good picture unless we use the flash. The other problem is the battery that it uses a set of 4 AA (alkaline(LR6), lithiun(FR6), or en-mh2 rechargeable from nikon which we have to buy it separately. After googling I decided to buy energizer rechargeable 2300 mah. and it works(cause there is an used charger athome). So if you feel you will cost much ifyou use alkaline batteries you should try to buy a set of rechargeable batteries.

11:11 pm - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#70 shawon

Will this a good decision to buy this camera??

11:06 am - Thursday, June 5, 2014

#71 ROHEET RAJAN

I buyed L320 i loved this camera.but soon i stared to encountering battery Problm.what could be the problm?.. i hav shown to nikkon autorised centre but i am still not happy :(

1:29 pm - Tuesday, July 1, 2014

#72 Suchetana Gupta

I use a Nikon Coolpix L320. The camera gives me excellent photograph in outdoors (be it bright light or low light). However, whenever I try indoor photography, say inside conference halls, using automatic mode (by the way, I only use automatic mode, so all performance reviews are on that ground only), the photos turn out to be very bad; they often are blurred, shaky, hazy. This happens all the more while zooming. Any help would be highly appreciated

4:06 pm - Saturday, July 19, 2014

#73 jeff.cooper

great camera for photos and video but will not download photos to my computer computer ok as have another camera that downloads ok so rendering the camera useless as for Nikon help a waste of time

12:33 pm - Sunday, August 3, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 16 megapixel, 720p, nikon, super-zoom, coolpix, super zoom, 26x zoom, 26x, Nikon L320 Review, l320, Nikon Coolpix L320 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry