Nikon Coolpix P600 Review

0.0
April 4, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

49 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 stephennic

Hi,
I read your review so which would be better in overall image quality the canon sx50 or Nikon P600. I want to get a superzoom so this would be a good help. Cheers
Steve.

10:46 am - Friday, April 4, 2014

#2 ac

For the price you can’t beat it.

3:50 pm - Friday, April 4, 2014

#3 coupondam

Got more about camera and photography - Browse
iStockphoto and some other stores with their coupons, deals, offers from coupondam.com
http://www.coupondam.com/coupon-category/cameras-photography/

8:44 pm - Friday, April 4, 2014

#4 Warren Lyons

While the image quality will never equal even the cheapest DSLR/kit lens combo or a large sensor compact, this is a dream come true for supermarket tabloid photographers and surveillance use. (private investigators, law enforcement, homeland security etc)

12:23 pm - Saturday, April 5, 2014

#5 Jacopo Nardi

# Warren Lyons—I second you, but you forgot to mention the pedophiles community.

4:16 pm - Saturday, April 5, 2014

#6 Bruno

I will never understand the superzoom market, more than 90% of the photos that people take are 35mm and less…

7:05 pm - Saturday, April 5, 2014

#7 Warren Lyons

Jacopo, you forgot to mention that MILF lovers like myself will snatch these up.  As for Bruno, there still are the 10% that do.  Try getting up close to a mother bear with cubs with your 35mm pancake lens.  Moreover, 90% of our driving may be less than 70MPH. Hasn’t stopped the horsepower race amoung automakers

10:45 pm - Saturday, April 5, 2014

#8 Graham

The review says that at full telephoto it is virtually impossible to get sharp images hand-held.  Were the sharp sample images at full telephoto taken with a tripod then?

10:08 am - Sunday, April 6, 2014

#9 jholmesy

This is to Stephennic - I have had a lot of time on my Canon PowerShot SX50 HS and the Nikon Coolpix P510.  Obviously the Canon could reach a little further than the Nikon but the Nikon has a better image stabilization system and took sharper, deeper color pictures consistently over the Canon.  I wasn’t happy with the Nikon lens retracting into the body so far that I couldn’t leave any adaptor and filter on it.  The Canon stayed forward of the body enough that I could leave the hood, adaptor and lens on it as long as I wanted to.  I am hoping Nikon corrected that with the P600 because I am going to be selling the Canon SX50 and the Nikon P510 so I can buy the Nikon P600.  If I were you I would go right for the Nikon P600.  So that you know what I have been using the camera’s for, I do a lot of hiking/mtn climbing and take wildlife and landscape pictures.  I also take wedding pictures but I use my Nikon D200 for that and switch out lenses and filters for what I need.  Let me know what you think or feel free to ask me anything you may have concerns with.

1:53 am - Monday, April 7, 2014

#10 Fabio

  I never trust the sample images , so I decided to go for it, but really this camera is a step back when compared to the Nikon P520, it may be a little bit faster , but the sensor shows more noise, the lens are not as sharp and the LCD is smaller.
  It may take a 52 mm filter but it is too small and there’s some vignetting, much worst when using a polarizer. I made a filter adapter for my 510 that works with the P520 and the new P530, it takes 58 mm filter and stays on the camera all the time.
  Noise reduction must be set to high and that degrades image qualtiy, the P520 makes better images with a normal setting, also sharpnesss can’t be set to the highest level, and that setting can be used in the P520.
  It’s not a bad camera and can produce some nice images, the night shot without tripod is quite good, but the P520 can do that too and if you wan’t to use P mode and shoot handheld at speeds like 1/10 or even 1/5 to keep low ISO,  the VR does the job in getting a sharp image. VR also seems to be better on the P520.
  So what’s left for the P600 ? The extra 440 mm, the P520 digtal zoom is excelent and in my tests on bright subjects the P600 may have some advantage after some sharpness applied, but not really , images are soft and noisy. Chromatic aberrations are almost non existent , the same happens with the P520.
  Ther’s a new manual focus that enhances the area in focus, I use manual focus a lot in my macros with the Raynox 250 , thought that this feature could compesate for the smaller LCD but no , it’s not really practical and only works with subjects that are clearly and well separetd from each other, the Bigger P520 LCD allows me to see what’s in focus and so I can easily get bug’s eyes sharply detailed.
    Moon and bird modes adds nothing for anyone who knows photography .
  The P520 problem is somewhat slow operation and shutter delay, but the P600 also shows that, it’s not a super fast camera like Nikon advetises.
    After spending US$500,00 on this camera my recommendation is , get the P520 while they still are around, it’s not perfect, but image quality is outstanding.
    Some examples taken with the P600, all have been treated using Photogene for Ipad. Not bad pictures, chosen among some hundreds taken, the Nikon P520 has a much higher rate of keepers.
 
https://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/13128596344/in/photostream/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/13128233713/in/photostream/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/13169766215/in/photostream/

In my Flickr there are many examples taken with the P510 and the P520 too.

 

5:38 am - Monday, April 7, 2014

#11 Shynyn

I can’t find the Wind Noise Reduction. I don’t see it under movie options as mentiond in “Ease of Use” section. Anyone knows where it is? Thank You

9:28 am - Tuesday, April 8, 2014

#12 Shynyn

Nikon Coolpix P600 downgraded its MP to 16 as compated to its predecessor, the P520 which has 18MP. The higher MP on the P5200 makes it still more appealing. Why Nikon has to shave off features, add different ones then repackage it as new and improved is a little deceiving. There is always a trade off.
Still trying to locate the Wind Noise Reduction in P600.

9:57 am - Tuesday, April 8, 2014

#13 stephennic

Hi,
The p520 was known to have more noise at higher ISO at 18MP especially for such a small sensor. I think it was a good move for the P600 to have 16MP as this gives it probably cleaner images at higher ISO. 
Cheers
Steve.

12:22 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#14 Carson

Although some cynicism here belies the interests on the minds of a few writers, this Nikon is of especial interest to bird-watchers who love to share what they see. The 28.8x max tele will indeed show up Canon’s 24x max, though both are quite incredible tech. As no DSLR comes close to this reach, quality “comparisons” to these never-before capabilities are spurious at best in practical birding. Likely the P600 will hold the place of choice for at least awhile, although Sony remains the only bridge with a 60p frame rate in video,  capturing near-instantaneous bird movements better in that niche. In late May 2014 we’ll see how Canon intends to compete with Nikon’s new gem.

3:07 am - Sunday, April 20, 2014

#15 Paul Edwards

I dont think the day is far away when some manufacturer, Sony, Fuji, Nikon, or Canon, or some unknown, will bring out a bridge camera formfactor with a full sized DSLR sensor. Such a camera with,say, a 24 - 1200mm + will be unbeatable. Id go as far as to say that DSLR + lense sales will drop overnight. On safari or that trip to Vietnam, no more lugging DSLR bodies and a multitude of heavy lenses around when you can carry one camera that does it all complete with Wifi to transmit your images straight to the net via your smarphone and remote-control too. Im just surprised it hasnt happned yet. I just hope when it does that they can manage to keep the prices affordable.

8:23 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#16 Carson, again

@Paul,
very interesting, but your inclusion of DSLR and lens sales “dropping overnight” may well paint the reason why such a sensor might be “suicidal” in the marketing scheme of things. I’d also suggest that “a full-sized DSLR sensor” seems an oxymoron to my film generation, as DSLR sensors are roughly half the size of traditional 35 mm film—the film being the actual sensor in those very recently bygone days. But regardless, sensor size is not everything; light-gathering tech is making comparisons more complicated.

11:13 pm - Saturday, May 10, 2014

#17 Frank

You guys have got me thinking.  I was going to go for the P520 but then got put off by bad battery life and slow auto focus.  But as I do not take that many photos & I can carry a spare battery it should not be a problem.  Is this camera worth the extra £100 for quality of photos?  Or if I want better photos should I upgrade?  I tend to photograph scenery and animals, with the occasional friends wedding thrown in.  Also as I am a man I like the toys. I miss the GPS on my old sony and fancy playing around with the zoom etc.  So what do you advise?  What benefits do I get for my extra £100?  or should I just go ahead and buy the P520?
As a footnote I currently own a Panasonic Lumix LX5 you can knock it but it takes fantastic, clear photos.  Much better than a professionals DSLR at my friends wedding, their words not mine. They actually used my photos and did not bother ordering any extra of his.
So guys, what do you think?  Thanks :)

10:25 am - Saturday, May 17, 2014

#18 Fabio

  To Frank

  Please read post #10 . Regarding slow focus of the P520 , most complains are at long zoom, there’s a setting for those situations (mountain symbol) that makes it much faster. Battery is not a problem, it’s cheap and tiny. The LX5 will complement it very well, for those lowlight indoor situations.. Get the P520 while you can, the P600 is ok but the P520 is extraordinary.
  In my flickr you you find many examples taken with the P520 and some with the P600 along with several other cameras

https://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/

2:44 pm - Saturday, May 17, 2014

#19 Paul Edwards

I thought there is now a P530….. No ones mentioned that!?!?!

3:05 pm - Saturday, May 17, 2014

#20 Fabio

Nikon P520 had the best LCD ever, fully articulated , high resolution and bigger than all competitors with 3.2 inches, a joy to use and then they make the P530 with a smaller and fixed LCD, the worst LCD in the bridge market,  no wonder why no one talks about it or buy it.

2:55 am - Sunday, May 18, 2014

#21 FrankC

Fabio.  Thank you very much for your reply and the information.  I am going to get the P520.  After seeing your photos its confirmed my choice. I loved your close up photo’s of the insects.  Did I read correctly to get those photos you used a Ranynox?  I assume that is a lens that fits over the end? Until you mentioned it I had never heard of them.  Love the clarity of the eyes on those bugs.  Would be great if I can take photographs that clear.  Keep up the good work. 
Frank C

9:31 pm - Monday, May 19, 2014

#22 Fabio

  Hi Frank
  Yes I use a Raynox 250 for my macros. The big LCD on the P520 is very important when using the Raynox, everything is set to manual and flash is always on but I always use a small white plastic cup over it as a difuser.
    Focus is set to manual and fixed, with the Raynox you zoom in up to 400 or 500 mm and move the camera back and forth till you get the focus where you want, sounds difficult but the big LCD helps a lot.
    The Raynox uses a universal adapter that will fit in front of the lens but as it’s spring loaded it may pop out ,  I strongly suggest that you drill 2 small holes on the adapter and uses some sort of lanyard to keep it secure if it falls.
    The Raynox can be used in almost any camera and it’s a great investment , I have used it in many different cameras but none was better than the P520.
    One great thing about the P520 is that there’s a setting called Picture control where sharpness can be set to max, and pictures look great, the P600 has the same setting but it causes loss of quality.
    I used to carry a LX7 with a P510, now I awalys have with me a Canon G16 and the P520, along with the Raynox this light and small package can deal with almost any situation with great results, I quit using DSLRs a few years ago, and I don’t miss then at all.

4:45 am - Tuesday, May 20, 2014

#23 Frank

Thanks for the replies.  I am now on a hunt for the best price for the camera.  Hope to get one soon.
Regarding the Raynox is this the one you mean?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Raynox-DCR-250-Macro-Attachment/dp/B000A1SZ2Y/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1400571780&sr=1-1&keywords=raynox+250+macro
If this enables me to reproduce the results you got with your p520 I will be more than pleased.

7:48 am - Tuesday, May 20, 2014

#24 Fabio

  Yes, there are other models but this is the best, and forget tripod, maybe a monopod can help when you start using it but they limit you a lot.

12:48 pm - Tuesday, May 20, 2014

#25 Frank

Yes, I have looked at monopods.  Good for weddings rather than a tripod. 
I tried to order my P520 today on a “price match” website.  They promised to ring back, but never did. Not a good start.
Cant wait to get my new toy. :)  We have such gorgeous scenery around here, Malvern Hills UK, and fabulous wildlife I cannot wait to get started.
Thanks for all the advice and tips.
Frank

5:33 pm - Tuesday, May 20, 2014

#26 Chris

Hi all - I like to,take photos but am not very good at it and can’t really tell a good shot from a bad one lol but am looking at purchasing this camera as it has a great zoom .
Is this the camera I should purchase ?

8:56 am - Friday, May 30, 2014

#27 Lois

Have had a Canon SX30IS but interior lens suddenly cracked. (ok, may have dropped it :()
Had an assignment the next morning and grabbed a P600 from store the night before. Very disappointed. Half the time could not get it to take a photo, finally figured out I had to press it half way to get it to take photo—by that time the moment was gone! Then the zoom does not go on when I record video and can’t figure out how to get it to move. 
Freaking out and ready to return it.
I take a lot of shots inside of people, buildings, boats, scenery, animals and moving objects and many of my images are used on websites and in newspapers, but I don’t want to go back to multiple lenses.
Also could not purchase extra battery (not in stock yet) and can’t always leave camera hooked to wall to charge.
I think I’d like to go back to a Canon as I already have extra chargers and batteries but don’t want to buy something two years old.
Any suggestions? I have to get something by June 9th Monday. Thanks

5:08 pm - Saturday, June 7, 2014

#28 Frank

I got the P520 and was quite pleased with the photos.  The autofocus was however driving me nuts.  It could of course just have been a one-off with my camera.  Sometimes I pressed the shutter down half way. It went into focus. A fraction of a second later it went out of focus.  So I mounted it on a tripod. No telefocus. Got the green square onto a bush.  Pressed the timer. Checked and yes it was still in focus. The shutter went of. Checked picture…..... out of focus. I tried with the manual as well but was not pleased with results.  Yes it could have been 100% me.
Then the control dial went wrong, less than a week old, so I returned it.
Now I have a Cannon SX50.  The controls to me are not as intuative as the Nikon but so far (touch wood) great pictures.  Quick auto focus.  As I get used to the camera I am sure it has lots of potential.  Even doing time lapse, GPS tagging and motion detection on it now.(Thanks to software update)  So looking forward to many happy hours with my new toy.
Before anyone says it—-  Yes I know this is a P600 blog.  But the Lois did ask some to suggest an alternative Cannon camera.
Lois I appreciate you may well be the other side of the world but if you, and anyone else, would like to try my SX50 you would be more than welcome.:)  I am in England.

1:24 pm - Sunday, June 8, 2014

#29 Paul Edwards

Lois: Read the manual = its obligatory you will then know exactly how your camera works.
simples.

Sounds like you have a fulty one Frank.. You could try doing a factory reset or see if there is a firmware update - download and install the latest one anyway even if its not an upgrade. Its usually easy to do (if I can do it!)  if not then return to vendor. Have you tried taking it off auto and using it , say, on P or something.. Also check what focus mode its set to - not unusual to have more then one….

8:20 pm - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#30 Lois

Thanks guys. I did find the manual on-line and figured out the audio is not on in HS settings, which is how I had set it in a rush.
I need to find the time to actually read the manual so I don’t have blurry photos when people move, as I need to capture a lot of candids.

8:26 pm - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#31 Paul Edwards

Forget the camera take the pictures!!!

Hardware dont matter its the picture - a way of capturing a moment of time that will never happen again - Some of the best pictures ever taken have come from old digital cameras with 5 or 6MP!

With bridgecamera keep it below 400ASA - for best results. If it has Auto400 or 400AUTO set it on that, IT WONT use 400ASA unless very low light - it WILL use any ISA/ASA between 80 to 400 depending on the light available (for example it might use 120ASA or 230ASA and so on) But NOT go above 400, that should be ample for amost any kind of photography up to flash level with little noise or degredation. I have a Fuji HS10 which can take pictures as sharp and colorfull as my Sony NEX 5R!! I’ve seriously considered selling the 5R - the HS10 is that good!Its an old 10MP camera. Happy shooting.

8:31 pm - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#32 Paul Edwards

For non blurry picture you need fast shutter speed at wide setting (sports setting probably best)

9:18 pm - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#33 Maz

just bought the Coolpix P600, was using it fine shooting pictures, took SD card out then put it back in & now the photos I take are not saving onto the card. Pls help as I am on holidays with no English manual thankyou

10:50 am - Monday, June 30, 2014

#34 Paul Edwards

Turn camera off before removing or inserting Sd card!

11:11 am - Monday, June 30, 2014

#35 Maz

thanks I will try that.

12:58 pm - Monday, June 30, 2014

#36 clickr

“Pls help as I am on holidays with no English manual thankyou”
but you do have access to the internet - you posted here - so could maybe download and read a PDF?

9:21 pm - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#37 Maz

Yes had internet but was unable to download - public access unit, so couldn’t read it, that’s why I asked the question. Thanks anyway, all help appreciated.

12:19 pm - Friday, July 4, 2014

#38 Paul Edwards

WHEN you buy a new memory card for your digital camara its important to FORMATT it in the camera so find the correct in-camera menue -

IF you havnt aready done this - remover any pictures already taken or you will loose them!

BEST to do when you first install card, it will then be in sympathy with the camera.PE

4:02 pm - Saturday, July 5, 2014

#39 Giovanni

Hi all, I have just bought a Canon SX50 with Amazon and I should receive it by the end of this week. Why I write this in this review of Nikon P600? Simply because till the last minute I didn’t know which one to buy. I read this Photography Blog and other tests on internet of many cameras, and the more I read the more I was confused. It would be nice to build a camera taking a feature from Canon, another feature from Nikon, another from Fujii etc. but of course this is not possible (same thing with our wife: the smile from Julia Roberts, the legs from Cameron Diaz, the body from Monica Bellucci, the brain from ... who ?) I am joking of course, and our wifes would want to be the same with Bradd Pitt, George Clooney, etc…..  This Nikon is a new model, with very good new features but also missing others that are presents in other models. For my personal use, for example I don’t care of WiFi connection, but I do prefer to have an hotshoe for external flash. Zoom 50x or 60x is not exactly the same, but I wonder how many times we could really be missing a 60x instead of “only” a 50x. I prefer to have a fast focusing camera and 80 ISO setting than other unuseful gadgets. On internet I have seen a serious test of video recording with this P600: very noisy zoom motor and very bad focusing when over 800-1000mm. I wonder also if it is better to buy a brand new model or an “old” one, if a two years model can already be considered old.  Well, when I buy a car I prefer to wait at least one year from the launch of the new model, for two reasons: special prices and discounts will come later, and bugs (if any) are fixed. Other people at the opposite want always to have the last brand new model (as the last smartphone model for status symbol or being technology dependent, etc. but this is not my case). Since this Nikon P600 has been launched already some months ago, what surprises me are the relatively low number of comments, much less than for other cameras like Canon SX50 in this Photography blog, same thing for comments and tests on internet (magazine, YouTube, etc.). On Amazon there are a lot of still recent comments and mostly very positives of new buyers of Canon SX50 (it cost about 300€ instead of about 400€ for P600) and only three comments for this Nikon. Another strange thing: I have not seen, neither in the official Nikon site nor elsewhere, the availability of a sunshade (hood) for the zoom, which is very usefull to take pictures in sunny days. Why ? My conclusion: I suppose that P600 is a good camera, but not having big sales and is not very much appreciated for the overlall quality or price/performance. That’s why at the end I preferred still to buy the “old” Canon SX50.

1:13 pm - Tuesday, July 22, 2014

#40 stephennic

Hi,
Have a look on dpreview and you will see a lot of comments on the Nikon forum on the Nikon p600.
It seems to have impressive image quality in good light.
Cheers
Steve

2:39 pm - Tuesday, July 22, 2014

#41 Divya BHatia

Since wifi sd cards (eye-fi)are available i’m not too concerned about wifi feature , 60x optical is surely better than 50x optical zoom but after all how many photos will one take of the moon,most pictures will be taken indoors or family ,landscape in wide angle or portrait.I want to know which has faster autofocus ,the canon sx50 or the nikon p600 and which has better pictures in low lighting,which of these two camera has sharper pictures?

8:16 am - Thursday, September 4, 2014

#42 Paul Edwards

Front what I’ve been reading the Nikon coolpix 9700 is better then any of them - and it fits in your pocket.  25-750mm

4:40 pm - Thursday, September 4, 2014

#43 lily

I have only owned film nikon n6006. I loved it but I broke my long lens so I though I would look for a bridge or compact camera . 1 multi len.  I wanted to stay with Nikon. I’m confused. I want to take inside photos of family and photos while on holiday or in the back yard. I want something I can get nice clear distance photos or in a town of the streetside buildings. So since I want photos in homes darker situations and outside oh also macro sometimes to Which of the following would be best for the wide range I want? Nikon P520, P600? All I have read seems not to point towards the P530. Any assistance would be appreciated.

3:20 am - Friday, September 5, 2014

#44 Lothar Katz

Lily, 

The long lens you had on your N6006 was probably a 200mm, maybe 300mm, on the long end. What you’re saying about your picture taking needs points to that being perfectly fine. No need for a super-long lens such as the P600 with its 1440mm. Also, many small digital cameras have become so good that you’re likely going to be very happy with something much smaller than that hefty N6006+lens. 

Take a look at the Nikon S9700 with its still-incredible 25-750mm lens (). Seems to me that one will do absolutely everything you’d ever want to do, and then some!

Link: http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/nikon_coolpix_s9700_review/conclusion/

11:18 am - Wednesday, September 10, 2014

#45 Raffi kot

Hi guys,i just wanna buy a nikon camera,im not a photographer,which model should i choose ? P600 or p520 or p530 ?? Waitng your advice.

11:49 am - Thursday, September 18, 2014

#46 Raffi kot

Hey guys,i just need your advice,im not a proffecional photographer,i wanna but a nikon camera,so which model shiuld i buy? P600 or P530 or p520 or other kind.
Plz waiting your answers.

12:12 pm - Thursday, September 18, 2014

#47 Raffi kot

Hi guys,i just wanna buy a nikon camera,im not a photographer,which model should i choose ? P600 or p520 or p530 ?? Waitng your advice.

12:27 pm - Thursday, September 18, 2014

#48 Steve

Hi,
I would get the P600. Better image quality than the P530 see techradar review. I tried it, very detailed vibrant images at lower ISO.
Cheers
Steve.

2:16 pm - Wednesday, September 24, 2014

#49 Rob

I would get the P600, too. The extra 440mm of zoom makes it worth it. I also has an articulating LCD, which the P530 doesn’t. Sometimes, you see P520’s on sale for half the price or less of a P600. In that case, I might go with the P520.

6:16 pm - Friday, October 24, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, photos, samples, images, 16 megapixel, test, hdmi, jpeg, nikon, video, movie, super-zoom, manual, coolpix, 24mm, 1080i, EVF, 7fps, p600, 60x zoom, coolpix p600, Nikon Coolpix P600 Review, nikon p600

Tracker Pixel for Entry