Nikon Coolpix P7100 Review

4.5
October 10, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

23 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Richard

I have had the P7100 for two weeks, since it was first available, having waited patiently through the pre-order period. It was well worth the wait.

I can endorse the accuracy of the comprehensive review above, it is simply the best camera I have ever owned (including Pentax and Minolta SLRs, Olympus compacts), a complete system in one entity.  It handles brilliantly, it performs brilliantly.  Most importantly of all, the image quality is outstanding.

Richard 10.10.11

11:51 am - Monday, October 10, 2011

#2 nick192

Fantastic image quality. Much better than P7000.

3:50 pm - Monday, October 10, 2011

#3 Frank Stanton

Thanks for the detailed review. I am glad Nikon have made a genuine commitment to being competitive with Canon (G12). Pics look good.

3:56 pm - Monday, October 10, 2011

#4 zen billings

this camera is encouraging for pack-packers who take extended trips of a week or more. a compact size and weight with no extra lenses to carry is a god send. i would easily drop $500.00 for this camera but for the weak eye-level viewer which appears as a mere after thought and not taken seriously in an otherwise serious camera.

6:03 pm - Monday, October 10, 2011

#5 Ziggy

I bought a P7000 less than a year ago and now feel like I was used as a guinea pig for Nikon. You’d think they would at least have offered an upgrade path or coupon or something for P7000 owners. Thanks for nothing Nikon, but I learned my lesson. You lost a customer when you could have made a friend.

11:36 pm - Monday, October 10, 2011

#6 antint

@Ziggy: Why did you buy a P7000 in the first place? Did you simply buy it hoping for the best or did you read some reviews first?

My point is “There’s always a better product around the corner”.

9:41 am - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#7 Jon Porter

Thank you for providing sample RAW files with the review. The current Photoshop updates do support the 7100’s NRW files and also list the camera in the menu of the Lens Correction feature.

10:51 am - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#8 Bumblejax

have to agree.. a pretty darn good camera

11:18 pm - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#9 Rolf Christensen

Looking for a replacement for my LX3. But it’s hard too choose. Heard good things about this one, but I’m also looking forward to the fujifilm X10. I’m really curious about the iso noise from the X10. If it’s half as good as the X100, I’m satisfied.

8:29 am - Friday, October 14, 2011

#10 pixxer

This is an extremely tempting camera. What it’s missing - and why I didn’t jump for the 7000 a year ago - is the split body I am still addicted to, in which the grip and lens can be rotated with respect to each other. I’ve been repeatedly buying used Nikons instead of new ones (are you listening, Nikon?) b/c I can’t give up this feature from the 900 series and the 4500. The LCD screen rotation is not the same - you have to twist your hand around to use the camera in unusual positions, and also, the “stealth” photo feature, where nobody realizes where you’re actually pointing the camera, is lost. P7200, split body, nifty dials, two function keys… I’m waiting…

7:11 am - Monday, November 28, 2011

#11 Robert

Just bought the 7100, should get it on Tuesday. I downloaded that .mov file and it was fantastic. I can’t wait.  My Christmas present to my self :-)

7:25 am - Monday, December 5, 2011

#12 Terry

“The P7100 has a springy shutter button with a definite halfway point”

Can you (or any other user)expand on that point ? I am somewhat ham-fisted and this is critical for me.

How does it compare with the G12? - I found that a little “twitchy” on the shutter - but I can’t find a P7100 in-store near me to compare.

TIA

Terry

9:21 am - Sunday, February 19, 2012

#13 Jon

You might be asked if you would buy it again after having a camera for a month. Well here I am. my new P7100 got swiped after just a month, but I got to use it enough to fall in love with it. I’m use to professional Nikon tools like the F4Si and this camera showed me why it is their top point n shoot. It really does take superior images and has well thought out controls.  My only complaint was the size and weight - this sounds ironic for me to hear myself say as I’m use to SLR, but for a P&S it is huge. I looked over the S9300 yesterday at a store and it is much smaller and sleeker with some pretty impressive stats, but it would be settling for less.

2:18 am - Tuesday, June 12, 2012

#14 Paul

Excellent camera. It is bigger and heavier than you expect but the quality of the pics more than compensates. The EV wheel is great - don’t listen to those who say it’s easy to knock into a different setting accidentally when you go to take a pic. I’ve never once done that. It would be nice to be able to change the background colours of the instruction menu tabs: maybe you can but I’ve not had chance to find out yet as I do find cd rom instructions a bit of a nuisance.
Find it a nice case and don’t let it out of your sight when out, or it will be stolen.

2:02 pm - Saturday, June 23, 2012

#15 Kelvin

My main camera is a D300 and I bought the P7100 for an extended walking holiday where I needed something lighter.  I am blown away by it. I compared the P7100 side by side with a Canon G12 and went for the Nikon because of its larger zoom, and I’m not sorry. Picture quality is outstanding, and I love the way I can customize it for my own style of shooting. Perhaps I am too used to lugging around a camera the size of a dinner plate, but I have found it surprisingly compact and light. it’s fast becoming my #1 camera.

10:48 am - Sunday, July 1, 2012

#16 Dan

Hello!
Purchased this camera recently, found indoor pics are either flashed out or pastel looking.  Used to canon who seem to get indoor flesh tones dead on.  Was brutally disappointed after reading such stellar reviews.  Maybe its me…  bah.

9:44 am - Saturday, July 28, 2012

#17 Cam Miller

On September 3, I began a 365 Daily Photo Walk Challenge, in which I walk every day with my Nikon P7100 around my neck.  I walked the other day in a downpour, and the camera fit easily under my jacket, whereas my DSLR (a Nikon D300) would not have fit.  It is easy to use and gives me so many great options, including autobracketing. I have not been disappointed with any of my photos.  In order to keep myself accountable for walking and taking a photo every day, I started a blog.  You can follow me and my Nikon P7100 on my daily walks by visiting camscamerashots.blogspot.com.

3:43 pm - Thursday, September 20, 2012

#18 artF

Would have preferred the manual focus on a wheel rather than a toggle. It’s great to have the mic input but what good is it since there is no way to monitor the input during or after the recording other than the 1/4 inch “speaker” at the bottom which is only useful to guarantee something is there.  A volume meter in a menu would be a great help otherwise using a mic may just add to your problems.  As a camera though I really like it.  I love the multiple wheels especially the exposure comp.  flip out lens is great and the build is really solid.  this is the best semi pro small camera I have ever used and my job is to test cameras for a university.

3:40 am - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#19 Jerry

The best compact from Nikon!

I’ve been a Sony compact TX fan and a Nikon DSLR user for many years (D100, D70s, D200, D300, D7000)  This is the first time that I bought a Nikon compact.  Now I can’t wait to get the latest P7700 to be made available locally.  I guess all the ones with “7” in the model is cool.  I still have D70s as my backup for D7000 - the rest were sold after a year or two :)

2:19 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#20 Bong Formoso

my father bought a Nikon P7100 a couple of months ago and now the lower part lens cover does not retract open evrytime it is turned on. Can anybody help me?

6:29 am - Sunday, December 23, 2012

#21 Randy Haugen

The p7100 is a very good camera but has a learning curve to get the best out of it,Get David Busch’s book and you will happy,better than the G12 IMO.

2:09 pm - Thursday, January 10, 2013

#22 Toddy

I purchased this camera a year ago, I’ve always been a Nikon fan.It had problems from day one, initially the charger indicator would not show charge level, sent it back (not to the supplier but appointed service agent in Australia) they had it for some time. Got it back and the movie mode would not work, its back with them now. Ive been without the camera for so long. I wish I had not bought it, may be just a lemon ?

11:18 pm - Monday, January 14, 2013

#23 Frances

While learning to use the “flash exp.comp.“mode
in P setting, I was experimenting with the various
settings when suddenly the screen went black. It affects the A.S, & M modes too. They still can be used but the screen remains black. what did I do wrong? The screen works fine with the other modes.

3:28 am - Sunday, July 6, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, hdmi, nikon, RAW, coolpix, tilting, 10 megapixel, prosumer, 28mm, tilt, 7x zoom, stereo sound, 28mm lens, optical viewfinder, NRW, P7100 Review, Nikon P7100 Review, Nikon Coolpix P7100 Review, p7100

Tracker Pixel for Entry