Nikon Coolpix P7700 Review

4.5
October 15, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

82 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

When pushed by competition, Nikon can make great cameras…

5:24 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#2 BlackBox

“The new Coolpix P7700 is the best prosumer Nikon compact camera to date”

Claims like that are what drove me away from DPR. They like to say things like “Comparing to its predecessor…”. Which makes the whole review pointless.

I’m sorry but I don’t care if it’s the best NIKON camera. I want to know how it compares to OTHER cameras in its class. And from what I see, it doesn’t too well. At “give-or-take-$500” price both Canon G1X and Sony RX100 offer larger sensors and thus better low light performance. And Sony is the smaller and lighter, doesn’t it? Also, it would be nice to know how it compares to its direct competitor - Canon G15.

Why is it so difficult to say, “I like the X camera more than the Y and Z, because…”? Or maybe even “X is better than Y and Z, because…”. Am I missing something?

WHY do you “highly recommend” it? It’s too heavy and bulky, it has a tiny sensor, it’s pretty overpriced for this segment. Why then?

5:26 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#3 moeskoetie

far better quality picture than the pana fz200 comparing the same picture’s of bodes camera’s

5:29 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#4 Lox

There are no sample photos clicked at night. Without night photography makes the review such a waste. Any cam can take decent daylight pics.

Just compared it with the corresponding pics of the RX100 and the difference is evident right away! The RX renders such brilliant detail in places where the P7700 just keeps you wanting more. Especially in backlit settings. Overall an inconclusive review i must say.

6:01 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#5 Amir

That’s a good-sized sensor in a small camera. Hopefully that should somewhat address the high ISO performance issues of most point&shoots; in this range.

8:27 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#6 John Franco

Looks like a very decent camera. Ooops, no optical viewfinder and it’s supposed to be a PRO-Sumer camera. No deal for me.

9:22 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#7 Joe Prete

NIKON,
“Offering the functionality of a DSLR,
with a sensor the size of a pea”

Nikon can obtain sensors from APTINA that are sufficient
enough to do the job, but they’re to scared they might
offend SONY, so what we have here looks like a good
camera, but with it’s tiny SONY sensor it can’t “step up
to the plate”. I reference Baseball, but I think you all
understand my meaning. (You too NIKON).   
... Joe Prete (Nikon FX, and Film user since 1985)

10:01 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#8 Kolobokk

What a thread to attach the wide lens and telephoto adapters? (Not to be confused with thread for filters.)
Thank you!

10:30 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#9 Huub Louppen

A compact for Nikon DSLR users. I can use it wireless with my Nikon Speedlights,. With the SB400 I have a super compact combination..
3 issues:
1. Interval min. 30 seconds for use in time lapse is not quick enough
2. no viewfinder, despite the very good lcd display
3. Quick continuous shooting in RAW and JPEG freezes the performance (files saving to card)

10:33 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#10 DrMickey

BlackBox is right to a point, but…
I have owned Canon S3IS, Canon SD950IS, Canon G10, Panasonic LX-5, Nikon P7100. Still own Canon G11 and now Nikon P7700.
The P7700 is a better camera for me than any of the formerly mentioned. Maybe it’s the CMOS vs. CCD, maybe it’s the 12 mp; maybe it’s the new, faster lens, but the photos I am making with the P7700 are tack sharp without all the grunge I have seen from previous cameras.
Seriously, 200mm is free of smearing, blur and splotches, and macro is just as sharp as my P7100 which I came to regard as my macro machine.
So that’s how it compares to MY other cameras.
Oh…one other thing: build quality is superb.

10:44 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#11 Joe Prete

Mark,
The Product images of this camera make it look like this camera was out in the battlefield for a while. Does it really have that
“roughed up” look to it? Like those Jeans in the department store that already look quite used. Stone Washed, I thought it was a
very strange Fad, but they still do it. Maybe when you can’t seem
to get things right, you come up with a “Stone Washed Nikon”
... Joe Prete

4:34 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#12 Simon

I strongly support Blackbox’ comment:

Of course it’s “the best Nikon prosumer compact”. When a manufacturer releases a NEW camera isn’t it to be expected from a customer’s perspective that it should perform better than it’s predecessor?

My buying decision is not based on the performance on any discontinued camera of the same manufacturer. I want and need to know how it performs in comparison to it’s rivals in the same camera segment.

If you plan to decide between a Cheyv, BMW or Mercedes: do you do a testdrive with used cars in order to find out if the new one is improved? Or maybe you decide you want a compact class car and then compare each new model and find your right one?

9:56 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#13 Joe Prete

Blackbox,
I would buy the Chevy.

10:12 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#14 Mikey

What NO VIEWFINDER its not a proper camera then, just a camera for not serious photography !!

9:40 pm - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#15 Joe Prete

Compact Camera Buyers,

Did you read my comment #7, yesterday?

Today APTINA announced their ONE INCH SENSOR

... Joe Prete

2:56 am - Wednesday, October 17, 2012

#16 BlackBox

Joe Prete, if you buy a Chevy over BMW or Mercedes, you’re either cheap or blind. :-))

Yes, I read about Aptina sensors. Nikon has a contract with Sony and won’t bet on an unknown sensor over a proven partnership with the best sensor manufacturer of the past couple of years.

11:28 am - Wednesday, October 17, 2012

#17 moeskoetie

i have a tamronlens 18-270mm.
what is the compare with compactcamera such as nikon and canon in mm?
is my 270mm with the tamron the same as 270mm with these compact or is there a cropfacture?

12:04 pm - Wednesday, October 17, 2012

#18 Joe Prete

BlackBox,
Regarding Chevy, actually I drive a Buick, but of the choices you gave I would buy a Chevy because it is an American car, built by Americans in America. Also, it gets the same job done and is more than adequate. I am an American and so, I support America. If it gets me there, and it does, it’s good enough for me

Maybe you didn’t notice, that the APTINA sensor is exactly the same as the sensors in the Nikon J1 and V1 cameras. Compare the specifications. Do you really think that Nikon would put their production of Digital Cameras on the line, by having a contract to only use Sony Sensors? What you’re saying, is that Sony can give Nikon second rate sensors to keep them ahead of Nikon in quality. Where do you get this rubbish?  Why don’t you use your head to think for a change, you may get better results.

Do some research on the issue before you make a statement like that. Nikon’s Lawyers are not the average contract lawyers that most people are familiar with. Maybe you should wait to see the impact of the large APTINA sensors have on the market. If you want a faster education in this area, tear down a camera and see how many names you find inside. Much like the Computer industry, Parts are bought, sold and traded on a regular basis.

Also, come up with a real name if you want people to take you seriously. Bring the question up at dpr and see what kind of response you get over there. Even someone new to the field would realize that competition fuels technology and also has another nice effect for consumers, it lowers prices. 

Knowing your lack of knowledge, you’ve made up a name to use. Now you have the option to start fresh with another made up name. Try to do better next time, and if you happen to grow a pair, try using your real name! Learning is a good thing, you should try it before stating things on line. I.P.‘s are recorded!
... Joe Prete

2:15 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#19 Joe Prete

TO Moeskoetie,
Yes, but before I research it, please supply both the camera you are using, and the model of this Tamron lens. There were a few versions There were issues with some models of this lens. Include all the model information on the lens
... Joe Prete

2:38 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#20 moeskoetie

to Joe Prete.
Joe, i have the tamron 18-270mm 1:3.5-6.3 DI 2.
i have found a website where i can see the differents between two camera’s.
http://www.digified.net/focallength/
is this what i can use for compare between camera’s with different sensors?

11:19 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#21 BlackBox

Joe Prete, FYI, more Chevrolets are made in South Korea by Daewoo than “in America by Americans”. You drive a Buick, so you’re old. VERY old. And maybe that’s the reason for limited brain effectiveness. Sony supplies sensors for a whole bunch of Nikon cameras, including both DSLRs and compacts. Remember the time and do some homework for a change. Welcome to the 21st century, pops.

7:14 pm - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#22 BlackBox

Joe Prete, FYI, more Chevrolets are made in South Korea by Daewoo than “in America by Americans”. You drive a Buick, so you’re old. VERY old. And maybe that’s the reason for limited brain effectiveness. Sony supplies sensors for a whole bunch of Nikon cameras, including both DSLRs and compacts. Remember the time and do some homework for achange. Welcome to the 21st century, pops.

7:18 pm - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#23 H. MONETTI

Mr Box,
Now you’re repeating yourself. Four minutes apart, no less. Can you read my fortune too? The Moderator will be leaving that on, so people can see how much you really know, but others can be pulled at any time. What is it, that’s causing this? Too much time on your hands?  Where did you learn so little photography? (and cars) You are obviously a photography wanna- be, and his ride, A new Buick Enclave is build here, He did the shoot for their brochure. Maybe he is older than you, but then again, you’re only a child! Troll
Hank

8:52 pm - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#24 H. MONETTI

Mr Box,
Now I see you’re not even a member at dpr, not even your IP address is on file there. So you don’t know anything about cameras and you are probably too young to even drive. I feel sorry for you.  I wish you better luck when you grow up!
Hank

10:17 pm - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#25 G. Nobi

Joe can u help me to choose between nikon p7700 and nikon p510?? or can u please suggest a few within same price range??

5:16 am - Friday, October 19, 2012

#26 Joe Prete

G. Nobl
You have chosen two very different types of cameras. You should really decide which way you are going. The P7700 is a compact body camera with a range equil to 28-200mm it has a C mos SENSOR 1/1.7” (SMALL) it is a heavy compact without an optical eye level viewfinder. It has the looks of a high quality camera, but it’s small sensor and lack of viewfinder really bring it down. quite a bit. not worth anywhere near it’s price. lcost $499.

The Nikon P510 is a decent superzoom with a range of 24-1000mm it’s 3.3-5.9 lens is average for this type of camera. It’s size is about twice that of the P7700 But as a super zoom it it very good against the other cameras in it’s class. cost $375-$425 I will gladly help you, but I’ve never had to compare two very different cameras. If you don’t mind telling me how you plan to shoot your pictures, we can at least give you cameras in the range that you need. A compact is good to conseal or- not to have too much of a noticeable bulge. A super zoom on the other hand would be more difficult to carry. If you get back to me with more information, I can be much better help to you.
... Joe Prete

10:10 am - Friday, October 19, 2012

#27 BlackBox

Dear Mr. Monetti. I don’t know how you expected people to believe you have access to DPR IP list - the most guarded information on any website. But that’s your problem. It is also your (as well as our resident patriot Mr.Prete’s) problem if you believe Buick Enclave is a good car. OR that Nikon P7700 is a good camera. Good luck with all three of those statements.

12:44 pm - Friday, October 19, 2012

#28 DieTrollsDie

Blackbox, what about starting your own site about “serious photography” so that we can measure your “superior brain effectiveness” ? Because it has not been demonstrated here yet - who gives a f*** about what you think of Buick or any other brand in the comments section of a Nikon camera ? Are you trolling car forums with deep thoughts about camera brands, also ?
Now please, for God’s sake, GTFO so that we can enjoy our mediocre cameras and cars without the addition of mediocre comparisons and personal attacks.

5:12 pm - Friday, October 19, 2012

#29 H. MONETTI

Black BOXHEAD,
Joe Prete’s name is no secret at dp review. He’s known as PhotoJoe and he is very well known. He’s in his early fifties and has been taking and processing Black and White pictures since his 10th birthday, and advancing non stop ever since then!

He is a member and supporter at dpreview.com. Even idiots like you can view this information, BUT YOU CAN NOT REPLY! No one will take you seriously unless you change your attitude and get a name that they can take seriously.

Joe has two studios and still teaches High School Photography. He often supplies cameras for those students that can’t afford their own yet. I really think you should get yourself some help to see why you hate a person that you don’t know. And you must have mystical powers if you can judge a person by the car he drives. Go ahead, continue on until the moderator cuts your entries. This and the other sites promote photography, not cars
so maybe there’s a place where you can fit in.

But with a name that is meaningless, I don’t know if you’ll get the attention that you seek. I do feel sorry for you, but you need to help yourself out of this black box in which you survive.

Don’t bother replying, it will not be read. Someday maybe you can get yourself a camera, and see what you’ve been missing!
Hank

10:58 pm - Friday, October 19, 2012

#30 JoePrete

Mark,
Your comparison cameras “main Rivals” is way off. I bought the G1 X, the sensor is a CMOS APS-C 1.5” and an F2.8 With an optical range finder. I’ve been using it and it is pro calibre. There is no comparison there at all. The X10 is a lightweight 2/3” EXR Sensor it has an F2-F4 Lens and it has a viewfinder. Again, no comparison.

The G12 has a faster lens at F2.8 and also has a viewfinder. And The Sony RX100 no viewfinder here, but it is very light and it has a 1” sensor. I won’t go through the others, but that was half of your comparisons. Yes a couple are more money, but I would rather spend $800.00 and get something for my money, rather than spending $400.00 and getting next to nothing for the money. I think you need to pick your comparison cameras a little more carefully, ,,, Joe Prete

9:07 am - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#31 Kustom48

Hi,
How about a mega comparison test of the latest bunch of ‘serious compacts’, to find out how they really work and the images they produce ?

It would certainly help me to decide and reduce my’ wish list’ options !

2:39 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#32 JoePrete

How about weighing them and separating them based on their compositional material, or separate the wiring and measure their thickness, or the wires insulation thickness. HOW ABOUT ANALYZING THE GLASS, AND WEIGHING THEM IN COMPARISON TO ONE ANOTHER.

KUSTOM 48, 49 AND 50, After the marriage ceremony to these cameras we might think of some other senseless information that we can analyze. Have I left anything out, because we have nothing better to do than tear down and analyze these cameras that 7 percent of you might just buy, but I even doubt that!

Or you might even lift a finger and do something for yourself besides preach your wildest dreams to us. By the way, how much did you donate toward these tests, because we see no trace of that at all. ... Joe Prete

5:47 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#33 JoePrete

The only one of you that made any sense at all was Blackbox
... JOE

5:49 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#34 Kustom48

Joe,

Sorry you took my suggestion the wrong way from what I had intended.

It was not meant as a criticism, just that it might prove helpful to anyone looking to buy an advanced features compact.

I’ll go and test them all when a local retailer to me has these all in stock here in the UK.

And I did not realise that I could donate some funds to help this site continue, apologies again.

Where do I look to send funds ?


Thanks

6:09 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#35 Kustom48

Hi Joe,
I did not intend my suggestion to be taken in this way, all I wanted to suggest was a hands-on side by side test, not every little detail but just how they felt in use etc.

I’m sorry if I ofended you with my comment it was not meant as a criticism of the way this great site opperates.

Plus I don’t know you need funding, how do I contribute exactly ?

I’m hoping to travel to my local retailer here in the UK, when and if they do have in stock all the ‘wish list’ compacts I’d like to try.

I can just about afford one camera by selling my hardly used 400D.

Once again my apologies to everyone on this site/ topic.

PS -I might have replied to your post already but I am not confident if it sent ok, so sorry for my error if it did.

Kustom48 is my nickname from my other hobby of traditional style hotrods and custom cars and the year my last project was originally made.

6:37 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#36 JoePrete

It’s not that, but Mark gets these cameras on loan, for a short period of time. He runs the same tests on every camera then sends the camera back.

Then people write in, why didn’t you do this or that, compare to current cameras, not last years model of this camera,

Why not compare it to last years camera instead of these models, I want to know what’s new this year.

Try different focal lengths, no different ISO’S, HOW ABOUT MACROS or slow motion movies,

How about comparing it to cars so we can understand. Why not this, or that. He does one thing, they ask for another.

The cameras long gone and they want us to test something else, it’s always something. give them this, they ask for that.

How about take what you get and go to the manufacturers web site and look up the information over there instead of complaining about everything on this site.

These guys do a good job considering the short period that they get the cameras for. It’s good, but it’s not intended to be everything. You can sort them out and do some research on your own too you know. It’s all there to read, just go and look at it!

7:38 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#37 JoePrete

I’ll tell you what, how about of those that actually buy any one of these cameras write back and tell us, and give us the last 5 digits of the serial number. Fair enough? Let’s find out the percentage, after all of your questions. I have a good idea what it will be, but go ahead and prove me wrong okay?
... Joe Prete  

PS: Remember, the last 5 digits!

10:38 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#38 G. Nobi

@JoePrete
actually i was confused which 1 to buy..a superzoom or the othr.
can u bettr out between nikon p510 n canon sx50?
got 1 more question…which type of camera will give more manual type of control..this type of compact cameras or the superzoom types??

a newbie in photography..would love ur guidance.

12:54 pm - Monday, October 22, 2012

#39 G. Nobi

@Joe Prete
thanks for your help…can u get me the bettr of canon sx50 and nikon p510??
m planning to get 1 but m having a lot of confusion…
do advanced compact cameras have more manual control over the superzooms??

1:17 pm - Monday, October 22, 2012

#40 G. Nobi

if i had to choose between canon g12 and nikon p7700 which one i should go for??

3:26 pm - Monday, October 22, 2012

#41 JoePrete

G Nobl

The SX40/SX50 HS and the P510 are both Super Zoom Cameras
... Joe Prete

4:00 am - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#42 Brian

I am confused by all of these posts. It seems to me that despite the good review the P7700 is being slammed for being too big, too heavy, not having a big enough sensor and not being good in low light apart from being too expensive.

I have been using a Canon G11 for three years and hoped that the G15 would have had a swivel screen like it’s predecessor but it doesn’t, so if I find my G11 too slow and I want a compact for travel with a decent zoom what do I go for if I don’t buy the P7700?

Why isn’t there a side by side review of these two cameras as they seem to be two so similar cameras.?

5:10 am - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#43 JoePrete

Brian,
Many manufacturers have their cameras available as side by side comparisons.  Also,
many Camera Shops like B&H, J&R and others have a side by side comparison of different brand cameras, so although it is a big help, deciding on which camera is the “Photographers Job”

The last time I looked at Nikon’s site, more than half of the option list for the P7700 was still “BLANK” How they want you to compare?, I’m not really sure. Of course with it’s little sensor and lack of “OPTICAL VIEWFINDER” it only took two seconds to delete it from my list. You haven’t read my post: it looks like a camera, feels like a camera etc….. But in the end, it really isn’t…...
Look around, you’ll find it. Believe me, I have many, many thousands of dollars invested in Nikon, but lately I’m not sure if they’re thinking with their heads, or their a__es

I think you should take the time Brian, and make your own list with Poster Board, and sliding inner list panels, think of it as a school project. I think you get the idea.
Good Luck,
... Joe Prete

7:06 am - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#44 JoePrete

Kustom 48,
NO HARM, NO FOUL, it’s just that everyone has their own ideas and I see Mark rushing to do these tests with who wants the ISO, FOCAL LENGTH, MACRO, SHUTTER SPEED and so on. There will always be more, no matter how much he puts. No sooner that they give him the camera to test, and they’re pulling it back already.

It’s not an easy job. Learn what you can from each site, and the manufacturers site and put it together. I bought two of the very first D700’S but it took me 8 months to decide on the G1 X. You will learn as you go, It helps to be in a camera club or have friends at the local camera shop. With new cameras coming out every day, it’s not an easy job, but when you get it right, it’s really worth it. Spend carefully, you have to live with it for a while, or sell it and lose at least 40%....
Good Luck,
... Joe Prete

7:30 am - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#45 JoePrete

Brian,
Canon went back and forth a few times with the tilt/swivel screens. Many people complained, but I don’t see why. Also we expected a larger sensor. I think that although larger sensors are available, and with Aptina bringing in competition, people may have thought small sensors will go the way of film. Not so, the large sensors are expensive, and also more likely to have many imperfections. (like Diamonds)

I think they are sending us a message with even Sony, using small sensors on new cameras too, and for the bulk of cameras. So many people never even print pictures anyhow. They use on line, send to friends, Slide showing picture frames. Nobody is making 16"X20”  or larger prints, the small sensors are adequate. Also, each company buys in bulk, so many are stock piled. There’s probably a years worth on everyones factory shelves.

Also, keep in mind that the small sensor is one of the ways the superzooms are over 1000mm’s now. That would be very hard with a large sensor. So you shouldn’t really pay extra for something you may never even need. I think doing a little research, will go a long way in seeing what you need.  Don’t forget you can call them and request information, one call will go a long way in obtaining brochures and descriptions of their systems. They want you as a customer, so you will get material. I hope I’ve given you some ideas, so you can buy with some knowledge and confidence. You also might want to see the way the reviews are done at Popular Photography (a subscription is very cheap, like less than 2 issues at the news stand)

Regarding the weight, the G series are all on the heavy side. They seem to be solid cameras. And the P7700, may not be much different than the P7100 That I believe has a viewfinder and articulating screen. It seems as solid as the Canon (I take that as good). I assume that the price will drop as it comes closer to discontinuation.  I think that will be soon.
(call Nikon or try camera shops for the two brochures) I’ve put some time into this for you, so when you have some ideas together, write in and let us know how you’re doing.
... Joe Prete

11:29 am - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#46 Brian

You have made some very valid points one of the most important is that most folks don’t make prints in fact if I want to show my images I plug the camera into the tv and show them far bigger than I could afford to make prints of everything even after throwing away duff images.

Second point you raised was about the size of the sensor affecting the size of the lens and thus the size and bulk of the camera. I have watched folks carrying around big heavy dslrs on holiday. I have one myself but don’t take it on holiday because of cabin baggage restrictions (Oly 410 and Zuiko 12-60mm lens) the Sony X100 has a big sensor but it doesn’t have a swivel screen and the lens is limited.

I had hoped the G15 would have been a G12 with better sensor and lens, all we got was the better sensor and lens and no swivel screen and that didn’t really make the camera that much smaller.

In fact the P7700 is more the G12 successor than the G15!

I am in no great hurry as my holiday is nearly over and the only things that drove me potty on my old G11 were awfully slow processing waiting to take the next pic and the lousy manipulation of aperture and shutter in full manual.

I really appreciate your taking the time to answer my comment fully but have a feeling that next holiday I may well the carrying the P7700. I saw the P7700 and the G15 side by side in a camera shop here in Japan, was able to compare them directly physically and in my humble opinion Canon gained nothing by removing the swivel screen the difference in weight is insignificant.

I am in no hurry as my G11 was serviced just before I came on holiday, new back, focussing recalibrated, so it will last a while yet.

Thank’s again for the useful advice.

12:16 pm - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#47 JoePrete

Guys,
I usually get a copy of your post before it even shows up here. I am not the moderator, but at times my post comes right on to this site and may be he reviews it after the print. I’m not sure, but I think they know my writing so well, and they know that I’m not going to curse so that may explain why sometimes my answer is before the question, or they actually print together. 

The post I just received made sense that the new Nikon P7700 seems more like what the new Canon should have been. That seems correct. I was going to reply that the Nikon P7100 price will be dropping, and that may make more sense for now,  or you can do what I did, I bought the Canon G1 X that has the 1.5” CMOS APS-C Sensor with the Digic 5 Processor, the articulating screen and an Optical View Finder. Everything I wanted all in one package. It’s down from $800.00 to about$ 659.00 right now.

What I heard was that due to the low sales, there may not be a G2 X at the CES show in January. (where it was originally announced) Was it a chance, sure, they could come out with a better model too. You just never know. It’s not a rapid fire camera, but that’s what I have NIKON DX cameras for. And you do get over the cost when you see the quality construction and the JPEG + RAW files. The camera slows you down a bit and it gives you the time to think about your shot. Something I wanted!

I don’t want to give you guys a hard time, so if you are getting ready, I will help you. There have been times when I help someone, and go through the trouble to make a comparison, write 12 paragraphs, and the guy writes back “but then what do you say about this (He sends me a 1 paragraph URL that has the opposite opinion written by some nobody) He had that ready and waiting the whole time. He fully took advantage of me. This stuff really happens. And it really PISSES ME OFF! IT’S JUST NOT FAIR!

I don’t know the other writer, but I teach Photography besides being in it 40+ years and the schedule is booked 60 days in advance. I do have a partner and we have two student helpers. And Marks site isn’t the biggest, but I believe in him, and I’m not on salary either. This is my time. I helped a guy last week to decide between two cameras, then I see he wrote in to FABIO (a friend of mine) with a comparison of two different cameras. He was pulling my chain. usually I can tell, but some get by and I find that very annoying. All I ask is that you be for real, actually considering this, not just curious. And that is all that I ask, be for real! That’s all.
... Joe Prete

1:40 pm - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#48 JoePrete

What I meant by the Nikon DX being faster, when you have two bodies, an FX and a DX and you’re shooting With a 180mm 2,8 Full frame Lens, and you switch the full frame Lens and put it on the DX body, you now have a 270mm lens and your F2,8 aperture becomes a still fast F5.6 so your auto focus still works fine, you have 1,5 the focal length and you didn’t have to go back and get any more equipment and you can keep shooting. Very versatile isn’t it?

Canon has a similar arrangement but I would have to do some harder calculations, because I don’t use that often and it’s not exactly 1.5 times the focal length. but it is a similar gain. It’s a good way to save money, you just have to plan it in advance.
... Joe Prete

3:55 pm - Tuesday, October 23, 2012

#49 BlackBox

Dear Mr.Monetti.

No, I won’t follow your suit of name calling. But I will clarify a few things.

“why you hate a person that you don’t know.”

I don’t give a crap about the old fart, whether he gives out cameras to the poor of saves flamingos from the zoos. I also don’t give a damn how many studios he has.

I was making a nice conversation when this Miami resident-to-be came down on me with rude and stupid comments, proving what I knew very well before - all yanks are idiots. And you followed suit.

And dear Mr.Prete… #### YOU.

2:00 am - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#50 JoePrete

OH, is the BOX HEAD STILL HERE?

4:37 am - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#51 BlackBox

That happens when your mother and father are also brother and sister

4:42 am - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#52 ??????

DrMickey
????????????,DrMickey ????? ????????? ??? ???? ?????? ?? ?????? ????????? ????? NikoP7700 ??? ??????? ?? ??? e-mail:vik50.50@mail.ru

5:59 pm - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#53 G. Nobi

Joe Prete
i would b glad if u guide me to find a long zoom camera…as the older versions are gettng cleared their prices hve dropped relativeley. so i have narrowed my choice to canon sx40, panasonic dmc fz150 and sony hs200.

6:42 pm - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#54 JoePrete

G. Nobi,
Wow, you are certainly on the right track. You’ve found three Gems, of them the FZ150 seems like the hardest to find at a discontinued price. All three are very good, and you really can’t go wrong with any of them, but I will look for a comparison table where you can enter the models and do a side by side comparison. Maybe you can tailor that to your own needs. Two of the prices may still be coming down, but the FZ150 would have hit the floor already. I will write back when I find a suitable comparison table.
... Joe Prete

12:21 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#55 TheNomadWay

My camera broke whilst in Ecuador and I struggled to find a replacement…ended up choosing the P7700, loving it so far…my thoughts on cameras are here:
http://www.thenomadway.com/best-travel-camera.php

3:56 pm - Friday, October 26, 2012

#56 secnarfenna

Hi Joe,

can you help me decide what camera to buy?
I’ve been considering Nikon P7700, Lumix Lx5, canon g1x.. or can you suggest any other camera?
my previous cam was canon g11
I dont want to purchase an SLR, just fond of taking pictures while travelling.

Hope you can help me out!

Thanks
secnarfenna

6:42 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#57 Brian

I have already decided. I just came back from holiday with my old G11 and sometimes it was just so slow to store an image after taking a pic.

I began to hate the bloody wheel at the back for changing aperture and shutter so fiddly.

I had the chance to compare P7700, G15 and G1X in Japan last week and have to say that for me the P7700 wins. On all counts although of course there will be those who moan about the loss of viewfinder I hardly used mine in three weeks.

G15 looks like it was designed with no aesthetics in mind, G1X too heavy too slow too expensive for what better image quality? Get an SLR.

If the local camera shop has one at somewhere near Amazon’s price I’ll get one tomorrow, if not then Amazon will get my order.

6:56 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#58 Goran Kindwall

Comment to Mark
I read your review of the P7700 with great interest. You state in the text: “but irritatingly still no live histogram”. However, using the Fn2 button, you can display a live histogram. This can be done in both display settings - the clean and the busy (with all info). You only have to make the necessary setting in the menus for Fn2. All the best/Goran

6:21 pm - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#59 JoePrete

TO SECNARFENNA   Post56
Hi,
A lot depends on how you shoot, do you hold the camera with your arms extended looking at an LCD? I think the only camera you mentioned that has an optical eye level viewfinder is the Canon G 1X, and that was one of the reasons that I bought it myself. OPTICAL ELV’s are quickly becoming a thing of the past. The P7700 looks like a real camera until you see it’s tiny sensor and it’s lack of an optical finder. The Lumix is a good camera, but again, no finder.

It seems like the “Point & Shoot” crowd are all loving the cameras that are relying on just the LCD, but I can’t shoot that way myself, so it’s hard for me to recommend it to someone else.
b/t/w, the other reasons I bought the Canon G 1X is for it’s CMOS 1.5” Sensor and the choice to shoot RAW, JPEG or JPEG+RAW. It’s JPEGS are actually good enough to use without any Post Processing, so even if you needed to compress your shots into JPEGS you would still be okay. But having a choice, and a 1.5” sensor is a very good thing.

Only you know how you will be comfortable using the camera, and it’s not the best optical finder either (it does show part of the lens in wide angle) but it’s not hard to get used to. Holding the camera against your forehead does keep it steady, way more then holding it with your arms extended, but if you’re a closet “Point & Shooter” losing the viewfinder will “out you” for sure!
So If you’re old school then an optical viewfinder is for you, and your choices are quickly melting away. It seems that Fujifilm and the few Canons (2 now) are all that’s left for us. That is unless you count Leica. A little rich for my blood, I would find it hard to “use” it out in the field on a daily basis. Like many people, I would probably keep it shining new on a shelf or mantel.
... Joe Prete

6:50 pm - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#60 JoePrete

TO BRIAN Post#57
Brian,
Are you sure that the delay is not caused by the capacity and speed of your memory card? Too small, or too slow a card will have more effect than the camera itself does. For your own sake, try a better card before changing cameras.
... Joe Prete

7:26 pm - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#61 Brian

Joe,
Before going on holiday I bought two new memory chips 16Gb Sandisk Extreme 10, SDHC 45Mb /second, which I used most of the time, I guess I might have used one older SDHVc6, 20Mb /sec card so that not all my images were on just one card but I have generally used my memory cards like film and keep the images on them as backups as I am unlikely to visit Japan again.

I ordered my P7700 yesterday and put down a deposit on it. Managed to get a good discount from a local shop after quoting the online price comparisons, I guess these days some shops would rather make a sale with a smaller profit margin than lose out to the likes of Amazon and the big camera shops.

4:23 am - Wednesday, October 31, 2012

#62 JoePrete

Brian,
Sandisk has changed the names on their cards a couple of times now, and it is getting annoying. I think the “EXTREME” Card was the “ULTRA”  card, before the name swapping started. They can’t seem to put the specs. on the label where we can read it.

I’m using LEXAR “PROFESSIONAL” SDHC UHS-I 400X 60 MB/s Lexar clearly states what speed each card is, and the read/write speed is Guaranteed, so if I run into a problem, I know it’s not the card. The “Pocket Camera” I chose isn’t really known for it’s speed but it’s not what I use for work, it’s just the opposite.

I waited to see what Nikon did, but I wanted an optical viewfinder and I needed a larger sensor so I bought the Canon G1 X

I hope the P7700 works out for you, but I think you should start with a couple of new cards with known speed. Format them in the camera even before the first use, that way the camera will know the space that’s left on the cards. I buy them in pairs so that their performance is consistent. I thought your cards might have been overlooked, but it sounds like you were due for a change any way.  Good Luck with your new camera.
... Joe Prete

6:16 am - Wednesday, October 31, 2012

#63 Brian

Hi Joe,

Many thanks for your useful comments. I did get a chance to try a P7700 in Japan with a bog standard memory chip and have to say that it returned to ready almost immediatly after taking a shot. Of course I dont know what the image size was and whether it was shooting just jpegs or jpegs + raw.

As to the new card I went with a pair of Sandisk Extreme (yes I had noticed they had changed their name a few times over the years - 16 Gb Ultima Pro (6),  Ultima Pro 16 Gb. 20 mbs /sec, then the latest pair Sandisk Extreme 16Gb, (10) 45 Mb / sec both of which were formatted in the camera before use.

So my feeling is that it’s my old G11 that was slow on downloading onto the memory cards. I havebeen told I should have the Nikon by friday so I’ll reformat one of the Extreme cards in camera full format to erase everything and do some tests and let you know the results.

thanks again for most helpful comments.

9:43 pm - Wednesday, October 31, 2012

#64 secnarf_enna

Hi joe,

Thanks for your reply.. ive decided to get the p7700 :) and enjoying it so far.. i seldom use my viewfinder with my previous cam,so it really does’t matter..

Thanks

Secnarfenna

2:56 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#65 BlackBox

I just learned that I ain’t the sharpest kniefe in the drawer, so please disregard my comment of the 15th.

8:21 pm - Friday, November 30, 2012

#66 farhad

I’m wondering if anyone could guide me to choose and buy one of these cameras: Nikon P7700 or Olympus XZ2

11:41 pm - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#67 Danonino

This makes me soooo mad, I have downloaded raw-files and compared with raw files from my Nikon J1.. The P7700 beats the crap out the J1 raw files.. I´ve been screwed by Nikon! How can they give us a small sensored compact with better image quality then the 1-system with much larger sensor? I guess its a Sony sensor in this one.. Im freaking mad and terribly dissapointed by this move from Nikon. Starting to look the Sony way from now on. Goodbye Nikon.

5:05 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#68 Joe Prete

Danonino,
What size Prints are you looking at? I didn’t like the J1, V1 System but The images were excellent, I was looking at 13x19’s
... Joe Prete

11:05 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#69 Lars

Nice review,, has helped me a lot to select the camera that I want!
but I’m still undecided between Olympus Xz-2 and Nikon P7700 !!!
I love taking pictures of insects and animals (macro) wich one do you recomend?

3:36 pm - Thursday, December 20, 2012

#70 Joe Prete

Lars,
I was hoping that someone more familiar with Olympus picked up this question, mostly because I dislike the touch screen controls. I really think they belong on IPADS, not Cameras.

They appear very similar in many ways, but the Olympus is a cleaner, better looking camera. It does cost $600.00 while the Nikon is about $400.00 US.

Price Nikon P7700 WINS

Focal Length P7700 - 28-200MM XZ-2 is 28-112.  P7700 WINS

Aperture P7700 is F2-F4,  XZ-2 is F1.8-F2.5   The XZ-2 WINS

SENSORS- BOTH CMOS Around 12MP each. About EVEN

ISO Nikon is 80-1600 (W/1 Down and 2/UP) Crap!

ISO, XZ-2 is ISO 100-12,800 The XZ-2 WINS

Nikon P7700 is a fully articulating LCD The Nikon P7700 WINS
Olympus Has a Tilting LCD

Neither has any type of optical Eye Level View Finder. EVEN

They both shoot JPEG, RAW and RAW+JPEG.  EVEN

Ease of use The Nikon P7700 WINS

Electronic advancement, XZ-2 WINS

The two major differences are the 1)Focal length. XZ-2 28-112
P7700 28-200 And 2) ISO Range P7700 80-1600
.................................... Olympus XZ-2 100-12,800

So what’s my opinion? Obviously the ISO range has to be the most determining factor, and I don’t go for this HI1, HIGH2 crap

I think if those settings were usable they would have been actual settings. I’ve argued with Nikon over that many times.

In this case, the Nikon P7700 has such a poor appearance, it looks old from the start. I don’t buy Pre Stone Washed Jeans, and I surely won’t buy a stone washed camera. The Nikon looks like it’s on it’s way out instead of on it’s way in. On the other hand, Olympus has paid attention to detail so well, that this camera is nearly a work of art in itself. The XZ-2 is beautiful in comparison

OVERALL, and Considering ISO, -OLYMPUS XZ-2 is the WINNER.

Please note that this is based on actually handling both cameras and shooting for display on a monitor, however the cameras were not in my hands at the time that this response was written.
... Joe Prete

8:38 pm - Saturday, December 22, 2012

#71 OxKing

Hands down the best 1/7” camera by image quality,
and it beats even the Sony RX100 in some ways,
because it has the sharper lens, especaily in the corners.
Considering the 7x Zoom, it beats all the competitors out there.
At least at ISO 80-200.
But also the Nightshots with long exposure are realy impressive.
I am realy impressed by the Sample pictures of the camera
and considering to sell my sx50 hs for this one.
Only, i am not sure about if i would miss the huge zoom,
but 7x zoom is not sooo bad at all.

11:53 pm - Thursday, January 3, 2013

#72 JOE PRETE

Ox King,
With the size of the P7700, you can easily slide it into a pocket, maybe you should keep both of them. The SX50 HS is amazing, but you do need to carry it in something. The only thing I think the P7700 should have had, was an optical viewfinder. I can’t seem to adapt to just using an LCD. It’s like using a “Point & shoot”.
... Joe

5:47 am - Friday, January 4, 2013

#73 E

I am debating between buying the Nikon p7100 or 7700.
I am going to use the camera to take pictures of jewelry.
The most important function in the camera for me is the macro
Is it worth it for me to spend the extra money for the macro and upgrading to the P7700.
Thank you

3:59 pm - Monday, February 11, 2013

#74 JOE PRETE

To E,
Geez, what a Dilemma! This Jewelry, is it like behind a big window with steel gates or what?  I think it just might be worth the extra money!
.
Think you’ll be okay now?
... Joe Prete

11:19 pm - Monday, February 11, 2013

#75 gaurav ahuja

sir i currently have a vvery basic p and s sony dsc-w350 which i got 3 years bak..
now i am trying to shift to a better camera..but without the hassle of interchangable lenses and all…i am a photographic enthusiast..and picture quality matters for me..earliar i was going to get a p510 ..i thought its a great value for money with its legendary 1000mm lens..bt on a greater thought zoom 7x is also good although nt great..i found out p7700 has better pic clarity than p510…bt wats the deal with image sensor… does it really matter…i mean there is a really small difference btween the 2 sizes (p510 and p7700)
plz guide me

3:27 pm - Sunday, March 3, 2013

#76 gaurav ahuja

also i want to know which one to go for when comparing the nikon p7700 and sony rx100….the picture quality of rx 100 is better with a large sensor but a 3.6x optical zoom is a turn off wheras p7700 has a small sensor but 7.1x zoom

6:23 pm - Sunday, March 3, 2013

#77 Joe Tuck

I have a Pentax DSLR with 30 lens… I also have the Nikon Coolpix P7100 which I always found to be a very capably camera….  I picked up a Coolpix P7700 for £235 from Ebay and it is an improvement over the P7100…  I lusted after the P7800 with its EVF… but since it’s predecessor is almost as capable ... I am very satisfied es[ecially at the price I paid…. in the final analysis does it take good pictures…  I’m more than happy.  Guys… keep it real

10:03 pm - Friday, November 1, 2013

#78 C Murdock

I am in the process of returning this camera.  It has one annoying feature I just can’t abide.  After every shot, it displays all the icons and symbols on the screen for 3-4 seconds.  In order to frame my next shot, I have to wait for the symbols to clear.  There is no way to defeat that feature; it displays all the symbols even though I have already turned them off with the DISP button.  I like to take many photos in quick succession; I can’t spend the next 5 years waiting 3-4 seconds for the screen to clear between shots.  My Canon point-and-shoot doesn’t do that.

7:45 am - Wednesday, November 20, 2013

#79 J.P.

C Murdock,
You should exchange the P7700 for the newer model, the P7800
The P7800 has an actual VIEWFINDER above the LCD, thereby eliminating several other problems, along with the one that you mentioned. IMO, you should ALWAYS get the newest model available. Tech products advance at a very rapid pace, but I do believe that aside from the newer September 13, 2013 release date,
the P7800 will have a much longer run due to it’s advanced
design and components.
... J.P.

8:55 am - Wednesday, November 20, 2013

#80 C Murdock

J.P., I appreciate your feedback but I disagree with you.  First, I don’t use viewfinders.  The first thing I did when I got my first digital camera was I abandoned the viewfinder altogether.  In my case, I photograph jewelry components on a horizontal surface, and peering into the viewfinder would put me into an awkward position.  Secondly, it hasn’t been my experience that cameras get better with each new generation.  I have already seen sample images from the P7800 on two review sites, and in both cases the images were considerably softer than the images that the P7700 produces.  It was the unusually sharp and clear images that attracted me to the P7700.  The history of cameras is rife with examples of upgraded models that were worse than the models they replaced.

7:25 pm - Wednesday, November 20, 2013

#81 Omer

I agree with C Murdock’s posting. Newer cameras in general enjoy faster processors and sensors with higher resolution but none of these are a guarantee for improvements in picture quality. I own a P7700 and couldn’t possibly praise it enough. The lens on this camera is nothing short of spectacular! The articulated monitor definitely makes up for the absence of an electronic viewfinder for me. I believe Nikon eventually figured out that manufacturing quality digital compact cameras is good business!

5:52 am - Sunday, May 4, 2014

#82 C Murdock

Well, Nikon seemed to figure that out with the P7700, but they forgot what they learned with the P7800, which produces much softer and less-satisfying images.

1:50 pm - Sunday, May 4, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, nikon, RAW, coolpix, prosumer, tilting, 28mm, GPS, tilt, vari-angle, stereo sound, 7x zoom, 28mm lens, NRW, Nikon P7700 Review, Nikon Coolpix P7700 Review, p7700, P7700 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry