Nikon Coolpix P7800 Review

4.5
October 10, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

25 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mad Hungarian

I’ll never buy a Chinese made camera. Just ordered a Canon S120. And some Kung Pao Chicken.

1:08 pm - Thursday, October 10, 2013

#2 Mike Taylor

Surely, an obvious and worthy rival to this camera, which has not been mentioned, is the Panasonic Lumix LF1, especially as it is available at the time of writing for about £320, and with a similar specification.

1:26 pm - Thursday, October 10, 2013

#3 Jay

Doesn’t this camera have a BSI sensor, while the previous P7700 didn’t use that type of sensor?


Barring any other differences, the addition of a BSI sensor makes this camera significantly different than the P7700.

2:43 pm - Thursday, October 10, 2013

#4 Jay

@Mad Magyar:

You’ll miss out on some excellent Olympus and Samsung cameras and lenses.

2:48 pm - Thursday, October 10, 2013

#5 dan

Mike, you can also have the Olympus ZX-2 as well. More expensive but you get the choice of 3 electronic viewfinders.

For me, ill pick up a Pentax MX-1 and live without the viewfinder.

3:27 pm - Thursday, October 10, 2013

#6 Neilslikesmeals

lowest price?? no offense but thats BS.

found the same camera for the same price here. You’re welcome!

http://showcase-it.com/uk/search/?q=nikon+coolpix+

9:54 am - Friday, October 11, 2013

#7 Jay

@Neils—

I don’t live in the UK, is that a reputable retailer?

Also the link links to cameras on the website, not the P7800.

Then why does the website have a big Facebook LogIn banner hogging much of the screen. I don’t need to tell Facebook that I’m camera shopping.

This isn’t how reputable websites present goods for sale.

The point is find a retailer, with the item in stock, ready to ship it tomorrow, willing to accept returns, no misdirection to other websites, no digging for the item through “we also recommend” bots, and no banners for Facebook+Twitter, etc. Meet all of those qualifications and have the lowest price; only then get listed as the lowest price in the UK. (Same applies to the US, Canada, etc; no one likes to dig through garbage to find items or information about them.)


Of course you can find something cheaper that happens to have fallen out of a shipping container in a port holding area.

1:49 pm - Friday, October 11, 2013

#8 Photography Colleges In Alberta

We hired professional and qualified instructors in our Photography Colleges In Alberta and Photography Colleges In Edmonton for Photography Classes In Edmonton and Photography Course Edmonton.

5:01 am - Monday, October 14, 2013

#9 Jay Dickinson

What sets the Nikon P7800 apart from competitors like the Canon G series is the EVF.  When you can’t view the lcd in bright sunlight, you can’t see what the current settings are, or see to make changes.  The EVF solves that problem.  The Panasonic Lumix LF1 offers an EVF but it has one-fourth the resolution.  The lens on the Panasonic LF1 is much less sharp on the corners (see the trees photo at ephotozine).

3:46 pm - Thursday, October 17, 2013

#10 Denis

Hello. Tell me please, p7800 works when the display is closed?

8:14 am - Sunday, October 20, 2013

#11 Jay Dickinson

When you close the LCD display (fold it toward the camera) the EVF will be on and the camera fully operational.

7:13 pm - Sunday, October 20, 2013

#12 Denis

Thank you Jay. It is very good.

9:07 pm - Sunday, October 20, 2013

#13 Tim Landauer

I have been happy with the P7000, bought a 7100 as spare. Looked at a P77oo, didn’t bother because of lack of a view finder. This is good news, I couldn’t care less whether it is an optical one or EVF, as long as I can see what I am shooting. My first P7000’s LCD was damaged in a rain storm in Italy and I shot my entire trip with the little optical view finder w/o any info, all the pictures turned out great. My point is that for me I need to have a view finder.
Thanks for the review, I always read your review before buying a camera!

5:05 am - Monday, October 21, 2013

#14 Aaron

How do i select 1080 25p movie mode. I only see 30p in menu.

10:44 pm - Wednesday, October 30, 2013

#15 BenMcDui

The P7800 is a good camera Shame on Nikon for changing their RAW (NRW) format everytime they launch a new camera. Having upgraded to Photoshop CS5 recently, I am now forced to upgrade to CS6 to be able to run the newest RAW converter that handles the P7800 files. As far as I know, no review points this out. It costs me another few hundred bucks. Shame, shame, why can’t Nikon stabilise their RAW format like all of their competitors?

7:32 pm - Tuesday, November 19, 2013

#16 BenMcDui

The P7800 is a good camera. Shame on Nikon for changing their RAW (NRW) format everytime they launch a new camera. Having upgraded to Photoshop CS5 recently, I am now forced to upgrade to CS6 to be able to run the newest RAW converter that handles the P7800 files. As far as I know, no review points this out. It costs me another few hundred bucks. Shame, shame, why can’t Nikon stabilise their RAW format like all of their competitors?

7:35 pm - Tuesday, November 19, 2013

#17 corien

BenMcDui,
You can also download a free .DNG converter.
DNG is a Raw format that any program can read.

8:01 pm - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#18 showmeyourpics

Hi, I am a part-time fine art pro and bought the P7800 as my go-anywhere camera. I have been shooting with it through the whole Winter often in very low temperatures and heavy snow storms. While everything else has been as expected for an advanced compact, the serviceable EVF has made a really big difference together with the excellent, bright lens. With diligent exposure and development in PS CS6, I can make fine art quality prints up to 20x30” up to ISO400 (ISO800 with development in DxO Pro). The “infamous” slow writing speed becomes a non issue with affordable UHS-1 Class 10 cards. All together, a lot of features, good photography and fun for the money.

4:05 am - Sunday, April 13, 2014

#19 Teo Calbaz

After reading all of the excellent reviews on the P7800 I took the plunge and purchased one replacing my P7100.  I must say I am exceptionally pleased with the camera.  I was a little apprehensive about the evf but I’ve come around to really appreciating it in Bright Sunlight or snow with a 100% view. With all of the other thoughtful tweaks added by Nikon I am very happy using this camera day or night.

9:07 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#20 BenMcDui

Having used the camera for several months now, I am very pleased with it. Brilliant pictures, easy to handle. BUT IT IS SLOW. Starting up, writing images to the SD-card….
Nikon, are you sure all debug logging was been removed from the firmware?

8:38 am - Thursday, April 17, 2014

#21 BenMcDui

Corien,
thanks for pointing this out. I knew, and it will certainly work. It’s just that I don’t want to add another step to my workflow, add another set of files to my inventory. The disconnect between Nikon and Adobe is historic and an ongoing pain in the neck.

9:07 am - Thursday, April 17, 2014

#22 Tem

to Aaron (post#14)
HDTV in former PAL and SECAM countries operates at a frame rate of 25/50 Hz, while HDTV in former NTSC countries operates at 30/60 Hz

9:41 am - Friday, May 2, 2014

#23 sir mohamed sinclair jr

I dont like cameras with many buttons, they drive me nuts…yea i hate them. Here in abu dhabi we only use nikon j1, j2, s1, canon eos m, samsung nx1000

5:08 pm - Wednesday, June 25, 2014

#24 BenMcDui

Sir mohamed:
Then why bother posting on this forum? Go away. This camera does have many buttons indeed, one should realize that before even considering buying it. There are many camertas with only two buttons, have a look!

7:41 pm - Wednesday, June 25, 2014

#25 Teo Calbaz

Well here it is two months since I’ve purchased my P7800.  I’ve made many good memories with this camera.  After a short eulogy I feel I can finally let my P7100 go : )  My D700 is starting to gather dust in my closet. I use this camera with a wireless eye-card so all of my images are immediately uploaded to my computer for processing as soon as I get home.  I carry a little SB-400 flash in my backpack for special lighting situations.  Love the 2 Stop built in ND filter. Great camera!

9:22 pm - Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, nikon, wi-fi, wireless, RAW, coolpix, wifi, tilting, prosumer, 28mm, GPS, tilt, evf, viewfinder, vari-angle, stereo sound, 7x zoom, 28mm lens, electronic viewfinder, NRW, p7800, RGBW, P7800 Review, Nikon P7800 Review, Nikon Coolpix P7800 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry