Nikon Coolpix S3100 Review

4.0
March 21, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

31 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Bonobo

The new Panasonic Lumix S1/S3 seems to be a better option for a budget camera. It has optical image stabilization and HD movie mode.

7:01 pm - Monday, March 21, 2011

#2 Eyal Gurevitch

I would say the main rival of the S3100 is Canon’s SD1400, or their new ELPH 100.
It’s nice to see that people with a small budget will have many great choices.

10:41 am - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#3 Mad Hungarian

Chinese made mass produced garbage. Likely cost around $25 to manufacture, that should give you a pretty good idea about built and image quality.Nikon can keep it.

3:17 pm - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#4 Corporate Portraits London Ltd

Brought a Nikon Coolpix S3100 for my daughter last christmas and too be honest its excellent. I have even taken into work a few times to use for reference shots and a client asked me to use one of them in a final selection for publication. Grant

9:48 am - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#5 Varun Saxena

The camera is a nice buy. I bought it for my girl friend and she loved it. The picture quality is also good.

10:15 am - Tuesday, April 19, 2011

#6 Varun Saxena

It is a good buy.

10:18 am - Tuesday, April 19, 2011

#7 Nikki

I received this camera for Mother’s Day and was on my own in figuring it out since my husband and son were away. I wasn’t thrilled with the results but was told I needed to learn the settings. I have since tried every setting, every angle and situation and I am still convinced that I am not happy with this camera. The camera is slow if the flash is being used and honestly, the only time it shows any speed is if I’m outside in bright light. Macro pictures have been low quality and the video that I took was choppy. I needed a new camera to take pictures of my kids who are always moving so I needed something that could work fast and in a variety of settings. I also needed something that could take detailed pics of crafts and cards that I make. So far any pics that I’ve taken have been blurred and the colors odd. My last camera was a Panasonic and was at least 3 years old and was faster than the Nikon s3100 with better quality pics. At this point, I’ll stick with my cell phone and hope that I can make a return because I don’t believe this camera to be worth the money.

3:53 am - Friday, June 3, 2011

#8 Lulu

I bought one of these to replace a 5 year old Panasonic Lumix that took great photos but was quite bulky. Being Nikon (which I thought were a good brand) and with twice as many megapixels than the Lumix I thought it would suffice, but the image quality was awful - my friend’s 5mp Nokia phone took better pics than this! It may suffice if all you want to do is upload to Facebook, but you don’t need to spend £100 to do this. I part-exchanged it for a Canon Ixus 220 which cost £40 more but is infinitely better.

8:34 am - Saturday, July 2, 2011

#9 Dipak Roy

it is very sexy & slim
i like this features

5:31 am - Sunday, July 17, 2011

#10 Mike

I’m more than happy with this camera. I find the picture quality to be very good. So good in fact that Real Radio used my Robbie Williams picture on their website :)

10:17 am - Monday, August 1, 2011

#11 Charlotte

I recently replaced my old broken camera that was a kodak easyshare 10megapixels for this camera. To be honest, even though this is 14megapixels I prefer the kodak,  the flash takes a long time to work and the pictures always turn out blurred or not sharp. It’s not very good at taking pictures on the move and I’m in half the mind to go back to the shop and swap it back for my old style. Hope this helps anyone

5:44 am - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#12 Sunni

Hi friends, I recently owned this camera for a very low festival price. And now I am happy that

it takes wonderful pictures with my family and friends. I liked so much features are included

like motion detection, vibration reduction, face smile detection, skin soft, Pet’s face

detection, Blink proof, panorama mode, higher iso rate, faster shutter speed and 5x optical zoom

etc.. It also has fish eye and miniature effect can be given to pictures. Its ideal to use for a

family use as they get great features with a small price. The image quality is good but not

ultimate. If you want a higher quality image you have to spend more money can’t get with this

price.

Its main rivals with similar price in the market are Canon A3200, Fujifilm JX250, Olympus Stylus

5010. And Nikon Coolpix S3100 has a higher shutter speed than any other ones.

Cones:
There are two negatives for this camera. The lack of Image stabilization (There is digital

vibration reduction feature but its not effective when zooming).
Without flash, night shooting is dull.

6:03 am - Sunday, September 25, 2011

#13 mervin

hi frnz dont grab this camera by seing the megapixels and the least cost image quality is too bad and yellowish prefer some canon products

6:24 pm - Wednesday, September 28, 2011

#14 mervin

Hi friends dont grab this camera for low price and great megapixels it is the worst camera i had ever seen

6:29 pm - Wednesday, September 28, 2011

#15 Matt

Can anyone help me out,,,, please,,,,,  which is recommended?? canon A3200 or Nikon S3100??,, please be honest,,, no hush hush in brand,, considering quality

6:32 pm - Tuesday, October 4, 2011

#16 Mimi

I have had this camera 2 months and it is the worst camera I have ever owned.  Only 1 out of every 5 pictures is clear.  They are fuzzy and out of focus.  Now after 2 months, the cord to charge and download pictures won’t connect to the camera.  The camera has a short or won’t connect for some reason.  I have to wiggle the cord for 5 minutes before it finally connects and then carefully set it down so that it can charge.  I will definitely start looking for another one.

2:57 am - Monday, October 10, 2011

#17 amit

Worst Camera,very slow flash,bad picture with zoom,spent more for good one dont buy my friends,In 4 days time i had got a spot on lcd and while starting its shows lense error.It Look like kodak 10 mp is better then this

11:14 am - Wednesday, November 2, 2011

#18 amy

This camera is not worth the money.  I was able to use the camera 5 different times before it stop opening and closing.  I am unable to use this camera at all.  I called the company and there policy is not customer friendly.  They want me at my cost to mail them the camera so they can decide if it is my fault or not.  I do not want to but anymore money into this camera.  I will not by another nikon.

9:40 pm - Monday, November 7, 2011

#19 Jonathan

Recently go this as a birthday present. its very beautiful and small so you can easily carry it in a pocket.  I’d say the review was very accurate, it is harder then I would like to get sharp pictures and I find you have to use manual settings -especially the high ISO - for non-flash indoor shots.  I do like it though.

6:29 pm - Friday, January 20, 2012

#20 immad

well experience with nikon s3100..smart choice for smart peoples

7:38 pm - Monday, February 13, 2012

#21 me

Thinking abut getting this camera and need urgent help!! Does anyone know if this camera is good for parties,weddings etc.Im going to a wedding in April and I really dont want the pictures to come out bad as it will be a very precious moment. Thanks :)

5:03 pm - Tuesday, February 14, 2012

#22 RAJENDRAN MANASAMY

Without flash the night shots are blur. Why? Are the others facing the same problem?

9:49 am - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#23 Lucky

Hate this camera, bought to take pictures of kids, no good for moving shoots, colour is terrible.  Evening light is terrible, don’t buy!!

2:31 pm - Monday, May 28, 2012

#24 Arun K

I want to clarify whether I will be able to retrieve the images in case I format the memory card unknowingly.

10:11 am - Wednesday, June 13, 2012

#25 Nik

This China Made Camera I nver Saw in my whole lyfe its totally Rubbish like all China made.,

4:38 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#26 patrizia

sono contenta di aver preso questa macchina fotografica,pur non avendo nessun’ esperienza in campo fotografico,mi permette di fare delle bellissime fotografie…non immaginavo che con poco più di 60 euro potesi ottenere tanto.

9:06 pm - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#27 Jax

I got this at a bargain price on eBay to have as a small camera for when I can’t be bothered lugging my DSLR and all the rest round with me, or am going somewhere where I just want to take snaps.  It’s not so bad as people are saying and the image quality is good if you use the camera correctly on the appropriate settings.  It’s good value and if you want perfection learn about photography and buy a decent DSLR.

4:21 pm - Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#28 Kim brooks

dreadful pictures rubbish quality and most are blurred.  I had a canon IXus before and it was so much better

10:17 pm - Thursday, November 8, 2012

#29 Jim Robinson

I’ve had this camera for over a year and haven’t ben able to use it but a couple of times because of battery trouble. I’ve replaced the battery once and now it’s failed. My daughter has a coolpix also and has had battery and charger problems so I don’t think much of Nikon junk. I have a older cheaper Olympus that has been trouble free and picture quality just as good if not better.
Jim

3:22 pm - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#30 jamie

i got this camera in febuary and have already had to get two batteries for it. it is like i am buying the camera all over again.

5:22 pm - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#31 SeaShell

The worst camera I have ever owned! Thank god I didn’t pay money for it, I won it!

9:43 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

Entry Tags

compact, 720p, nikon, beginner, video, 5x zoom, 14 megapixel, coolpix, 5x, 2.7 inch, entry, 1280x720, s3100, Nikon Coolpix S3100 Review, HD, nikon s3100

Tracker Pixel for Entry