Nikon Coolpix S4000 Review

3.5
April 30, 2010 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

42 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Tim Courtney

Love this hot little camera…my non-profit organization uses these cameras with the chronically and terminally ill children in hospitals.

6:17 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#2 J. Anthony

According to Nikon’s website and info on Amazon, this point and shoot has multiple abilities to stabilize the image, selected automatically by the camera.
NIKON: Four advanced image stabilizing features*2 include ISO 3200, Electronic VR image stabilization, Motion Detection, and Best Shot Selector
AMAZON: Four advanced image stabilizing features* help ensure sharper results
Nikon Coolpix Digital Camera highlights
Nikon’s Electronic VR image stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake. Motion Detection automatically controls shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for subject movement as well as camera shake. ISO 3200 capability allows faster shutter speeds when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. And, Nikon’s original BSS (Best Shot Selector) function automatically shoots a series of sequential frames and saves the one with the sharpest focus.

3:20 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#3 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Yes. This underlines what we’ve pointed out in the review: the Nikon S4000 lacks any form of true optical / mechanical image stabilisation.

4:02 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#4 Rob S

Just got the mother’s day package, wife was happy to replace her broken Casio, and was disappointed to have no flash capability! Have to return it, after it was such a hassle to locate one in stock (Got it at PC Richards, but had to drive to the warehouse to pick it up)

2:34 am - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#5 Brian

My only complaint about this camera (Nikon Coolpix s4000) is that I am unable to take pictures one after another.  There is a 5 second delay after taking a picture before I can take the next one.

Is there a setting to change this “feature”.

Thanks,

4:36 am - Tuesday, June 1, 2010

#6 Leaf

Brian—you have to go to shutter shot.
if i remember correctly press the scene button and it should be an option there..

i was wondering if anybody eles had a problem charging it.

ive had mine a couple of weeks and yesterday it said exgusted.. so i came in and plugged it in all night and went to use it today. said the same thing. plugged it back in and now my power button doesnt light up when its charging.. so i took it of to see if it was done and it wont even turn on

11:32 pm - Wednesday, June 16, 2010

#7 Sarah

I just got this camera. I love the size, high resoulution images. My only complanit is how the videos are not quite clear as the pictures, but other than that, I love it.

1:03 am - Wednesday, July 7, 2010

#8 Ayush

Got this camera 4 days ago…love it…compact, svelte and sexy…does it all…best part is i get a touchscreen camera from Nikon for so little..great image quality..makes my Sony DSC T300 piss..!!

7:20 am - Thursday, July 8, 2010

#9 Meghan

Does the “no flash” affect the picture taking processes in darker lighting?

6:59 pm - Friday, August 6, 2010

#10 Cindy P

Just bought it and love it.  As a realtor, a mom and very active community person I take ALOT of pictures.  I need something small and easy that I can keep in my bag at all times. But, still must get quality shots.  This one fits the bill and then some.  Very Pleasantly surprised.

2:52 am - Wednesday, August 25, 2010

#11 Shan

I hv bought ths cam nd lov it. My questn is wen u compare nikon s4000 with canon s3100 and sony w320 whch one is best? Thnx

5:06 pm - Thursday, August 26, 2010

#12 me

Shan
You should learn to spell.

10:32 pm - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#13 Shan

Yup i know :)

8:03 pm - Friday, September 10, 2010

#14 Sally-Anne

Hi

I have had my camera for 5 months now . . . and totally love it! I have a question though, does the flash not come on automatically when the lighting is dark, like when your in a nightclub?

2:38 pm - Sunday, September 26, 2010

#15 jasper

hey thr~
i’m planning to buy a nikon s4000~
can anyone tell me that~is this a good camera?
worth to buy?

6:53 am - Saturday, November 6, 2010

#16 Steph

I just got this camera yesterday, and as soon as I took the first picture and then turned the camera off, it said “lens error.”  I figured the lens was stuck or something, so I kept it off for 5mins then turned it back on. I turned it on again and then off, and it said the same thing. It is also making a weird clicking noise. Now I turned it off today and it’s not saying “lens error” anymore, but it still makes the clicking noise. Is the noise normal?? My old camera didn’t do that so maybe it’s just different. Please help, if this seems abnormal I’m going to take it back to get a new one or a new camera.
thanks.

12:51 am - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#17 Ayush

@Steph

Get a replacement..the S4000 model is alright.

4:10 am - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#18 Beth Stellar

This review is wrong about the lack of image stabilization.
It absolutely does have it!

5:38 pm - Sunday, November 28, 2010

#19 anna

just got this camera 3 months ago… and I HATE IT!!!!  if theres not enough ligh in the room,  images comes blurry and soooo noisy!  DAMN really hate that!
It has NO image stabilization, or please, let me know where it its cause i looked everywhere and no sr!!!!
When i used it at a theatre event (it was a spanish dancers show) there was no way i could get a clear image only blurry, noisy images… really really hate it!

Im planing to get a Canon PowerShot S95 .... What do u think??

7:07 pm - Monday, November 29, 2010

#20 Everett

I just got this one on Black Friday and I am having the same problem as Anna, Really poor image stabilization. I must admit that I am somewhat disappointed and I too am thinking of exchanging it.

11:51 pm - Monday, November 29, 2010

#21 kp

Walmart sells it for $129

4:41 pm - Friday, December 10, 2010

#22 Lenny

I bought two of these, August on vacation, early October back in Washington. Both failed to download pictures after about two months use. Returned to Nikon 8DEC10, 11DEC10 Nikon advises near replacement cost to repair, denies warranty without explanation. Customer service is in Dominican Republic, cameras are in El Segundo, CA. Regardless, customer service could knowledgeably deny warranty coverage. I would not recommend this camera or any other Nikon product to anyone based on my experience. It is junk.

8:20 pm - Saturday, December 11, 2010

#23 Hasnat

Got the Nikon few days ago. I am using 2GB memory card (Brand name Luxor) with the camera (camera and the memory card bought in the USA)and storing images there. More than ten cases I have images (out of 3hundred approx.) that are not displayed and a message comes stating the file has not image data. This happens out of the blue with no link to any specific situation that I could discover. I am wondering about the memory card. Downloading to the computer shows that a file of more that 2MB is there but can’t be opened with any of the common softwares nor can it be opened with that of the Nikon’s. Can anyone suggested as to the cause of this?

7:03 am - Monday, December 27, 2010

#24 Lenny

Nikon emailed a service order for each camera for $108.75 to repair EACH camera. No details, simple comment “not covered by warranty.” I had faxed the forms back with a letter requesting clarification. No reply. Then I receive the same service forms in the US mail. I returned them with a copy of the aforementioned letter, the same day they returned the cameras saying “No reply.” What can I say, crap camera, crap company. Buyer beware.

2:55 pm - Monday, December 27, 2010

#25 camillo

Returned back and got the S6000, touch screen is not so confortable. As for S6000 I don’t like missing auto picture rotation sensor and GPS.
Why there is not here a review of the S6000?

10:59 am - Wednesday, January 5, 2011

#26 vicky

hey guys,
    hw is the clarity in darklights,is it good???

1:36 pm - Wednesday, February 23, 2011

#27 Aisha

I had a similar problem as Anna for a while, I thought that I had to be using the camera wrong somehow, as it would sometimes give very clear photos, and others times blurred photos.

I came to realize that the issue for me was that the camera was in ‘scene auto selector’ mode, which would determine the shutter speed based the appearance of the environment I was in. I then changed it to ‘portrait’ which I use most of the time, and sometimes ‘backlight’ which I use at night, and no more blurred photos for me.

for Anna, there is a scene called ‘sports’ for capturing a series of photos of the subject in motion.

My experience of this camera is now good.

6:44 pm - Tuesday, March 15, 2011

#28 Armando

My NIKON COOLPIX S4000 lens came out for a second after pressing it on. It goes back in the camera but it’s still on. :( Help?

2:10 am - Sunday, April 10, 2011

#29 April

I have a chance to get one of these and I need some advice… I will be taking alot of nature pictures during the day as well as at night,also we have alot of hawks and eagles in our area and was wondering how it will do for pictures fo them in flight. there is one other thing I need to know can the video be put on youtube easy. I am going to be doing a few things about our church and also about the forgotten homeless in our city and would like to have good videos for that. If there is anyone out there who could give me some advice with this I would be very greatful as I do not know much about this kind of thing. The videos are to draw attention to the fact that there is a great need for help in our area for the homeless and I would like that to come out good. Thank You Very Much In Addvance For Any And All Your Time And Help With This Matter.

3:50 am - Sunday, April 10, 2011

#30 Violet

I bought this about three hours ago, and it took great faraway and landscape shots, but the macro is HORRID. I can not even focus on a keyboard key!

My sister is a photographer and even she could not achieve a good up-close picture, with it’s multiple scene choices and options.

Very Disappointing.

11:40 am - Thursday, April 28, 2011

#31 Maria

So my images are not showing up on my camera s4000! When I plug my memory card into my computer it states I have memory uses but no images. This recently hapless out of no where can anyone help?? I have about 400 pics lost :(

4:04 am - Tuesday, May 17, 2011

#32 Jeff

I’m glad I got this S4000 as a gift and didn’t buy it with my own money.  I’ve gotten much better pictures with my el-cheapo cell phone camera.  I like the touch screen, but that hardly compensates for the poor image quality.  I’ve tried all the different settings, even with the assistance of my electronically-savvy grandson, and my pics with this camera still turn out blurry.  I’m looking forward to replacing it.

6:28 pm - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#33 Suzanna

Every time I try to take a video it shows “The card can’t be read”, then I have to format the card (4gb), all the images are deleted, but after some shots again it’s impossible to take a video. What can I do????? Please help!!! Thanks in advance

10:11 am - Saturday, June 25, 2011

#34 Megan

May be a silly question, but how does one transfer pictures from the camera to a laptop?

4:15 pm - Saturday, October 15, 2011

#35 Suzanna

You need to install the cd-s of the camera into the laptop first, then use the usb cable, and you’ll see a window and clicking on it you’ll be able to transfer the photos

6:10 pm - Sunday, October 16, 2011

#36 sabastian yalley

I am very stupid to have brought this nikon coolpix s4000 digital camera.I brought a few month ago and i can’t use it anymore because when every i turned it on it pop up lens error.I have reported this to their technician on net but he insist i pay him before he will help me.gush!!!!! i wish i never brought his

12:42 pm - Friday, December 23, 2011

#37 Anilkumar

I am unable to take pictures in scene mode of Nikon CoolPix L120, could you help me out

7:15 am - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#38 Anna

Hi all!  after a very baaaaaad experience with this camera (getting blurry and noisy pictures until the last day!)  i had to return my camera.. and ohh i felt so goood about it! Now i own a Sony Cybershot and oh God.. I LOVE IT!!! ^_^ Definitely, Nikon digital cameras, are not for me!

7:22 am - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#39 John

I am biding on this camera on ebay; I just sold my Canon Rebel XS and portrait lens because I seldom used it and photoshoped all my portraits anyways, I went away from the Canon point and shoots because they have a tenancy to leave a green skin tone while Nikon seems to lean towards the warmers colors. These warmer colors are easier to clean up so I am hoping to have a cheap throw away camera that I can photoshop some quicky portraits with and not worry about a lot of money sitting in antiquating cameras

5:41 am - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#40 Susan

I bought this piece of junk for a small camera to carry while travelling and it turned on twice and and took a couple of terrible photos and now it will neither turn on or charge.  I always had a Canon but thought I would try Nikon because of the fantastic advertisement on tv but I guess you can say anything whether it is true or not.

10:28 am - Monday, September 10, 2012

#41 john mc feely

my coolpix s 4000 now only shows two symbols on flash mode,  :auto:  and :off:          any reason for this?  have i caused this through misoperation?

1:02 am - Wednesday, November 14, 2012

#42 Cynthia McIntyre

This camera is a nice size - I love Nikons. I bought it for my daughter as a graduation present

3:11 am - Saturday, March 22, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, nikon, touch-screen, coolpix, touch screen, s4000, nikon s4000, Nikon Coolpix S4000 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry