Nikon Coolpix S640 Review

4.0
November 12, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Frank S

Glad to see that Nikon is finally putting some effort into its making a good point and shoot cameras. I love Nikon DSLRs, particularly the D90, but all the Nikon point and shoots were dreadful. Hopefully, the 640 signals a change in attitude.

5:03 pm - Thursday, November 12, 2009

#2 Norfolk Turkey

For £125 some of those sample images are stunning, especially when compared to more expensive rivals. But then a quick search will show that most retailers are selling the S640 for much more than £125.

I can’t agree with Frank S that “all the Nikon point and shoots were awful”. They have made some very good P&S cameras in their time, however recently they seem to have lost focus (so to speak). In particular the loss of the, admittedly flawed, P6000 has left the Coolpix range without a flagship. You can’t really call the P90 a serious camera without a raw capability. Maybe the S640 signals a return to form, or maybe it’s just a blip in an otherwise downward curve.

9:51 pm - Thursday, November 12, 2009

#3 Darryl

That price is wrong BTW - links to the wrong model.  The S640 is here: http://www.camerabox.co.uk/product1.asp?ProductName=Nikon Coolpix S640 Black&ProductID=9536 £189.99 inc. VAT

8:52 pm - Saturday, November 14, 2009

#4 mgoliveruk

I got the S640 over a month ago, and find it a brilliant camera.

The “freeze” mentioned above can be avoided by NOT having a Welcome Screen, it makes the camera start-up and shoot process super-fast.

Also, there is an histogram, contrary to what the review says… when playing a picture, you only need to press the OK button to get to it (plus other info).

I wish it had a better resolution LCD screen though…

10:43 am - Sunday, December 6, 2009

#5 John

Before I used a canon A75 camera. I know, that is an old one. Except travel pictures all my other pictures were never good (for example: paintings or portraits). Last week I used the Nikon S640. I love the wide angle 28mm and the automatic scene selection. Every picture is good with correct colors.

12:34 pm - Monday, December 7, 2009

#6 r4i

Nikon Coolpix S640 is a good camera for the price. It is simple to use and takes clear, crisp pictures. Also, the battery life is good. And the price makes it affordable to take good pictures.

4:51 am - Thursday, December 10, 2009

#7 adhit

I just bought that on Dec 25, 2009. It is nice camera. 16 scene no wonder will help me for photography hunting. Finally Nikon S640 has a compact size.

1:26 am - Sunday, December 27, 2009

#8 Esther

I bought the S640 for my husband for Christmas.  The picture has a lot of purple in it.  We’ve already exchanged the camera for another one, thinking that it would be better.  But, it too has purple in the pictures.  We don’t know what to do other than return the camera.  We love the size of it.

9:49 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#9 Petrolbonce

@Esther

Could it be that you have the white balance on a manual setting? If so changing it to automatic may help.

Do the pictures display a colour cast on the LCD screen or just when you load them to your computer or print them? If it’s the former then white balance could be the problem, if it’s the latter then it’s probably the sofware on your computer.

10:35 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#10 Anton

i’m planing to invest into a p’n'shoot cam but i still can’t decide, either s640 or fuji f200?

11:31 pm - Friday, January 8, 2010

#11 Esther

I exchanged my s640 for another one but found it had the same problem.  The salesman couldn’t help me with the problem either, so I returned the second camera and didn’t get one at all.  I’m still using my Nikon Coolpix 4800.  There’s nothing wrong with the 4800 except that I really would like a smaller camera.  The s640 is a perfect size.

7:44 pm - Saturday, January 9, 2010

#12 hussam

it only need HD vedio

9:13 pm - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#13 Derrick

Agree,
great camera, good pics,
need HD video
and i cant find where to turn off 2 sec preview after recording while it slow sometime need for couple fast recordings.
Aldo… great for the price.

11:51 am - Friday, December 3, 2010

Entry Tags

compact, review, 12 megapixel, nikon, beginner, 5x zoom, 2.7 inch LCD, coolpix, Nikon Coolpix S640 Review, s640

Tracker Pixel for Entry