Nikon Coolpix S8200 Review

4.5
October 20, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

30 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Bloggs

noise reduction is very evident even at iso 100 and awful from iso 400 and up, making images soft and blotchy, almost like a watercolour painting filter has been applied. Why can’t manufacturers be less heavy handed with this?

4:25 pm - Thursday, October 20, 2011

#2 JF

hi,

don’t understand why you reward this camera higly recommended (=4,5) while picture quality scores just 3,5. I would say that a camera shouldn’t be rewarded any better than the picture quality, cause in the end that’s what it’s all about, isn’t it?

ciao, JF

4:59 pm - Thursday, October 20, 2011

#3 edwardrich

thanks for the review,the price is reasonable, the features i like is the Mega pixel which is 16.1,the photos will be clear & natural..i hope it will be very easy to handle it..

3:12 am - Friday, October 21, 2011

#4 JTRIPP

How can you award this 300$ camera 4.5 stars, when nowadays you can get the sx220hs, with similar focal range and MUCH better IQ for 250$.
Seriously arent ratings supposed to somehow relate to the market? Every single camera seems to be getting raving reviews lately, even when the text clearly states that the IQ is far from perfect.

10:14 am - Friday, October 21, 2011

#5 CHFels

I’ve never seen a final verdict and star rating so out of sync with the actual review text!  It’s embarrassing, almost looks as though the author was forced to tack the “Highly Recommended” on by the EIC or something.  To paraphrase: “Highly recommended for shooting outdoors in good light, which is really all the target audience cares about.”  What a joke- and insult to your readers.

6:53 pm - Saturday, October 22, 2011

#6 Deeso

In my opinion just averaging the scores on each category doesn’t makes much sense. We are talking about Photography and image quality should have more weight in the final score.

9:28 am - Monday, October 24, 2011

#7 opienc

i tested an S8200 hoping that it would be better than the camera it replaced, the S8100

sadly, no, it did not, at least not in IQ and AF.

outdoor AF was fast, but indoors in dimmer light, it would fail to lock where the S8100 did lock, (albeit with a strange delay before you can take a shot).

when zoomed in slightly, the AF problem in low-light is further compounded. The AF assist light didn’t make a difference when the S8200 refused to lock AF. (This was a similar issue with a P300)

The flash design is also a sore point. Once it’s popped up, the only way to put it back in is to turn the camera off. however, you can disable the flash and it won’t pop up.

the camera’s choice of ISO and shutter speed is another interesting issue. While i can understand using lower ISO results in lower noise, the shutter speed involved is usually very low like 1/8 1/15 second which can result in blurring.
The only way to increase the shutter is to manually adjust the ISO.

1:31 am - Monday, October 31, 2011

#8 Todd Evans

I own this camera, and in my experience the high ISO (800 and up) results are very good.  In fact, I compared this camera with comparable models from Sony and Panasonic and the S8200 came out ahead.  My main complaint about reviews like this is that the reviewers claim that the IQ is worse than it really is, because of the limited time spent with the camera.

5:32 pm - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#9 Fred Royer

I compared S8200 with S8100 and S9100 and one or two other cameras in same price range at Best Buy Chicago, last week. I appreciated this shop has power for quite all cameras in demonstration. It’s not the case in the big and famous FNAC shop I have in my city in France. With each one I took one macro image of the barcode and one zoomed image at about 5 meters in the shop. Then I check image quality zooming at max on the camera screen. Really, but I’m not specialist, the image quality (accurate, color, ...) was the best with the S8200. Even doing the same tests with the NEX-5N, it was not so bad. I was quite decided to by a S8200 for my 25 years old son. Now reading your specialists advices I’m in doubt ....

2:39 pm - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#10 Ian

Interesting reviews, the last one in particular.  How did you resolve your doubts?  Nikon’s point and shoots have generally been well rated in low light, but not in this S8200 review, surprising.  I just bought this camera for my wife for Christmas - and then came across your review.  Very thorough.  I plan to check the camera out against these comments to see how it stacks up in the hands of an amateur user.  My wife likes to shoot hundreds of photos at family gatherings and when traveling, sometimes at night.  I’ll be back after we put it through the paces.  I hope the critiques here are more about purity than practical use…especially since this is a point and shoot, not a substitute for a DSLR.

3:49 am - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#11 ericmancer

Ha!. I love how the commercials for this camera make it sound like you can shoot in pitch black and still get awesome shots.

5:58 pm - Thursday, December 22, 2011

#12 nir

why is it bad quality image?

how is it if compared to canon sx210?

5:41 pm - Friday, December 23, 2011

#13 John

I purchased the S8200 as a Christmas gift to myself intending to use it during the Christmas holidays.  I found the picture quality, ease of operation, video quality and sound quality all to be very satisfactory for a simple point and shoot camera at that price point.  However it really has an overall “in hand” feel that is cheap.  Not what you expect from a Nikon.  I used it for 3 days during Christmas and overall was satisfied with the picture and video results but I did find some problems with the auto focus.  Very slow at times and often would not focus at all. On day 3 the camera’s lens system failed.  It would no longer retract nor would it focus. I returned it to the store from which I purchased it with the intention of exchanging it. However as I talked to the store clerk I found that the lens problem is not uncommon for Nikon coolpix cameras he even said that one he purchased had the same issue.  I replaced it with another brand which has comparable specifications at a slightly lower price.  I’m afraid that this might be a case of Nikon living off their reputation and extensive marketing.  I have owned several Nikon film cameras in the past and always liked them for both their performance and quality.  This seems not to be the case for this line of digital cameras.

5:55 am - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#14 Beth Marie Nierman

I just talked to NIkon support and this camera is not supported by iphoto. You have to use NIkon’s supplied software. What are they thinking? I am returning the camera.

8:07 pm - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#15 CHFels

What does it mean, “not supported by iPhoto”?  If you mean that the camera can record in RAW and iPhoto doesn’t support the RAW files from the 8200…  well, what did you expect?  Apple is very selective in adding new cameras to their iPhoto RAW support list.  And low-end cameras like this Nikon almost never get supported.
  If you are not talking about RAW, then Nikon support was confused. The 8200 makes .jpg files, like every other camera.  Grab the SD card, stick it in the SD card slot of your computer (or buy an external SD - USB reader for 20 bucks), and watch how iPhoto happily adds your pics for you.

9:36 pm - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#16 FPost

I’m a little confused about the formats the camera will shoot in. I see two different JPEG resolutions, but what about RAW? If it’s got 16.1 mp resolution, I’d think it’d shoot in RAW, but other than in the comments I see no mention of it.

Also, can someone tell me the equivalent 35mm focal length of a 14x zoom? In the same pics the longest shot is 350mm. Is that the full 14x zoom? Thanks much.

3:48 am - Monday, January 23, 2012

#17 Wal

Love the camera, people tend to be too picky with small point and shooters like this one. Does the job, go buy a more expensive camera if you want better I say.

10:43 pm - Sunday, January 29, 2012

#18 Wayne

For $250 you can’t beat it.
Low light its as good as the naked eye.
Focus can be an issue in low light hard zoom, but
lock and adjustments help.
Colors are great, red eye reduction great, speed good, stabilizing great, macro great,
Still smaller than my wallet, true pocket size.
I compared with Sony and Cannon products in price range, clearly better.
I could easily do a budget wedding with this camera.
Mechanical failure would be a problem, none so far.

12:08 am - Friday, February 17, 2012

#19 Galih

Nikon 8200 vs Canon PS sx220, who will win in terms of still images and video quality in low light environment?

6:47 am - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#20 Galih

Nikon s8200 vs Canon PS sx220, who will win in low light environment(candle light dinner or in the club for example)?

7:05 am - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#21 Mike

I went to use my new camera on my first trip to Europe and the battery was completely dead. It looked like it was charging but was completely dead.  I sent an email hoping to find out something I could do.  After waiting 2 days for a reply, NikonUSA (where I bought the camera) said - your email is from outside the US, we won’t answer any questions.  I then sent an email letting them know that - surprise, I’m using a camera on VACATION.  2 days later - for free, they told me I was SOL if the battery and because the camera was new, I couldn’t find a replacement even if that was the issue.

2:18 pm - Wednesday, June 6, 2012

#22 Dan

I am getting ready to buy this camera.  But , thinking about getting the 9200. I did a sibe by side at the store on the macro   The 9200 would not stay focused at close range with macro on both cameras.  Why?  I want the newer one but what feature did you take off?

9:44 pm - Wednesday, June 20, 2012

#23 guy

Have this camera. It will not let you use it while plugged into power. Seems like a ridiculous anti-feature. Battery goes, you’re done until it’s charged again. Deal breaker for product/stationary photography.

4:47 pm - Thursday, August 9, 2012

#24 marco

this camera is shit, pictures havent no detal

8:06 pm - Tuesday, August 28, 2012

#25 Mike G

I’ve yet to ready any review on any product that actually completely recommends anything.  I’ve bought this camera and used it throughout August, Olypmics - Hockey and Football matches, Two weeks in Spain for family holiday followed by a Weekend in Rome / Italy for a family wedding.  All done without my SLR.  Got loads of great shots (making the photo albums now), panorama’s and HD video from it, so much so I’m selling my SLR kit (approx £800 coming my way) and keeping this £150 camera and it’s ease of use and flexibility outweighs the SLR and multiple lenses.  Granted the SLR will out perform on an individual shot but without the right lense, you may not get the shot. So I’m going to be a few pounds richer and hopefully won’t regret it.

2:49 pm - Wednesday, September 19, 2012

#26 Bryan

I previously owned the S8100 but on a trip to spain the lens motor froze up after only a year. it would have set me back as much as the camera is new. So i purchased the 8200 expecting nothing more than an improvment to the previous model. sigh… the 8200 auto focus is slow and despite having it on auto mode causes every image to be blurry. no matter how many settings I change they all turn out blurry unless i use a flash. I strongly DO NOT recommend this product.

9:47 pm - Thursday, September 27, 2012

#27 Bim

My Casio Exilim 12.1 died on me recently , so I’ve spent the last few days trawling the internet to try and see what I can replace it with.  So far my best option seems to be the S8200, but it seems to me that whatever review one reads its full of negative comments and only a very few postings saying anything positive about ANY camera ! The last comment by Bryan scared me, so I suppose I’m back to square one. I’m not a 5 star pro shooter - only your average bloke taking pics of family / holidays and other usual things. Maybe I’ll dust off my old Box Brownie and call it a day - At least I’ll know what its all about.

8:43 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#28 Kevin

Lots of people blame a camera for not taking good photo’s, but most of the time it’s the user and NOT the camera! Obviously anyone will find more negatives than positives, because people in general are negative. Nikon cameras to me are brilliant and the S8200 is no exception. Great camera! It does what it’s supposed to do and for the right price. So far I’ve been taking amazing photos with my S8200. I bought it for the reasons it was designed for and it works! I don’t want to carry my DSLR camera everywhere. Great product for a good price! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Nikon Coolpix S8200!

7:45 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#29 Bim

Anyway, despite all the negative comments on this camera, I went ahead and bought one - it cost me the equivalent here of $190. So far I’m very happy with it and it does everything I want it to. OK, so for $190 you’ll get what you pay for - no use in moaning about minor issues, like for example the flash not retracting when not in use, or slight shutter delay when taking action pics. These negatives are far outweighed by super sharp pictures and a great zoom plus all the other features offered.

8:49 pm - Tuesday, February 12, 2013

#30 susan

When viewing images in Display mode, then zooming to make the picture larger, it does not save as the size I am viewing it.  Instead, it saves it smaller like there is a 3 inch black boarder around it.  I appreciate any help with this as I am not that knowledgeable about this camera. Thank you!

11:47 pm - Sunday, August 11, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, hdmi, nikon, full hd, coolpix, 25mm, 14x zoom, s8200, Nikon Coolpix S8200 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry