Nikon Coolpix S9300 Review

4.5
April 30, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

22 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 CHFels

Here’s a trend I have noticed:  when PB wants to give a favorable review to a camera that is being rubbished for poor IQ, you’ll find that all the sample images (ISO ladder aside) are shot at base ISO. Surprise surprise, that’s true here - except for one lone night-scene mode picture. And the converese is true also.  So…  Look at the recently published Fuji F770 sample images here, and you’ll see a wide mix of ISO, with many shots at 1600.  I predict that the PB review of the Fuji will be rather negative.

9:28 am - Tuesday, May 1, 2012

#2 Sokhoomora

Just 1 negative comment about this camera after many days! Shows how much FAVORITE is this camera comparing to rivals like Canon SX 260 HS, Panasonic TZ30 (ZS20), or one year old Canon SX230 HS.

9:45 pm - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#3 Shelsela

I’m really surprised- all the images look sharp only if I downscale them to half of their original resolution. This toy (and the 4.5 stars) is a joke.
The more simple and cheaper samsung mv800 takes much more better images.

11:53 pm - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#4 shd

hope this one doesn’t suffer from the freezing issues like the previous model.

http://travelzoomcamerablog.blogspot.in/

2:36 pm - Monday, May 28, 2012

#5 Bruno

Great zoom
Terrible picture quality
Zero manual controls

I’ll be returning this toy camera and getting the Canon sx230

7:50 pm - Monday, June 11, 2012

#6 Peter Jordan

The camera is generally great but when it is switched to PAL output it still takes video at 30fps.  This is OK for many modern TVs but no good when I want to mix my wife’s video clips with clips taken at 25fps.  Most editors make a mess of the frame conversion because they just drop one frame in every 6.

Shame about that - it really needs an urgent firmware update so that the recording frame rate is switched to 25fps when you select PAL output.

6:09 pm - Saturday, July 28, 2012

#7 mattgrayson

Actually as a photographer I understand the need to use a low ISO. I hate seeing noise in pictures so avoid it at all costs. i think it’s an attribution to the camera that I could shoot in such varied conditions with the same ISO.

7:37 am - Friday, August 31, 2012

#8 jay bell

Youre jesting of course. I have a S9100 for my wife and I bought a S9300 for my son. It was like day and night the S9300 was terrible, focus, sharpness was just not there like the 9100. I had two of these cameras. I was able to return them both and bought a Canon S260hd and it is marvelous.This is the first time i bought a camera other then a Nikon. I use it along side of My new Nikon Dslr

12:06 am - Sunday, September 2, 2012

#9 mattgrayson

Hmmm, it’s distinctly possible you got a turkey. I’ve worked in retail and it is possible to get bad batches of cameras. That means if you take it back to change it, it’s highly likely you’ll get a new exchange unit from the same bad batch…

6:48 am - Sunday, September 2, 2012

#10 helen

Hi i was wondering does the date be on the photo when you get them out

8:41 pm - Friday, September 7, 2012

#11 stolennomenclature

I have to say that the sample images, especially those taken in the wooded areas, look really bad. They do not seem to accord with the positive comments re very good image quality. They are amongst the poorest quality images i have ever seen. Cannot really understand what is going on here, unless my software is somehow failing to display the images correctly.

11:46 pm - Friday, October 12, 2012

#12 DanMontreal

I own my S9300 since the end of September 2012. My last camera was a Panasonic ZS-1. I miss it, but cannot say the Nikon is so bad. I still have problems to understand the way it makes the focus, specially when in full zoom mode. I hit the video record button too easily. I manage to capture nice pictures whatever the conditions and colors and contrasts are nice. Night shots and HDR mode are effective, but very, very slow to record even with a very fast grade 10 SD card. Video quality is quite fair. I miss a viewfinder to create better photographs in sports and actions. The optical stabilization is working quite well. The menus are confusing, not easy to understand immediately when you open the box. Some reading helps. It is a fair price for what we get, but no more. Some people will like, others will dislike. But always remember that the best camera is the one you have in your hands at that specific moment. So you better learn its qualities and defaults and work with them while you wait for your next camera!

4:40 am - Friday, November 16, 2012

#13 Slotty Badfast

Where’s the bottom-of-camera shot that Photographyblog always is so reliable at posting?  Some of these new guys leave it our, or try to figure out a “flattering angle”.  Go back to the nice, straight-on bottom of camera shots that most review sites overlook…I always relied on Photographyblog to do that, and showing the door open at an angle that covers most of the rest of the bottom is useless.

10:52 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#14 EG-Keith

Just bought the camera and couldn’t be much more disappointed than I am. Horrible picture quality (useless 16 MB, since it’s impossible to keep the pictures at their maximum size). Great zoom, and that’s it. First time testing it and it froze after some shots. Needed to remove and replace battery in order to bring the camera to live again. I simply cannot understand the all-positive review for this camera! I plan to return it tomorrow and try to find another compact camera with better picture quality even if with less MP and zoom capability.

10:20 am - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#15 indiapricepoint

Know more about Nikon S9300 on http://www.indiapricepoint.com/electronics/nikon-s9300/

9:25 am - Saturday, December 22, 2012

#16 Jose kerginaldo de paula

I just do not understand the “highly recommended” from PB.Photos and videos on the internet only show a median camera with no image quality that draws attention.

3:23 am - Monday, February 4, 2013

#17 Jose Kerginaldo de Paula

If the Photography Blog could go back in review of nikon s9300 certainly would.

3:54 am - Monday, February 4, 2013

#18 marjan

YOU MUST BE JOKING HERE. THIS CAMERA GIVES TERRIBLE PICTURES. THE ZOOMING IS SO NOT ACCEPTABLE. EVERY THING IS BLURRY

11:18 pm - Saturday, February 9, 2013

#19 Barbara

The battery in the Nikon Cool Pix s9300 will not hold a charge for very long and then after three more the, it would not hold a charge at all.  I used to think the name Nikon meant a quality product, but not any more.

9:23 pm - Thursday, February 21, 2013

#20 Kramium

Happy with the camera, especially the illumination in poor lighting. Since most pics go straight to Facebook, the 16M setting is even overkill. I always take scenic or posed shots with different settings so I get to pick the best ones. No battery problems. For a quick-draw pocket camera, this really is a handy & capable one to have.

10:00 am - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#21 alex

Just bad review, bought the camera an returned after ruined pictures in Rome. Please update the review your just misleading people. A 2 star was more appropriate. Don’t buy the camera it has very poor picture quality

12:53 pm - Monday, June 17, 2013

#22 linda

Love the camera!  However, something has been turned on that I cannot turn off.  When I power on the camera goes into zoom mode.  Any answers on how to turn this off?

3:57 pm - Sunday, February 23, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, nikon, full hd, coolpix, 18x zoom, 25-450mm, hdmi. gps, s9300, Nikon Coolpix S9300 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry