Nikon Coolpix S9400 Review

4.0
April 8, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

25 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Goran

I did not read the complete review but I compared the section of Image quality of Nikon Coolpix S9100 (which I own) with S9400.. I found that some paragraphs are completely copy-pasted..

12:18 pm - Monday, April 8, 2013

#2 Markus

The samples look very good.  Sharp, well exposed with color saturation that is high without being over the top.  Good job.

1:39 pm - Monday, April 8, 2013

#3 fotograf

hello guys - i question ? please repaet me :-)
- first coolpix with cmos nikon s8100 - for me best picture quality with s coolpix series ,
s8100 - best 12 mpix , small noise , nice photos
s 8200 - 16 mpix - ok compact
s 9200 - 16 mpix - identic like s 8200 quality
- this model s9400/9500 = 18 mpix ... more noisy
- best pictures quality .... s 8100 , s8200
——————————————————————
i look new canon sx 270/280 with brand new digic 6 processor -
- canon sx270/280 pictures quality is better
like every nikon coolpix s series for me .
IMAGE QUALITY score for me :
1. canon sx 270/280 with new digic 6
2. nikon s8100 / canon sx 240/260 sx
3. nikon s8200 , nikona s9200
4. this nikon s9400/9500 - 18 mpix - night noise
Please your conclusion and coments for my opinion

4:02 pm - Monday, April 8, 2013

#4 Roy Phillips

I have an S9100 where the flash is raised by a small switch to the left of the flash on the side of the camera.  I cannot see any switch for raising the flash on the S9400; does anybody know how it is raised?

6:12 pm - Thursday, April 18, 2013

#5 David

First, you need to have the camera in “auto”. The flash will rise up when light is needed. Or - set the flash to stay on,and it will “rise” for indoor shots.

7:40 am - Sunday, May 5, 2013

#6 aperture

please finish the review. i want to know what other can say about this model - julie

2:18 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#7 Jose Osio

Please
Can you set manually the velocity in the Nikon S9400?
Thank you very much.
Jose Osio
Puerto Vallarta, México

3:32 pm - Thursday, May 9, 2013

#8 David

Yes Julie…..I purchaced this model last week, and I’m still “playing” with it. I really enjoy it. I love the way I can zoom very far out and then use digital to zoom further. I have taken some wonder shots in low light outdoors in the evening….the affects are great! You can use the flash if you wish…but I like the way they turn out.  Let me know how you are doing with yours.  Take care to anyone else that is reading this. Enjoy!

6:46 am - Friday, May 10, 2013

#9 paul

Just bought the S9400 for a travel camera as my samsung tl500 display failed. the zoom is impressive. BUT the photo quality is not. wish my samsung had not quit. auto wb is just not usable. colors weak. detail just not there, even when i capped iso at 800. Regret the buy. May just return it.

1:24 am - Monday, May 20, 2013

#10 paul

Though, I admit, the macro mode is good, especially in low light, w/o flash. Now if only I could figure out why I would want that….

3:16 am - Monday, May 20, 2013

#11 Charles

Picked up an S9400 recently, almost on a whim.  I also own two high-end Nikon DSLRs but find the convenience of a P&S to be handy on occasion.  For what I use a P&S for, the S9400 is more than sufficient.  I do miss the multitude of modes and manual settings of my previous P&S (an old HP model) but on the other hand, the Nikon does not have the glacial shutter lag the HP has and the Nikon’s picture quality is world’s better.

5:38 pm - Tuesday, June 4, 2013

#12 Wan

Up to now,I still have compact NIKON COOLPIX S600,small but very sharp pictures 1:2.7-5.8
I am very happy with it.
14 June 2013

8:57 am - Friday, June 14, 2013

#13 Bruce

Just bought this camera.  What is the HDMI port on the side of the camera for ?  What cable do I use for this ?  The supplied 2 cables that came with the camera do not fit ( the fit the other port hole ie.. to charge and to hook up to tv )

3:57 am - Monday, June 17, 2013

#14 Bruce

Hi.  Bought this on a whim as I needed a camera at that time ASAP.  Really happy with it except in movie mode I find when I zoom in my focus is out of focus.  When I switch over to just picture taking at the same scene (its still out of focus) when I press the shutter half way it goes in focus (perfect)  How do I correct the out of focus when zooming in in movie mode???

2:34 am - Sunday, July 21, 2013

#15 Jules

Hi,

I need help choosing between the Nikon Coolpix S9400 and the Canon PowerShot SX260.

I want it for a travel camera and have been reading mixed reviews on both..

HELP!!

9:59 pm - Monday, August 12, 2013

#16 Kylie

Same as above comment,  tying to decode between canon sx 260 or Nikon 9400. My canon a95 powershot is amazing but ten years old and doesn’t have enough zoom. Any other recommendations for around $300-400. Thanks

10:38 am - Tuesday, September 24, 2013

#17 Tom MacFarlane

Surprised no one’s mentioned the screen. I have found it virtually useless in strong light.

5:47 pm - Friday, October 18, 2013

#18 roger

en mode soirée avec photo au flash
il ne prend les photos qu’au 30em de seconde
donc des photos flou il y a t’il un remede
                  Merci

4:53 pm - Monday, October 21, 2013

#19 April

My family and I are going to Disney world next month and will be going to alot of night time events that will have Christmas lights. I am wanting to purchase a new small camera to take but am confused on what to get. I want something that will have good quality both day and night, will be fast, easy to use, and affordable. The 9400 and 9500 were recommended but Im not so sure now after reading the review on the 9400. Any suggestions?

2:38 am - Tuesday, November 5, 2013

#20 Loan

Hi,
I got the Nikon Coolpix S9400. It’s my first Nikon.
I have difficulties to do quick single shots.

Can someone please let me know how I have to change the settings in order to make single pictures in a short time one after another.
At the moment I have it on auto mode and single shot mode. When I take a pictures it takes forever to just take the next single picture.
I changed the setting to continuous but this is not what I want.

Many thanks in advance!
Loan

4:56 pm - Friday, November 29, 2013

#21 vallarie

i to have the nikon coolpix s9400 it is a really great camera. i took the most beautiful shot at night when snowing.it turned out awesome!! best camera ever!! very easy to use

6:14 am - Thursday, January 16, 2014

#22 Greg Barnett

DON’T BUY THE S9400 OR 9500 series from Nikon.  I have had four separate cameras (two of each model) all suffer the same lens error!!!!
The gears that operate the lens strip out.  The lens jams or won’t open.  Each one of these cameras failed within 6 mos.  I carry them in a padded soft case inside a padded camera bag.
I had a Nikon S8200 for about 4 years.  It has taken 40,000 pics and it still works.  I replaced it because it was getting old.
The newer Coolpix are junk.  None of them even made it to 2000 pics before they broke.  Buyer beware!!!
On Nikon’s good side, the pics the cameras do take are very nice.
Fix your quality issue Nikon.  I just replaced the Coolpix with a Canon.  I don’t like it as well as the Nikon. I own 6 other Nikons full-size cameras.  All are excellent quality.

3:40 pm - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#23 Omer

TALES FROM THE OTHER SIDE

I switched to Nikon P&S cameras last year after going through two different Canon cameras (SD850 and SX120) with identical auto-focus problems; they both indicate focus lock, but the optics stay out of focus. I own a CoolPix P7700 and can’t praise it enough as a semi-pro compact. I was considering an S9400 or an S8200 as a smaller+lighter complement to my P7700. Greg’s posting is scary. Maybe everyone is the victim in this race to more features and lower cost… I’m not going back to Canon, though.

5:37 am - Sunday, May 4, 2014

#24 Norm Irwin

Just going out to buy this camera for $150. I don’t think I can beat this deal. Apparently some of the come are from people who didn’t read the instructions

6:22 pm - Saturday, July 5, 2014

#25 Ian Thornton

this is one sweet, compact, user-friendly little camera.  I have the use of only one hand following a stroke, and this camera is ideal for my purposes—light and easy to use with one hand.  Excellent image quality and solid construction.  A good value for the money (I
paid $200 CDN for mine).  Money well spent.  I also own a Canon Powershot S5IS and a Lumix FZ35.

10:01 pm - Sunday, July 20, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 1080p, wide-angle, hdmi, nikon, full hd, travel-zoom, coolpix, travel, travel zoom, 18 megapixel, OLED, 18x zoom, 3 inch OLED, 25-450mm, s9400, Nikon Coolpix S9400 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry