Nikon D3000 Review

4.5
August 26, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

87 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jack

so if i have to pick between nikon d60 and d3000, which is a better choice? i see you give slightly better rating for d60 than d3000 with “ease of use” and “image quality”.

1:34 am - Friday, August 28, 2009

#2 scottyyyc

The D3000 is a replacement for the D40 and D60, so the days of being able to pick between the two are numbered. Both are very similar cameras, but the D3000 is obviously the newer model with slightly better specs. That being said, the D60 is also $100-$150 less, making it a great deal. Keep in mind though that for that $150, you can buy an extra lens or some accessories that will go a lot farther into making great pictures than a couple extremely small differences in specs. But if you’re the person (like me), who’s rather spend that extra hundred bucks to get something a couple years newer, the D3000 will be the camera of choice.

I’m on the fence right now, but likely going to pick up the D3000 when it gets released in the coming weeks. Unless you’re concerned with extremely minute specs and other esotera, a camera like the D3000 (or D40, D60) is all you’ll ever really need in reality. I’m a firm believer in the Ken Rockwell school of thinking, in that virtually any modern DSLR is enough for those but the most discerning full-time pros.

4:36 pm - Friday, August 28, 2009

#3 pkin

Love my D60, got it for about the same price as the d3000 but it included a 55-200 lens as well as an 18-55, my guess is the d60 will be discontinued, I think it should be a great bargain for about 400.

4:42 pm - Friday, August 28, 2009

#4 Andre

The D60 was already a great camera!! One of the best entry levels ever in my opinion!
Where Nikon really shines is in the range of D90 to D3x.

The D5000 and D3000 are great but have very strong competition.

1:09 am - Sunday, August 30, 2009

#5 Bob Guerrero

the d3000 has 11 focus points against 3 in the D60.  That for me is the biggest reason to choose it over the d60.

1:49 pm - Thursday, September 10, 2009

#6 Rolf

The Nikon D3000 is missing Live View & Movie Mode. Improvements to the D60 are minor- admittedly more focus points are nice to have. If you are on a tight budget, get the D60 while you still get one. This is probably all you ever need and the kit lenses (18-55VR + 55-200VR) are very good value. I have a D60 and carry it always with me with a 35-1.8 The smallest Nikon DSLR set around. If you can stretch your budget, get the D5000 – a stunner with Live View & Movie Mode for now only approx. £ 100 more than the D3000. Consider the 18-105VR as a kit lens. Especially if you have a family, the D5000 is the best choice, so wife (and older kids) can “snap” pictures, too.  My wife loves her D5000.

11:54 am - Monday, September 14, 2009

#7 PcP

i just got this yesterday with the twin lens 200mm, and i cant keep my hands off it! i find no fault with this and im at work wanting to get the hell outta her and go play with it !! ahahhhh!

4:16 am - Thursday, September 24, 2009

#8 Glenn Fernandes

Shooting with Nikon D3000 is easy and fun. I am not a professional and hence Guide Mode will be very useful for me. The design is very attractive. The image quality is very impressive.

6:20 am - Thursday, September 24, 2009

#9 John

I had spent weeks researching what DSLR I should get. I read reviews, I talked to people. I finally decided on a Nikon D60. I almost bought one that was on clearance for being a display model. The store associate also told me the D60 was a soon to be discontinued model and suggested a D3000 or D5000. I found a store online that sold that model almost $100 less than anyone else and was about the same price as used Nikon D60’s on eBay. I ordered a new D3000 a few hours ago and it should be here in about a week. Ill check back in.

8:28 am - Saturday, September 26, 2009

#10 james

great camera with every features. every one would like to buy it.

6:30 am - Wednesday, September 30, 2009

#11 valenciana

I had my nice D50 great nice camera for years. sold it and got an olympus e600 or cant even remember.
return and got the Nikon 40X i hated it. i just compared pics and my d50 was so much nicer.
is this one better then D50?
If somebody had both let me know
sorry my english

6:54 pm - Thursday, October 1, 2009

#12 Garry Parker

Is it me, or is there a lot of fringing in the sample images?

8:46 pm - Thursday, October 1, 2009

#13 pcp

i’ve had my D3000 for about 4 weeks now, and im doing great things with it.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulcushphotography

No complaints here!

10:12 am - Friday, October 2, 2009

#14 Ken Cerino

What are your thoughts on the Nikon D3000 for shooting sports events? Does anyone use the Nikon D60 for sports coverage? Any other suggestions? Thanks.

7:26 pm - Friday, October 9, 2009

#15 Michael Cohen

Some reviews are concerned about Shutter lag and slow AF in the D3000, Is this a real concern ?

12:29 pm - Friday, October 16, 2009

#16 Jonnym

First, anyone who laments not having live view or video mode isn’t aware what this camera is all about.  My friend is choosing the d3000 because it DOESN’T have these unnecessary features! Why pay for ‘em when you don’t want ‘em?
Second, sports coverage will be great with the 55-200 VR; I’ve got fantastic soccer shots with it.  Fringing, smringing, what’s the content??  Get your values straight!  Why obsess about something you’d need a microscope to see?  Get an 8x10 view camera and stop complaining…

5:48 am - Saturday, October 17, 2009

#17 Voyager

Very good review.

Seeing the iso 400 sample photo, there are TONES of hot pixels.

Am i right ? If yes, why ?

12:29 pm - Tuesday, October 20, 2009

#18 John

Well I have had my D3000 for about 3 weeks now and am very happy with it. Of course it is my first DSLR so I have nothing to compare it to. The Guided mode works well but one thing I would have liked is a brief summary of the settings the camera chose at each stage so as to learn specifically what was needed for different situations. I did immediately go buy a nicely padded neck strap as the one that came with it felt like burlap on my neck after just a few minutes. But thats a very minor issue. Overall I am quite pleased and expect to have years of fun with my D3000.

2:41 pm - Wednesday, October 21, 2009

#19 Dayna

The D3000 was my first choice for an under $1000 budget. The specs and features are exactly what I’m looking for.
However, I feel the missing Live View could just be the dealbreaker. Using digitals, and not only DSLRs, I’ve gotton quite used to using the LCD screen while shooting.
Especially in situations where I’d like to get macro shots, it seems it’d be a bother to have to put my face all the way up to the camera.
Like stated in the review, I may end up pointing-and-guessing far too often.

2:47 am - Monday, October 26, 2009

#20 John

Now thats interesting Dayna as one reason I specifically chose the D3000 was the lack of live view. My last couple of point and shoots just used the lcd and I hated it! I always felt like I was totally guessing at what i was shooting. Not so with a traditional view finder. I can see exactly what I want to shoot and frame it perfectly.

3:10 am - Monday, October 26, 2009

#21 Anup

Hi,

Not sure why they don’t consider canon 450d as one of nikond3k’s main rival.. could anyone help me select between nikon d3k and canon 450d. Only reason I’m thinking abt Canon is because of its Inbuilt motor..

9:08 pm - Friday, October 30, 2009

#22 Rich

Thinking about buying a D3000.  First time digital buyer.  I have an old N8008S with a range of AF lenses.  Will these lenses work with the D3000?  Trying to use my existing investment.  Thanks!

5:36 am - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#23 Anita

I just bought the D3000 as a backup, in case something goes wrong with my D300 on trips.  So far I love everything about this little camera… especially the light weight and compact design… it will fit nicely into my already cramped bag.  I for one am glad that it doesn’t do video… if I wanted video I would have gotten a video camera. 

To Rich… no your older AF lenses won’t work on the D3000… you need to get the D90 or better.

8:59 am - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#24 Daniel

Muy buena calidad de imagen. Muy buena construcción. Exelente autonomía de la batería. Compré el kit D3000 18-55VR + 55/200VR por u$s950.- en Argentina. Ráfaga de 3 fps es mentira. Se mantiene solo por 5 ó 6 cuadros, después baja velocidad hasta 1 cuadro/3sec. real en jpg Dlighting off AF off Flash off SDHC 8GB clase 6

7:00 pm - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#25 FL-WOLF

Assuming that these reviews are written completely unbiased and unsponsored, this is by far the best Review site I have found so far. Very well written and clearly divided into the different segments.

11:14 pm - Tuesday, November 3, 2009

#26 handytasche

An excellent DX prime lens. Low cost, fast lens, great picture quality, what more can you ask. A lens that should be in everyone’s lens collection.

2:00 pm - Monday, November 9, 2009

#27 Tadej

Can anyone advise me on the lens for NIKON D3000?
I would like to take pictures of sporting events and nature in particular. I am considering Sigma 18-200 3.5/6.3 DC OS. I also considered a set of Nikon D3000 + 18-55 VR + 55-200 VR. What do you think?

1:11 pm - Friday, November 13, 2009

#28 Amanda

I’m looking at getting the Nikon d3000, and I’m wondering how much you can customize the Manual settings. My old camera could only go up to 2 seconds of having the shutter open, and that was only in Night mode. Can the d3000 go more than that? Also, how adjustable is the depth of field on the d3000? Any answers would be greatly appreciated.

10:13 pm - Friday, November 13, 2009

#29 Cameron

Amanda i have done alot of research on cameras lately and the D3000 can hold the shutter open as long as you can hold your finger on the button with the “bulb” setting.

My question for who ever can answer is if anyone has had problems with the D3000 focus time? I have went to the store numorous times playing around with the camera and when ever i take a picture it takes about 1 second or so to focus before i can take a shot! Im curious if its the settings or the camera? the canon eos rebel xs seems to be instant! but just wondering because im about to by one or the other…and its a hard decision so if anyone can help me out id appreciate it! thanks

2:25 am - Wednesday, November 18, 2009

#30 Ani

What is the cost of this camera ?
Should I go for NikonD3000 with 6.1 MP / 10.1 MP.
My budget is bellow $500.

4:59 pm - Thursday, November 19, 2009

#31 Keith

This is a great review site and thanks everyone for really valuable information. About to get my first DSLR (been using an analog for ages), and the entry level d3000 is just what i’m looking for. I share John’s concern that there is no brief summary of the settings the camera chose at each stage to learn what was needed for different situations. I wonder if there is compensation for this in some way or another. Thanks guys.

11:32 am - Friday, November 20, 2009

#32 Asin

I want to upgrade from a point-and-shoot to an entry level SLR. Choice is between Canon EOS 450D and Nikon D3000. Anyone able to advise me which to bring home? Both will be bought with the extra 55-250 (Canon) or 55-200 (Nikon) lense.

3:10 pm - Saturday, November 21, 2009

#33 Michael Cohen

With the D3000, when you enlarge an image while reviewing on the camera, can you save the enlarged image ?

5:47 am - Friday, November 27, 2009

#34 dr.adil

i have bought it 1week ago nikon d3000 is great camera with sharp detail ,ease of use produce genuine colors as you see with naked eye,give satisfactory result.price is ot too much .it special effect is 3d tracking which found in d300,d90 in which camera foucus onmovin object continouly.very excellent camera .go and buy still photography has nothing to do wth live view ,vido.

3:52 pm - Friday, November 27, 2009

#35 dr.adil

nikon d3000 is good looking,with durable body as well as give excellent result a wide range lenses can be use long battery life,image ovelay feature ,effective active-d lighting,price is reasonable,pic result is awsome produce geniune colors.j love it.its complete slr for still photography.if someone know about it then can contact me on +923339676553.

5:40 pm - Saturday, November 28, 2009

#36 dr.adil

michael cohen yes dear u can save when u crop the pic only that croped area will enlarge when u see on the screen.

5:47 pm - Saturday, November 28, 2009

#37 tim clayton

Just purchases one from amazon with VR lens kit £369, cheapest I could find an £100 cheaper than D60 with same lens.  Will post again after christmas!!

6:36 pm - Tuesday, December 1, 2009

#38 venugopalbsnl

i am a hobbyist and upgraded from Nikon L series to D3000.i think this is best suited for asea, where sunlight,dust and bright sky are omnipresent. the snaps are smooth and bright.this is worth my money.

3:55 pm - Friday, December 4, 2009

#39 David

I have just bought a D3000. This is my first dSLR. I was wondering if anyone had any advice with regards to the best memory card (SDHC?) for this camera. So far as I can tell it comes down class (4 or 6) and size (4 or 8 MB). Is on brand better then another? I would rather not spend money on a card that will not improve the performance of the camera (e.g. I don’t want to get a class 6 card if a class 4 is all the camera can handle). Can anyone help? Thanks.

9:35 pm - Monday, December 7, 2009

#40 John

No LIVE VIEW. Just ordered one but I wear glasses and have been used to Live View in a Nikon Coolpix six years old.

Will the Glasses cause reflection problem or will I have to take them off and adjust the diopter ?

I like the GUIDE facility but what alternative is there to the 3000 ? 

Good snapping Get good Christmas photos

9:41 am - Thursday, December 10, 2009

#41 Emily

when you say there is no live view, that is because it saves battery. By saving battery, you can take more brilliant pictures. With a live view, its more like a small digital camera, this is an DSLR camera.

5:55 am - Friday, December 11, 2009

#42 DRC

I have just bought a D3000 and excitedly got it out of the box, charged up the batter only to find an error message - Contact a Nikon-authorised representative.  Very disapointing.  I have arranged to send it back to the retailer (Dixons) and get a replacement.  Fingers crossed.  Am I just unlucky or is there a known fault?

4:55 pm - Sunday, December 13, 2009

#43 Lily B

Very nice camera but I don’t know how to do the ‘Continuous Shooting’ mode. Could anyone tell me how to use it? Thank You!

10:34 pm - Tuesday, December 22, 2009

#44 dr.adil

dear Lily b congratulation to u.its realy cool camera,but there are some disapointing rumors about this camera on internet which is not true coz they dont know prperly about the use of this camera.dear u can select this on the menu display by clicking first the button on left side with (i)icon then put the cursor on the continous icon which shows with three diagramatic frames,and u can alot a fn button for this purpose also and for your kind information it takes 4shots/sec,but not when flash is on.i.e4fps.its my own experience.never use iso more than 400.its active d-lighting is very effective and noise reduction is very effective whenever u use high iso then use noise reduction on then it gives good result.ok thank you and enjoy nikon d3000 delights.see you.

5:22 pm - Wednesday, December 23, 2009

#45 CB

I’ve been given the D3000 as a gift along with a book titled “Understanding Exposure”.  I’ve poured over the D3000 User Manual and find it difficult to understand how, when given assignments in the book, to change the aperture from 5.6 to say 8.  Nor do I see where the indicator for the correct exposure is located. 

I am a beginner moving up from a point and shoot. Lots of the terms on the camera and in the manual are still foreign.  Thanks in advance.

8:37 pm - Friday, December 25, 2009

#46 KJ

Can anyone tell me where I can find an eyepiece extender?  I went to Wolf Camera and they don’t sell them.  My Dad said to look online but no luck so far.  I recently jumped into the SLR world with the Nikon D3000 but hate smudging the monitor with my nose.  Thanks!!

4:24 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#47 michael

just bought a D3000 from Amazon for $452.98

5:44 pm - Sunday, January 3, 2010

#48 Anubis

I want to buy a D3000. Can anyone tell me if is better buy through internet or in the shop?

7:04 am - Monday, January 11, 2010

#49 Julie

Hey guys, just ordered a d3000 on amazon and it should be here about tomorrow. I am so excite that you can’t even believe it! Can’t wait to mess around with it!

6:02 am - Wednesday, January 20, 2010

#50 buy r4 dsi

I bought my D3000 on Friday and took it to the mountains over the weekend. This is my first ever SLR, I upgraded from a simple point and shoot. I could not believe how easy this camera is to use. It took fabulous pictures right out of the box. I do still have alot to learn about all the features and settings, but you don’t need to have an knowledge about SLR cameras to take gorgeous photos with this camera!

9:41 am - Wednesday, January 20, 2010

#51 Anup Kamath

I got my cam couple of days back, can anyone tell me how to change (which button to use) the aperture value when camera is in Manual mode.

12:45 pm - Wednesday, January 20, 2010

#52 Arxi

Using D3000 for more then month and I already feel it’s giving me more limitations instead of creative freedom I was dreaming about switching from Fuji compacts. ISO - disappointing - 1600 unusable for decent night photos, it looks like bad joke, doesn’t handle batter as small Fuji! 400 - still not full satisfaction. If IQ is priority - you are limited to 100-200 range. No dedicated ISO button makes it even more bad joke, as this parameter is one which I’m changing very often trying to go every time as low as possible (ok, you can program one button, but there are two useless “i” buttons I never used). Another nightmare is exposition compensation - turning right minus, turning left plus, while A and S - works the way round! You can’t change it even in menu (only all of them, what is same absurd). (Nikon, why?)

Absence of Live View is definitely minus - there were already dozens of situations I could not held camera to my eye and just guessed, shooting from the air, or kneeling to the ground, etc…

Last thing - I don’t know how to change time interval of preview - it shuts down after some 10 or 15 seconds, but what if I want to study details in picture I took? I didn’t found out how to prolong preview interval in preview mode.

Shutter lag - can be a problem for sport/animal photographer. But with high ISO and D-lightning on you feel it even taking casual photos. But I would rather have “silent” mode as D5000 if I can choose some improvement.

For anyone like me, young and active, not limited to stationary classic photos, D5000 is definitely better option, giving more creative freedom for only little bit more money, and most importantly, bringing IQ of D90 to “low-end” DSRL-class for 2/3 of D90 price (including in-camera chromatic aberration correction and distortion correction).

11:26 pm - Wednesday, January 20, 2010

#53 Ray

after weeks of net research i decided to purchase the D3000 i am so happy i did, for a first DSLR you could not get better, easy to use it will teach you what you are doing , dont care about no live view or video mode i have a video camera for that, this is a great camera, i doubt any amatuer user would feel the need to upgrade from this it is very well featured for advanced manual use so should serve you well for many years

8:27 am - Monday, February 15, 2010

#54 Brad Good

Review Summary: For the most part, this Nikon digital SLR received high marks. Those that did leave one star reviews did not provide constructive feedback about the unit itself. Those people aside, there were other people who had pleasant things to say about the camera. There was little concern with the lack of “Live View”, the ability to frame a shot with the LCD screen. It was recommended for people upgrading from a point-and-shoot and wanted a good entry level Digital SLR that they could grow into. From the small size of the camera (for a DSLR) to the number of extra features available, there were many reasons people liked the D3000 from Nikon.

Note: Everything is in the box to start shooting, except for a memory card. You’ll need to get an SD or SHDC card to use with your camera.

You may want to pick up these accessories:
Hoya 52mm UV (Ultra Violet) Super Multi Coated Glass Filter
Transcend 16 GB Class 6 SDHC Flash Memory Card TS16GSDHC6

8:10 am - Monday, March 1, 2010

#55 Mike

Can anyone help me out? I’m trying to decide between the Nikon D3000 and the D5000.

5:27 pm - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#56 Amy Hutchinson

I have just bought the Nikon D3000,and I’m in no way a professional i just want a camera that i can take better pictures with, can anyone tell me how to use the continuous shots? i presumed you just held the shoot button and it would take 3 frames? is this completely wrong?

Thank You

1:18 pm - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#57 pritch

i am in the process of researching what dslr to buy as after an F1 event last summer i was very disappointed with the quality of the images from my point and shoot as the shutter speed, even in sports mood was far to slow.

can anyone advise if 3fps will be quick enough and if not what would you recommend for a hobbyist?

also i have read reviews that say you can only take 5 shots in continuous shooting mode and have to wait 10- 15 sec before shooting again? a friend suggested that his d5000 could take 100 shots which is a big differance.

thanx

9:12 pm - Monday, March 22, 2010

#58 mark

ive just bought a d3000, ive had a fuji finepix which was a good camera, the d3000 is my first slr, and im over the moon with it, its brilliant, the detail in the pics is amazing and the ease of use is perfect, i was taking unreal shots within five mins of turning it on for the first time. seriously if your moving into the realm of slr, get this!!!

9:35 pm - Friday, April 2, 2010

#59 Warwick Bursey

I wear reading specs. With live view I would have to constantly put them on the see the screen, take them off to look at the subject. Not an option. I use the viewfinder all the time, adjusted for my poor close up eyesight. Another thing - holding the camera up against your eye and head adds more stability and better pics. Anyway, how many poeple can hold up their hands with the camera for any length of time without a little shake creeping in. Live view is just a ploy.

8:52 am - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#60 Shiv

I want to know I have D3000 and my friend was using D50. in that he was using a lens Nikon AI fit Vivitar zoom 80-200,now he is giving me that one to use. can anybody tell me will it be fit in my D3000. I am quite confused about that. I think which lens is fitted in D50 it supposed to fit in D3000. plz can anybody tell me the answer.

1:33 pm - Thursday, April 22, 2010

#61 adil

shive yes u can use that but there is no autofocusing motor in d3000.

6:48 am - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#62 mark

just an update on my d3000, good grief what a camera, im carry it everywhere, it takes fantastic pictures, ive bought some new filters etc, some of the pics ive taken are just a joy. cannot fault this camera at all. and dont worry about live view, you wont miss it, the viewfinder is superb.

9:38 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#63 mark

oh, people moan about no video mode too, who cares, buy a camcorder , the d3000 is a camera not a bloody camcorder!

9:42 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#64 Alex

Well im a first timer to this whole dslr thing but I really want a camera that will last and I can continue to grow with and not be restricted by it. If you know what I mean?
But im currently stuck between getting the olympus e600 or the d3000… I dunno i see that people say the live view is useless? But how useless? Like I will never need it? Plus I don’t plan on doing macrophotography so I shouldn’t right?
Which should I get the e600 or d3000?
Thnx

9:18 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#65 Melissa

I just bought the D3000 yesterday and am unhappy.  If I set it at anything other than manual, it tells me the “lens is not attached.” I’m using the Lens that came with it - AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f3.5-5.6G VR.  I’m new to DSLRs so is there something I’m missing?  According to the manual, autofocus and all the other settings should work with this lens, but they don’t.

3:38 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#66 Tom

Can anyone tell me please—- what is the ‘bit depth’ of the sensors on the D3000? 8 bit, 12 bit, 16 bit? I bought the camera and then started reading about the benefits of a higher bit depth for processing out of the camera.
Thanks

9:59 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#67 Ranjit Ray.

I got a Nikon 3000 D yesterday and I am more that happy with it. I read lot of blogs before going for it. I was a bit confused in between the canon 1000D and The Nikon 3000D. The area of concern was the live view . I got to know that when it comes to professional photography, the live view does not count. And the over all qwality of the Nikon 3000D is way ahead of the Canon 1000D when u compare both the cameras handy. Folks before u go for any camera u should always compare them handy. First things first, you will get to know the difference in the plastic quality . Its way beyond the Canon 1000D. I am not telling that the 1000D is bad. But u know the outlook matters first. Above all when we go for a SLR , first thing which comes to teh mind is the Brand Image, the brand most seen is the camera bought. Am I correct folks???. The Advantage for the begineers is the guide mode and the 11 point focus. Thst enough for the begineers to take a walk. And if u want to b a Pro, u dont have to stick to anyone of these .. u will surely go for a better one. So when it comes to a begineer SLR, is 3000D always.  One more thing, The looks of the camera is somewhat like the BMW , its so polished…

11:15 am - Tuesday, July 6, 2010

#68 bumba

I want to buy nikon d3000, can u tel me it is good or d5000 is better?

10:30 am - Wednesday, September 1, 2010

#69 Shelby Merrifield

I was wondering if the Nikon D3000 was a good camera for taking pictures of sports, such as Rodeo event’s and Football?

3:22 am - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#70 pau cush

Yes, the camera is good for that. The only thing is sucks at is low light. And if you cant take a flash (like church, or some event where flash isnt allowed), prepare for MAJOR grain and noise.

4:22 am - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#71 Lynsey

I’m new to dslr and I am really trying to decide between the Nikon 3000 and Sony a290. Any thoughts?
Thanks.

10:19 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#72 Paul Cush

POOR MAN PAYS TWICE.

esp when it comes to cameras. go for the best the first time.

nikon make cameras. thats what they DO. Sony make video. Thats what THEY do.

11:06 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#73 Kerrie

New to DSLR but want to learn more! I just bought the D3000 after doing much research.  All cameras have both good and bad reviews.  For me, the deal maker was the price and the learning ability from the D3000.  I really liked the D5000 too, but the price as a little more than I wanted to spend being a new DSLR user.  I belive I will not only learn from this camera, but also get lots of use out of it before ever wanting to upgrade again.

1:51 pm - Monday, September 13, 2010

#74 Suresh

I using D60 and one of my friend told me to upgrade my D60 to D3000. So I went one of my friend who have D3000 and check the main deferents between D60 and D3000.

I wondered D3000 have 11 focusing points and D60 have 3. Menu and other visual things are well suit in 3” display than 2.5” D60 screen.

Image quality is same but some times D3000 focusing well than D60.

Thats all and I decided to stay with my D60 because there are no big changes.

9:52 am - Tuesday, November 23, 2010

#75 Melanie

I have been using my Nikon D3000 for several months now but have been a bit disappointed when I have developed the pictures.  They all seem slightly under exposed, compared to how they look on t he camera screen and computer, especially those taken in poor lighting to start off with. I have tried a couple of different companies to develop them but the result has been the same Has anyone else had this problem or do you know how I solve this.

Many thanks

8:46 pm - Tuesday, February 1, 2011

#76 Emma

i am going on holiday to Canada and I will be doing activities that range from sight seeing to whale watching and I want a camera that is able to catch those all important shots quickly before they are gone !

I have been recommend the Nikon 3000 and the Fujifilm finepix HS10.

could someone please suggest the best one for a beginner interested in photography.

1:24 pm - Friday, June 10, 2011

#77 Emma

I am going on holiday to Canada and I will be doing activities that range from sight seeing to whale watching and I want a camera that is able to catch those all important shots quickly before they are gone !

I have been recommend the Nikon 3000 and Fujifilm finepix HS10

Could someone please suggest the best one for a beginner interested in photography.

1:25 pm - Friday, June 10, 2011

#78 Tom

I love my d3000 It was my started camera and I use it as much or more than my expensive Nikons. Having a good lens makes any Nikon a great choice

4:05 pm - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#79 Lu

I am new to photography…and I purchased the Nikon D3000…that being said, I am searching for some advice on which lenses to invest in.  What are the must haves for great quality?  I am shooting senior pics, family pics, and have recently booked a wedding coming up in April!  I do not have a “studio.”  I have done minimal indoor shoots due to lack of quality lighting.  I love shooting outdoors, so many different backgrounds!  I have read a lot online, but I want to talk to real people who have had real experience with this camera and lenses.  Any advice would be helpful…thank you!

5:28 am - Thursday, October 20, 2011

#80 Ray

how do you clear the problem of a warning saying there is no lens attached when there is ?

8:08 pm - Monday, December 12, 2011

#81 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

I have already sony DSC W80; NIKON D3000; NIKON P500 AND PLANNING TO BUY NIKON D3X. HEARD IT’S SLOWER THAN D3S. WHAT IS YOUR SUGGESSION? PLAESE ANSEWER ME.

3:10 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#82 Shibi

I tnk Nikon D3000 was no prolem camera.
is grate. my Dear frnd…
use 2 any conduction…

3:08 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#83 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

THANK YOU SHIBI.

6:24 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#84 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

NIKON D3000 THOUGH IT DOES NOT HAVE THE LIVE VIEW YOU CAN SHOOT AND ADJUST TO THE LIGHT YOU REQUIRED.I AM SURE YOU WILL GET GREAT PICTURES THOUGH IT IS ENTRY LEVEL CAMERA.

———SESHU

6:39 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#85 mendak

does the Nikon D3000 takes videos? i mean can i record videos with it?? thanks

7:44 pm - Saturday, June 16, 2012

#86 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

IT WILL NOT TAKE VIDEO. BUT IT CAN BE CONNECTED TO A VEDEO RECORDER.

1:40 pm - Monday, June 18, 2012

#87 Mark C

I use a D3x in my ‘day job’ and have a D40 which I use for holidays and family life,  I have searched in vain for a small camera thats as fast and satisfying as the D40 and have purchased enough Coolpix models over the years to open a shop, all ended up in the garbage, i even thought Nikon had nailed it with their J and V series cameras, making the foolish error of investing in a j1 and weeping at its crappiness.
  I picked up a D3000 on Ebay for £96 and it was a revelation, like the D40 but better-if such a thing could ever be- Its a shame they could not squeeze its greatness into a J1 sized body.
  Thank you Nikon for this astonishingly brilliant camera, Im proud to carry it in the same case as my D2Xs and D3x .

10:26 am - Monday, May 27, 2013

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, nikon, beginner, DSLR, 10 megapixel, d3000, Nikon D3000 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry