Nikon D300s Review

4.5
October 5, 2009 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

28 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Daveed V.

I think the Canon EOS 7D is the true “main rival” of the 300s—I’m surprised you didn’t list it.

8:45 pm - Monday, October 5, 2009

#2 Tibor

I think they will add the Canon to the rivals list once they have reviewed it.

I have never seen them list a rival they haven’t reviewed yet.

8:41 am - Tuesday, October 6, 2009

#3 David

Well the key thing is not addressed in the review.  There are several reports out there indicating that D300s autofocus is much much faster than that of D300 and actually is faster than that of D700. Users report much faster autofocus with same lenses.  This is something that Nikon themselves acknowledged.  This review is absolutely silent on this issue.  Did you guys not have D300 at the same time to compare?  You are comparing the two in the review.  If autofocusing is that much faster, then it may let a number of users to upgrade their D300 as many use their D300/300s for sports/birds shooting etc.

11:03 am - Thursday, October 8, 2009

#4 Nikcam

Looks like a solid upgrade to the D300 awesome video
who needs 1080 video if 720 is this good.
Of course it’s the Canon 7D that competes with the D300s from what i’ve seen on various sites its high ISO compares very well against the D300s & takes the lead at 6400.
I expect the Auto-focus build quality & handling of the Nikon to be better than the Canon 7D but the 7D looks like the best camera ever from Canon in this category.

7:35 pm - Thursday, October 15, 2009

#5 Jeremy N White

Just back from New Delhi having taken 3000 images with the D300s. The camera is outstanding, great image quality, battery life 1000 shots. Strong and easy to use quickly. I gave the camera to a ten year old at the orphanage to use for a few hours and he was a dab hand after five minutes. Only improvement I would like is better quality at higher ISO there is a lot of noise at 1200 so not as good I think as the D700 but I’ve not done a side by side test. Video quality is much better than the Full HD Sanyo 1010 because of the Nikon file format. My website has some photographs.

10:18 pm - Thursday, November 12, 2009

#6 M Lee

Your sample pictures are very good. I think the lens quality is very important in image quality, but you did not mention the name of the lenses used for the sample pictures. Can you tell what lenses you used for the samples, please.

3:33 am - Sunday, February 7, 2010

#7 Honest

IMHO, I wasn’t impressed at all after switching from Sony A700 - ergonomics, buttons and switches are of worse quality but what bothered me a lot is that Sony AF is noticeably better with budget lenses (up to $2k) - a little faster and MUCH MORE accurate.
Dynamic range in the highlights is almost a stop better with A700 - much easier to expose to the right and getting noise-free images..

8:46 am - Sunday, March 7, 2010

#8 T Hind

Its a great camera, I use it as backup for my wedding photography.  Low light use is a bit restrictive and you have to nail the exposure but the extra reach of the 1.5 crop makes it a fantastic back-up.

6:57 pm - Thursday, March 25, 2010

#9 Boyet Alonzo

Anybody using D5000? Any flaws if this will be used as prime lens on D5000?  I’m planning to get one.

1:46 am - Friday, April 2, 2010

#10 Dave Perkes

The D300s is not a bad camera; it has all the facilities and speed that the discerning photographer wants; however coming from the Fuji camp (S2Pro and S5Pro) the colours and especially low light performance compared to the S5 doesn’t come close.

D lighting has been useful; although the dynamic range is not as good as Fuji Super CCD I haven’t been been disappointed.

Usability and AF of the D300s has good the 7 to 8 FPS is fast enough for wildlife which was the main purpose of buying this camera body.

On a recent remote trip where I was away from Electric power for several days at a time; the excellent battery consumption of around 900 shots per battery and the ability to use 8 AA cells was nothing short of amazing compared to the Fuji’s 300 shots per battery; which would have cause serious problems if I had to rely on that camera alone.
For wildlife and general photography this camera will be very useful; but for serious portraiture i’d use the Fujis.

5:09 pm - Sunday, April 11, 2010

#11 Tony

I just bought my d300s and so far am very happy. One thing is bothering me though, the ‘beep’ volume! It appears that the ‘low’ is actually louder than the ‘high’. Anyone else find this problem?

12:49 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#12 ryan

hey just bought a new d300s i need a memoery card though. i want one that will be able to capture the 7 frames a second and so i can also use the 720p hd (24mbps). i want to do all this for the lowest price but i do not want over price does any body have any suggestions?

1:29 am - Tuesday, June 8, 2010

#13 Dave Perkes

I use 133x CF Cards for stills with SD for backup and video. No prob with speed with either. but I think my SDHC cards are faster.
I understand that the frame rate is not effected by the card as there is a 100 shot buffer.If you have a slow card you may find the No of continuous shots reduced. As I don’t shoot more than a few frames at time; I cannot say for sure.

2:45 am - Tuesday, June 8, 2010

#14 ryan

hey dave perkes thanks for the info just wondering if you use a d300s yourself

3:36 am - Tuesday, June 8, 2010

#15 Wedding photographer Leeds

I have a D700 and a D300s and can confirm that the autofocus is slightly faster. I prefer the size of the D300s over the D700. I find myself using the D300s more than the D700 at the minute, I do have more crop lenses than full frame lenses so that might have something to do with it.

9:31 am - Wednesday, June 16, 2010

#16 Dave Perkes

Yes I do own a D300s; its frame rate and A/F is impressive. Ive compared similar shots at a recent event taken with a collegue, using a D700 and really could not tell the difence at ISOs up to 1000.  Beyond that, the D700 (and Fuji S5 which I was using as well) are notably better.

1:47 pm - Wednesday, June 16, 2010

#17 David

To the last poster:  really S5 is better over ISO1000.  I’ve been thinking about S5 and I am well aware of its incredible exposure range, but not about its high ISO ability.  In fact, isn’t S5 a rebadged copy of Nikon D200 with D200’s sensor, which is not known for its stellar high ISO?  I had previously been impressed by D300 high ISO ability but recently was shooting Canon 30D side by side with my D300 and I can tell you that Canon 30D is cleaner at ISO3200 for certain.

5:12 pm - Wednesday, June 16, 2010

#18 Dave Perkes

Although out of production now the Fuji S5 was a an excellent performer at Hi ISOs I would routineley push it to 1600 and you could not see any more noise than at 400 or 800 colours were vibrant right up to 3200 but with reduced resolution.
The Fuji had a totally different sensor to the D200 it was based on.
As an all round general purpose and sport/wildlife camera, the D300S is far more usable than D200 or S5 and as I stated in a earlier post, the Dynamic Range using D lighting copes well under most circumstances. I as almost impressed (well half impressed anyway)

6:32 pm - Thursday, June 17, 2010

#19 kishan

my new 2month old..d300s..LCD goes blank…on/off..switch shows On..even though switch is in Off mode..PC doesnt gets ditected…
no live view..on top LCD..doesnt show the details of memory card..like how many photos to be clicked..CF…PC doesnt ditect..etc..
going thgrough hell of time worried..wanted to shift to cannon 7d..
i think did i made a mistake..(i have been using d40..d90..no problems..)
rest like shutter is working…
kishan
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

9:51 am - Sunday, October 3, 2010

#20 eliel joseph schafler

I BOUT THIS CAMERA ALMOST TWO YEARS AGO AND AM
VERY PLEASED WITH IT.
VERY FAST AND EASY TO USE,A BIT HEAVY WITH THE
POWER GRIP BUT VERY EASY TO USE AND VERY ACCURATE

11:40 pm - Saturday, October 16, 2010

#21 Nas

Hi guys,

Wonder if you can help.  im hopeless with a camera but want to learn photography and what better way to learn by practicing and maybe start doing some amature photography.  i dont want an entry level so have been looking at the d300 around the £600.  what this be a good choice?  what would you recommend me?

any help would me most appreciated.

12:26 am - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#22 Dave Perkes

Quite honestly the D300 is not a beginners camera. Its a complex semi professional camera which requires a significant amount of skill to get the best out of it. something like a D5000 with a similar 12mpx sensor will be a lot easier to use and give results as good.

12:24 pm - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#23 Nas

Thanks Dave. took part of your advise and didnt get the d300s.  decided to go for the d90 as there was a good deal on them with a AF-s nikkr 18-105mm lens.  now just got to learn how to use the damn thing ;)

10:14 am - Friday, December 31, 2010

#24 JS

I am a recent owner of a D300s, with a 16-85 VR Lens. I have tried and tested the camera over 5000 images in different light conditions and durng different times of the day. However, I realise I have no been able to get the kind of contrasts that I used to get with me earlier D70s. The images taken late afternoon of lighter surface would turn out to be pale. Similarly, if the frame comprised a dark and a lighter portion (say a building and its reflection in the water), often i got well lit up darker portion and completely burnt out brighter part of the image. I tried several permutations, but to no avail.

Any comments please?

6:13 pm - Wednesday, February 2, 2011

#25 Dave Perkes

It might seem a bit obvious but do you have your meterig set to spot metering by mistake?
Ive left spot metering on accidentally and noted the same problem.

10:12 am - Thursday, February 3, 2011

#26 clare

hi, i have the D300S and use it mainly with the 17-55mm f2.8 lens for weddings.  I do find that the autofocusing isnt that great sometimes, and it drives me crazyyy. I also like how my mac and pc dont detect the data cable when transferring images…grrr

4:27 pm - Thursday, June 23, 2011

#27 Dave Perkes

I had the same problem with a macbook. but using the SDHC card reader is much faster than my Sony Card reader;so no drama

6:01 pm - Thursday, June 23, 2011

#28 jakes

I have worked through all the options the past few months to decide on an upgradfor my Nikon D90, aal the advice I got related to FX, more MP etc. I then tested a few in hand and wentto web resourses such as DxO. I was looking for better focus, better handling, 12 mp is 100% as it fits my lenses and computer set up. I need a body that can work hard and fast. In DxO I looked at the sensor ratings. D300s rates higher in all categories than the Canon 7D and it is a very good camera, It even rates Higher than 5D mrkii in some cases. so I bought a brand new un used D300s from a studio who bought the camara for a back up but never opend the box for $ 700. lesson learned, define your needs, compare with other performance in market, dont just chase the newest and expensive. I spend the rest of the money of my budget buying two great nikon lenses.

11:24 am - Friday, January 25, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, nikon, video, DSLR, high definition, Nikon D300s Review, d300, d300s

Tracker Pixel for Entry