Nikon D3x Review

5.0
April 22, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 MF shooter

4.5 for value for money?  You are joking, right?  More like 1/5.  Yes, it is a nice camera.  But it is at least 2K too expensive.  No one with that kind of cash to spend would baulk at going to MF instead, and getting a huge step up in image quality.

9:20 pm - Wednesday, April 22, 2009

#2 Todd

Wow Gavin, Great review.  The D3x looks like a monster of a camera.

Todd
http://www.LAphotoSpot.com

11:53 pm - Wednesday, April 22, 2009

#3 Smithy

I think that this camera, however impressive, tends to overexpose—at least judging by the Towerbridge pics, with their general brightness and clipped highlights. This seems to be a considerable fault: such relatively unchallenging scene cannot be properly handled by the automatic exposure, and the not-so-bright stones of the towers are clipped!

1:58 pm - Thursday, April 23, 2009

#4 Amonerork

rhodium plated sterling silver cz jewelry http://prptkw.iamspace.com/ghthac.html
<a >sabbia jewelry</a>
<a >celtic jewelry necklaces pendants sterling silver</a>

9:42 pm - Thursday, April 23, 2009

#5 camer digital lenses guy

“value for money” depends on what you need it for.
i am just as likely to use its full potential as i am to fly a spaceship….but its a bloody good review and its always interesting to see what is the latest high end gear.

thanks for another great review.

1:47 pm - Friday, April 24, 2009

#6 KepleRobTrore

engagement rings wedding bands custom titanium jewelry http://divertijuegos.com.ar/ferozo/myj61/map-5.html
<a >direct factory fashion from jewelry wholesale</a>
<a >premier design jewelry catalog</a>

8:04 pm - Tuesday, April 28, 2009

#7 KepleRobTrore

jewelry online sale turquoise http://finas-group.ro/css/myj15/map-1.html
<a >celtic gold irish jewelry</a>
<a >beatrix jewelry</a>

10:33 pm - Tuesday, April 28, 2009

#8 KepleRobTrore

jewelry clasp http://www.contibronzes.com/en/tmp/myj44/map-4.html
<a >engraved jewelry silver sterling</a>
<a >medical alert jewelry for kid</a>

10:54 pm - Tuesday, April 28, 2009

#9 Wsliquidation

Very nice blog
http://wsliquidation.com/

7:04 am - Monday, May 4, 2009

#10 elorgeagimex

<a > why did canada enter wwii </a>
http://members.lycos.nl/cvnppj/jesco-prba/map.html  rccg churches in canada
<a > carbon footprint intiatives in canada </a>

3:11 pm - Monday, May 4, 2009

#11 Nikon DSLR Camera owner

Nice review on a great camera. Just one thing that keeps me from exchanging my current Nikon with D3x , the price factor :)

7:19 am - Wednesday, May 13, 2009

#12 Pete Lawrence

Ok so I just put my D3x through workout.

There are a few things I have gotta get off my chest.  After reading many, many reviews 2 things jump out all the time 1 noise compared to the D3 and #2 price.

Here’s the low down IMHO

as per #1 use an ISO that suits what you are doing. plain and simple -this is a pro camera and it requires you to use it like a pro. If this requires a tripod use a tripod.  Quality images are based on the image not the fact that you somehow managed to
do it all hand held with poor light. The camera is just a tool use your best judgement.  This isn’t to say that the hand held images are not good -they are dynamic range and color are tip top and image clarity is awesome.

In response to the earlier “over exposed” comment adjust the exposure compensation +/_ or do what I do look at your shots
and adjust as needed.  Every thing you shoot should require you to look at it and adjust accordingly - No matter what you shoot
(canon, hassy, nikon whatever). You’re short changing yourself if you don’t. 

#2 price
We who shoot nikon have had the joy of having cameras that were often a bit less in $ but a bit less in options or quality. We made due but we honestly ( well I honestly always wanted more )
Now it’s available.  Is it damn near the same as the D3 sure but
better in resolution.  Is a sensor worth the extra bucks?  I think so and if you look at what digital backs go for in regards to megapixel count it’s crazy.  Yes I know they’re med. format right. But still you want to raise the bar and the price goes up with it.
I was about to get a medium format camera but had held off because they are so bloody expensive and bulky and well - I like
the feel of the Nikon Dslr body better.  The thing you really have to weigh is   will the extra res. be worth it to me enough to warrant the big price tag.  For me it was an easy Damn Right it is.  Check out flicker and search D3x photos.  Some people on there have far better samples than you’ll see in bland comparison tests. 

Not to say tests aren’t good to see   but they tend to bore the hell out of me.  Look at the real test actual shooting in the field or studio and make a choice based on what you want, need and can afford.

8:46 am - Thursday, July 30, 2009

#13 PeachTree Candids

This is a hell of a camera, I dream of owning one someday and this is a hell of a review on it!

4:09 am - Sunday, August 16, 2009

#14 rolf

Great Blog and articles,

The message is clear if you want image quality pixels and quality lenses are the go the rest is secondary, remember like my women says its not the features bells and whistles how big it is or what it has, the most important thing is the six inches behind it that counts and how you use it darling, we all get caught up in the marketing and grip feel and button positions when all that matters is having the ability to know how and take good pictures with good lenses and lots of pixels, a friend has a very old Nikon manual film camera he takes to the arctic, forget about anything else’s you know or have seen its just the best quality shots you have ever seen, and as an artist I have the eye let me tell you, so yes high quality lenses and lots of pixels on a good processor and back to basics of how to use it all and the rest is not as important, I think we get to caught up in the micro detail.
As an x motor crosser, and A grade rider can do well with any bike, a D grade rider is dependent on the bikes ability mostly for his result, I think my choice is D3 all round but I am a image quality Guy, hang the rest my choice is 25MP upwards the more the better, The D3X is my first choice but gee I have seen images out of an A350 Sony, a A900 Sony and several Cannons A350 5dmk2 d70s, d300 that cream the d3 and d3x and that just blow you away as far as picture quality and mood goes, how many times have you in the last year shot images at iso6400?? Things are no longer simple.

10:47 pm - Wednesday, September 9, 2009

#15 Zack

Hello to the reviewer. I would like to know which lens/lenses did u use for taking the images in the sample images. Pictures aren’t looking like D3X’s pictures.
Thanks

6:52 am - Tuesday, November 24, 2009

#16 pete

RE: Xmoto

Creaming the D3X?????  ya right…  Subject and and ability—- there’s a lot to be said about that. Hands down if you are a really good photographer and have an eye for making images your own, then you can make any camera work for you ( just like the A grade rider). BUT the D3x is the Fbomb and if you are tired of limits then you’ll want one.  As for noise hell I’ve shot at 1200 at night hand held and it’s great. Who cares if there’s a little bit of “film grain” in a shot. To me it’s like a brush stroke to a painter. Get rid of it and things look less like a painting- or in this case a photograph. Also we have so many post processing options that that is really a non issue.  Like Rolf says the guy who can really shoot will really benefit most. But don’t be mistaken - this camera WILL NOT MAKE YOU BETTER. That my friend is up to you alone. It will show what your doing wrong at 24.5 megapixels and it will make you want pro lenses - it you don’t already have them. This is a pro camera at a price that you would be silly to just buy if you aren’t really serious about using it.  I LOVE mine. it is the only camera I’ve ever shot that I can say that about. Great layout, great resolution and tone. The D3 is a step down but also awesome buy it if you don’t need super huge images and full on studio quality - but want super images.

7:22 am - Tuesday, November 24, 2009

#17 PeachTree Candids

I’m still holding out on spending the money for a camera like this however I cannot wait until I can afford to get something this great. Nikon in all of its entry points make wonderful cameras. They are to me the best camera builder around.

7:05 pm - Monday, February 15, 2010

#18 Ruben Rubert

just look image samples wonderful color and ISO Management

3:35 pm - Saturday, May 7, 2011

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, DSLR, Nikon, Full Frame, 24.6 Megapixel

Tracker Pixel for Entry