Nikon D5300 Review

November 19, 2013 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 geo

With a small difference of $100 Nikon d7100 makes a better choice. The Nikon d5300 need a price drop to justify buying it. In the end you are buying a camera and it has to have significant changes between the Nikon d5200 which has almost the same specifications.

4:55 pm - Wednesday, November 20, 2013

#2 roter

1.3 for the Coolpix S9300 all fix a bug that, in some rare cases, 000-454 examcollection prevented the camera from turning on, or prevented operation. Firmware version 1.1 for the Coolpix 000-454 S5200 and S6500 (pictured) additionally improve the functionality of the Wireless Camera Utility.


11:56 am - Friday, November 22, 2013

#3 Visitor

The sample video is out of focus.

2:34 pm - Friday, November 22, 2013

#4 Jason Bowen

At the beginning of the review, The reviewer states the D5100 as having 24Mpx, I think the reviewer meant the D5200

10:20 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#5 TashaNorth

I just bought Nikon D7100. Love it!
However, I did a research of cameras 2months prior I decided on buying it and created a chart comparing to Nikon D7000,D5100,D5300 and Canon 70D. I must admit there are quite satisfying features for a beginner and it is cheaper too.

i must admit there are some better features

11:49 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#6 Attila Abonyi

My Nikon D5300’s video:

8:35 pm - Sunday, December 8, 2013

#7 Magus Cars

Owning a luxury car like Camaro is a dream for every car lover in the world. But due to budgetary restrictions, these dreams have always remained a distance reality for most of the people. However, by making a purchase from Magus Cars, one can enjoy the royal and exceptional experience of driving a multinational luxury car at the most affordable price. All the information about the car models along with their pictures is updated on the Magus Cars website for the convenience of customers. For a closer look of the cars, company outlets can be visited by the car lovers. These used Camaro cars are imported from around the world for maintaining versatility in the automobile collection. For making the purchase easier for the customers, Magus Cars offers an instant loan approval within 24 hours. Further, customers can also avail high end after sale services ranging from warranties and specialist car insurance, repair, premier marquee services and customization from the Magus Cars outlets.

10:55 am - Saturday, December 28, 2013

#8 Steve Solomon

The Nikon D5300 is a worthy upgrade from the D5200, only if you are a Sharpness and Detail fanatic like I am. Due to the absence of an AA (OLPF) filter, plus the newer Expeed 4 engine, images from the D5300 (with good Nikkor optics) are incredibly sharp! The body is light and sturdy, thanks to a new one-piece construction. Handling is fairly quick as well, though one does need to access the menu system for functions like ISO and AF modes. With quality lenses like the 35mm f/1.8 Nikkor, and the 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6 Zoom Nikkor, to name a few of many options, it makes for a relatively light and versatile travel kit! Thank you.

6:20 pm - Saturday, February 15, 2014

#9 julialloyds

D5300 has the same old DSLR design but it has features then any DSLR camera may exhibits. It consists of Wi-Fi, GPS, stellar video quality and control, an AA-less 24-megapixel APS-C sensor, and the traditional comfort of an optical viewfinder. Optical finder is best in shooting live view. It is smaller, though — at 125 x 98 x 76mm it’s a surprisingly compact full-size DSLR, although the 480g weight without battery is solid but not notably heavy nor light.

10:05 am - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#10 soapy

i bought a D5300 2 months ago and i have to say it is an exseptional camera for the money, i am very pleased with the sharp colourful pictures it produces, i had a D3100 before this camera and found it had a habit of blowing out the highlights a lot, the D5300 does not have this nasty habit and the pictures are of a much superior quality, i have started shooting in the raw format and processing them with the supplied nikon view nx2 software, it also is very easy to use although a bit limited. overall i am very very happy with this camera

5:47 pm - Friday, August 15, 2014

#11 Finn Ritz

I purchased the D5300 7 months ago. My 4’th Nikon DSLR. This camera is so good that I do not dream of going full frame any more. The money/fun ratio doesn’t justify that. I’m not a pro but an photo entusiast for 60 years +. I tried the NX2 software. Don’t like it. I have 3 cameras taking RAW files. The free software Raw Therapee is nothing less than amazing!!!! You’ll have to spend some hours reading the manual and using the programme. To my opinion no free software comes even close to RT and it is a full match to Elements and other software you have to pay for.

5:55 pm - Friday, February 20, 2015

#12 Simon

This camera is made in where !?

5:19 pm - Sunday, September 20, 2015

#13 Kris Cahnoo

Hi all, I’m kris from the island of Mauritius. Living on an Island is no easy life everything especially technology is almost twice the price here, for instance the price of a Nikon D5300 is doubled instantly compared to your area. The Nikon D5300 is to me the best for people who wants to discover the magic of photography. Right now the latest in the 5000 range is the D5500 but I’m used it and it is no big deal to upgrade to the latest model. The 5300 packs all the technology of the latest one and it is not worthy to worthy to buy the D5500 as they are both pack with same tech but D5500 ask for a higher price, so why pay more when they both perform the same? The body is almost identical, but a photographer knows it’s better to invest on a lens as the sharper the lens the better the picture will be. My point is opting for the D5300 will save you a handful of money from buying the D5500, that saving may get you a decent zoom lens which will be to great use compared to the weak kit lens (18-55mm).

6:33 am - Friday, October 16, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, nikon, wi-fi, video, beginner, wireless, wifi, tilting, prosumer, 24 megapixel, tilt, movies, digital slr, 5fps, gps, 3.2 inch LCD, vari-angle, 60p, tiltable, lcd, hdr, screen, 39-point AF, 50p, free angle, folding, articulated, DSLRA550, d5300, d-5300

Tracker Pixel for Entry