Nikon D5300 Review

4.5
November 19, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 geo

With a small difference of $100 Nikon d7100 makes a better choice. The Nikon d5300 need a price drop to justify buying it. In the end you are buying a camera and it has to have significant changes between the Nikon d5200 which has almost the same specifications.

4:55 pm - Wednesday, November 20, 2013

#2 roter

1.3 for the Coolpix S9300 all fix a bug that, in some rare cases, 000-454 examcollection prevented the camera from turning on, or prevented operation. Firmware version 1.1 for the Coolpix 000-454 S5200 and S6500 (pictured) additionally improve the functionality of the Wireless Camera Utility.

 

11:56 am - Friday, November 22, 2013

#3 Visitor

The sample video is out of focus.

2:34 pm - Friday, November 22, 2013

#4 Jason Bowen

At the beginning of the review, The reviewer states the D5100 as having 24Mpx, I think the reviewer meant the D5200

10:20 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#5 TashaNorth

I just bought Nikon D7100. Love it!
However, I did a research of cameras 2months prior I decided on buying it and created a chart comparing to Nikon D7000,D5100,D5300 and Canon 70D. I must admit there are quite satisfying features for a beginner and it is cheaper too.


i must admit there are some better features

11:49 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#6 Attila Abonyi

My Nikon D5300’s video:
https://vimeo.com/80950052
https://vimeo.com/81285954

8:35 pm - Sunday, December 8, 2013

#7 Magus Cars

Owning a luxury car like Camaro is a dream for every car lover in the world. But due to budgetary restrictions, these dreams have always remained a distance reality for most of the people. However, by making a purchase from Magus Cars, one can enjoy the royal and exceptional experience of driving a multinational luxury car at the most affordable price. All the information about the car models along with their pictures is updated on the Magus Cars website for the convenience of customers. For a closer look of the cars, company outlets can be visited by the car lovers. These used Camaro cars are imported from around the world for maintaining versatility in the automobile collection. For making the purchase easier for the customers, Magus Cars offers an instant loan approval within 24 hours. Further, customers can also avail high end after sale services ranging from warranties and specialist car insurance, repair, premier marquee services and customization from the Magus Cars outlets.

10:55 am - Saturday, December 28, 2013

#8 Steve Solomon

The Nikon D5300 is a worthy upgrade from the D5200, only if you are a Sharpness and Detail fanatic like I am. Due to the absence of an AA (OLPF) filter, plus the newer Expeed 4 engine, images from the D5300 (with good Nikkor optics) are incredibly sharp! The body is light and sturdy, thanks to a new one-piece construction. Handling is fairly quick as well, though one does need to access the menu system for functions like ISO and AF modes. With quality lenses like the 35mm f/1.8 Nikkor, and the 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6 Zoom Nikkor, to name a few of many options, it makes for a relatively light and versatile travel kit! Thank you.

6:20 pm - Saturday, February 15, 2014

#9 julialloyds

D5300 has the same old DSLR design but it has features then any DSLR camera may exhibits. It consists of Wi-Fi, GPS, stellar video quality and control, an AA-less 24-megapixel APS-C sensor, and the traditional comfort of an optical viewfinder. Optical finder is best in shooting live view. It is smaller, though — at 125 x 98 x 76mm it’s a surprisingly compact full-size DSLR, although the 480g weight without battery is solid but not notably heavy nor light.

10:05 am - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#10 soapy

i bought a D5300 2 months ago and i have to say it is an exseptional camera for the money, i am very pleased with the sharp colourful pictures it produces, i had a D3100 before this camera and found it had a habit of blowing out the highlights a lot, the D5300 does not have this nasty habit and the pictures are of a much superior quality, i have started shooting in the raw format and processing them with the supplied nikon view nx2 software, it also is very easy to use although a bit limited. overall i am very very happy with this camera

5:47 pm - Friday, August 15, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, nikon, beginner, video, wi-fi, wireless, wifi, tilting, prosumer, movies, digital slr, 24 megapixel, tilt, 5fps, gps, vari-angle, 3.2 inch LCD, tiltable, 60p, hdr, lcd, screen, DSLRA550, 39-point AF, free angle, folding, 50p, articulated, d5300, d-5300

Tracker Pixel for Entry