Olympus E-620 Review

5.0
June 8, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

21 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Darrell Thompson

The reviewer states that “The Olympus E-620 has 2 different JPEG file quality settings available, with Fine being the highest quality option.”

The 620 actually has four quality settings, Basic, Normal, Fine and the highest quality setting which is Super Fine producing an image of 8.2mb.

2:43 pm - Monday, June 8, 2009

#2 Mark Goldstein

Thanks for pointing out that oversight - we’ve now added sample crops for each of the 4 JPEG quality settings.

5:13 pm - Monday, June 8, 2009

#3 Keith M

Any good information on comparing it to the e-520?  Trying to decide which one, but price point is just that much higher…  don’t wnat to get caught in the game of always waiting for the next model…

7:53 pm - Monday, June 8, 2009

#4 Zoltan Arva-Toth

Keith, we published a similar in-depth review of the E-520 when it came out, which you can read here: http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews_olympus_e520.php

Zoltan Arva-Toth

10:19 am - Tuesday, June 9, 2009

#5 John Kukalis

Keith, could you please explain why E620 is ranked 1/2 point higher in image quality than the E30 when the sensor & image pipeline is identical ?

2:34 am - Wednesday, July 8, 2009

#6 John Kukalis

Sorry…above question should have been directed to Mark Goldstein the reviewer.

6:03 pm - Wednesday, July 8, 2009

#7 mike.hounsome

Reference your comment on the higher ISO’S being-
not so good.
If this camera is clasified as an entry model camera by quite a few of the Magazines, surely it makes sense for a beginner to have 4 stops in hand due to the anti shake, than to have to go delving into the menu.
Some of the higher priced cameras have higher ISO’S which to put it mildly, when examined under a loup, are dodgy!
As well as yourselves, TIPA have voted it the best entry level DSLR.

9:12 pm - Sunday, July 26, 2009

#8 steve

I am planning to buy this camera as my first DSLR, and would like to know what is the best flash to pair for this camera.  I will be using the camera for basic shooting, some clothing stores shots and fashion show shots.  I am not a professional, but have take many photos over the years, mainly in the automatic settings.  I am really wanting to take the next step, and learn more about the different settings and how to get different affects. If someone could also recommend a good book for learning that would be great.  Thanks

11:00 pm - Wednesday, August 19, 2009

#9 Mike Hounsome

Can’t help with comparison with 520, but having traded a 420 for the 620, this beast really is something.
Taking the information contained in Live View, it really makes me think, how on earth can I ever take a poor shot ever again!!
The swivel feature really does make life so much easier on those really low shots.Full marks to Olympus on this feature, other makes have now tried to copy, but in the main are just tilting systems- not so good.

11:51 am - Thursday, August 20, 2009

#10 Glenn Fernandes

This camera is the lightest and smallest of all. It is good for the beginners, very easy to use. Image quality is very good. Shadow Adjustment Technology is really nice. It is not very expensive.

7:10 am - Monday, September 28, 2009

#11 Bron Faison

A lot of people overlook this camera, it truly is one of the best mid-range DSLR’s out there.  Having owned many Olympus camera’s (since the E-10) like the E-500, E-300, E-330, and so on, I can attest to their quality and results.  I still consider other brands when buying, but Olympus is where I look first.

The “kit” lenses supplied with Oly’s cameras are really very good and all the others offered are top notch as well.

A real big plus, rarely mentioned, is that there are aa ton of exquisite Olympus lenses out there from the film days that you can mount (with an adapter) and use.  This opens up a new world of shooting and is a ton of fun, besides.

All in all, this has to be one of the best values around currently.

4:03 pm - Wednesday, December 23, 2009

#12 Valmente

I’ve just bought one and I love it. I’ve got a E-420 before and this is a great upgrade for me. I like to keep the compacity and the swivel screen and of course the IBIS feature !

And don’t forget that Olympus has got the best anti-dust filter for its sensors !

Merry Christmas to you all !

10:43 am - Friday, December 25, 2009

#13 Steve

I’ve owned my E-620 for a month and have taken it all around Asia and Australia and have great pleasure in saying that this camera is simply outstanding. I bought the highly rated Zuiko 12-60mm 2.8-4 SWD zoom lens which is a good step up from the kit lens (14-42 mm), and besides being a little larger and heavier, really shows off the brilliance of the E-620s features. 

Having used Leica range finders for most of my life, I’m pleased to say that this camera actually makes me feel like I’m using a real camera again - -it’s light, fast, unobtrusive and more importantly, the design of the grip allows more movement and freedom than the bulging ray-gun handgrips of its competitors.

As an aside, shooting in black and white, especially seaside shots with the red filter engaged, really takes one back to the good old days when dramatic B&W photography made solid statements of ones interpretation of the moment.

Well done Olympus, you’ve made a lot of us old time pros very happy.

Happy New Year

3:19 pm - Wednesday, December 30, 2009

#14 Jerry

I’m wondering if the reviewer would recommend using this camera with a pancake lens? I’ve read that Panasonic have recently produced an excellent one which presumably if attached to the e 620 would mean that you have a wonderful compact dslr?

10:13 am - Wednesday, January 13, 2010

#15 Mike Hounsome

I am using The olympus pancake on my 620.
This is a 25mm 1:2.8 and seems to work best between f4 and f8, but this would really depend on what you would wish to achieve, take plenty of shots and then decide on your settings.Thread is 43mm to match up your filters.
David Bailey seems to be enamoured with this lens!!

11:18 am - Wednesday, January 13, 2010

#16 Jerry

Thanks Mike.. wow David Bailey now there’s a recommendation!

12:22 pm - Tuesday, January 26, 2010

#17 Rukhsana Gul

I love those digital cameras that have many features. In this respect my next camera for sure would be Olympus e-620 for its features. I have read that it uses two sort of cards called CompactFlash and XD. When I cover some occasion some images turn out to be quite important needing immediate printing and some are not. Will someone tell me if the best images on the CompactFlash could be transferred onto XD for immediate printing. I mean to find if desirable images can be transferred from one card to other.

2:17 pm - Friday, April 2, 2010

#18 Syed Rajan Shah

This is in response to Rukhsana Gul who wanted to know if one card e.g XD can transfer all or some of the images to the other card i.e CompactFlash placed at the same time along XD card in the Olympus-E620. Yes, Rukhsana it can be worked. You can buy the camera with confidence having many wonderful features. I am sure you will enjoy the camera.

Syed Rajan Shah

1:44 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#19 Chan Makhan Ji

I recently bought Olympus E-620 for its features. I am disappointed that I couldn’t accomplish a simple thing like cropping/trimming an image despite my best efforts. Could anyone fond of Olympus cameras especially the Olympus E-620 show me a way how to crop an image within the camera. If the camera does not have the facility then I would advise not to buy it wasting money over a £500 plus camera and spending time on computer for cropping

In auto focus mode it takes longer time to focus than one can expect from good digital SLR cameras.
The camera has optical zoom but lacks digital zoom to cover far away objects to bring them much closer. As such it compels photographer to buy expensive optical zoom lenses.

Chan

10:31 am - Tuesday, July 6, 2010

#20 Mark H

Chan,

It sounds like you want a point & shoot camera versus a D-SLR.  Digital zoom might be handy for an occasional snapshot situations, but it creates a horrible image.  In camera crops would be very imperfect due to the small view of the image.  It’s much easier and more precise to use software on your computer to render this.  Ditto for “zooming in” via crops versus digital zoom on the camera. 

The Olympus E-620 is an excellent camera.  I was a film shooter for many years.  My first digital was the Olympus 2100UZ.  I shot many wonderful photos with that excellent early-tech camera.  Sold the film products (except my medium format), bought into Nikon.  Shot that for many years, then fell out of love and sold that equipment over a year ago.  Recently came back to serious photography and decided on the E-620.  It’s many features are well done.  It’s size is perfect for shooting ease.  The 4-3 layout is wonderful for large prints.  I’m having fun again!  Thanks Olympus!

2:54 pm - Friday, November 19, 2010

#21 Dilorom

I have bought one last year and planned learning photography from the beginning online and free. Since now I haven’t found any helpful photography teaching site or blog for Olympus users. All are for Nikon and others, I cannot figure out what they are saying as my camera has different settings and features. Can anyone refer me any helpful site or blog for learning photography from the beginning?

5:59 am - Friday, January 7, 2011

Entry Tags

12 megapixel, 2.7 inch LCD, olympus, dslr, digital SLR, Four Thirds, art filters, e-620, e 620, e620

Tracker Pixel for Entry