Olympus E-PL1 Review

4.5
March 4, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

93 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 eLias

If it wasn’t for the slow focus, this would be my next purchase. Really sad to hear that the focus speed was not improved…

6:51 pm - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#2 Voconce

eLias, don’t focus on “slow focus” ! Focus on its tremendous qualities : very, very small ; you can put it in your pockets ! Without sacrificing image quality : excellent until 800 ISO, and really acceptable until 3200 ISO !

Autofocus is slow… : 1/2 second. But what do you think of a Leica M, in terms of focus speed ? Very slow in fact, much more than E-PL1.

E-PL1 is not the right camera for Wimbledon or Silverstone ! But do you go frequently to Wimbledon or Silverstone ?

10:16 pm - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#3 Daniel

Yes, AF speed matters.  I shoot my toddler often - while he never refuses to take pictures, he wouldn’t stay still either.  And most of buyers willing to pay more than a point and shoot would care.
 
Anyone knows when Sony’s EVIL will be available?  I love Olympus colour though.

10:43 pm - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#4 acer coupon

One major thing would stop micro 4/3 as a professionals choice, sensor size. There is only so much you could pack in such a tiny space compared to an APS-C or full frame sized sensor, before noise really becomes a big issue.

Though I do really love the size and price of it. If it performs well enough, then it might be a better alternative to the Canon G11 and way lighter than the Canon 1000D or the Nikon entry level.

8:21 am - Friday, March 5, 2010

#5 Smithy

How did the reviewers missed what seems to be a serious Image Stabiliser issue? I have examined only half of the sample photos, and at least two of them clearly suffer from the type of blurriness caused by camera shake (you can see “ghosting” or a “double image”, the clear sign of camera shake). Have a look, a.go., at no. 13 and 21, which were NOT shot at low shutter speeds. Considering the shutter speeds and the wide angle lens used, perhaps the blurriness was caused by the faulty image stabiliser itself?

Apart from this, I must add that I love your thorough, clever and much useful reviews. Many thanks and cheers!

9:26 am - Friday, March 5, 2010

#6 Voconce

If AF speed matters very much for you, The GF1 (Panasonic) is excellent, identifies and tracks faces immediatly.
But in high ISO (1600 or more), I prefer Olympus : colour noise is very well handled.

If you compare E-PL1 and G11, look at images in high ISO, without noise reduction. Not the same class, at all !

If you compare E-PL1 and Nikon or Canon DSLR, think about your pockets : which one enters in your pockets, everywhere and at any time ? A good camera is a camera in your hand (or pocket), not in your cupboard !

9:43 am - Friday, March 5, 2010

#7 marcelo

Does EPL-1 have an AF assist lamp?
“Thankfully it usually achieves focus most of the time, helped by the AF assist lamp - the E-PL1 doesn’t have any notable problems locking onto the subject in low-light situations.”

9:52 am - Friday, March 5, 2010

#8 Smithy

Marcelo—it has an AF lamp, but a poorly placed one: they have chose to put it in the very place where the photographer’s fingers constantly move—right between the grip and the shutter release button!

12:10 pm - Friday, March 5, 2010

#9 marcelo

Smithy, thanks for your answer but i think that’s the self timer lamp.

6:31 pm - Friday, March 5, 2010

#10 Smithy

Woops, sorry, marcelo, you are absolutely right, and this is truly amazing—look at the costumers’ complaints hare:
http://www.flickr.com/groups/olympuse-p1/discuss/72157622692719292/
And it seems that, unlike other models, you cannot even use the flash as a sort of a “poor man’s AF assist lamp”.

9:14 pm - Friday, March 5, 2010

#11 Charlie

Just bought one and here’s a useful tip.  To get a nice soft bounce-flash, you can gently pull back on the popup flash, to get it to point upwards - this really works nicely, lighting is much less harsh than direct flash, but only if you have a white or light-colored ceiling above.
  It’s not really pocketable, except with huge cargo-pants pockets, but it does come with a body cap, so I’ve been removing the lens and putting it in my pocket, with the 14-42 and my 20mm prime in another pocket.  Without the lens it’s hardly noticeable, and I can slap the lens on pretty quickly.  Lots of lens caps tho.
  The E-PL1 is the only small M43 that combines flash, in-body stabilization, and high-res optional viewfinder.  And that dedicated video button is really nice.
  I bought the panasonic 20mm pancake prime and focus speed isn’t too bad.  With the E_PL1 it’s stabilized, unlike with the GF1.

3:29 am - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#12 Voconce

With my old Contax G2 I used to separate body and lens, each one in a different pocket. Yet the Contax G2 is much bigger than the E-PL1, but it is slim, like E-PL1, unlike all other DSLR (except GF1).

10:21 am - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#13 zorstklamp

I’ve gone and reserved one of these for myself as all things considered the cost of ownership of the EPL-1 is affordable for me, the EP-2 is too dear for what you get.

I’ve gone for the twin lens kit with the 4/3rds adaptor included, and would like to get a remote release and other lenses as time and money allow to create a micro 4/3rds mini-system.

It won’t replace my C*n*n DSLR system & lenses etc but it is a camera I can take with me easily,
as i have ‘big’ pockets !

I’ll learn to use it when it arrives next week hopefully.

12:43 pm - Monday, March 8, 2010

#14 BassAckwards

As one about to rock with m4/3 for the first time stepping up from PHDs, and who until recently has been poised to pull the trigger for a GF1, but put off by the price, that there are surely more m4/3s to come soon, and, the expense of the additional EVF, I’d like to know a little better how this compares to the new Panny G2 and G10, as well as more in-depth comparison to the GF1, now that it’s about grandfathered.

4:01 pm - Monday, March 8, 2010

#15 David Ward

Sounds like a great concept, well-executed. The only thing missing is a very compact, zoom lens - something as flat as a pancake lens, but with a focal length of, say 20mm-100mm. Is there a physical limitation on this? Forgive my ignorance, but “pocketability” appears to be the “killer app” in this market-space.

Acer coupon - I don’t see this as a pro choice. Pros are after compromise-less images, so I cannot see them choosing a model like this.

The question for Olympus is: does the consumer notice the difference in IQ between a decent P&S and the E-PL1? And if so, are they willing to make the trade-off between a device that will fit in a shirt pocket and one that doesn’t (and is quite a bit more expensive)?

Now, having said that, if they are after the market-space inhabited by the Canon G11 and Lumix LX3, I think those guys will be rightly concerned about their market share. Get ready for a price war, people!

3:49 am - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#16 seo firm

I received mine last week and it’s a great camera. I got the 20mm pancake lens with it too; it slims down the camera and it’s an amazing lens.

7:05 am - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#17 Kjelle

I recently bought into the micro four thirds system after many, many years with Canon EOS gear. I just love the size and usability of the cameras. I simply use them a lot more than the large EOS stuff. For me, the slow autofocus is not the big problem. The problem is rather the very bad low light noice. I am very happy to read that this area has been improved!

10:00 am - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#18 zorstklamp

Hi to all, me again….

I’ve told the smart move is to buy the Panny 17mm lens to use on the EP bodies as my local specialist has said this is what many of their Oly ‘new’Pen’ buyers have done !

Anyone reccommend a suitable ‘add-on’ hotshoe flash to compliment the std ‘pop-up’ unit ?

I also want to get the EVF unit when cash allows as I’ve tested the EPl-1 with it and found it very good to use.
As for ‘price wars’ I’m sure they will happen but if you want to buy into the m4/3rds system then at some point you have to commit to it, hence my delay in waiting for the EPL-1.

As all the reviews I read about the EP-1 made me hesitant, then the EP-2 arrived but at greater cost…...
so I’m glad I waited until the EPL-1 arrived.

It would have been a GF1 otherwise !

I’m sure that there will be more models to come in the following months, esp from Sony, but they could well go their own way with an ‘equivalent’ system and not utilise the existing m4/3rds format, however I could be wrong on that one !

So for now I’m committed to m4/3rds and happy with my purchase of a twin lens kit at what I feel is a good price, less than the current list as I looked at all the uk sellers options carefully before deciding.

zorstklamp, somewhere in rural Norfolk.

11:26 am - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#19 voconce

Noise : I’ve looked at very interesting samples from E-620 (my camera), E-P2, E-PL1, Canon 7D and other cameras. My conclusions are :
E-PL1 is slightly better than E-P2 (and E-P1)
E-P2 is better than E-620
Canon is better than E-PL1, but NOT MUCH better.
E-PL1 has one weakness at 1600 ISO or more : very tiny and colored details are muted in grey details. Details don’t disappear but are grey or black. Canon 7D keep the color, Olympus does not.
But except with very tiny details and their color disappearance, E-PL1 pictures at 1600 or 3200 ISO are good, very finely detailed and with good colors.
Luminance noise is present, yes, but is is not ugly. Only color noise is ugly, like on Canon, Pentax and other cameras.

If not convinced, look at these samples, at 3200 ISO, Noise-Reduction OFF :
http://www.imaging-resource.com

2:22 pm - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#20 Thegreygeek

I stopped at Ritz camera yesterday and shot off about 12 frames with this camera.  I did not notice any shutter/focus lag at all!  Took quick snaps in auto, and SP modes to see focus lag and ability.  Focus was on camera seemed very responsive.  I like what I saw, and it felt good in my old grey mits, Now I just need a few extra $$.

7:11 pm - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#21 zorstklamp

Hi everyone,

Collected my new EPL-1 today !

Now need to study the instruction book carefully to find out what buttons etc do what so I can take some trial photos :)

Can anyone tell me what the DIS Mode, found in the SCN ( scene ) mode does as referring to page 17 does not explain anything about this function, or maybe its just me & i’ve missed it somewhere.

Thanks.

‘zorst.

9:25 pm - Wednesday, March 10, 2010

#22 matt

Novice questions…

Do M4/3 cameras have a shutter lag when shooting in manual focus mode?  Can you do the half press pre-focus trick?

Also, I own an old Olympus Camedia C-3020 Zoom and am very satisfied with the pictures it takes; however, its auto focus mode is very slow.  Would the E-PL1 auto focus be a similar speed?  I do like the idea of interchangeable lenses and size of this hybrid cameras.

9:42 am - Friday, March 12, 2010

#23 zorstklamp

Hi Matt,
can’t help you with the ‘focus speed’ enquiry at the moment, still getting my head around all the info to read up on in the printed manual !

However, yes it does do the ‘half press & lock’ but this function is customisable (?) in the settings mode allowing you to set the shutter button in some different ways, as I said ,still learning all about its features at the moment :)

I think that there will be more of these new ‘type’ of hybrid-compacts arriving soon ,so keep an eye on future announcements, well Panasonic have just launched/ announced more models at the recent Focus On Imaging show, so there’s bound to be more to come !

Regards,

‘zorst, somewhere in rural Norfolk.

7:16 pm - Friday, March 12, 2010

#24 Eric

Hi All,
I have learned that I can use my Contax G1/2 Zeiss lens on this camera with a fairly inexpensive adaptor. I’m thrilled. I love my G1 and I have three lens for it, all three of which will now work on the E-PL1 (or the other two Olympuses for that matter). Have any of you tried these lens or other legacy lens on this camera yet?
Best,
E

8:57 pm - Friday, March 12, 2010

#25 Jim

Does anyone know if the video format (.avi) on this camera is fully compatible with iMOVIE 09?

Are there adaptor rings for Nikon mount (non-G and G lens)?

Thanks

J

6:44 am - Wednesday, March 17, 2010

#26 sunnyape

Can anyone confirm if the E-PL1 supports a remote release. The Olympus website says yes in the specs (the RM-UC1 cable, yet this review has it missing from the specs.
None of the RM-UC1 info says what port it plugs into in and all the reviews I’ve seen of this camera, nobody has shown the ports under the side cover.
I really need to have a remote shutter release and don’t want to use a full sized DSLR.

4:06 am - Thursday, March 18, 2010

#27 zorstklamp

I’ve been informed that the Olympus remote will fit & work on the EPL-1 but also to look at 3rd party compatible remotes,ie: Hahnel, Hama etc because of price.

They is designed to fit into one of the ports under the silver flap at the end of the camera body.

I’m also looking to get one of these for long exposure/ tripod shots, or a wireless IR remote.

11:42 am - Thursday, March 18, 2010

#28 zorstklamp

Hi,
Just had an update from Hahnel about their wired & wireless remotes, they DO NOT fit the EPL-1, so it’s the official Olympus item only if it works on the EPL-1 as I can’t find any info from Olympus to confirm or deny it will work !

7:44 pm - Friday, March 19, 2010

#29 SunnyApe

zorstklamp. Thanks for the update. I saw a remote on the Hahnel site that supports the E-P1 and E-P2 but doesn’t mention the E-PL1.
I’m going to Kuala Lumpor in May and there may be some in the shops by then for me to have a closer look. If it has to be a genuine Olympus remote, so be it :)

10:34 pm - Friday, March 19, 2010

#30 zorstklamp

Just had an email from Olympus Customer Support asking me to phone their international Tech Support, which I did and was told that their own RM-UC1 wired remote fits and works on the EPL-1,

so why does’nt the 3rd party compatible ones that are the equivalent of the RM-UC1 ????

Anyone got any ideas on this ?

Thanks.

11:10 am - Monday, March 22, 2010

#31 Ada

What about the auto-focus feature? I’ve read in some reviews that it was not very good. My vision not being what it once was, I like to be able to rely on the camera’s focusing at times. Any comments?
Thanks

10:02 pm - Sunday, March 28, 2010

#32 STEVE STEINBERG

I own one; trade Nikon D5000.  I’m not sold.  The menus are difficult to navigate.  Too many entries to change a single function.  The instruction book misses important directions.  The white balance at least under incandescent lights is poor—pictures are very orange.
I may go back to real SLR even though I wanted to deal with the weight issue.  You get a lot more for your money with an entry level DSLR than you do with Olympus’ gimmic.

5:42 pm - Tuesday, March 30, 2010

#33 Sepp

The RM-UC1 and any other OEM remote cable does not work with the E-PL1! I have all cables here and the camera, but no way, it does not work even if the cable fits into the USB port. Seems Olympus wants to upset their customers. The E-PL1 is not capable of remote release!

12:09 pm - Sunday, April 4, 2010

#34 zorstklamp

Hello Sepp,
Thanks very much for this info….seems from what you have found out for yourself that you’re correct that Olympus incl. their own ‘tech boffins’ does NOT KNOW what they are talking about !

This does’nt go down well for a company like Olympus.

I was just going to order the wired remote RM-UC1 aswell…...good job I did’nt !

I’ll just have to use it without a remote.

2:38 pm - Sunday, April 4, 2010

#35 Sunny

Thank you Sepp.

I got an email from Olympus Australian that the RM-UC1 did work with the E-PL1 via the USB port.

When I get access to a E-PL1 at a shop, I’ll ask them to let me test it with the RM-UC1 right there. If it doesn’t work right there and then, then I won’t buy it. A remote is a ‘must have’ feature for what I need to use it for.

10:13 am - Monday, April 5, 2010

#36 sunnyape

Just found that the Panasonic DMC-GF1 has a remote shutter release via a normal 2.5mm jack. Although it is more expensive than the E-PN1 and a bit older, I think I’ll get one of those.

6:39 am - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#37 zorstklamp

EPL1 remote update…..

just travelled the 45 miles each way to my ‘local’ specialist Olympus dealer and tried the Oly recommended wired remote in my own EPL-1 and guess what ??????????

It DID NOT WORK !!!!!!!!!

Did work in the shops own demo EP1, but NOT in my EPL-1 !!!!!

This goes against what I’ve been told by phone with the Olympus Tech centre in germany, where i phoned for advice, as Oly UK’s Customer Support could’nt provide an answer !

So, for the moment or forseeable future the wired remote DON’T WORK on an EPL-1 !!!!!

Unless Oly japan create a firmware update to solve this “oversight”...........don’t expect a speedy result though.

Now you know.

5:20 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#38 keehotee

Just spoken to oly UK - bad news. Not only is the E-PL1 not remote compatible, it NEVER WILL BE compatible. This isn’t just a firmware issue - in their wisdom, Oly made the E-PL1 hardware non remote compatible !!!
So unless/until they introduce timed release with bracketing instead of one or the other, HDRs ae going to have to be handheld or locked down on the tripod… which blows away any chance of long exposure HDR shots :(

1:22 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#39 sunny

Thank you to all who have followed up on this. I too tried the remote on an E-PL1 locally and it didn’t work. I’m going to get a Panasonic DMC-GF1 instead. It doesn’t have a body based image stabilization system, but it does have some other nice features.

11:27 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#40 Rui

I’m thinking in buy this camera instead of a Canon g11, do you think it’s a great deal? I don’t want a big Dslr.
What about the focus in low light? Do you feel the need of an af assist lamp? Was better for me to get one panasonic gf1 instead of e-pl1?

Thanks

10:41 am - Friday, April 16, 2010

#41 thr right thing

this is not the first online review of this camera. it may be the first online review in english, but the world has more languages… And google translates them…

8:37 am - Friday, April 23, 2010

#42 Steve

“...fitting a pancake lens like Olympus’ 17mm or Panasonic’s 20mm creates a compact overall package that will particularly suit street photographers looking for an indiscrete camera.”

I believe you meant to say “discreet”.  Discrete and discreet have completely different meanings.  The last thing a street photographer would want to be is indiscreet.

4:50 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#43 jim

I saw the review of the new firmware version 1.1 : see http://www.dpreview.com/news/1004/10042202olypenfirmware.asp  Is there anyone out there who has tried Panasonic 20mm 1.7 lens using this new firmware on E-PL1?

2:11 am - Monday, April 26, 2010

#44 Danny

I have turned off the stabilizer on my EPL1 because it actually causes blur images, I often find that even speed as fast as 1/30 still causes blur, I get far sharper images with it being off than on. The auto focus speed is better with version 1.1 now, but most of the time I prefer to use manual lenses.

4:14 pm - Monday, April 26, 2010

#45 Carl

Am I the only one who’s disappointed with the size of the E-PL1? Compared it wit a Canon 550D in the shop, yes, bit lighter, yes, bit smaller, but not dramatically so. If this thing is pocketable, then so is the SLR with a small prime lens.

10:44 am - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#46 Danny

I’m in love with my EPL1, my normal lens is a 12mm Voigtlander f5.6, and I’ve managed to blow up a 60” wide print using a RIP and the quality is just staggering. I also have just added a VF2 viewfinder which improved both the handling and at slow shutter speeds. I find the files are very rich and full of detail in both highlight and in the shadow. The reason I use this camera over SLR is because people don’t take me seriously when I’m doing street photography.

11:13 am - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#47 Voconce to Carl

Carl, you should compare their size without their lens, because you can easily put the EPL1 in one pocket and the lens in a separate pocket, like with the old Contax G2. With the “small” Canon, you can’t !
Furthermore, the zoom lenses of the EPL1 are collapsible, even the new telezoom 14-150. Try to put a Canon zoom in your pocket !

2:26 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#48 Charlie to Carl #45

I carry the body (with body cap on) in my front trousers pocket every day and people don’t notice.  You just *can’t* do that with an slr. My 20mm pancake goes in the other pocket easily. Taking off the lens is the price I’m willing to pay to have such a capable cam with me all the time. I have gotten pretty fast at slapping the lens on when I need it.  Keep in mind - this sensor has six times the area of a Canon G11 (really, I verified).

3:21 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#49 bill

The Olympus firmware update since this article was written has all but eradicated the AF delay compared to even the speedy GF1 (see the DPReview firmware article from April).

There’s still some shutter/blackout lag, but overall performance is snappier.

Amazing that someone posted about an AF light above.  Does anyone research this stuff?  None of the Pens have AF assist lights.  That, plus lack of remote shutter ability are the only real flies in the ointment on an otherwise really excellent camera with far batter image quality than anything else in its size/price range.

11:49 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#50 Danny

For a moment I thought the AF light is the ‘green’ square on, maybe the chap just used a wrong term. I used manual focus lenses with the VF2 viewer on mine, along with x10 manual focus aid and I’m agree with Bill as I am more than happy with this package than my Leica M8.2, in terms of handling, shooting and in image quality.

1:26 am - Thursday, May 6, 2010

#51 Blair

Do any of you think I could use this camera with one hand?  I’ve always wanted a DSLR, but I have a paralyzed arm, so I can’t manually focus.  This camera seems compact enough that I could focus (probably with my middle-finger) while holding the camera.  I guess I’ll have to go to the store and try it out, but if any of you have one and could try for me, it would be greatly appreciated.

6:17 pm - Saturday, May 22, 2010

#52 Danny

Hi Blair,

I know it is very much depend on which lens you wanted to use for manual focusing, if not all the lenses that are made for the EPL1 are auto focus anyway. I have quite a few manual lenses, some are smooth and it is possible for single hand focus and shot, but some have such stiff focusing ring, one finger is not at all possible. But this camera has all the quality you can get but in a smaller and lighter body, which I’m sure will work well for you.

Best,
Danny

6:49 pm - Saturday, May 22, 2010

#53 Topher5

http://www.imaging-resource.com/IMCOMP/COMPS01.HTM

choose ISO 3200 for both cameras

Choose Canon 7D and Olympus EPL-1

Here is a 1:1 screen grab of both
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4067/4663331251_81c14d410d_o.png

6:24 pm - Wednesday, June 2, 2010

#54 Lee Rothman

I had the opportunity to work with most current DSLR’s and mft units thus far. Without question the best value and performance is coming from the PL1. Is it perfect, no but what it brings to the table in color and low noise in it’s class leads the way. I much preferred it over the Panasonic offerings of it’s kind. Also the other Pens for that matter. Focus speed is pretty much a non issue at this point with the update. Out of camera Jpegs are simply the best in the business. I can easily trust this camera to deliver me near perfect 13x19 prints, which as all I need. It may not be a camera for sports but for static or mildly slow moving subjects I consider this the #1 pick. I also consider a VF-2 a MUST. It transforms it into a even more highly capable image making machine.

9:29 pm - Friday, June 18, 2010

#55 scott b

any feedback on the “kit” camera with the zoom lens? I have a Canon 20D, but don’t want to lug it around on a fast paced hiking vacation.  Is this a good choice?  Scott

2:37 am - Wednesday, August 18, 2010

#56 Abfab

hello and help!

have been reseraching EPL1 and think its the camera for us ... not too tech-y and an upgrade from digital point and shoot. Thinking about EPL1 kit with 14-42mm lensand EVF to start or should we get a pancake lens (what is it anyway?)

as you can see I am real amateur and its just for better quality pics

any advice would be most welcome1

3:54 pm - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#57 Danny Chau

Hi Abfab,

The Olympus EPL1 with the EVF2 viewer is all you ever need, it is a camera that can take high quality images. I would strongly suggest to go for the Lumix 20mm f1.7 (Pancake lens) over the Olympus own. Don’t worry being an amateur, we all have to be one to get better at our hobby, just enjoy the learning process.

4:36 pm - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#58 abfab

Thanks Danny

why the lumix lens? will we need the olympus adapter thing? i just bought the Pen EPL1 for dummies book which is great as it explains things in laymans terms

EVF2 viewer over the VF1?

I saw a EPL1 kit on sale with 17mm pancake lens instead of the 14-42mm lens ... what is the difference (besides the size) between them as i dont understand lenses ....

4:54 pm - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#59 Dave

For anyone just reading this review, the autofocus issue has been fixed with firmware and it is actually just as fast as the G1 now.

11:24 pm - Monday, October 25, 2010

#60 DFIngan-eng

The PEN E-PL1 shoots for IQ but fails to shoot As Soon As Possible in All Shooting Angle Possible. Without this two ASAPs, it means E-PL1 is still belongs to the old school of photography where most serious and pro came from.

1:14 pm - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#61 Jay S

The dynamic-range is nowhere near a real DSLR. The images are not too far better than a m point-n-shoot camera. The range and sharpness is well below par. The night-time street photo shows up the weakness of this camera even at ISO-100. Not worth the upgrade.

5:25 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#62 Lou H

I just started using my Oly EPL1 and found that the video button is very sensitive and starts video recording while I am doing still photography.  Is there a way to temporarily disable the video button?

6:36 pm - Saturday, January 1, 2011

#63 zorstklamp

I have also hit this button accidently when starting to take a photo and all i can say is just be careful where you put your thumb ......as i don’t know of any way to ‘disable’ the video record button, haven’t found anything in the menu to do this.

3:11 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#64 Charles Wallace

The last comment is incorrect.  It is possible to reassign or disable buttons.  I have reprogrammed the red video button on my E-PL1 to instead change to manual focus mode, mainly to avoid accidental videos - although now I occasionally get into manual focus by mistake.  hit Menu button, choose the submenu with the gear icons. In there, choose the B menu (for Button), and then choose the function marked by a circle with a dot in the middle (looks like the video button).  You can assign it to lots of things.  If it’s not assigned to video, you must instead set the dial on top of the cam to video mode to take a video.

9:10 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#65 zorstklamp

Thanks very much for your info Charles…...just goes to show that I must read my user manual more carefully !

I’ve done as you suggested and it works a treat !

11:25 am - Monday, January 3, 2011

#66 Lou H

Charles,  Thanks very much.  Your suggestion worked perfectly.

4:13 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#67 Natalie

Hi guys,
I’m a complete novice, using a fufji digital at the mo but I’m getting impatient as I need it for gigs and the zoom isn’t enough sometimes.
Can someone explain the lense sizes to me please?
I assume that a 40-150mm lense can zoom further than a 14-42mm?
I need epic zoom for upcoming festivals :D
Thanks - Nat

4:05 pm - Wednesday, January 12, 2011

#68 radpa

focus is too slow only with the kit 14-42… the 14-150 is much quicker, maybe the pancake too :)

10:28 am - Friday, February 4, 2011

#69 zorstklamp

What about using ‘older’ / used & non oly lenses via an adapter on the EPL-1 ?

I have seen some very good used bargains for M42 screw-fit lenses around, 28mm f2.8, 50mm f1.7 manual apature & focus etc ,so what ones should I be looking for ?

Any helpful suggestions welcomed !

3:40 pm - Tuesday, February 8, 2011

#70 C

We are looking to upgrade from our compact point and shoot. Image quality is important and as, more then likely, most pictures are going to be of the kids, does anyone have any views on the PL1 versus Panasonic G2? From reading the reviews there appears to be an issue with the PL1 and focus speed or has this now been resolved?

Any help gratefully received. Thanks

10:39 pm - Friday, June 3, 2011

#71 Ms.M

I would like to know if there’s a compitable wireless remote control shutter for Olympus Pen EPL1. I have read the thread, since it is now 2011, I’m wondering if there’s any update on that.

9:09 am - Monday, June 27, 2011

#72 zorstklamp

As far as I know there is no wireless remote for the EPL-1 as the camera’s own ‘hardware’ has not been configured for this feature…..but knowing Olympus i could be wrong.

11:50 am - Monday, June 27, 2011

#73 Happybunny19

Hi! I need your opinions. I’m an amateur photographer who wants to upgrade from a point and shoot. I want a camera that has an slr feel to it (big too),not an slr but has the image quality of an slr.

I’m also almost getting sold into the micro 4/3 category. With my minimal budget, here’s what I can afford:
I’m looking at the Olympus ePL1, LumixG10 and SamsungNX100.

or should i just settle for the nikonp5000,sx30is,lumixfz45?

i can afford all the models i’ve mentioned above.
i just want a camera that’s worth it.
-has dslr like image quality
-fast shutter speed
-great in low light
-nice features

Hope you could help me on this because I can’t sleep thinking about which is best to get!

3:48 am - Tuesday, July 26, 2011

#74 J.Houlding

Is the new Zuiko Digital ED 14-42mm Mk.II lens compatible with the Olympus E-PL1 camera?

9:22 pm - Saturday, August 13, 2011

#75 Krishna

Tell em i am interested in purchasing one..

weather I have to go for NX10 or E-Pl1 or G-1 ...i am thinking of E-PL1 as its cheaper among the three..but I got tempted with NX10 APS-C Sensor..

Which one I Should prefer??
What about Focusing issues with E-PL1??

1:11 pm - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#76 Krishna

Tell em i am interested in purchasing one..

weather I have to go for NX10 or E-Pl1 or G-1 ...i am thinking of E-PL1 as its cheaper among the three..but I got tempted with NX10 APS-C Sensor..

Which one I Should prefer??
Also, Clarify me with focusing issues with E-Pl1..

Thanks in advance..

1:24 pm - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#77 Aura

I would like one for wide-angle landscapes as I want to upgrade from my Fuji Fine pix 60 compact.  Can anyone advise me please?

5:43 pm - Friday, October 28, 2011

#78 Alan_D

Got one of these this summer, overall I like it, but it has the worst auto focus I’ve ever had. Wondering if I have a faulty one. It’s fine in bright light outdoors but indoors the lens keeps focusing in and out without focusing on anything.

2:58 pm - Monday, December 19, 2011

#79 Karen S Booth

I have an Olympus Pen E - PL1 and my husband has bought me a Panasonic Lumix G 20mm/F 1.7 pancake lens for Christmas, do I need an adaptor as well?
Thanks!
Karen

5:54 pm - Saturday, December 24, 2011

#80 Peter

Don’t think so, Karen.

Read this : http://www.dpreview.com/lensreviews/panasonic_20_1p7_o20/

4:09 pm - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#81 Anthony

I cant wait to get my E-PL1 I have seen nothing but good reviews…It will do all the things I want it to do for an entry level DSLR type camera in a smaller package…For a great price..I keep hearing about people complaining about minor issues but to get a camera that focuses faster or has a faster burst speeds your going to have to be buying a higher end camera..I do not have 2-3k for a nicer DSLR…Eventually that will be my next purchase, but for travel and what I am wanting and have been seeing the Olympus will more than fill the space in my camera bag…

10:25 pm - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#82 tony crosland

I got my e-pl1 in September and also got the VF-3 viewfinder and 40-150mm lens. I have taken some great landscape shots, but try and take a picture of something moving quickly I have found it to be a dead loss, and sports mode isnt much better. Perhaps I have a faulty one, but it has the latest firmware

9:03 am - Wednesday, February 1, 2012

#83 Ian

Just bought a brand new PEN E-PL1 with the 14-42mm AND the 40-150mm lens for £300!

5:32 pm - Monday, February 6, 2012

#84 Brian

Tony.  I was able to get some very nice indoor action shots with this camera.  Here is a link.  What issues are you having?

There are a number of shots I posted in the comments section too so don’t just look at the top shot.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/artist1131/6493800115/

11:25 pm - Sunday, February 12, 2012

#85 anthony

Brian

those pics look great drop me a line .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

1:27 pm - Tuesday, February 14, 2012

#86 Chaitanya

Please some one let me know weather the poor auto-focusing issues are resolved with latest firmware updates???...some reply??..I am interested in getting one…How fast is its auto-focus compared to Nikon P7000??

2:00 pm - Wednesday, February 15, 2012

#87 Brian

The autofocus will not be as fast as a DSLR but certainly better than the P7000 or just about any Bridge or P&S.  The latest firmware will help.  In good light I have never had any issues.  In low / poor light it will slow down but certainly not terrible like the Sigma DP series.

This series of shots was taken indoors in poor light. http://www.flickr.com/photos/artist1131/6493800115/

2:52 pm - Thursday, February 16, 2012

#88 Alvin

I bought a E-PL1 just before Christmas last year hoping for something lighter than my Pentax Kx. However I am so used to the image quality of the Kx that I am quite disappointed by the E-PL1. So I gave it to my girlfriend as her Christmas present instead, along with that thick dummies book. A few months had since passed and I am thinking of getting her a new lens for her E-PL1. This is where I encountered the real problem with the MFT format, the lack of third party lens and the high costs of lens. I am really disappointed by the range of lens available for the MFT format. For my Kx, I have the following lens:
Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4
Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6
Sigma 8-16mm f4.5-5.6
Sigma 50mm f2.8 Macro
Pentax 35mm f2.4

I know there are similar lens in the MFT range, but comparing them, they are just no match for more estiblished systems in terms of price or function.

Starting with the 17-70, I know there is the new 12-50 from Olympus. But it is a f3.5-6.3(!).
Moving on to the 70-300, there are a few choices here, Panasonic 45-200, 75-300 and Olympus 40-150. But they all cost almost double my 70-300 with little or no improvement in f value.
Next the 8-16, there are the Pana 7-14 But have you seen the price? As for the Oly 9-18, it just do not have the same FOV.
There is very little Macro option for MFT, only the Pana 45 f2.8, which is too long for my needs.
The only one that MFT has that is very similar to what I already has is the Oly 25mm f2.8 and it costs about the same.

On the plus side is I got a Olympus XZ1 as my carry around camera and it has the same hotshoe as her E-PL1. Therefore we can share the EVF and flash. I was recently thinking of a G2/10 but looking at the range of lens available, I think I will wait and see if there are more affordable MFT lens first.

5:02 pm - Sunday, March 11, 2012

#89 Brian

@Alvin.  I respect your opinion but you are the FIRST person I have every heard say that a lack of lenses is a problem with MFT.  That is one of the big selling features mentioned when somebody reviews a compact interchangeable lens camera…that the MFT format has a great lineup of lense.  Any MFT lens fits any brand. 
Voigtlander, Sigma, Rokinon, Bower, Panasonic and Olympus all make MFT lenses and there are many reasonably priced.
If you are thinking of getting into the MFT lineup, check for yourselves the lineup.  If you got to B&H you can search the lens section by Micro Four Thirds Format.  http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?atclk=Camera+Mount+Type_4/3rd+Micro&ci=17912&N=4196380428+4292347245

6:37 pm - Tuesday, March 13, 2012

#90 Alvin

@Brian I said the lack of lens AND their price that is the problem. I do not do MF (poor eyesight) and therefore non of the adaptors non AF lens are of use to me. Plus it is quite silly sticking my Sigma 8-16mm on a MFT body.

I just posted a comment on the new Olympus 12-50mm lens. It is has a close zoom range to my Sigma 17-70mm BUT the Sigma is much brighter. Is there a similar MFT lens to the Sigma?

I am not knocking the MFT format, I just wish it has better, AND more affordable, lens selection.

At this point, I am considering a Panasonic G2, I do get tired of carrying my Pentax APS-C sometimes, but there is nothing better than the standard 14-42/45 lens out there. Also the while the Panasonic 7-14 is very similar to my Sigma 8-16, it costs £600+ compared to £300+, almost double.

2:47 pm - Thursday, March 15, 2012

#91 gorpalm

Just picked this up a few weeks ago on a clearance price deal, even though I’m a Samsung NX owner it was too good a deal to pass up.

First Pro impressions:
- Really great print output to A4 (and probably beyond);
- Excellent natural skin tones;
- A defacto built-in bounce flash - gently use your finger to pull the flash back, set flash intensity as appropriate;
- More tweakable settings than the NX;
- Fun art modes (diorama, pin hole etc);
- Stabilisation built in so All lenses benefit;
- Default output seems to be tweaked to emphasise shallow DoF, so the standard focus point on the Oly is like the equivalent of Samsung’s ‘pinhead’ focus point;
- The 14-42mm kit lens is super compact.

First Con impressions:
- Set auto ISO limits to stop the cam selecting ISO1600 where 400-800 will do; 
- More tweakable settings than the NX - eg manually selecting the lens focal length in stabilisation mode to maximise it effectiveness;
- Screen is blinded in sunlight;
- Low res screen makes pics look ‘muddy’compared to the NX - for the first few days I thought it was a dud unit because it looked crude in comparison;
- Zooming in on taken photos on your pc shows less fine detail than the NX (but probably wouldn’t notice in the real world unless you were printing out A3 size).

12:18 pm - Friday, April 6, 2012

#92 Alan_D

Took mine back to shop who sent it back to Olympus, when it came back focusing was completely fine.
Happy now

2:25 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#93 Diane S

I have the Olympus E-PL1 and bought this
http://www.sandisk.com/products/memory-cards/sd/ultraplus/

Will it work fine?  I use the camera in auto the vast majority of the time.  I know the san disk says for point and shoot so did I buy the wrong card?  Will my photo quality be affected?

7:14 pm - Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, 12 megapixel, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, manual, olympus, micro four thirds, PEN, ep l1, e pl1, epl1, e-pl1, Olympus E-PL1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry