Olympus M.ZUIKO Digital 12-40mm f/2.8 Pro Review

May 5, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Steve

Panasonic 12-35 f/2.8 OIS seems to be better value than this - they had the same launch price but now the street price is much lower, the optical quality is very similar, and it has OIS, but the reviews have it the other way round, claiming the Panasonic is too expensive for what it is.

1:17 am - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#2 ERTAN

Steve, Olympus has less MFD with more magnification, and 10mm on the telephoto side (in 135mm terms). And Olympus seesm to have better quality outer material. Otherwise, both lenses are superb.

11:13 am - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#3 JC

Panasonic launch price in US: $1,299.00
Olympus launch price in US: 1,099.99

Now the street price is about the same at $999 from most reputable sellers in US. But if you’re smart, you can buy Olympus from Japan at lower price and get Olympus worldwide warranty coverage. You can also buy Panasonic from Japan, but its warranty is only valid in Japan.

Panasonic is too expensive for anyone who owns an OM-D body. Panasonic has OIS, but it cannot compete with Olympus 5-axis stabilization. The only reasons to buy Panasonic 12-35 are that you use the G, GH, GF or GM cameras OR you want a bit smaller lens. Olympus have more lens control too (focus ring and custon lens fn button).

To its credit, Panasonic is made in Japan while Olympus is made in China. That’s a factor for the higher price. And you do get better build quality control for it. Olympus 10mm extra focal length is negligible at best. Panasonic uses 58mm filter that is the same in the 35-100mm f2.8. We don’t know what filter size Olympus 40-150mm f2.8 will take. Go with Olympus 12-40mm if you have the OM-D or EP5. If you have E-PL or E-PM, might want to consider Panasonic.

 

3:28 am - Saturday, May 10, 2014

#4 Weighing Scale

Hey, very nice site. I came across this on Google, and I am stoked that I did. I will definitely be coming back here more often. Wish I could add to the conversation and bring a bit more to the table, but am just taking in as much info as I can at the moment. Thanks for sharing.
digital body scale Scale

Keep Posting:)

11:49 am - Wednesday, July 22, 2015

#5 Theo

In the sharpness tests, you refer to the Olympus 12-40mm F3.5-F5.6. That is a totally different lense, which leaves me confused. Did someone make a mistake while posting the review in the CMS?

5:57 am - Friday, September 4, 2015

#6 Connor Kim

It seems like I found a affordable place to comment my recent experience with Oly ED12-40mm f2.8 Pro.
Purchased it a month ago, and just simply tested it with a new Pany GX8 at home.  Lens performance, optical quality, etc. are satisfied, but I found something wrong on it’s manual focus mode, especially distance center marker position is not exact right position from the bottom center marker to the top , and at infinite position in manual focus there is a mechanical stop at the end of the travel, but it doesn’t stop exactly at infinity. Just passes infinity symbol easily far more till end, and results out of focus.  Now, I’m waiting for something skeptical solution from the seller.  Also requested this issue with a proof picture to Olympus America,too, but replied me just send it to ‘Authorized Service Center’ in Toronto. That’s it.  Surely, it’s ‘manufacture defect’, or by nature.  I read a same comment like me.  Where is Olympus’s top reputation?

6:53 pm - Thursday, February 11, 2016

#7 Connor Kim

Be ware of this lens if you consider to buy.
Olympus’s quality reputation is long gone.

7:26 pm - Thursday, February 11, 2016

Entry Tags

review, samples, test, sample images, jpeg, lens, compact system camera, wide-angle, jpegs, jpg, jpgs, olympus, micro four thirds, zoom, standard, wide angle, landscape, kit, 12-40mm, Olympus M.ZUIKO Digital 12-40mm f2.8 Pro Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry