Olympus M.ZUIKO Digital 75mm f/1.8 Review

4.5
July 2, 2013 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Derek

Pretty unusual sharpness test. Maybe you could at least include a resolution chart along with a real world example.

4:31 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#2 C.Y.LEOW

“one of the sharpest lenses we’ve ever tested.” But your bookshelf sharpness test DID NOT impressed!

4:34 am - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#3 PJ

Can’t win can you? Some bemoan shooting test charts whilst other complain about the lack thereof!

I use Nikon DSLRs but I have tried the lens on an OMD EM5 and will say I was very impressed. Could see myself getting into M43 at some point in the future.

9:03 am - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#4 Ivan

The article states “Offering a 150mm focal length”. I believe this should be corrected or clarified since the actual focal length is 75mm and no sensor size or “crop factor” can change that optical property.

2:21 pm - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#5 Stella

I have this lens and it is great…very sharp…I use it a lot…I shoot indoor ice hockey , rugby and tennis with this lens and the results are spectacular…I do not know anyone who has used this lens and not been impressed

9:34 am - Saturday, July 6, 2013

#6 Mike

@Ivan: focal length is the distance from the sensor plane to the focal point. It only becomes an ‘optical property’ in combination with a sensor, without it it is only a metric distance. Therefore mentioning a focal length without corresponding sensor specs is completely pointless.

If you shrink a sensor 2x, you also have to reduce the focal length 2x to get the same optical properties.

1:54 pm - Saturday, July 6, 2013

#7 Wing Wah

@ C.Y. Leow: You are a classic example of a pixel peeper. Only comparing sharpness results at 200% on your computer screen while looking through a telescope. If you actally try the lens, you’ll find that it IS very sharp wide open. The fact that it gets sharper when stopped down, doesn’t change that.

This lens is a very good lens. It doesn’t get much better then this, and I mean on any camera system.

8:35 am - Tuesday, October 1, 2013

#8 Stellahhh

Sometimes I have to set the camera to minus one on sharpness because this lens is so sharp at times it does cause moire problems…I did a recent engagement shoot and on about a dozen images moire popped up its ugly head and post processing software moire fixers were not able to help…so if you use this lens this is something to consider .

11:30 am - Tuesday, October 1, 2013

#9 scotty

I have only just purchased an olympus Epl5 camera..is this lense suitable for good close up face shots without having to get right into the subjects face in order to capture the image ..If you can help me with an answer please drop me a line at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) 
Cheers Scotty

12:57 pm - Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Entry Tags

review, lens, compact system camera, test, olympus, micro four thirds, telephoto, portrait, sports, 75mm, 150mm, Olympus M.ZUIKO Digital 75mm f1.8 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry