Olympus Mju Tough 3000 Review

3.5
April 1, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

30 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dean graziosi

This Olympus Mju Tough 3000 seems a good camera and its price is also good and affordable.I think that it has all good features which I wanted in my camera.To get this camera will be a good deal.

12:31 pm - Friday, April 2, 2010

#2 Photo Booth Rentals

This camera is a great choice for anyone who puts their gear through the rigors of travel. Whether you drop it or just bang it around during transport, the Olympus MJU 3000 is rock solid every time you snap a picture.

8:54 pm - Monday, April 5, 2010

#3 dan

The sample movie can’t be downloaded. I really wanna see the quality of the movies this camera makes.

Thanks!

10:24 am - Friday, April 9, 2010

#4 csb

I had a mju 850 sw previously, that was sent for a guarantee repair. They could not fix it and I have received a brand new mju though 3000 instead.

Though in some features the new model is better (eg. has more megapixel, which is of no use), i miss the old one’s metal (like) buttons, the program dial, thge new one’s buttonas are all-covered with some rubberálike shet hat make them feel less responsible, the pressing points are less accurate. I also miss the metal lens cover. Good that is is not fo xd card but for sd. And the prevoius seemed to be of metal body; this is surely not. The old ne had a 3-year guearantee, this has only 2.

So this camera is a step forward with a leap backward compared to 850 sw.

6:30 pm - Friday, July 2, 2010

#5 Colin Reid

The camera is fine, generally, but the battery life is unacceptably short.  I asked Olympus about this but they were not interested.  I had to buy a new Duracell battery which, of course, pu the overall price up.

11:14 am - Monday, August 23, 2010

#6 crossmr

This is a waterproof camera. How can you call this a review without actually taking it underwater?

9:46 am - Wednesday, August 25, 2010

#7 ColinReid

Now we have tried it underwater, in the Med, and it works extremely well.  The quality of the photos is surprisingly good.  We would show a photo here if we were allowed to upload one.  After use in salt water be sure to let it soak in fresh water for 10 minutes,  then dry it thoroughly before opening it.

3:02 pm - Friday, August 27, 2010

#8 ColinReid

You can now see 2 photos taken underwater in the Gallery under Sports & Action

12:48 pm - Wednesday, September 1, 2010

#9 Maddy

I live in Australia and its $289 in mosst shops, or more. is that to expensive, should i wait for it to come down?
Also i dont really know about camera’s so im not sure if the zoom is that great.
And how long exaclty does the battery life last? and how long do you need to charge it for?
thanks
~maddy~

12:04 am - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#10 ColinReid

In Spain this camera cost me €155.  The Olympus supplied battery needs a number of re-chargings before it reaches full capacity.  It is a small battery so do not expect as long a charge-hold as a bigger one in, say, a Panasonic FM28,  but it will last some hours with normal usage.  However,  I would recommend that if you are going out for a long session of photography and video you take a fully charged spare battery with you.

10:36 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#11 Luca

I bought this camera to replace and old compact camera with the AA battery.
But I tried to use for one day trip but the battery life is unacceptable, only 7 min video and 30 photos and the battery is off !!
Very bad discovery, now I’ll go to the shop to explain what for me is considered a defect.

12:52 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#12 ColinReid

Yes, Luca, I had the same problem at first.  What Olympus don’t tell you and, in my opinion I think they should, is that the battery needs a number of re-chargings to reach full capacity. I only found this out from Duracell when I bought one of theirs as a replacement for the Olympus one.  The Duracell one is better but now the Olympus battery is about acceptable.

3:56 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#13 Jessica

Ive tried numerous WP cameras and found them to over expose indoors shots, how does the Olympus go with exposure? I have a new baby and I am after a camera I can take fishing, shoots of him, hunting and all sorts. I am a camera whore for Canon EOS and a freelance photographer so my standard is set pretty high. Would you recomend this camera for me?

12:02 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#14 ColinReid

Wow, Jessica, and you’re asking an old amateur hack-about like me?  I have been interested in photography since 1951 but never at any level approaching yours but, in my extremely limited experience, I have found this little camera very useful for, as you say, taking anywhere and shooting whatsoever.  Any bits of off stuff can always be sorted later in the PC. Previously I’ve always had big cameras, e.g. Nikon F2 in the old days of roll film.

3:37 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#15 Jessica

After much research I’ve decided to go with Panasonic Lumix FT2. But thankyou for your help. Yes Colin Im not a pro in the point and shoot department I only own a Nikon D90 and a Canon 50D. So little cameras arent my regular vocation.

9:03 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#16 Amy

I brought this camera as i previously owned one of the first olympus shockproof/waterproof cameras and had no problems.  This new 3000 series is a huge dissapointment. I have recharged my battery heaps and still i don’t think the battery life is acceptable.  It also is really slow at turning on and by the time i select the scene the photo moment is over.  I had barely used it when i took it overseas with me and the first time i put it in water it leaked in the battery compartment. I then had no camera for 5 days until i could reach a large town to buy a new one.  Customer Service were not really concerened. I would not recommend this camera to anyone and it is a shame as i was so impressed with my old model that i used to own.  I know have to post my camera to Olympus, At my own expense for them to evaluate the camera to see if they will fix it.  I would prefer my money back so i could buy a decent camera.  I now have 5 days of no photos on an overseas trip because this camera failed.

11:27 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#17 Angry

I hate this camera, I bought it 6mths ago and have hated every minute. The first one was replaced because over over exposure, poor focus and no battery charge and the replacement camera isn’t all that much better. Still over exposes and doesn’t focus well. It used to upload photos to my computer using the the cable but as of my last 2 attempts I now have to use a card reader. Im too afraid to take it underwater. At almost $300 AUD this camera isn’t cheap and I couldn’t be any more disappointed.

1:55 am - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

#18 Raf

HI,
Does anyone know how to set up the olympus 3000 tough so that the iauto mode comes on when you turn the camera on, rather than the P mode. Neither the manual nor other internet sites seem to offer any clues, thanks

4:04 pm - Friday, December 24, 2010

#19 Khyarn

I brought the olympus tough 3000 its great but only had it for 5 days and it started making beeping sounds then shutting off.

2:26 am - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#20 Jessica

buy the panasonic lumix f12

2:29 am - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#21 Owen

Well i’ve owned my Tough 3000 camera for 4 day’s now compared to my Casio Z1050 i think it’s great! I’ve used it everyday & gotten familiar with it & think it’s very user friendly. There’s a set up funtion at the botttom of the screen which if you enter allows you to adjust the factory setting like ‘Save Settings’ which will remember the last settings used as opposed to defaulting to the factory ‘P’ setting. There is also ‘PW on Start Up’ This is the Olympus logo & theme when the camera is turned on. Turn this feature off & the camera goes straight to viewfinder ready to shoot in under 2 seconds. I’m pleased with the images, crisp, clear & the beauty feature in ‘Edit’ in an instant flatterer on portrait shots & when you edit a picture on the camera it duplicates the image so you still have the original image - You can’t go wrong & it’s a no brainer for a camera that you can pick up for £120 & slides into your pocket. I did consider the cheaper Fuji but the extra £20 bag’s you a better lens… This truly is a compact pocket camera! I’ll feed back when i’ve owned it longer.

3:35 am - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#22 Angry :(

I love the camera but i am so annoyed because the side where the battery is cracked off .. the packet clearly states ‘DO NOT HANDEL WITH CARE’ and even though I was very careful with it, the side cracked and fell off . I have no been waiting 4 weeks to get my camera fixed and they said they will have to charge me for the damage which I am very disappointed with as it cost a lot of money and it was still under its warranty. :(

5:12 pm - Monday, March 21, 2011

#23 Will

This is an amazing camera, I have taken this to Iceland with my school, and it works perfectly in freezing oceans, hot springs (despite people saying the sulphur pentrates the seal). The pricing is superb, me being a student it was affordable and I got a case and a 4gb card for £15 more! I have to say, even playing through projexctors at school the quality was super and also on normal tv’s its really good, the only problem i have founbd is I can’t charge and record. Otherwise this is better than all the other cameras I have ever used, and I have been working with phiotography and using £1000 DSLR, SLR, Professional camcorders. If you have young children I would recommend this camera, we dropped it out of our second story window in Iceland onto concrete and it hardly dented! The build is great, the feel is good, its not too heavy your hand starts shaking cause you have held it too long, its not so light that you don’t recognise you have pressed the buttons. The buttons are a nuscence that I have grown to love. yes they are annoying but when you get use to them its like typing. it has easy display and shows all the features on the right hand side, the features are probably the best variety I have seen on a digital camera the only other time I have seen so many choices is on my phone where I have like 40 different photo settings. i also have used this for skiing and snowboarding. the sports mode is great the video recording is fantastic, especially underwater. We went over the eurasia and the north american plate where you can view up to 100m down. If you do not believe what you are reading, look at this photo I took… (http://wwkozlow.deviantart.com/#/d3cjc5k) This camera is fricken GREAT, I love it!

3:55 pm - Wednesday, April 20, 2011

#24 Zaved

I love the Macro and Super Macro of MJU 3000. But yes, the battrey is very short life. The HD video quality is amazing! But Still image is hardly found Very good. I suggest the olympus company that, As its a entry level camera, the Shutter speed should be higher (more than 80) in Auto mode. Every time i take photo, i use optical zoom, then the Shutter speed becomes higher. I bought this camera, specially for my 2 year boy!! Beacause of Toughness, i do not take the camera from him by force!!

6:40 am - Tuesday, May 24, 2011

#25 dranix

Is the firmware updatable / upgradable?

7:58 pm - Friday, June 17, 2011

#26 Robert Ham

Disappointing is an understatement. Horrible still image quality, buttons are erratic and switch off-on randomly, and the battery life is pathetic.  Carry 2-3 charged spares if you want to do anything. Underwater video is OK.  The competition’s tough-type cams are way better. Way better.

6:51 pm - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#27 Joseph Barney

This camera does ok. It’s waterproof, and shock resistant, I dropped it and it still works, and it does fine in the cold. The battery life is fine for me though I do have 2 extra batteries too, I don’t always have to use them. It takes alright photos, and the macro works a lot better than my Nikon S6300. I’d like another Tough camera! This one is alright, but I know I can do butter and Olympus is generally pretty good.

6:07 pm - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#28 karki

my olympus uTough 3000 has only short battery life and sometimes it hangs. i don’t know what to do with this one and i think there’s no olympus store in our place here in the Philippines. please help me.

2:02 am - Friday, October 18, 2013

#29 ColinReid

I bought a Duracell battery to replace the not very good original and it woks just fine.
Order online from duracell.com

8:04 am - Friday, October 18, 2013

#30 karki

now i have one, but when i connect it to my pc, i cannot detect it. i can;t download the photos! it’s really frustrating!

11:08 am - Thursday, September 25, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 720p, 12 megapixel, 2.7 inch LCD, olympus, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, tough, 3.6x zoom, stylus 3000, mju 3000, Olympus Mju Tough 3000 Review