Olympus SP-720UZ Review

4.0
December 6, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 svillav

I can’t understand how can Olympus have such a good jpg engine, as used in all its 4/3 cameras and such an awful one for its compact cameras. This super zoom with the correct image processing will be a hit. As it goes is a so so camera with disappointing image quality.

11:09 pm - Sunday, December 9, 2012

#2 merry

Only had the camera for 1 month and I have all these diagonal lines on my LCD screen that won’t go away.  can’t get any help on the problem.  Can hardly view the photos that I have taken.

11:38 pm - Tuesday, February 12, 2013

#3 Brian

Love the camera.  I got it for $99.00 after a 50.00 rebate and it is sharp with nice colors.  Auto focus is slow at the long end but that is to be expected in a super zoom.  I think this review nails the pros and cons perfectly.  I love this as a back up camera.

2:04 am - Tuesday, August 27, 2013

#4 Peter

I have the camera a year.  The thing died after six months and had to be returned to Olympus.  I paid good money for this camera and its overall performance is poor.  Should have listened to people and paid a bit more and gone Canon.  Probably destined for ebay.  Image quality indoors in awful, outdoors it performs fine.

8:26 am - Monday, September 2, 2013

#5 Sheba

I am unable to take clear photos without zooming. For instance,I cannot to get snaps of people standing just a few feet away from me/ or my immediate surroundings unless I go way back and zoom in on them. Can anyone give me advice please, as this camera seems to work well only with the zoom.

3:19 pm - Friday, September 6, 2013

#6 W

Not pleased at all.  Replacing a 12 mp Pentax and I really made a mistake.  The Olympus offers poor quality over or under saturated pictures slow focus and video playback is terrible.
With the Pentax all is GREAT and only replacing it because I have had it for a number of years. When a camera costs a couple hundred bucks a little quality would be nice

5:34 am - Monday, October 7, 2013

#7 Blazeaglory

Camera is great for the price. This known as a “travel” camera and was designed for traveling and outside shots. That is not to say it cant be used for portraits and indoors, it just seems that this camera performs better outdoors. I cant understand why people are complaining about photo quality on a $150 camera…lol This camera goes above and beyond the $150 range for what it offers. I have not had any problems with this camera other than lines on the LCD screen, which I sent to Olympus and they fixed for free and returned very quickly. This camera takes very good quality pics from 100- 400 ISO and awesome macro pics. Like I said before, whoever is complaining about the awesome quality of this $150 camera, must just love to complain because I have no complaints about quality and features for the price I paid. 5 out of 5 stars

5:55 am - Saturday, November 9, 2013

#8 W

I need to retract my previous statement.
Olympus took care of my camera problems and returned the camera in very fast time.
Now the photos are clear and precise.
The zoom is extraordinary as well as the macro and I paid more than 150 bucks for it but for the Olympus back up ... it is well worth the money.
I can only assume I had some sort of glitch originally.  My wife has a pricier Olympus and it is has been superb from day one.
So Good Going Olympus…You have a loyal Customer that is spreading the word

6:27 am - Saturday, November 9, 2013

#9 Bencze Levente

My camera won’t shoot more than 6 (six) pictures in any of the continuous shoot modes - the limit isn’t affected by the picture size. I use a Class 10 SDHC card, (tested with a wide variety of SD cards) so i believe the write speed isn’t the issue.
Anybody else with this problem?

11:13 am - Friday, January 17, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, 14 megapixel, super-zoom, olympus, super zoom, superzoom, 26mm, 26x zoom, sp 720uz, sp720uz, sp-720 uz, sp-720uz, Olympus SP-720UZ Review, sp 720 uz

Tracker Pixel for Entry