Olympus SZ-30MR Review

4.0
August 9, 2011 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Real

Awful IQ! Just Awful!

4:31 pm - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#2 Warren Lyons

While it’s image quality is nothing to write home about, its combination of small size and tremendous magnification might make it perfect for candid shots of the supermarket tabloid type or for law enforcement/homeland security use

9:14 pm - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#3 Esther

i agree that the image quality is not as great as other high-end cameras but it’s good enough for me.

i’m really impressed by the attention to detail in your reviews though!
I have to say.. this is the first time someones posted pictures of the top of the camera and the memory card and battery slots

great job!

8:02 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#4 Esther

i agree that the image quality isnt as great as other high-end cameras but its good enough for me

I’m really impressed with the details you cover in your review
I have to say.. this is the first time I’ve seen someone post pictures of the top of the camera and its memory card and battery slots

great job!

8:06 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#5 Rudy

I have gotten some surprisingly good quality images with this camera even with the telephoto hand held. I have been happy with many indoor shots without flash and as the review says macro shots have good image quality. With a small sensor camera one cannot expect the level of a $1200 DSLR, but that is not a fair comparison.

9:30 pm - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#6 james lawless

I am disturbed at how hard it seems to download pictures. There seems no way to save them to the computer. I appreciate that I am a dunce as to technology, but I can’t find anything that explains it. The word download doesn’t seem even to exist in the manual which is another annoying feature. What could it cost to print a manual with the camera. I would certainly spend another $20 to get one. Otherwise I like the camera.

7:03 am - Friday, September 9, 2011

#7 Augustin Man

Hi James,

Of course you can use the attached cable to download your photos, but the easiest way is to just take out the card and put it in the computer.

10:47 am - Friday, December 2, 2011

#8 John

Absolutely brilliant camera for what it is.  I’m 67 now and have been around Cameras all my adult life and have had SLR’s and lately a Sony A300 DSLR with 5 lenses. I found it a right pain as I got older carrying all this kit around and I popped into our local Camera Shop here in New Zealand just before Yule to have a ‘browse’ (as you do!!!) Came out with this camera 20 mins later and one week later sold all my DSLR equipment and the lenses such was my satisfaction with this little gem. It has done everything I have asked of it (and more!!!) Image quality is great and hand-held at the maximum zoom is also no problem - fits into my pocket too!!! I now carry this camera around with me where I didn’t do that with the DSLR. Well done Olympus.

9:28 am - Sunday, January 29, 2012

#9 Ahmed

i need to know dat does this camera offers a background defocusing mode ?
reply me asap

7:19 am - Wednesday, March 14, 2012

#10 Kenih almeida

I own this camera,image quality,zoom and other specifications are excellent(for amateur,travelling,family photographs),menu is not easy to understand quiet complicated,(has many features).good point and shoot camera ,but lack of optical viewfinder makes one to waste time by zooming in and out searching for object to shoot on screen.i insist this camera for fun and amateur photographers ,professionals must choose nikon,canon,pentax,sony,etc..cameras…..also i didnt get a memory card and travel pouch now i have to shell around 60$ for it.

7:23 am - Saturday, May 5, 2012

#11 Troy

While image quality is not great due to soft photos, you can easily sharpen them up in photoshop and get a great qulaity photo. Do that and you will be happy.

9:10 pm - Friday, August 24, 2012

#12 robyn

Hey can anyone comment on this camera’s shutter lag? Thanks!

6:10 pm - Sunday, September 16, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, olympus, travel-zoom, travel, travel zoom, 25mm, 24x zoom, Olympus SZ-30MR Review, sz 30 mr, sz-30 mr, sz30mr, sz 30mr, sz-30mr

Tracker Pixel for Entry