Panasonic Leica DG Nocticron 42.5mm F1.2 ASPH Review

4.5
January 21, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Flavio

I’m puzzled…you review a portrait lens, and you don’t include even one portrait in the sample images? What about real world usage of the lens?
I just don’t understand this approach…

11:12 am - Tuesday, January 28, 2014

#2 Flavio

C’mon guys, I posted a criticism and you promptly deletee it from the comments? It didn’t last half an hour!
That was pretty lousy, don’t you think?
And I’m expecting this one to be deleted as well, but it’s enough to have you read it…I’m removing myself from your newsletter and never coming back to this website. Shame, I was enjoying your reviews until now…

1:52 pm - Tuesday, January 28, 2014

#3 Flavio

Stop!
I apologize for the last comment!!
That was my browser playing up!!
Sorry, I take it back.
Keep going, guys, I will keep on enjoying your reviews and wibsite!
What a mess up, bloody browser…

1:56 pm - Tuesday, January 28, 2014

#4 Mahesh

Definitely need portraits and the main rival would be voigtlander 42.5/0.95 of course. A comparison between the two would have been very helpful.

1:41 pm - Monday, February 17, 2014

#5 ProAc

I, too, expected to see some portraits. This is a very expensive piece of glass especially for the tiny sensored micro four thirds user to consider. Leica owners don’t scoff at such a price tag but Panasonic owners probably will.

12:09 pm - Friday, February 28, 2014

#6 Jonathan Cooper

Hi … I am intrigued … currently own a GF1 and two G3’s in our family as well as an M9 .. so Leica is a favourite here.

I would have liked to see some portraits as mentioned above .. the lens I am comparing it with is the Fuji 56mm 1.2 so a comparison with that would be very interesting … do I stay with Lumix or move to the new X-T1 Fuji with their lenses . and the 56mm is £900 so much cheaper … your review of that lens did include portraits .. difficult call .. keep up the good work

Thanks Jon

7:19 pm - Tuesday, March 25, 2014

#7 Mahesh

@Jon, there are websites such as admiring light who got wonderful comparisons. I have uploaded one or two portraits on flickr to,if you search for nocticron there.
The bottom line is 42.5 is better than fuji but both are the best in their systems.if you have lumix,stay with it and spend the money on getting the better lens.

2:45 pm - Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Entry Tags

review, samples, test, compact system camera, lens, sample images, jpegs, micro four thirds, jpgs, telephoto, portrait, leica, 42.5mm, pansonic, Panasonic Leica DG Nocticron 42.5mm F1.2 ASPH Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry