Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT3 Review

4.0
March 11, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

30 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jeff

Can the reviewer please tell me if ft3 picture quality is better than ft1(or ft2)?

I own ft1 and are only satisfied with its outdoor photo taken in good lighting.

Indoor and dim light photo are much worse than my sony tx5.  However, for outdoor photo panasonic colour is better in my opinion(sony often look dull to me)

So I end up carrying both, one used in the day and one at light during holiday.

I can only tell that iso 1600 shot of ft3 seem much better compare to ft1

Also what waterproof camera the reviewer think has the best image quality(I don’t care about GPS or other glimick)

Thank you very much.

4:59 am - Saturday, March 12, 2011

#2 Xander van Ommen

Very good remark!!
Is miss this important info as well.
We all own a FT2.

KInd regards Xander

8:41 pm - Saturday, March 19, 2011

#3 jeff

unfortunately no answer from the reviewer.

May I make a suggestion that the reviewer discuss whether any camera is better than its predecessor

Also can anyone express their opioion about what is the best waterproof camera

there are a few candidates, panasonic,sony,olympus,pentax

I suspect but not sure at all the best for daylight use is panasonic FT series and Sony TX for nightime/indoor use.

Any comment from anyone is greatly appreciated

I am still waiting for the perfect waterproof camera with a large sensor and large aperture(probably never because of enclosed lens design, panasonic with f3.3 seems to be the best)

Well, maybe in 10 years, hopefully!

8:53 am - Sunday, March 20, 2011

#4 Martin Sirovy

The sample images from FT3 seems to be much worser than sample images from FT2. This is due to new “Fast” CCD 12.1 mpx chip or due to bad photo conditions?

1:54 pm - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#5 Jonathan K

As with reviewing a camera, I must review this review… :/?

2/5

The 3/5 lost due to no images/video/etc… of under water shots or even sporting event shots. Is this not the point of the camera?

9:43 pm - Tuesday, April 12, 2011

#6 Jeff

there is a review at pcmag site that suggest TS3 pics is softer than TS2, so getting worse.

8:41 am - Wednesday, April 13, 2011

#7 fricoulet

funny french advert for the lumix FT3
http://youtu.be/rO5pSA3U0eA

2:52 pm - Friday, April 29, 2011

#8 fricoulet

http://youtu.be/rO5pSA3U0eA

2:55 pm - Friday, April 29, 2011

#9 dp

I think I got bought one of the first I ft3’s and so far I’m very happy with the camera, seriously clever piece of kit

5:06 am - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#10 Carlos Durães

Olá!
A minha dmc-ft3 deixou de apresentar as referencias GPS e apaga o indicador do topo GPS.
É avaria? como ultrapassar?
Agradecido
C.Durães

12:18 pm - Monday, June 27, 2011

#11 jw

I have owned all three generations of this camera.  This was not by choice but because the first two leaked and distroyed the camera.  To Panasonic’s credit they have replaced each broken camera with the next generation model. I have used each generation alot and so far the TS3 takes better pictures.  And so far has not leaked.  We will see how it takes the rigor of a Cabo vacation.  This is were the two previous models have had to much to drink while in the resort pool leaving me to spend the rest of my vacation lugging around my full SLR instead.  It should be noted however that my brother is still shooting his first generation Olympus that he has taken on all of these same vacations that we have been on.  While my last two Panasonics have been in our room nursing their to much to drink hangover we have been doing the lion’s share of the recording of our vacations with his Olympus that is actually waterproof.

6:04 pm - Friday, July 1, 2011

#12 tex

This may not be answer you want but consider it a suggestion or alternative.  If you’re serious about underwater camera you might consider buying a waterproof case, e.g., Canon makes them for specific point and shoot models.  I currently use the Canon S95 and it is an awesome camera for both stills and video.  Canon currently has sale on waterproof cases for older models and I’m thinking about buying one of them as I own older Canon point and shoots.  Now re the current Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT3, I’m considering buying one for winter sport activities only.

8:27 pm - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#13 BR

hey JW (commenter above who had camera replaced by Panasonic free of charge) - my Lumix waterproof camera just died because of water intrusion.  It had only been the 3rd time I had ever taken it into the water.  So I don’t have to reinvent the wheel - HOW WERE YOU ABLE TO GET PANASONIC TO SEND YOU A REPLACEMENT CAMERA?  What did you say to them..?  What is best approach?  Which site/contact number/etc did you use to accomplish this?  I am pretty sure I’m beyond the normal 1 year warranty period.  Thanks!

1:20 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#14 mgmerv

Just bought the FT3. As a previous Olympus waterproof camera user, Im disappointed cos the LCD screen has already been scratched (carried around in my wife’s handbag). Never had problem with LCD being scratched with my 3 year old Olympus. Seems the FT3 maybe shockproof, but the LCD is not scratch proof. To add insult to injury, the camera came with an original Lumix leather case which was too small to fit the camera. Im waiting for the shop to give me a better-fitting case to avoid more scratches to the LCD. But you can bet they arent going to give me a new camera or replace the LCD which is already scratched. I should have just upgraded to the 10m waterproof Olympus. Any suggestions are welcome. THx guys.

6:36 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#15 Kenny

Can the reviewer please tell me if ft3 picture and video quality is better than ft1?

12:38 pm - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#16 Jimmy

My FT2 leaked on the first outing and we have been unable to dry it out since. Panasonic tested it under warranty and found no fault so sent it back unchanged. All photos now foggy. The image quality doesn’t really matter then. I would recommend buying something else if you want an underwater camera.

10:34 am - Monday, October 24, 2011

#17 dan

My FT2 is also drowned. And there was no water in battery/memory card space. Panasonic service expression: It leaked through the seals (they were dry as i checked..) and is my fault - i wroted them it was clearly visible from the pictures they send me that it leaked from the the other side - where the lens is… - they didnt care about it. I dont think that the camera can be used in water without a UW case (which is expensive solution when i see the price of the camera ....)

(sorry for my english)

9:47 pm - Wednesday, October 26, 2011

#18 dan

Mine FT2 started fogging after snorkeling trip and after that i checked the battery, memory card and the other interfaces seal and it was dry inside. Then the camera stopped working. Authorized panasonic service said that the camera leaked through the seals (wtf?? they were dry!!!) and its my fault. Now i have broken overprized camera which i cannot use. Thank you Panasonic for your great services and for your “waterproof” camera! :-(

10:48 pm - Wednesday, October 26, 2011

#19 Antonio GM

Good review, but innacurate. I have an FT1 that I bought used. Working very well. I bought an FT2, and returned it 10 days later, because condensation started showing on the lens. And finally, I lost my mind and bought an FT3. Great image and very good features, but they a total hoax.
This FT3, simply stopped working after condensation showed on the lens. And to my total surprise, Panasonic states the camera water resistance is intact, but the inside is completely corroded by humidity. So, they say that there is no repair, and it’s not covered by the warranty.

My suggestion to the reviewer: submit the camera to some hard work and temperature variations. Maybe, within a month of heavy usage, you will have a different opinion

10:31 pm - Wednesday, November 9, 2011

#20 Rob

I have an FT3 and have been happy with the quality of pictures and even movies. Most recently, the movies taken do not seem to be “recognized” by our iMac for downloading (they have previously been recognized and downloaded). So they now remain on the memory card.
Can anyone help figure out why this is the case and how I might download these movies? The memory card is not locked and even inserting the card directly into the computer does not seem to register the presence of the movies. Thanks!

3:06 am - Monday, November 28, 2011

#21 Cam

Well ive broken mine after using it for only two months. I dropped it from about my waist and now the glass that protects the lens is shattered.
Why cant these things be made tougher? absolute joke
Dont waste your money peepes!

6:16 am - Friday, December 9, 2011

#22 tonygordon007

Just Flooded my New LUMIX FT3 in the SPA, door closed, at surface level and silicone case on the camera !!!! ??? WTF ?.. Im a scuba diver with 20 years diving and handling housings, and 25 years of Professional Photography…so I’m a BIT SAD that the LUMIX FT3 (my birthday present) died so early in its life. (I’m a NIKON Man at Heart with 4 Nikon SLR’s)
I think the problem was taking the camera from a Hot to Cold situation thereby creating a vacum that the seal coulnot handle ?? Anyone got any better explanations…as this had really destroyed my confidence in the LUMIX FT3 !!!

6:45 am - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#23 dan

Another leaked one?! It seems that FT3 is the same leaky cr..p as FT2 (and FT1). I bought Plasma TV from Panasonic and this FT2 - as I can say: I will NEVER buy a thing from this company. When my TV stops working - they will say “Its your fault because you watched the TV too much!!” :-)

11:48 am - Monday, January 23, 2012

#24 Hp208

My FT1 lasted me 2 years,bwhich included several underwater trips and snowy conditions (nights out dropping it and scratches too!). Recent holiday it appeared to let water through the battery seal and i thought it had died forever. but i dried it out in the sun for a few hours and it seemed to work - mostly. Covered by a purchases extended warrantee so got the to check it out (by the time I sent it off it actually worked fine!) and they’ve scrapped it! Written off and a credit note sent. Trouble is, they’ve given me less than the cost of the equivalent model - FT3. Grrrrr….. Is the ft3 even that much better?!

11:35 pm - Monday, February 20, 2012

#25 tony

the ft3 picture is a bit noisy in poor light..when I turned the flash on in standard mode it tended to bee too hot..so I ended up running three flash and kidding the exposure ...my daughter drowned mine However…panasonic repaired it FOC…so all good…the ft3 is prone to leaking even with the ssilicone cover…up MUST check tube eel meticulously…EACH TIME up open the door….and keer tg hey camera in a case AWAY from any lint etc….as the smallest amount of lint can cause a leak….extreme care BEFORE immersing…and it should been fine….the BEST things I have found about lumix is the motion picture quality..I shoot on Sony F800…cine alta and recently integrated.shots from a lumix into my project…..true story not one could tell the difference….

5:43 am - Saturday, March 3, 2012

#26 Owen

I have had two of the earlier models and found temp changes were the main problem, out on a kayak on a sunny day and then trying to film in cold water,  I would end up with condensation blurring photos.

I lost the last model thru accedently leaving it soaking in fresh water overnight, I suspect the overnight cold caused a vacume and sucked water in.

9:19 am - Wednesday, March 14, 2012

#27 Radu Benea

How is it possible to remove the date stamp from the videos?
Evey where in settings the stamps are OFF but on my videos I can see date and time.
So far, this is the only bad thing

2:59 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#28 david mccormick

Ft3 worked for a year and 3 months and then disaster, its flooded! no drops, bangs or careless use??? what is the best course of action re Panasonic and their flakey attitude to warranty issues?

4:30 pm - Thursday, August 30, 2012

#29 Dan

Great camera. Used in every condition, wouldnt recommend using under the water for long periods of time as the seal is absolute shit. works well for awhile but eventually it will give up and leak. when using it underwater i duck a piece of plastic bag over the battery cover. works a treat!

7:37 am - Sunday, December 23, 2012

#30 Aleksandra

We used FT3 in many various condition- we took it to Egypt (salt warm water) and also to Austrian glaciers (-34 degrees of Celsius). It works wells after 2 years. The only thing is that after using the camera under water there is strange noise- first it started only underwater and then even with “dry” recordings. A sound like “blip blip blip blip” sometimes and it is not water, coz the camera has been perfectly dried and we havent used it under water for half year or so. We needed such a cam coz we were fed up with treating other cameras like eggs. Be careful water, be careful sand etc. This camera is a working camera for tough conditions and you can forget about being careful with it. You can throw it, swim with it, do whatever you want.

6:19 pm - Thursday, January 24, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 1080p, 12 megapixel, 2.7 inch LCD, lumix, panasonic, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, 4.6x zoom, ft3, dmc-ft3, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT3 Review, dmc ft3

Tracker Pixel for Entry