Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX550 Review

4.0
June 19, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 UK Deals

Panasonic Lumix cameras are available in the Japanese market. They are available in different colors with new features. Like Panasonic Cameras, Voucherfrenzy.co.uk also deals with varieties of branded cameras like LG, Pentax and Panasonic etc… You have to just click here: http://www.voucherfrenzy.co.uk to get the branded cameras at affordable prices.

6:40 pm - Saturday, June 20, 2009

#2 Jos

As a owner of a Panasonic FX500 and a Panasonic G1 I find it a pity they removed the ‘joystick’ (FX500) in favor of the five buttons control (G1).
One relative large joystick is far better than five tiny buttons.
Besides, the inscriptions on those little buttons got wiped off after a few months (as om my G1).

1:55 pm - Sunday, June 21, 2009

#3 Martin

Well I hope it’s as good as the review would indicate, I’ve just sold my Lumix TZ5 and ordered one of these to replace it. I missed having the manual controls on the TZ5.

8:40 pm - Sunday, June 21, 2009

#4 Chas Gray

Gavin:

I enjoyed this review. You have made it clear, without using a hammer to do so, that this camera has so-so image quality. The portrait of the lady, taken at perfectly reasonable settings, illustrates the poor performance of this camera. Almost any point and shoot would have taken a better picture, given the settings you used.  I believe I’d look at some of the competition before I’d buy this one.

3:23 pm - Monday, June 22, 2009

#5 Glenn Fernandes

Thanks for the useful information. This camera has attractive features and decent design. It is available in 2 colors silver and black. I found both the colors smart.

10:27 am - Monday, June 29, 2009

#6 João Santos

I am using the fx550 which i bought in pixmania.com and it takes better pics than the casio one. My wife owns the casio,which is a very nice camera, but i find the panasonic better. And it was a bargain:€261…

8:30 pm - Wednesday, July 8, 2009

#7 Arthur Weeks

PB review claims one cannot adjust sharpness:

Unfortunately you can’t change the in-camera sharpening level.

However, Panasonic’s FX550 manual says:

Picture Adjustment   Contrast ±2steps / Sharpness ±2steps / Saturation ±2steps / Noise Reduction ±2steps

Why this discrepancy between PB review and camera manual?

4:41 pm - Friday, August 14, 2009

#8 Rob Brady

I have used the FX550 and the FX500. They have many good features but no matter how much you try changing the settings, the picture quality is always poor. It does not inspire confidence because so many of the shots are so-so.
I have been taking photos for over 30 years and I would honestly say that these two camera’s are very poor considering the price and the competition. Don’t risk it. Avoid the FX range.

12:24 pm - Tuesday, September 1, 2009

#9 ontheweb

Hmmm.  You can tell a lot of comments here are posted by those who have never touched the FX500/550/580.

I’ve achieved top 10 photos at dpreview.com in the contests with an FX500.  The photos aren’t perfect, none are.  They are very decent, and it’s quite a versatile camera to have in your pocket.  One of the smallest with manual controls.

Photos are a little soft at full zoom, most compacts are.

Stop pixel-peeping and look at the photo results instead.  I have made beautiful calendars with 8x11 prints and had to re-order several times because people wanted copies of the calendars and ‘where did I get those beautiful pictures?’(FX500)

2:51 am - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 12 megapixel, 5x zoom, touch-screen, panasonic, fx550, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX550

Tracker Pixel for Entry