Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX70 Review

4.0
August 18, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ivan

What do you think? Will the FX700 take better pictures than this one?

5:37 am - Thursday, August 19, 2010

#2 Gabi

Nect rival would also be the Samsung WB2000 (TL350).

10:59 am - Thursday, August 19, 2010

#3 Rich

Hi- Your review says the FX70/75 has a MOS sensor (“The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX70 produced images of good quality during the review period. The 1/2.33 inch, 14 megapixel MOS sensor used in the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX70).  If I’m not mistaken, the FX75 has a CCD sensor, while the forthcoming FX700 has the MOS sensor.  As near as I can tell, the two cams seem to be nearly identical but for the sensor difference, so I will be very interested to see how they compare, IQ wise…

8:22 pm - Thursday, August 19, 2010

#4 liquidboy

FX700 create better photos, but the price much bigger! And very interesting their comparison with Samsung WB2000!

1:12 pm - Thursday, September 16, 2010

#5 timmuggs

I like the close macro capability, and true colors.

The touchscreen is much dimmer than on earlier DMC-FX models with no touchscreen. I’d be happier without it.

Also, if I’m carrying the camera in my hand & walking around, as I often do, I accidentally touch something and it starts taking fotos. These mysteriously appear as I review fotos I’ve taken. At 1st I suspected that the CIA was tracing my movements or something. But no, I’m not that important.

Regardless, I’ve gotten several fotos that I now call Unintended Self Portraits, of USP’s. SOme are hilarious, one is a wonderful abstract shot of bluejeans and cobblestones.

1:42 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#6 Toph

Of course you can easily turn off the touch screen shutter function and use the button exclusively.  The touch screen works well, but I’m not convinced that it’s a must have. It is tough to see the screen in bright light conditions.  The FX75’s wide, bright lens is great and makes for very good picture quality for a point and shoot. The price of this camera is reasonable considering it has no competitors with similar features at this time.

8:55 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#7 timmuggs

Thanks for the comment on the touch screen. You have caused me to go to the manual to see how to shut off the touch screen shutter, and now I know what the problem is. But I’m not sure it helps…

I take a lot of fotos when ‘walking around’. When I do this, I am often carrying the camera in my right hand, with the camera turned on—almost always in Normal Picture mode. I have never knowingly enabled the touch screen shutter mode—the icon is on the touch screen at the lower left corner.

I’m pretty sure, now, that I am accidentally touching the icon that enables the touch screen shutter. My thumb would be in the neighborhood of this icon. And then if my thumb, or even my leg, touches the screen, it would take a foto.

I’ve gotten a couple of interesting fotos that way, just yesterday I got one of my right haunch with my jeans pocket perfectly exposed, a street behind it. My wife is not enchanted, however.

Oh well, at least I now know how it happens. Thanks for the advice.

1:17 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#8 timmuggs

Sorry, I meant to say that the touch shutter icon is at the lower right corner, where my thumb would be resting.

1:20 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#9 Toph

I confess Tim that I have experienced the touch screen shutter mode activated accidently as well.  That it is so easily enabled is a design flaw.  I don’t have the camera with me now but I think there is a way of disabling that icon in other menus than just hitting the icon on the screen.

3:02 pm - Friday, October 8, 2010

#10 Pic

#4 With the same sensor and an identical lens, how does the FX700 produce better photos than the FX75?

11:03 pm - Wednesday, October 13, 2010

#11 ed

I waited a couple years for this camera to come out, because I’ve loved the Lumix series from the get-go. For the FX70/75 specifically, I like the idea of having such a wide, bright lens (Leica, no less) even though I think they should include more manual features in their ultra-compacts.

It’s a small camera, sturdy build, and the “modes” are nice and varied, so that offsets the lack of any manual control a bit. It takes darn good “flash” pictures (for weddings, parties, etc), with a good color/flash/exposure balance.

The image quality is very, very good. As long as your under IS0-800, you’re going to get a low-noise, crisp image with low noise. However, the “built-in” sharpening tends to look a bit wonky on small details like leaves, or other natural elements. But with more “man made” details (architecture, bricks, cars) that algorithm actually helps the image. So, it’s a bit of a mixed bag. In fact, I almost wish they had an option to turn this “feature” off, allowing the user to apply their own sharpening in post via Lightroom or Aperture.

The touch screen is a welcome feature (even if you don’t use it to “take” pictures”), and the visibility of the LCD in daylight really isn’t that big of a deal.

That said, this camera has major “highlight” and “shadow” problems when shooting in the “normal picture” mode. If you’re just outside, on a sunny day, shooting pics, you are GOING to have a ton of snaps that are either blown-out, or gravely under-exposed. And, more often than not, you’ll have BOTH in one picture. Literally white-white highlights AND black-black shadows. It’s really, really sad, actually.

Yes: ALL cameras have their pluses and minuses. But this little camera has SO much going for it that these very BASIC exposure issues really knock it down. Frankly, this is an issue that feels very “2001” in terms of technical performance. It has all these wonderfully modern bells and whistles, but when you check out your pictures of that family picnic you find yourself shaking your head and asking “‚Ķreally?”.

It’s almost as if they paid so much attention to the glitter, that they forgot the basics: ie., taking a decent picture.

They could’ve even included HDR or a RAW option so at least you’d have some room to play. But, sadly, no. You’re stuck with a badly exposed JPG.

Unfortunately, I don’t know if something like a “firmware upgrade” can fix this problem. But I certainly hope so. Because if they can find a way to fix this problem, they’ll have the best camera in this class on the market. If not, I’ll probably have to try and sell this, and get another snapper. Which sucks.

4:21 pm - Saturday, October 30, 2010

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 720p, hdmi, beginner, 14 megapixel, 5x zoom, touch-screen, lumix, touchscreen, touch screen, panasonic, AVCHD, fx70, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX70 Review, dmc fx70, dmc-fx70

Tracker Pixel for Entry