Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ62 Review

4.0
September 5, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

17 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Crix Madine

MOS sensor, shooting No-RAW and no tilt-flip-vary-angle LCD monitor…
It just like a thing from the past, but with a competitive price.

4:56 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#2 pat

I had an FZ-18 that I bought specifically because it had RAW and a large zoom; for $400 I would expect a little more than a big zoom and software features.  Oh well, I’ve moved on from bridge cameras anyway, which is where people who had the FZ-48 are going to be going after seeing this new model.

4:57 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#3 Mike

Tired of lugging around a DSLR twin lens kit, changing lenses with the inevitable dust on sensor issue I bought the FZ48 & was very happy with it & still have it. A short while ago I bought the FZ62. I was wary of the upgrade to 16mp but my concerns have been unfounded. The FZ62 is a definite step up from the FZ48 in features & lower light performance. The lack of a flash mount & RAW ability is of no concern to me. There is one error in the review however! The FZ62 unlike the FZ48 does NOT come with a lens hood but this can be bought separately from Panasonic’s UK-Eire website at the extortionate price of £24.16 inc p&p! Here’s the link.
https://www.pas-europe.com/#

7:44 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#4 Hellrider

2008 = FZ28 = Image Quality 4.5
2009 = FZ38 = Image Quality 4.5
2011 = FZ48 = Image Quality 4.0
2012 = FZ62 = Image Quality 4.0
2013 = FZ78 = Image Quality 3.5???

Where the hell does that leave the technical development at Panasonic?

For me, if i look on the sample images, is the image quality absolutely unacceptable for a Cam in this Class and with this features.

7:51 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#5 Mike

With the FZ62 I have never experienced purple fringing/chromatic aberrations even in high contrast situations, I can only speak as I find. Blown up to A3 size, no problems so far. I do not know of any DSLR that in certain situations will not produce chromatic aberrations of some kind, that is the nature of digital photography, in most cases software will remove it. If you have not tried the camera you are really not qualified to comment on it. Is it without fault, no. Is it as good as a DSLR, of course not but it comes close enough for me after a lifetime of DSLR use.

11:05 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#6 zebarnabe

Reviews over this camera regard it as having great image quality, with a very good high ISO behavior (no yellow blotches, acceptable noise levels).

The down sides are mostly the disappointing burst shooting (that’s a very small buffer, making it almost useless), no RAW (this is an easy to implement feature that has no reason to be absent), limited zoom range (when compared with the rivals, but should suffice on 95% of situations) and the non-articulated LCD. The lack of a flash hot-shoe might put some aside as well.

It is one of the lowest cost, best value bridge cameras on the market, but it has cons and pros that are to be taken in account when picking a camera.

3:23 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#7 Joeyds

Enhanced burst mode… plus live nos ssensor.. plus enhanced flash.. more mp to 16 megapixels..

Less shutter speed limited tp 4 second when in fz48 u had 60 second..
Price:

Fz47. $240.00 new
Fz60. $389.00 new.

150$ diference i preffer fz47..
I would liked that this fz47 have the constant aperture like the fz200.

Panasonix must to release other firmware of fz47 to enhance the features of this camera

7:41 am - Friday, September 7, 2012

#8 Crix Madine

I’ve tried FZ200, but I already have FZ150. Man, both damn good pal for my travel. Is it worthy to exchange between that two? I don’t know. But for now, I keep my FZ150. Believe me, you won’t take a blink on it or any glimpse to other model or brand. Lovely.

8:39 pm - Saturday, September 8, 2012

#9 sammy

I agree with Joeyds, The FZ 47 should have a firmware upgrade available by pani.  There are minor things that should be corrected.

My eyes are pretty good and judging by the samples i’m not seeing better IQ than the FZ 47.

Are manufacturers getting too lazy to add a model # to their cameras nowadays?

10:33 pm - Saturday, September 8, 2012

#10 Lago

I own this camera & after a nightmare trying to get the printable manual (see below) the jury is still out. I bought it from Amazon & got no manual on the DVD as some suggest?
I agree with the reviewer/writer it has excellent features, too many without a manual to hand, also too many menus.
Without actually looking at the rear buttons before shooting it is easy to hit the wrong one/button during use, especially the AF/AF closeup/MF button, sometimes I manage to touch one by mistake in use & I don’t have an enormous thumb! The red movie button on the top seems eratic both beginning & stopping a movie, sometimes does not work for me so I prefer to use the main dial for movie mode, also the on/off lever feels as if 1 day it will snap!
Since writing the above I have definitely found the buttons on the back a problem, touching them without trying, & the design of the body with a space for your thumb…......you need deformed hands to use it, that’s probably why I touch the buttons accidentally, the auto focus does not focus on the object always, sometimes on something in front of it to the side instead, I’ve tried changing the focus modes to no avail.
OTHER GRIPES…............NO MOVABLE SCREEN, also the lens cover…...........problems getting off & on!
The zoom lens works well in low light, & now have made good movies & shot reasonable photos in Auto mode. The stills are OK but I expected more, especially using the Zoom the camera does not auto-focus well in my opinion. Another big gripe as has been stated in all reviews is the lack of any extended time mode. I used to like shooting the night sky, also movement of speed shots, not possible at all.
I have owned 2 Olympus cameras previously & both were better thought out body-wise, also allowed night shots etc.
I did think about sending it back but shall continue in my quest for excellence because what else is available?
So to sum up….......
GOOD
Value for money & features compared with competitors, I spent days researching them all.
Has a viewfinder.
Some/most photos are good.
Movies.
Battery life.
BAD
Stills focusing. On one menu option it has various so-called focus points outlined together, who wants that, I just want to focus on the main object?
If I could I would post examples but not sure you can with comments?
No extended exposure.
Instructions.
UGLY
Body design & button placement.
Panasonic website/sites, although they do respond quickly.

THIS WAS MY 1ST COMMENT! Panasonic have changed their website since!?
I received the camera OK but there is no manual.
I went to Panasonic.eu, downloaded the manual, printed it…..........over 200 pages only to find the downloaded FZ62 manual had different functions to the actual camera received. So I went back to Panasonic, registered it as OTHER because there is not a FZ62 showing then looked for another manual. I found a manual with the FZ62 I had but it also has the FZ200 which means spending ages separating the pages because they are not separate but mixed together.
I decided to complain to Panasonic….........on the form for contacting Panasonic Customer Services.eu they only have USA States so I had to choose WYOMING to get it sent!
The manual problem is scandelous, BE WARNED IN ADVANCE you only receive a very basic paper instruction leaflet included with the camera.

1:32 pm - Friday, October 19, 2012

#11 Ben Schnessel

Still looking in thesettings menu for the format option.  Does it exist. How do i format the stick without a computer?

9:38 pm - Thursday, January 3, 2013

#12 Mike

Ben. Withe camera in Program mode (P on the dial) press the menu button. Go down to the spanner portion, now step through the menu until you find Format, now press the right cursor button & it will give you two options, Format Yes or No, scroll to yes & press the menu button. Job done. One question, if you don’t have a computer how are you going to download pictures?

12:30 pm - Friday, January 4, 2013

#13 T

Is the one point colour the same as selective colour in a nikon camera

11:44 am - Tuesday, September 10, 2013

#14 Mike

T. To answer your question. Yes, the one point colour is the same as selective colour on the Nikon.

1:19 pm - Tuesday, September 10, 2013

#15 Kerry

My daughters started photography at college and i have bought her this camera to start off with., is this good enough as a starter camera .many thanks.

2:15 pm - Friday, November 15, 2013

#16 lago

After my last comments I’ve sent it back & received a refund after about 14 months of light use because.
1. The lens sometimes did not return to start when switching off, I eventually found it required another restart/shutdown before returning.
2. Other times it returned but not fully, be careful.

I returned it to Amazon after contacting Panasonic who wanted me to pay the postages, Amazon refunded the camera cost then postage later.

To be frank I’ve gone back to using an old Olympus that has been reliable for 8 years. Now thinking about what next, Canon SX50 maybe when they lower the price!

4:39 pm - Friday, November 15, 2013

#17 Monique

Happy as I was the first few months… it has let me down.
First, the SD card got stuck (good quality card delivered with the camera) Problem solved bij my technician.
Now, the zoom button has given up. Well, i am a careful person, always keeping the camera in its bag. Out of reach of children etc. But I haden’t expect this. It has to go back to the factory is what the shopkeeper said.

10:44 am - Friday, May 9, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, review, 16 megapixel, video, movie, super-zoom, 1920x1080, 1080i, 10fps, super zoom, wideangle, ultra-zoom, mega-zoom, Panasonic, Lumix, 24x, dmc fz62, fz62, DMC-FZ60, DMC-FZ62, dmc fz60, fz60

Tracker Pixel for Entry