Panasonic Lumix DMC-G10 Review

4.0
April 20, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

39 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Guest

You should correct the first paragraph:

“The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G10 is officially the world’s lightest system camera with an _optical_ viewfinder, (...). This new Micro Four Thirds camera boasts (...) an _electronic_ viewfinder.”

It does not have an optical, but an electronic viewfinder.

2:45 pm - Tuesday, April 20, 2010

#2 Frank Stanton

Nice review. Kind of makes me wish I had kept my G1. I found the the movable LCD screen to be indispensible and I think the older lenses (14-45 mm & 45-200 mm) sound better built with their metal mounts. The only thing odd about the G1 was periodically I would see jaggies prominantly displayed in pictures which had hard edges such as the structure of bridges. I never understood what that was about. Hopefully, the G2 does not have any jaggies in its pictures. I guess the movie mode would make the G2 more marketable, but when I had the G1 I tended to use it more than my Nikon D90 because the weight was radically different when one carried it around for many hours. Can’t wait till Panasonic puts out good low light lenses.

7:24 pm - Tuesday, April 20, 2010

#3 oluv

are any of the full-size samples taken with “intelligent resolution” mode?
i would like to see the difference between “off” and “high” in a full-size sample. the crops shown are a bit small to judge on the overall effect.

thanks, o.

10:32 am - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#4 Davidikus

This new camera looks good. I am not sure how much improvement it really is on the G1 for the daily work of a photographer. I bought the G1 because I was looking for a light camera to take on holidays and trips (the Canon 5D I used for commissioned work is too bulky and heavy. Add a lens or two and it is even difficult to put in a hand luggage with the laptop.) I have to say that I am not disappointed. I have used the G1 for nearly all the pictures that appear on my visual diary (http://davidikus.blogspot.com). The improvement I really need, though, is that the optical stabilisation is in the body of the camera rather than on the lens. This would allow me to use my heritage lenses (of which I am quite fond) even when the light is rather low). I was tempted by an Olympus but I think a viewfinder (even electronic) is essential when taking pictures in bright weather!

Thanks for the review. I shall still inspect both beasts when they hit UK shops!

12:13 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#5 Mike Murphy

Isn’t the Olympus E600/E620 a better rival than the EP1?

3:03 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#6 Boris Moscow

I just wonder if the firmware used was the final version or not?
Thank you.

3:35 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#7 mremulator

The chap in the Silver Vauxhall Astra on Tower Bridge gave you the finger!

9:09 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#8 Victoria Reed

Thanks for the review, very helpful!

8:10 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#9 Guest

Thanks for the review!  The RAW samples were very helpful!

Can you elaborate more on the lower pixel count EVF?  How much usability does it have compared to the G1 and GF-1?

6:41 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#10 Judith

HI

I am looking at buying the DMC G10 I was wondering if there is any way of attaching an old fish-eye 0.42x screw mount lens to this camera? Thanks for your advice

5:07 am - Friday, September 10, 2010

#11 Mike B

Given this can now be obtained in the UK for £335 and Panasonic are giving away Photoshop Elements 9 & Premier Elements 9 for free by mail-in it is a real bargain!

Why compromise with the likes of an Olympus PEN when you can have this?

9:38 pm - Sunday, October 10, 2010

#12 AJAY AGNIHOTRI

i am just point and shoot type, wanna buy a new camera. it may sound foolish, but why does no one talking about zoom here. or DSLRs do not have zoom

7:49 pm - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#13 Mike B

@ Ajay

D-SLR cameras can be fitted with any sort of lens, fixed or zoom.

The G10 comes with a 14-42mm zoom in the standard kit. I suspect if you are just a point and shoot person you would be better off with a super-zoom bridge camera such as the panasonic FZ45 or FZ100.

4:59 pm - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#14 JUST ME

IF YOU DONT HAVE THIS CAMERA WHY YOU COMMENT ON IT? OF ALL YOU DONT OWN THIS CAMERA
THIS DOES NOT HELP

10:52 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#15 Michael Cawood

I bought this G10 to complement a Fujifilm Finepix S200EXR which is a nice camera but it’s a large and heavy monster. This is the first digital camera I’ve had with interchangeable lenses. It produces super pictures even into the sun and it’s a nice light & compact package and I’m learning the complex menu settings. I’m sure this camera will serve me well.

6:46 pm - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#16 Roberto

Panasonic has purposely made the new G system affordable to the mainstream.  I own the G10 and over all find it an excellent camera.  The G series is the future of photography.

4:44 am - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#17 Michael Cawood

The more I use the G10 the more I like it. I’ve even bought the optional telephoto zoom lens for it (45-200mm). I like having an electronic viewfinder so I can see all the exposure information in it which you cannot get with an optical viewfinder, also with this camera there is no mirror going up & down when taking pictures, which I had in my 35mm SLR days.

2:27 pm - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#18 Bron

I own the DMC-G10 with a 14-42 lense and 45-200 lense - could someone please tell me what settings I am to use when trying to take photos of lightning streaks ?

10:38 am - Saturday, December 18, 2010

#19 Mike B

Adding the 20mm f1.7 lens to this gives a good alternative to the GF1 for those who like the EVF (such as those who wear glasses).

5:45 pm - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#20 bmartini

I have been reading the reviews for hours and hours.  I decided on the g10 as my first DSLR, graduating from a basic point and shoot that I managed to pull miracles out of.  I bought the camera for one purpose and that is to photograph beautiful (still) cars in the middle of the day with plenty of light. 

Can anyone save me the trouble and tell me all of the settings I should change so when I take this out of the box I can get straight to work?  I would like the paint to look crisp, deep, rich and bright.  When I shoot the interiors, I move the car out of direct sunlight so there are no shadows.  What would the settings be for the interior?

Thanks in advance.  I will post my feedback on the camera in a couple days.

10:10 pm - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#21 Terry Mingay

I am currently looking at getting a new camera and am overwhelmed at the amount of info out there. Owning a small newspaper business I am needing good quality pictures and have been disappointing in my current point and shoot camera. How user friendly in the G10? and which lend would you recommend for a decent zoom?

9:57 am - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#22 Michael Cawood

The G10 has an excellent point-and-shoot mode, no problems there.
The camera comes with a 14-40mm zoom lens (28-80 in 35mm terms) and I have also bought the 45-200 zoom lens.

12:24 pm - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#23 Terry Mingay

Thank you - I have also been looking at the Samsung NX10 - Do you have any advice/preference??

12:42 pm - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#24 Michael Cawood

I do not know anything about the Samsung NX10, sorry.

1:59 pm - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#25 Lynx

I like this camera a lot. But its in the same price range as the Pentax Kx, and thats a problem.
I found the G10 for 400€ with sdhc card and carrying bag and a Pentax Kx with sdhc card and carrying bag for 469€.

Panasonic lenses are pretty expensive and there are no other lenses that can give me the type of performance I would get from the KX with other lenses that are not too expensive, from Tamron or Sigma for example.

There is the possobility to put an adapter ring on the G10 and put Canon Lenses on it. But you must remember the 2x crop factor.

Kx can run on inexpensive rechargable AA batteries while the g10’s are not very cheap.
What do you think?

3:28 pm - Monday, January 24, 2011

#26 Bee Jay

I’m upgrading from my current compact camera and have chosen to go for a compact system camera. I’m between Panasonic’s G10, Olympus Pen PL1 & Sony’s NEX-3. The NEX-3 is great at high ISO, but seems to give soft imiages across its whole range. It seems to be a close one between the G10 & PL1, but has anyone found any hidden problems with either?

11:40 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#27 Michael Cawood

Batteries.
The battery for the G10 is a custom made lithium ion battery like most other higher range cameras and are expensive although you can buy cheaper copies off Ebay, but the batteries do give along life between charges and it’s much easier to change 1 battery “in the field” than struggling with and possibly dropping 4 x AA cells.

2:18 pm - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#28 Mike B

@ Lynx - If you add in the price of a Li-Ion battery it makes the Kx look rather more expensive. Also the Panasonic lens are smaller (more compact) and lighter than the same sort of lens on the Kx.

@Bee Jay - Given the overall size of the three cameras, given the same sort of lens is fitted, is very similar you may as well go for the G10 as it is the only one with a viewfinder! Invaluable in bright light and to those who wear glasses, also promotes stable pictures due to the better position you hold the camera when using a viewfinder.

The only other option, if you need compact size, is to go for a Olympus ZX-1 or similar and put up with more noise as the ISO goes up.

3:39 pm - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#29 Michael Cawood

I always want a camera with an EVF, one of the reasons I bought the G10. I find that the LCD back screen can be useless in bright sunlight. And I never want a camera with a mirror that clunks up and down, I had enough of that in the 35mm days.

7:28 pm - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#30 Mike B

I should point out that there is still a noise when taking a picture due to the shutter curtain moving and it is quite pronounced in the G10. It sounds much quieter in the GH1 I also have. But in both cases is probably quieter than the slap you get when the mirror flips up in normal D-SLRs.

9:16 am - Thursday, February 17, 2011

#31 Bee Jay

Thanks Mike & Michael.

I think that’s settled it in favour of the G10. I have also looked at Canon’s entry level D-SLRs, as they have similar dimentions, although they’re heavier. Is there any real advantages with these anymore now we have compact system cameras?

11:30 am - Thursday, February 17, 2011

#32 Lynx

Bee Jay

Dslrs still have the image sensor advantage because their sensors in most cases are bigger, so they still have better image quality than micro 4/3 cameras.

Lenses for Micro 4/3 cameras are still very expensive.

Picture quality is better in cameras like the Pentax kx or the canon eos 1000d(and the new eos 1100d).

The 14-140mm lens for the G10 is very expensive.
I’ve seen it for about 700-800€ thats twice the price of a G10 with its 14-42 kit lens. Other lens manufactorers still do not have available decent lenses at a decent price for these cameras.

These are the only problems I see with this camera on the other hand I like it, it has a bunch of options other cameras do not have.

5:24 pm - Thursday, February 17, 2011

#33 Bee Jay

Lynx

I agree, the cost of a good zoom lens that fits the G10 is high compared to the price of the camera.

The 45-200mm telephoto seems a far better deal at around £220. The prices will probably come down in the next few months as the competition becomes tighter.

12:31 pm - Friday, February 18, 2011

#34 Javierfx

This camera is awesome! i need a guide for beguiners coz the manual is useless.

6:07 am - Monday, March 7, 2011

#35 Squarer

I purchased the Panasonic Lumix DMC G10 a couple of weeks ago, and now when I have tried connecting it directly to my MAC, nothing happens.

I attach the normal USB cable - which on my previous worked just fine - then switch the camera on and select Pct Bridge PTP. Then an ‘ACCESS’ symbol comes up, bt nothing happens.

Can anyone help? I feel exasperated!

9:53 pm - Wednesday, March 9, 2011

#36 tina

Hi, I just bought this camera It is my first what Is the zoom like on it? I wanted one that I could use to video concerts that I go to

1:53 pm - Sunday, March 13, 2011

#37 tel

I recently bought a panasonic G10 (believe it or not - for video footage on a budget).  I wanted to achieve a shallow depth of field and play with the manual focus in certain shots - something i couldn’t do with my Go Pro or a camcorder. 

Anyway, the motion jpeg format takes up a lot of space but incredibly easy to edit.  I usually compress it before importing to my movie editor on my mac.  I am totally amazed at the quality of some of the shots although it takes a little longer to compose these shots than on a camcorder.  The menu system is easy to operate and me being somewhat of a basic point and shoot photographer, I have been really impressed with some of the images, colour reproduction, etc.. basically this camera makes me look like a much better photographer than I am! The Intelligent Auto function is excellent and when you just want to point and shoot without worrying about all of the other various settings.  It is also super to have the control when you want it - perfect for an introduction into the world of interchangeable lenses and iso, aperture, shutter speed controls, etc. 

The pre selected programmes (such as portrait/landscape/etc) are quick and easy to navigate, as is changing shutter and aperture settings.  Whilst I wouldn’t call it intuitive it definitely is fairly easy to navigate menu system. 

Generally speaking, I am super pleased with the camera although I really hope some of the lenses come down in price soon.  I forgot to mention the video mode shoots maximum 720p resolution - no drawback for me but some may prefer 1080.  If you are sharing via Vimeo/Youtube then i think 720 is the best and easier for many to download and watch.

1:19 am - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#38 Tel

Hi Tina,

Zoom is useable with the 14-42mm lens, however you can turn on optical zoom and then on top of that you can add digital zoom settings.

From my experience, optical zoom is great - forget digital zoom unless you have a tripod.  If IA (inteligent Auto) is switched on when you are filming you will not be given the option to use optical or digital zoom… so switch IA off.  The Auto Focus works well and is pretty speedy at focusing. 

I read on a forum somewhere that you couldn’t use manual focus and that the AFS/AFC/MF dial was redundant in movie mode.  This is not true - you can use manual focus on video mode too.

1:25 am - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#39 Michael Cawood

I have had this camera for over a year now and it really does take great pictures. I had looked at also buying a super zoom camera such as the Panasonic FZ100 or FZ150 but - and this is a big but, the sensor size on those super zoom bridge cameras is a tiny amount greater than HALF the size of the sensor in the G10. The camera has proved to be reliable in operation and handles very well.

4:20 pm - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, manual, lumix, micro four thirds, panasonic, EVF, dmc g10, dmc-g10, Panasonic Lumix DMC-G10 Review, g10

Tracker Pixel for Entry