Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 Review

4.5
July 8, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

22 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Katie

Found a great review of this on hd camera guide

3:36 pm - Thursday, July 8, 2010

#2 Hans Benndorf

Seems to be a competent camera, but not all that different from the G1. Well
it’s got HD movie( if One cares ) and a few touchscreen gimmicks. The G1
was ground breaking, the G2 an update of a very capable little camera.
I wish they would have stuck with the 14-45 kit lens.I feel tempted to switch
to the MFT system because Nikon does not seem to respond to that, not so
new anymore, mirror less small camera development. I am tired of waiting.

5:09 am - Friday, July 9, 2010

#3 kelsci

A friend of my brother just received his.  They both went to shoot pics in an area of S. Florida a few days ago.  I believe that his pics are stored on my brother’s computer. As soon as I get a chance I will look at them. I do not think there are any recorded videos from him but if they are there, I will look at them too and report back what I found

9:15 am - Friday, July 9, 2010

#4 zebarnabe

It would be great if GH1 sensor was there…. but is perhaps the GF1 sensor… since GF1 was hacked and grabbed 1080p at 30Mbps ... it’s quite likely that this camera (and G10) has a crippled firmware… just for marketing reasons…

That rant aside, looks like it’s a m43 camera quite fun to use with that touchscreen (but i would wait for GH2 or something)

4:22 pm - Friday, July 9, 2010

#5 Rob

Thanks for advising that the touch screen movable focus point can be turned off.  It’s soooo easy to put accidentally move it, I had almost given up looking for the menu where I can turn that feature off!

One personal comment on the auto white balance is that there’s room for improvement here. Indoor shots are best done in RAW, where as the Olys are better in this area.

Lastly the touch screen does make using manual focus lenses a fantastic experience. Touch screen to magnify the image, focus & then half press the shutter which returns the viewfinder/LCD image to “normal” mode and shoot.  The Oly has a awkward interface which is slow.

10:28 pm - Friday, July 9, 2010

#6 henrik

a rather descriptive review with little bite, i feel.

1:05 pm - Saturday, July 10, 2010

#7 kelsci

Last night I viewed some of the picture files from the G2 on my brothers computer. The pics looked sharp;not overly saturated with color but in fact more of a natural look. My brother will download those files onto a data disc so I can evaluate them on my computer and post them to my photoblog at blogspot.

3:09 pm - Saturday, July 10, 2010

#8 Steve Solomon

Greetings! Having come from a Fuji S100FS, I am currently testing the Lumix G2, and so far am VERY impressed with it’s IQ, especially sharpness, dynamic range and detail at ISOs below 800! In addition, the G2 is about half the size and weight of the Fuji S100FS, while using a much larger sensor. Thus, it makes a GREAT travel (and even studio) camera, especially with the awesome Panny 20mm f/1.7 pancake. About the only advantage the bridge cams may have over m4/3 would be zoom capacity.

7:08 pm - Tuesday, August 17, 2010

#9 John Davies

For 30 years I was a Canon A1 user, and that was my benchmark. As chemical photography is all but dead, I’ve now made the move to DSLR.  I’ve got a DMC-G2 and am still finding my way around it.

I’ve not yet got to grips with all the options available, but I nevertheless very pleased with the quality of the images and similar response when pressing the shutter to a conventional SLR.

Despite the large-ish 1259mAH battery, it didn’t last as long as thought it would when using the flash.  This maybe because I’ve not fully discharged and re-charged enough time yet, but I’ve now got a second DMW-BLB13E from FotoSense for £47.  (Thanks for the warning about the proprietary battery.)

I’m now checking out the DMW-FL360 TTL Flash (£160) as the inbuilt one does not have the best of light distribution - I was definitely spoilt by Canon’s terrific SpeedLites.

I now need to find some time to get out and photograph some action in the winter daylight - or maybe get the tripod out and shoot the stars!

12:45 am - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#10 JP

This looks like a real gem. I was looking for a replacement for my 6 year old CANON G6 but amongst all the new super zoom and bridge type cameras I could not find one which had good enough image quality and then I stumbled on this. I did not want an SLR because of the size, now I really want to see one of these !

2:36 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#11 Steve Solomon

JP, yes, the G2 is a “gem”...I’ve heard it called a “poor man’s Leica”. Please email me if you can’t access my site http://www.totalqualityphoto.com, where you’ll see sample jpegs. Keep in mind that as sharp as these images are, the RAW files are even better! Have fun!

3:38 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#12 Pete

Steve, you’re right that the bridge cams have had the zoom advantage, but does anyone know if the 100-300mm zoom is available yet in UK?  Are there any reviews?

10:19 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#13 Ted

I’ve had the G2 for about 5 months. I took it on a trip to Bosnia and Croatia in September. I have the included 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 lens and the optional 45-200mm f/4-5.6 lens. The whole kit (with gorilla, filters, cards, extra battery, charger, etc) fit well and comfortably in a Crumpler Five Million Dollar Home bag. I hauled the kit around 10+ hours a day for 2 weeks without feeling unduly burdened.

I am very glad I selected this solution over the Canon Rebel T2i. Juggling lenses wasn’t a problem and the small form factor made the “qwickie” shot opportunities more comfortable. I found using the LCD menu in conjunction with the EVF fast and simple. I don’t shoot with LCD viewfinding; the EVF was sharp and clear, although it does distort reality a bit when panning or swinging around. It settles in an instant, though.

I took plenty of wide architecture, portraits, zoomed-in action and evening/night shots. As long as I paid attention to my handy menu display settings, the shots were outstanding. I eschewed RAW in favor of the highest quality JPG as a convenience and I wasn’t sorry about the results.

I showed my photos at a photo enthusiast slideshow gathering to great praise - and I’m just an amateur. The G2 is a really great choice if you’re not ready for pro gear and want great affordable lenses that deliver sharp, clear shots. End of gushing. :0)

9:03 pm - Friday, December 10, 2010

#14 Steve Solomon

Ted,
Glad to hear your positive feedback on the G2! As for “Pro gear”, true, the G2 doesn’t have the weather-sealing, burst speed, or build quality of, say, a Nikon D3x, but IMHO, one CAN create “pro-level” quality images with the G2 and the array of high-quality optics available to it! Have fun!

9:19 pm - Friday, December 10, 2010

#15 Manoj V Mohan

Can anyone help me to take a good pic with this cam dmcg2

8:26 pm - Saturday, September 3, 2011

#16 Simon Brooks

I am currently using a very well used Canon 350D, and am looking to upgrade to something with better quality and afew current sophisticated gadgets, but not on the budget of high or even medium range DSLR.

I am finding it hard to break away from my DSLR as I’ve had it for over 7 years now and know it inside out and back to front. And am still pleased with the results ( even if the quality is dwarfed now)
I now have the money to invest in an upgrade and am very interested in the G2. After spending over an hour reading your review from front to back i am fairly certain this is the one for me.

I was Just wondering if anyone else had taken a step away from the luxuries of a DSLR to a compact system with a poke and are pleased and satisfied with the result and not regretted it.
your views and advice would be most appreciated,
Thanks Simon

11:42 pm - Monday, October 10, 2011

#17 zebarnabe

Simon Brooks,
I went from a Nikon SLR (F401x) to a mirrorless digital camera (GH1).

Bare in mind that G2 is not a compact camera in the sense of category (see Canon’s S95 or SX230 HS for compact category segment), however it is indeed physically compact for a interchangeable lens camera.

I have rather big hands so, for me GH1 was just fine, a bit smaller and it would be unbearable to hold for long periods.

G2 is quite a nice camera… but if you like the mini-DSLR style of it, I must suggest you to look at G3, often seen as just G as it has no number on the body. Image quality wise the difference is quite notorious being pretty much identical Canon 350D in their image deliver.

G2 is older, and dynamic range is quite limited when compared to G3 or Canon 350D.

JPEG processing engine is also a lot better in G3…

You may want to look at the lens selection and their prices as well.
20mm f/1.7 is well regarded, but some new lens came out so it is a bit hard to choose now.
25mm f/0.95 is quite exclusive, manual and a god send for low light and lots of bokeh.
100mm-300mm is the choice you have for telephoto, 45-200mm is far from sharp (specially if you use G3 or GH2 with their 16MP sensors - it doesn’t matter much if you aren’t making big prints or cropping though)
14-140mm is very expensive, but very versatile, focus is instantaneous on this lens :]

Notice the lack of lens with telephoto focal lengths and bright apertures (f/2.8) that Canon (or Nikon for the matter) has available.
For such lens you have Olympus 150mm f/2.0 and 300mm f/2.8 for Four Thirds ... but be prepared to get your wallet hurt badly…

TL;DR: Check Panasonic Lumix G3 before buy G2

12:45 am - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#18 Jon

I’ve had the G2 for a few months now and agree that a look into the G3 might be a good idea. I have been struggling with getting a truly sharp photo with the G2, and indoor/low light pics are not really its strongest point.  Having said that, I did only recently bother to print some photos (I had been viewing on computer only up to this point), and even blown up to 14 X 20 size, they look remarkable - much better than they do on the computer. This has been noted in a couple of reviews, but nobody has given a reason for this that I am aware of?  Anyway, I would think that if you are the type of person who prints most all of your good shots, then this camera will work well for you, but if you are relying on the computer for viewing, you may be a little less pleased.

6:20 am - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#19 Sandy

I am looking for the simplest manuel or instruction guide for the G2. I got the one from Panasonic but it is too wordy for me, can anyone help me

2:18 am - Saturday, January 5, 2013

#20 Khalid

Hi everyone NEW to this whole camera game… I recently purchased a lilliput 668 gl 7” for my lumixG2 and I’m having problems viewing what I’m recording or taking pics of in field monitor mode cuz the hdmi cable that was provided by lilliput works when I preview the pics/videos but when it comes to actually taking the pics etc i have to use the monitor on the camera! Anyway I can make this work cuz it’s killing me inside…

Maybe a new hdmi cord or is there a firmware/driver I am missing cuz I think it should’ve reconignzed it… Thanks everyone…

4:31 am - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#21 zebarnabe

Khalid,

I think that will only work as you intend in GH3 - maybe GH2 as well - GH1, G2 and G3 don’t have live HDMI recording (I’m guessing G5 follows G line trend, thus missing that feature as well).

G1 actually can output live image from the sensor to the TV out (using an hidden test mode), even though it doesn’t have video recording features, I really don’t know why this isn’t an actual feature in all the camera models. I have a few old 5MP cheap cameras that actually have a working record mode with TV-out active.

In my GH1, the LVF is quite good, so I don’t feel the need for something better, though for video work in a team, it is quite useful to have video showing up in an external screen.

I’m not much of a video person, check camera manual and panasonic website. In any case G2 doesn’t have live HDMI for sure.

Additionally, some cameras have got their firmware hacked for extra features. I’m not updated on that regard, but last time I check there was no added live HDMI feature added to GH1.

2:59 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#22 Robert Bowles

I picked up the G2 earlier this year and have loved it to death. I was using a Rebel T2 and was a Canon fan (I still use your printers, Canon!), but I’ve really liked this camera. All I had was the pdf manual on it and I have to say, that was a nightmare going through. The above url has pictures I took at the local arboretum this spring and like I said, I’m very happy with the results.

1:51 pm - Saturday, November 9, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, manual, touch-screen, touchscreen, lumix, micro four thirds, panasonic, EVF, AVCHD, swivel, rotating, articulating, g2, dmc g2, dmc-g2, Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry