Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 Review

4.5
November 17, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

45 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 karsten

I have one question after reading the review.
Is it possible to use gloves when pressing the screen?
If yes, then the touch screen is a good idea.
If no…

Thanks,
Karsten

9:24 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#2 Nathan Lee Bush

If this is all Panasonic has got up their sleeve, I’d be surprised. Are they really so quick to abandon the pro/enthusiast market? I’d imagine a premium variation, with the same form factor and more buttons, is on its way. I think this is like the EPL1 from the Panny camp.

9:37 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#3 Dr. G

I feel this review was a total sell-out. The GF2 was Panasonic’s feeble response to the NEX killing the GF1 in Japan. The GF2 doesn’t really provide any value for beginners who just want at small camera that has SLR quality - they will continue to flock to the NEX which still has far superior image quality. Enthusiasts and prosumers will see the GF2 as simply the same camera except smaller and more gimicky. The lack of any real improvement in the sensor or EVF

9:53 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#4 Li

What’s the holdup on the GH2 review? This camera isn’t even shipping til January!

And Dr. G. . .I haven’t seen ‘far superior image quality’ from the NEX while roaming around Flickr, at anything below iso 1600 or so. Frankly, a lot of the nex images I’ve seen are kind of harsh. Not every shot is done with fast motion in low light. . .

10:46 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#5 Alan Winston

How come so many reviewers comparing OVF/EVF to using the rear LCD says something like “the electronic viewfinder turns out to be a useful accessory, as holding the Panasonic GF2 at arm’s length to to compose an image won’t be to everyone’s taste”?

Holding the camera out at arm’s length is a rare and special-camera-angle position, like holding a TLR upside down over your head.

The rational way to use a rear screen for framing is to brace your elbows against your rib cage for stability, with your forearms at an angle outward and your wrists nearly straight.

That should position the LCD just right for bifocals if you have them, and if you can’t focus on the viewfinder in that position without bifocals, you should get them - more things than camera operation will benefit.

4:33 am - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#6 Hans Benndorf

Why do they tag this thingy a GF2? It is just a miniatureized and idiotized
version of a great little camera ( GF1 ). No sensor development, no improvement
in image quality just a gimmicky touch screen on a tiny toy cam. Well, it fits in
any cereal pack as a kids toy, maybe not such a bad idea.

4:41 am - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#7 AAAA

Hans, Panny figured they could sell more of this type by reducing the price, simplifying the operation and shrinking its size all while giving the same quality pix as expected AND adding 1080 HD, so that the average Joe can do everything he wants to do with a small camera with interchangeable lens options without the bulk, or the annoyance of having to remember every little thing just to make it take decent photos that are far better than the tiny P&Ss;.

You’d be fired from any marketing department in a heartbeat with that sort of mentality.

It’s a CHEAPER camera than the last one with MORE FUN.

6:34 am - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#8 Hans Benndorf

Hi AAAA
I do agree with most of Your points. This GF2 is more of a money
spinning exercise than a ‘logical evolution’ of a promising enthusiast
camera. THAT’S what disappoints me. There are a lot of ‘cheaper and
more fun’ cams around and I am not against that. There are many
‘enthusiast’ photographers out there who were expecting some kind
of ‘improved’ version of the GF1.It did not happen this time around
and no one really knows what the ‘marketing clowns’ from PANASONIC
coming up with next.

10:10 am - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#9 C.Y.Leow

Same old, same old! What a waste of time! I am sticking with my E-P2, it’s EVF make Panasonic one look like a toy! Panasonic make a fantastic 7-14 zoom thought! It work like a dream on the E-P2 and I can shoot as low as 1/4 sec hand held because of the internal stabilizer! This lens won’t cut it on the GF2 though ;)

12:12 pm - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#10 Alan

After 35 years of looking at cameras, never have I seen such large ugly strap lugs.

1:09 pm - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#11 AAAA

Hans,

It IS an improvement - the camera also got new lenses as well. It’s easier to operate and lighter to hold. The camera is targeted at the BEGINNER, not somebody like you who may have years of experience tinkering with these things. It is a perfect introductory camera which, in Panny’s eyes, the GF1 was not, it was too much of an enthusiasts camera with too many button-operating settings. The GF2 does it all by itself, while still giving the beginner the option to play with various lenses as well as adding a viewfinder! OPTIONS, my friend. Otherwise, using its clever automatic settings, it will take some marvelous pix.

I see only improvements. Panny made a slightly fidgety camera in the GF1 with buttons and dials that most beginners ignored, and made it into a very attractive, less distracting, less conspicuous camera that is easy to hold and easy to work.  That’s an improvement, in the eyes of the beginner. It’s an easier step into the interchangeable-lens world.

1:37 pm - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#12 Low Budget Dave

It seems to me they are going after the Canon S95 and the Sony NEX, and maybe the EPL1.  As usual, in the camera business, each manufacturer tries to add one or two new features even when they could just as easily add ten.

If Panny put too many goodies in the GF2, then it would kill the market for the GF1 right before Christmas.  Canon and Sony did much the same with every camera they have ever made.

Sooner or later, some camera company will step up and make a camera with good depth of field, good low light performance, a usable viewfinder, a flash, decent controls, and something about the size of the GF1. 

Leica claims to have done it, but I refuse to buy a camera that costs more than a car.  Some people do, but I am not that good a photographer.

Right now, all the cameras I know of require you to give up one (or more) features to get the others.  Panny is doing a great job, but their philosophy seems to be to compromise in each area, and to try to score a little better than their main rivals each time. 

If everyone filled out a form to determine what camera to buy, and everyone was willing to give up 10% of each feature that they really wanted, then the GF2 would put a beating on Sony, Sanyo and even Cannon.  At least their “beginner” cameras.

It doesn’t work for me, though.  All it does is convince me that I need to wait a little longer to get the camera I really want to replace my current (inferior) travel camera.  This is a never-ending loop, but I blame the camera manufacturers.

6:55 pm - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#13 AAAA

Dave,

buy the Nikon D7000. That’s what you want.

5:47 am - Friday, November 19, 2010

#14 Hans Benndorf

AAAA
How much does Panasonic pay You to be such a loyal fanboy to
every profit driven garbage they produce?!

11:50 am - Friday, November 19, 2010

#15 AKentPhoto

I have to agree with Hans,
Just because more people might buy it doesn’t make it a better camera.  The GF1 was something truly special and was in a league of its own.  The Pen gave it a run for its money but felt cheap in hand (motsly the rollers) when compared to the GF1.  Honestly how often is a consumer going to change out lenses etc.  Consumers don’t care about changeable lenses!?  They want something that fits in their pocket and does it all.  Not to mention having to worry about dust getting on the exposed sensor etc.  The GF1 had a purpose and target market (prosumers).  Now they have created a “crossover/sellout” GF2 that sucks at being a prosumer camera and when compared to the NEX looks like a TI83 graphing calculator.  Which I might add is what I prefer on a prosumer camera, simple and speedy.  The NEX might have cleaned the floor in asia, but I don’t see it catching on here like it did there.  The smart thing to do would be to keep the GF line where it is competing with Oly and create a consumer version with gimmicky things like a touch screen etc to compete with Sony.  It seems l’m not the only one that is totally let down by this new release.  Looks like I’m going to save some coin and get a deal on a GF1 instead of going GF2.

9:33 pm - Friday, November 19, 2010

#16 C.Y.Leow

I like the view of AKentPhoto, Chinese saying; ????! Hee..
I just sold my Canon G7 and G9 and bought a G12. I really really want a Nikon but the P7000 is SO DISAPPOINTING!

11:05 pm - Friday, November 19, 2010

#17 Hans Benndorf

I am thinking along similar lines as AKentPhoto and get a GF1.
The prices are coming down now as well. Like many others I was
hoping and waiting for an improved version of the GF1. It did not
happen. I also agree with C.Y.Leow, the P7k is disappointing. I just
wonder when the ‘big boys’ (CANIKON) enter the ‘EVIL’ scene.

2:19 am - Saturday, November 20, 2010

#18 Low Budget Dave

The GF2 compromises controls and depth of field, but gets the size almost exactly right. The D7000 – for example - is twice the size of the GF2 (and twice the price), so it is no shocker that the controls (and depth of field) are better. 

No camera takes great pictures unless you have it with you.  The GF2 is actually closer in size to the P7000 and the G12.  The GF2 lenses are bigger, and the viewfinder is missing, but those are just two different compromises for the list. 

If GF2 is going after the compact market, then I would be just as likely to buy it if they sold it with a built-in lens.  If they could make the whole camera smaller, then I would be even more likely to buy it.  On my particular “balanced scorecard” of compromises, lens choices are not as important as other features.

11:26 am - Monday, November 22, 2010

#19 PPL

Hello,

there is also the small Ricoh GXR + 28 mm APS-C with better IQ.

http://ricoh-28mm.blogspot.com/

;-)

6:50 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#20 Hans Benndorf is an idiots

Hans just because they don’t build a camera to your liking it becomes a toy? Instead of crying like a bitch just go out and take some pictures and maybe you will learn something.

8:02 am - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#21 Batman

Is the GF2 suppose to have the same “Picture” quality as the GF1? or lower quality?

Thanks

11:29 pm - Friday, December 3, 2010

#22 joey

The interesting feature to me is the ‘digital control’ of the DoF. I wish pana apply this to LX5

6:54 am - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#23 BobDobb

Quick question from a newbie. I’m trying to decide between buying the GF1 or waiting for the GF2. One of the decision points is the lens (14mm vs. 20mm). Assuming I only want to purchase one pancake prime which is the better all around/all purpose lens. I like the new features in the GF2 (smaller size, new processor, 1080 video) but is the 20mm lens reason enough to go with the GF1 (assuming I don’t want to buy two pancakes for the GF2)? The cheaper price is also nice.

I feel like the perfect combo might be the GF2 with a 20mm pancake but that’s not an option.

Also, any other thoughts on GF1 vs. GF2.  Thanks!

5:08 pm - Thursday, December 16, 2010

#24 sh1

Am I wrong, I think the E-Pl1 beats this cam?

cheers

3:53 pm - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

#25 Low Budget Dave

The comparison to the EPL-1 seems like a good discussion.  Someone who knows cameras should compare the functionality and options.  Not me, of course… someone who knows how to take good photographs.

1:08 am - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#26 Wayne

I’ve just bought both cameras (GF1, GF2) so here’s my limited perspective:

I bought the GF1 back in June for my daughter’s 21st birthday present - an upgrade from her Canon compact. I bought the GF2 two days ago - it’s my wife’s Christmas present - as an upgrade from her Canon compact.

To answer Karsten, the screen is pressure sensitive rather then capacitative, so it will work when wearing gloves, either by pressing harder - if you have really padded gloves - or if the glove has a seam you can use as a pressure point you can use it just like using a finger nail, which works better than the ball of your fingertip on pressure sensitive screens - remember the old days of styluses with your Palm Pilot. In fact, if you are wearing really thick gloves, which can make it very difficult to manipulate knobs and small buttons, the touch screen just becomes so easy to use if you have the back of a pen, the corner of you iPhone/iPod, virtually anything handy that has a corner on it to act as a stylus.

For those who were of the opinion that Panasonic appear to be abandoning the Pro/Enthusiast market, with no upgrade in features or image quality, ummmm, what’s the GH2? I’m not a pro or an enthusiast and the women in my life are even less so, but my perception is that Panasonic (plus all the other big names) cover the Pro/Enthusiast market very very well.

IMO the GF1, and now the GF2, is aimed fairly and squarely at the consumer/bridge market (toy I think was the term used), and has done an exceptional job with the GF2 being a noticeable improvement on the GF1. Panasonic has wisely chosen not to market this camera towards the very limited market of the Pro/Enthusiast who wants to buy a second camera, but instead focus on the much much larger market of consumers who’ve reached the limits of their PHD compact camera and who are aware that it’s possible to get higher quality images but still have no intention of ever figuring out what f stops are all about or whether shutter priority would be a better choice for a given situation. I might even go as far as to suggest that consumers are using their PHD camera even less, favouring their camera phone, so in the future consumers who are looking for a ‘bridge’ between their camera phone and a DSLR will be more comfortable with touch screen operation.

Here’s why I bought the GF1:

1) It had to have more megapixels than the majority of PHD cameras
2) It had to be smaller than DSLR cameras and hopefully as small as a PHD camera
3) The only accessory to be carried around would be a lens (zoom)
4) It should be able to take movies

At the time my daughter was putting in her wish list for a ‘better camera’ she was logically looking at the entry level Nikon or Canon DSLRs. After doing some research I came across Micro 4/3 and the then hot topic of GF1 vs E-P1. It wasn’t long before the choice became crystal clear - the thought of carrying around a flash (or viewfinder) for the intended us is just ludicrous, and the fact that the DSLRs could not do movies quickly eliminated them - that only left the GF1.

Turns out it has been a perfect choice for my daughter, who couldn’t be happier - she has convinced friends also not to bother with the traditional low end DSLR route and go with the GF1. For the most part it goes in her handbag fitted with the pancake. The inbuilt flash is essential for those ‘quick take a photo’ during nights out. I also bought her the 45-200 lens, knowing that she was planning to do a vacation to the UK. As expected the lens wasn’t too much to add to her day-pack, but that was it, it only went out when she knew she was planning on doing some sight seeing. Again, for the majority of the time it was her, her handbag and the GF1 with pancake - the inbuilt flash was indispensable and the thought of carrying an external flash inconceivable.

So why did I buy a GF2 even though it was more expensive than the now cheaper GF1?

Because it’s a definite improvement on the GF1. Most importantly it improves on it’s main feature - it’s much smaller than a DSLR and now almost as small as my wife’s PowerShot - closing in on the NEX and well ahead of the NX100. Most importantly it maintains it’s strength - it has a built in flash! I almost went for the NEX-5 with it’s higher resolution, but 12 MP with a flash will always be better than 14 MP without a flash. It seems that Minolta have realised the errors of their ways with the E-PL1.

The GF2 is for my wife, who is far less tech savvy than my daughter, but even my wife is comfortable with touch-screens. Anyone who bemoans the loss of switches and knobs to the touch screen probably wishes boats were still navigated by sextants, car engines still had carburettors, planes had propellers and trains ran on steam; sorry but ‘glass cockpits’ are here to stay. (by the way my model planes have propellors bolted to engines that have carburettors and I own a couple of live steam engines, so I’m not anti-old-school, I love these things, but I know which is better technology. My bicycle though has a gps as I have no intention of navigating it by the stars;-)

The ‘tap-on-screen’ focus ability is absolutely brilliant! The ability to take over 2 fps with the ‘live screen’ not missing a beat is light years ahead of what her old Canon PHD can do - forget the iPhone. Our boys play rugby, so to be able to point, tap to auto-focus and then auto-follow, then have it take a bunch of photos over ~5 sec is fantastic - to then be able to just press one button and have it go straight into movie mode to capture the lead up and game winning try is excellent design work - as is the little details like having the carry strap loop through the body rings rather than the usual metal clips which can be heard rattling against the camera body on most home movies.

But it’s the size + flash that make it so perfect for consumers wanting the next step up from their PHD or camera phone. Ever since I bought the GF1 my wife has been making it quite clear that she wants the same. The great photos my daughter keeps showing us just reinforces that desire. The fact that the GF2 is smaller and cheaper (than I originally paid for the GF1) is a double bonus. I bought my wife an external ‘emergency’ battery for her iPhone which she never carries around so an external flash would be a waste of money - it would be at home every time it would be needed. The majority of the photos she takes are quick on the spot photos, typically of people, where a couple of steps either way will simply rectify the lack of a zoom lens - if not the high resolution will make it possible to crop the image and most likely still end up with more pixels than her PowerShot.

Of course, what’s the point in buying a camera that supports a range of lenses if you’re not going to change lenses. Like my daughter, given known circumstances, such as family gatherings or holidays, having another lens, probably with zoom capability is very desirable. Unfortunately I was going to buy the ‘twin pack’ with both the 14mm pancake and 14-42mm zoom but these were all sold out - seems like a large number of other consumers appreciate the value this camera represents. All I could get was the 14mm pancake. Whilst I could get the zoom separately it was at twice the price than if I bought it as part of the package:-( At this point, as I know my wife has no desperate need for the zoom, I’ll let her learn to zoom with her feet and get comfortable with what the camera can do. Later on I’ll try and figure out which will be the best zoom for her needs.

If by the time my other daughter turns 21 Panasonic make a GF3 which is even smaller and still has a flash I’ll probably buy it too, regardless of what it’s resolution is, as these days, as viewed on an iPhone, all photos have the same resolution ;-) And don’t think I’m Panasonic paid, up until this time I’ve been a Canon devotee (to the point of bias), and if Canon were to come out with something competitive (which I’ve been waiting for) I’d happily look at it, but it would have to have an inbuilt flash, a mm of size here or there I could live with, as too one or two megapixels.

Which brings me to my conclusion as to why these ‘toy’ cameras make perfect sense and why Panasonic needs to keep them focused on the ‘toy’ market and not the Pro/Enthusiast market. As Apple learnt, even if you make the world’s best operating system and laptops, there just aren’t enough Pros and Enthusiasts out there to make a lot of money out of them. Make a small toy music player with a simple intuitive scroll wheel - now presented on a touch screen - and you can sell millions upon millions of them to the consumer market and you become the richest tech company on the planet. My perception of the future is the PHD camera market will continue to decline as cameras in phones get better and better. This will only leave two real camera markets; the Pro/Enthusiast and the Consumer/Bridge. The GF series is an excellent Consumer/Bridge and IMO it will enjoy more success with consumers if the GF3 morphs towards the iPhone end of the spectrum rather than the Nikon D3X end of the spectrum, and I’m not just talking about touch screen operation, but more importantly all-in-one operation and size. Unfortunately I think most Pro/Enthusiasts who are use to swapping accessories over and toting along a bag full of lenses, filters, batteries, flash etc etc, are unaware of how foreign a concept that is for your average consumer and how poorly that reflects upon a product.

As far as the GF2 vs E-PL1 is concerned, I think it proves my point. Must have built in flash, tend towards the more simplified. I can’t really comment on which is better because I haven’t played with a E-PL1. If the E-PL1 existed when I purchased the GF1 I would certainly have taken it for a test drive. A quick scan of the specs looks like the E-PL1 is noticeably cheeper and has a better flash but the GF2 has a bigger screen with twice as many pixels, 1080i movie, slightly smaller in overall size and 30 g lighter, apart from that they seem very very close. Now, having now gone down the Panasonic route the difference seems too small to consider adding a 3rd manufacturer to our household, back when I was buying the GF1 for my daughter, if the E-PL1 existed I would have probably gone the cheaper option :-)

10:27 am - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#27 Otto

Get over it Hans Banndorf and Dr G.  THIS is the kind of camera people want, so your taking pot shots at Lumix is just lame and downright useless. The reason the GF2 came into being can be summed up in two words, MARKET RESEARCH!
Test One: if you are going on a 2 week holiday, do you want to take your DSLR, you small compact or something like the GF2?
No contest in my assessment, so you lot stop whingeing about how the GF2 doesn’t improve on this or that. You should heap praise on a company that is trying to do things.  Mark my words, 90% of DSLR owners are now ready to ditch their Nikons and Canons for a whole new World of light-weight traveling.
Older people in their 50’s with disposable income will not even think of going down the DSLR road.  So it’s either a compact like the S95/LX5/EX1 or something like the GF2.  When the Fuji X100 hit the shelves even the likes of Leica will be glancing over their shoulders. I have a perfectly excellent DSLR as well as a compact, plus I can afford an M9 twice over if I desired… however, at the first opportunity the GF2 is going in the bag.

11:37 am - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#28 C.Y.Leow

Least you forget Otto, this is a forum where everyone have a right to their opinion! If i am as loaded as you, I will go buy myself a M9 ;)

12:16 pm - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#29 Blair

This is exactly the kind of camera I’ve been looking for.  When the E-PL1 came out, I was very intrigued.  I do a lot of traveling and want a camera that will take high quality photos without being the size of an SLR.  I also have a paralyzed arm, so using an SLR is pretty much out of the question.  I didn’t buy the E-PL1 because I wanted to wait for more micro 4/3’s or compacts (whatever you want to call them) to come on to the market, because we all know what competition does for quality and prices (each company tries to make a better camera for a cheaper price).  I’m probably going to stick with my trusty old point and shoot (a Lumix and I love it) for another 6 months or so.  Look at the micro 4/3’s market.  6 months ago there was only 1 or 2 options, if that.  Now there are quite a few.  In another 6 months there will probably be double the options there are now.  For me it’s kind of like the dating seen.  I need to get out there and test the waters, but I’ll know when I find the right one, and camera’s like this, the E-PL1, Nex, etc make me pretty confident that I will soon find the one I’m looking.

6:44 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#30 Carlos

I am really interested in the camera, but i wanna know if u can make panoramic photos and also if u can zoom during video recording. Thanks

6:42 pm - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#31 rar

if u want a camera that can zoom during recoridng i suggest u get a canon g12.. its got built-in viewfinder + lcd screen. ths one will take ages to get use to, plus da touch function can get complicated and time consuming

8:54 am - Monday, January 10, 2011

#32 mruffell

So I have read that some people think Micro Four Thirds cameras are comparable to low-end DSLRs, however in many ways I think the GF2 out classes many DSLRs I have tested.  HD video, touch screen, performance, size/weight, are all much better on the GF2 then low-end DSLRs some of which don’t even have video capability. To me there are no practical advantages of a DSLR. In my opinion the latest DSLRs models from Canon and Nikon are ugly, large, and heavy. Micro four thirds tech is way more modern and stylish with same or better results… just saying.

2:35 pm - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#33 Low Budget Dave

OK, then how about depth of field.  Unless I am missing something, bokeh and similar effects are (about) half as visible on MFT as on traditional sized sensors.

1:25 am - Friday, January 21, 2011

#34 Ricky

I have a question:  what is the lifespan of a resistive touchscreen as compared to a capacitive touchscreen?  I experienced a resistive screen on my previous cellphone (an Ericsson G700) and it broke down in a little less than a year (it had to be replaced).  Compare that to my iTouch (which has a capacitive screen) - I had my iTouch for around 2 years already and it still works perfectly….

Kinda makes me favor the GH2 since it has a capacitive screen.  If the GF2 had a capacitive screen, I wouldn’t have any doubts…

3:12 pm - Thursday, January 27, 2011

#35 diana

Hi. I just got my GF2. Im absolutely delighted! I m totally beginner and dont need complicated camera. I have a question-do u think case for GF1 will suit GF2? cause cant find case anywhere for GF2. only big cases, but whats the point to buy small camera and carry it in case?

8:54 pm - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#36 TinaMarie

How well does this camera take low-light shots of a fast moving person?

I need a camera that can take both video and pictures of dancers.  I’ve looked at a lot of reviews and I was looking at the Panasonic DMC-LX5 but then I came across this camera and I don’t know which would be best.

I can’t seem to find any reviews that discuss this.

3:23 am - Monday, January 31, 2011

#37 Wayne

Ricky,

I think there are pros and cons to capacitive vs resistive screens but longevity isn’t one of them.

My Handspring Visor Deluxe purchased in 1999 still works fine today with it’s resistive screen.

Actually that’s a lie. I ran over my Visor with our 2 ton van about 5 years ago, and the screen cracked and it doesn’t work at all. So I commandeered my wife’s Visor which I bought at the same time. I don’t see why the resistive screen won’t be working for another 12 years; but I do always use those thin film screen protectors and replace them when they have too many scratches.

I expect though, if I run my wife’s GF2 over with our new 2.5 ton van, the longevity of it’s capacitive screen will be the least of my concerns ;-)

Diana,

a bag for a GF1 will perfectly match a GF2. When I bought the camera for my wife it came with a free camera bag, which is medium sized and could carry the camera plus an extra lens, but she doesn’t use it - yet, as she has no extra lens although we were checking a couple out yesterday. She instead bought a little bag (not even sure that it is a camera bag) that is just big enough to fit the camera, a spare battery and spare memory card.

TinaMarie,

The low light, no flash photos my wife has taken with her GF2 are very good, much better than her old Cannon PowerShot. Are they good enough for you, only you can tell. I suggest you drop into your local camera shop and take both for a test drive. I’m sure if you are going to buy one or the other, no camera shop would have a problem with you bringing along your own memory card so you could take home all your test photos so you can compare and make a final decision as to which is best.

5:07 pm - Wednesday, February 2, 2011

#38 nick

Just part exchanged my GF1 body for a GF2 body (I have the 20mm pancake and the 14-45mm zoom. I totally endorse the view of Wayne above. I have a Nikon D7000 and preferred the smaller GF2 as it means I can now pass along my old LX3 and have a 2 camera amateur solution. Seems a bit quicker in operation than the GF1 but that might just be my imagination. The touchscreen is real bonus when it come to taking quick undetectable pictures in stores etc and since the screen is pressure sensitive I just push my (sylph like) belly out a bit and wait for the gorgeous click of the shutter. Some people with more imagination than me may find other parts of their anatomy can do the same job with even more satisfaction.

It’s the camera for the iPhone generation, Wayne and me!

7:41 pm - Thursday, February 3, 2011

#39 Bob

I see an advantage in touch screen - fewer moving mechanical parts. I’ve had bad experience with moving parts in cameras and phones. Bought my first touch lcd (resistive) phone and like it so much i’ll never go back to flip/slide/tilt push button phones. Doubt buttons can be completely eliminated in this type of camera, maybe in the future, maybe optional voice control, who knows… I also think with software controls there’s a possibility of improved future firmware for gf2.

I read reviews lcd can be accidentally touched and setting can be changed. Some reviewers aren’t impressed with the screen.

4:41 am - Tuesday, February 22, 2011

#40 Mary Louise

Just purchased the GF2. Love it. Love my LX-3..but the operating instructions are horrible. Anyone have any news re an independent author providing a good instruction book? I am more than ok b/c of knowing the LX-3 so well, but there are many things to know about the GF2,and the CD instructions are very poor.  Thanks

4:40 pm - Monday, March 21, 2011

#41 Youna

hi! i have a question, it may sound stupid but since im new to this camera, im still not very familiar with its functions.. so, here goes: how do you turn off the self-timer? because when i go to the menu, it only shows 10s, 3/10s, and 2s.. there’s no off button.. thanks!

6:06 pm - Saturday, April 9, 2011

#42 grier dill

I shot a bunch of video with the GF2 and the 14mm-42mm lens on my trip to south east asia. It was for a music video and we used the camera exclusively. The video (in HD mode) shows off a lot of different lighting scenerios and situations so its a pretty good reference for the video quality of the camera.

I think it shoots great video, rivaling the 7D in some situations, but he lack of manual control for video really hinders it for more advanced filming

Checkout the video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjGU2QVDnV8

10:35 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#43 Patty Smith

I was so happy to read one reviewer’s comments about a completely different angle on the 4/3 SLRs that most people don’t think about. The reviewer I’m referring to comments that they can’t use SLRs because one arm is paralyzed, thus making the size/weight of an SLR prohibitive.

I understand all too well what this reviewer is talking about. For years, I gave up one of the great joys of my life-photography- because I could not carry around my Nikons DSLR, lenses and speedlight and even if I could get someone to carry them around for me, I couldn’t handle them because I am disabled. The door began to open for me with compact cameras like the Lumix LX5 (which I own) which are phenomenal upgrades from P/S. Now I’m really getting back into my old hobby with interchangeable lenses, 4/3 cameras like the GF2, which I also own.

It is awfully hard to beat a full on SLR or DSLR with quality lenses like Nikkor but cameras like the Lumix GF2 are bringing me into a range where I get excellent photos and have options just like the large SLRs. I’m just glad I have the option to have a GF2 because otherwise I couldn’t dabble in photography the way I used to - a great love of mine I thought I had lost forever when I became disabled.

Everyone here in the forum has very good points, I just want everyone to remember that you can have the nicest SLR money can buy, and if it is too heavy or large, even the non disabled are more likely to leave it at home than lug it around. The best camera is the one that is most likely to be out and about with you and that camera is most likely to be the easiest one to transport and handle like the GF2 or even the LX5. Thank you!

12:20 am - Friday, July 1, 2011

#44 Ace

Hey

For those looking to purchase this in the UK Amazon has had a large price drop - http://amzn.to/wqUkWw

Thanks

10:31 pm - Monday, January 16, 2012

#45 Ian

Having had a GF2 for about a year now, I have to say it is a great camera to use. I set the iA button to toggle between the iA mode and Aperture Priority, and the the back wheel can be used to control both aperture and shutter speed (with ISO easily accessible on the back as well).

Used with the 14mm f2.5 it is perfect for street photography, and the 20mm f1.7 is nice when catching the kids at play naturally - both are reasonably good with depth of field.

My old OM fit Zuiko 50mm f1.8 with an adaptor makes a pretty good portrait lens - certainly sharper than anything that would be within my price range.

Having a bag with that and G1 (probably upgrading to a G3) - I still like to use a viewfinder sometimes - with the 14mm and 20mm, plus the 14 - 42 OIS gives me pretty much everything I need.

5:58 pm - Sunday, May 20, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 12 megapixel, compact system camera, touch-screen, DSLR, touch screen, touchscreen, micro four thirds, 1080i, CSC, high definition, 3fps, dmc GF2, dmc-GF2, GF2, Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 Review, panasonic GF2

Tracker Pixel for Entry