Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF3 Review

4.0
July 6, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Phil

great and helpful review - thank you

You mention that the touch focus can be disabled - are you sure? It cannot be disabled on the GF2. I find this very annoying. Also touching the centre just to recentre it is not as easy as it sounds! You sometimes end up with it slightly off centre.

Having said that I am impressed with my GF2 and the 20mm lens is a winner.

10:04 pm - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#2 Faisal Parvez

The is a very nice camera. Highly recommended

1:14 am - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#3 Stephane

The direction panasonic has taken with the gf series is a huge disappointment after the brilliant gf1.
The evf external viewfinder is a piece of crap and is really the only problem the camera had for good street photography.
Now they chose to even remove the hotshoe. Brilliant…
Moving to olympus on my side

11:26 am - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#4 Mr. Reeee

Good review. The GF3 looks like a potentially good compliment to my GH2.

My biggest concern, after lack of a viewfinder option, is Panasonic’s abandonment of the excellent, fast, flexible and highly usable Control Wheel and basic controls from the rest of their M4/3 cameras. I find Panasonic’s touch interface quite fast and intuitive.

Part of the point of a “system” is the use of common controls throughout the line. This makes swapping bodies less than seamless and intuitive. Use of the inferior control dial for the GF3 is troubling and huge step backwards in terms of usability.

12:38 pm - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#5 Dana

Will be fun to see how this compares to the Nex C3 in a month. Good to see Panasonic is finally taking advantage of the diminutive size of the sensor by scaling down the body and lenses.

10:25 pm - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#6 Dmitry

—-copypaste—-
a portrait with shallow depth of field where you will want to make sure focus is on the subject’s eyes rather than her nose, ears or eyebrows.
—-end—-


with this crop factor, focal length and aperture of kit lens it is not possible at all! you will have full head in DOF, and that is it.

so this quote is true imagination… (or science fiction if you like…)

p.s. If we are talking about smth like 85\1.8 lens @ APSC of FF (or any other fast and “long” lens)  *THEN* it is possible to play with focus like this (nose<->eyes<->ears) but with this toy everything will be in focus from ears up to the tip of the nose…

p.s. but whole idea to pinpoint a random focus point is very good

thnx

11:09 pm - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#7 johnson joseph

good review.. I would like to now more about it.

6:07 am - Tuesday, July 12, 2011

#8 TommyBoy

Yes you can definitely disable the touch screen facility, I played around with one in store.
Great review guys thanks, very helpful, I think I will be purchasing one soon when the price drops a little.
Also read an interesting review on DMCGF3 at avopinion website.

10:22 am - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#9 Danonino

This looks like my next camera, but only IF you can turn the screen completely off.
I dont want a big bright glowing attention-drawing screen when Im shooting on the street..

11:10 pm - Friday, July 29, 2011

#10 Alexandru Stoian

Just bought this camera today. Decided on it instead of a Samsung NX11. Will be hitting the streets with it this weekend, see what this puppy can do.

8:10 pm - Friday, September 16, 2011

#11 Jimpy

Which lens was used for the 28mm sample images?

7:51 pm - Wednesday, September 21, 2011

#12 Diane

Hi, I am a novice with a GF3 camera ( and I can now turn it on and take pictures in automatic settings)  What settings would you advise to try to take pictures of the Northern Lights in Iceland? Any guidance in a simple form would be gratefully received please! I also have the free zoom lense. Thanks -  Diane

5:53 pm - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#13 M Johannesen

I bought this camera recently, I am an amateur, but I wanted something more than a regular digital camera, and something cheaper than an SLR camera.

I am extremely happy with this camera. I didn’t need to experiment for long, until I knew the camera well, cause it is very easy to understand, and comfortable to hold (after getting used to the small size). I especially like that the system is easy but also has a lot of good features. The fact that you can just touch the screen where you want to focus is a very easy way to get good pictures with right focus.
Also if you want to take pictures fast, and don’t have time to adjust the exposure and shutter speed, you can set the camera to auto, and you do not have to use the flash unless it is very dark (I don’t like the light that the flash makes, so I always try not to use it). Though the flash is also very good, and you can adjust the angle on the flash.

I can easily recommend this camera to people who want a camera with the possibility to change the lens, and a focus that is easy to adjust.

10:55 am - Monday, March 19, 2012

#14 Mike B

Now the GF5 is out you can pick up the GF3 at a bargain price. Get it with the Lumix G X Vario PZ 14-42mm lens and you have a great package that is better than the Sony NEX3 and 5.

I picked up one with the Lumix G X Vario PZ 14-42mm lens for £375 and received £50 cash back from panasonic. Others have picked up the GF3 with standard 14-42mm lens (or14mm pancake) for £200 after cash back!

12:38 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#15 John

Make sure and give yourself plenty of time to get to know this camera. The auto settings are great, the custom settings are better but you need to know what you are doing. The fact that many settings can be set from different menus is a bit confusing. It seems Panasonic wanted to make it easy and advance at the same time. Probably to get those markets. The images this camera takes are excellent and the size is nice. Unless you are a pro, you would not need more that this cam provides.

5:39 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#16 Dave

The GF3 with BOTH kit lens is now available at a crazy cheap price of £299 !!! I just picked it up on Jessops.

12:06 am - Friday, June 1, 2012

#17 Andy

Agreed with Dave - I picked it up at Jessops - absolutely crazy price. The online price has gone but I picked it up instore for £299. Any Londoners, the Jessops is still selling it at Victoria for that much with both lenses.

1:20 pm - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#18 Paul

Very comprehensive review - I was influenced to buy one.
However, all my other cameras have the feature of saving all the photos taken on one particular day or session in separate folders. My GF3 seems to have only one continuous index, ie when I was on a long trip, I had to download and then manually separate the pictures into date folders.
I have looked for the menu option to use a new index folder every day, both on the camera menu and in the manual but am unable to find it. It was very easy to locate on my Canon s90.
Has anyone else had this issue, or been able to find the setting?

3:10 pm - Monday, July 16, 2012

#19 sue

has anyone had an issue with the live veiw on the gf-3… reason for this is because i can see what im taking a pic of, however when i’ve taken the image its either under exposed or over exposed and will not show me what the image will be like before the shutter is released.
is this the standard way the camera was designed or a manifacture default?

10:54 pm - Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 12 megapixel, compact system camera, touch-screen, DSLR, touch screen, micro four thirds, touchscreen, 1080i, CSC, high definition, 3fps, dmc GF3, dmc-GF3, GF3, Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF3 Review, panasonic GF3

Tracker Pixel for Entry