Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1 Review

4.5
January 3, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Palau Blue

The GX1 is the natural successor to the GF1.  Anyone who hasn’t gone for the G3 or the GH2 yet should jump right in, especially when the price makes it a bit more competitive against the G3.  For me, I’m still looking the the promised land - a pro M4/3, a 12-60 mm 2.0 zoom and a great long telephoto (zoom or not).

11:06 am - Wednesday, January 4, 2012

#2 victor

it’s not as beautiful as the Pen EP3 yet it produces photos which satsfy my expectations, upgrade from GF2 to GX1 is not that much, stick to your GF2 if you have it and wait for a more advanced model
most compatible with Olympus 45mm and Lumix 20mm panckaes

1:56 pm - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#3 Black and White Photography

Great review as I am actually considering one of these cameras.

5:58 pm - Saturday, January 14, 2012

#4 oluv

nearly all samples at 42mm are unsharp.
meanwhile i also tested the new pz14-42 and found it to be extremly soft, and unusable at 42mm. my 14-140 wiped the floor with it at all focal lenghts.
a pity as i looked forward to this lens so much, but it doesn’t match the previous 14-42 and doesn’t even come close to the old 14-45.

2:02 pm - Sunday, January 15, 2012

#5 Ted Baker

Ive just got one from fotosense for only £499 http://www.fotosense.co.uk/catalogsearch/result/?q=gx1
Not had chance to try it out yet, this weekend should be good if the weather stays nice of course, however the standard 14-42 lens isn’t the best i must say, use one on my old G1. Ive got the 14-140 lens so i might give that a go, plus fotosense gave me a good price to part ex my G1 in with them so cant fault them on bit! I would certainly recommend

3:33 pm - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#6 oluv

the standard 14-42 should be still sharper than the new pz14-42. the pz14-42 is tested was really a dud, especially at 42mm, have a look:
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-pu9v3pDZcSU/TxLfNIMNlFI/AAAAAAAAAXY/e1sjE9V58QM/s1600/crop42mm-mitte.jpg

9:44 am - Thursday, January 19, 2012

#7 Matt Cooper

After a long time I bit the bullet and bought this camera.  I’ve got to say I am incredibly pleased with what it is.

Can’t wait to start shooting more stuff!

10:01 pm - Saturday, March 3, 2012

#8 Alan

Gx1 with 14-42. I purchased it for a holiday to thialand as I promised my wife I would not drag around my DSLR kit. Bottom line is that I like it a lot though it’s pretty high tech if you dig into the menus. However, once I worked up how to turn all the gizmos off and just stick it on aperture priority I was hooked. Better still press the ia button and you can hand it to your daughter to just take snaps of really high quality. One issue, Ive alteady managed to get a bit of dust welded onto the sensor which hopefully will be easy enough to swab off when I get back home.

12:14 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#9 Kustom48

Just obtained a bargain-basement priced GX1 body ( as i have a G3 )as a ‘return’, buyer did’nt like it, took 6 photos only, did’nt even register the warrany etc.
Love it so far, but I think it should have had a built-in viewfinder as per Fuji X100 etc and the swivel screen of the G3, but I can work without these for now.
Might save up for the accessory EVF unit rather than another lens.
I’d really like the Oly 12mm & the 45mm lenses to compliment the GX1 body.
Any views on these lenses or other suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

2:30 pm - Sunday, May 20, 2012

#10 Puccipaolo

A great review that give me the impulse to buy e used GX1. I had various pen (epl1, e-pm1, and lenses). I have sony RX100 too, and entry level reflex with some goog lenses….and the GX1 surprice me for beautiful and real color and very concrete low light result…..in my pocket!!!
Forget resolution .... color is photography.

11:41 pm - Thursday, March 28, 2013

#11 Francois Guibat

I love the gx1 but the 14-42 x lens is not in par with the quality of the body. Actually i think this lens sucks. I use it with the 20mm f1.7 lens and the old 14-45mm with great results. Can’t wait to see if the new 12-32mm lens is better which would be a great combination as a all around camera to have.

10:16 pm - Sunday, November 24, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, DSLR, micro four thirds, 1080i, high definition, gx1, 4.2fps, dmc-gx1, Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1 Review, panasonic gx1, dmc gx1

Tracker Pixel for Entry