Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Review

5.0
September 3, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Nick

Weird you left out any discussion about video useage. How is the autofocus? What about the bitrates compared to the GH3 which has 3 times the bitrate? I didn’t see any comparison shots at RAW with GH3 either.

Considering the GH3 was the flagship of panasonic your review failed on these benchmarks. Incomplete review at best.

2:44 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#2 Phofotan

Thanks for the review, but as always, you are shooting a µ4/3 camera at insane f stops! The optimum for a camera with a sensor this size is around 5.6~6.3. From there on, diffraction will limit sharpness severely. I see some pictures taken at f/11 or f/16, that is equivalent to f/22 or even f/32 on a full frame camera.

2:45 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#3 Kevin

Nice review but I agree it is incomplete.  Very surprised you did not talk about RAW quality at all, this was something I really wanted to know.

3:48 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#4 Morton D. Rich

The GX7 is not the first camera with both a tilting viewfinder & tilting rear screen.  I used a Minolta Dimage A1 for several years & now have a Konica Minolta Dimage A2.  I have taken prize-winning photos with both & found them tops for great images & ease of use.

3:56 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#5 Dave

One of the shortcomings of MFT cameras is predictive autofocus.  Since Oly and Panny have both been working on it for a while, it might be worth mentioning how each new camera fares against its predecessor.

4:37 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#6 Sal

Would like to have had your insight & input on the functionality of the wireless flash capability, a la Olympus. I understand that it’s the same system as Olympus but would like confirmation of that, does it work with Oly flashes, etc? Despite it being optical, it’s a really great, & often overlooked feature, of the Olympus range & would be a great addition to the GX7’s feature set also.

4:52 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#7 G.Fois

In the review we can read: “The top of the GX7 somewhat amazingly houses the tilting electronic viewfinder, a flash hotshoe, small stereo speakers” and “Underneath is a small microphone, with protruding metal eyelets on either side of the body for the supplied camera strap”. I get surprised to read “small stereo speakers” in a camera with a single microphone! And, of course, this will be the first stereo sound camera with Dolby system!!! But looking to the photos, I realize that probably you did a mistake.

7:40 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#8 larry

Good review.  Thanks. The review states the LCD screen rotates 45 degrees upward.  Fortunately that appears to be an error.

7:59 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#9 G.Fois

In my previous post I intended to say: “this will be the first stereo speakers camera with Dolby system!!!” to be well understood.
I think that GX7 demand an accurate review, as most posted here, because it’s a sophisticate camera for a sophisticate consumer.
I ever believed that optical image stabilization is better than in camera stabilization, so I understood the Panasonic choose. I get surprised to know that GX7 is equipped to operate in both systems! This gives broad possibilities with lenses! Kudos to Panasonic!!! Now I have a question:
- Did the onboard system correct axial vibration or even horizontal misalignments using OIS lenses?

8:16 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#10 Duncan

How is the EVF for glasses wearers?

11:15 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#11 Bryv

It seem that the image stabilisation does’t works on the video mode. If true, it is an important point to mention.

4:41 pm - Thursday, September 5, 2013

#12 Hans Benndorf

Seems to be a very interesting camera but I have to agree with some others that the review is a bit incomplete. No comment about RAW photo quality which many find very important (this is not just a beginners camera).  Just a few test shots alone is a bit thin on the ground. But I like what I see.

11:52 pm - Friday, September 6, 2013

#13 Rick

Will they have an all black model? I’d buy that.

11:57 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#14 Rick

I one paragraph you say the camera has a magnesium alloy body and later an aluminium body. Which is it?

2:15 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

#15 Best DSLR Camera

old design & uncomfortable

12:09 am - Saturday, September 14, 2013

#16 Mark

You can pick up an Olympus OM-D E-M5 for less money and I think it’s a better camera then the Panasonic too. Olympus images have better detail and who needs a tilting view finder?

9:33 am - Monday, September 16, 2013

#17 Tim

The Panasonic GH2 already has silent mode albeit at reduced resolutions. Is the GX7 in silent mode compromised as well?

7:14 pm - Thursday, September 26, 2013

#18 Jackie S

Thank you for this comprehensive review. I guess those here who know better and can do so, will let us see their works.
I handled this camera today [in store] and as you might expect this experience adds a critical dimension to one’s appreciation of the product. Probably one of the most exciting cameras that I have handled for a long time. Seriously considering adding this to my photographic arsenal. Well done Panasonic.

6:50 pm - Saturday, October 19, 2013

#19 earlyadopter

worth noting, the 14-42mm kit lens is such a bummer, only the pancake prime lens is worth it.

4:12 pm - Saturday, January 4, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, test, jpeg, wi-fi, wireless, DSLR, touchscreen, micro four thirds, wifi, touch, tilting, raw, nfc, tilt, 5fps, evf, tiltable, high definition, 60p, electronic viewfinder, 50p, touch-sensitive, timelapse, stop motion, dmc gx7, dmc-gx7, panasonic gx7, gx7, Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry