Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7 Review

4.5
August 13, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

29 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

faster lens, smaller sensor…let’s wait for Samsung..

3:44 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#2 Maesstro

Video is improved in comparison with LX5. But im not sure about pics??? Smaller sensor? Hm… Dimensions? Hm…

4:05 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#3 lowlight

Will no doubt be very good for photos, especially with the f1.4 aperture. However, videographers please note that the UK Panasonic website appears to confirm that, while the camera has Power OIS, it does not have the additional ‘Active’ mode for reducing shake while walking which is found on other Panasonic cameras such as the FZ150 and FZ200. I assumed the LX7 would have active mode so I am a bit disappointed. Perhaps a firmware update will solve this.

6:56 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#4 lowlight

The LX7 will no doubt be very good for photos, especially with the f1.4 aperture. However, videographers please note that the UK Panasonic website appears to confirm that, while the camera has Power OIS, it does not have the additional ‘Active’ mode for reducing shake while walking which is found on other Panasonic cameras such as the FZ150 and FZ200. I assumed the LX7 would have active mode so I am a bit disappointed. Perhaps a firmware update will solve this.

7:01 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#5 JS

I guess people expected more…

7:04 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#6 Maesstro

People expected bigger sensor, smaller dimensions an BETTER picture quality. I see only video quality impovement.

10:55 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#7 Don

Same here. This is obviously a very good camera, BUT, still not good enough as there are better cameras.

For too long, camera makers, especially Canon, has this Just Enough strategy when designing cameras, to try to maximise profit by providing just enough differentiation and features and releasing too many models too frequently with just a few extras each time. 

Now the race is on to go all out as the mirrorless market opens up to become mainstream and stakes are so high, since the NEX-7, E-M5, and RX100.  The ever improving mobile phones like the Nokia 808 and others are also eating away at traditional entry level enthusiast camera markets. Canon’s EOS-M is pretty bad in comparison even though just released, so was the G1X, and now Panasonic’s LX7, and according to rumor, slso the GH3 if it just happens to have some updates and nothing really new.

In other words, Fantastic!!!

7:31 am - Tuesday, August 14, 2012

#8 Tony

Thanks for the review, very helpful.

However can anyone tell me about the motion panorama mode, that’s referred to in press releases?

8:02 am - Tuesday, August 14, 2012

#9 andy clad

Firstly Mark, thanks for listening and including some narrower apertures and higher noise settings.
Yes it looks good and the flower picture is great. But it looks a little washed out for me. The point about no active OIS on video is a good one. The price should drop soon, anyway this type of camera is always overpriced on launch.
I think I will be sticking to my xz-1 for a while yet. Looking forward to the FZ200 and hopefully an xz-2 soon.

7:22 pm - Tuesday, August 14, 2012

#10 ME

I took a look at the Nikon P7100 review and this side by side. For my eye the P7100 outpreforms the LX-7 in picture quality especially at higher iso (and az base iso in raw). I’m curious about the upcoming P7200.

10:19 pm - Tuesday, August 14, 2012

#11 kustom48

Is the LX7 that much better than the LX5, and also worth the additional cost ?

4:41 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#12 Maesstro

Video is better. But im not sure about pics quality. And i would like some comparison review LX5 vs LX7.

6:40 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#13 Maesstro

If someone is interested, this is my comparisom between Canon PowerShot S100 and Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/81213985@N04/7800802312/in/photostream

http://www.flickr.com/photos/81213985@N04/7800911812/in/photostream

11:28 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#14 Maesstro

And yet another, with Sony RX100:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/81213985@N04/7801100008/in/photostream/

3:27 pm - Friday, August 17, 2012

#15 MC

I am curious why most of the sample pictures were taken using very high ISO’s.

Being a FZ50 owner and as we all know, Panasonic cameras perform badly at high ISO’s.  That is one of the major reasons why the LX7 uses a very fast lens.

A few of the sample pictures were taken at f/1.4 and 80-100 ISO’s which looked pretty good to me.  I think the LX7 could take much better pictures if you keep the ISO low and use low F-stop’s.

I could very much be wrong but I do not think the sample pictures are doing the LX7 justice because of the above reasons.

12:33 pm - Thursday, August 23, 2012

#16 AMW

I’ve owned the LX3, LX5 and now the LX7. I use it for street photography and it is great for this. It’s subtle and not a camera that is imposing. The quick focus of the LX7 is welcomed.

For my needs this updated model is a pleasure to use and I’m happy with the IQ.

I have the Lumix GX-1 as well but I don’t use it for street photography. Can’t find a wide enough lens to cover the 24mm coverage of the LX7 and can’t turn the shutter sound off. Different cameras for different needs.

I consider myself lucky.

9:00 pm - Tuesday, August 28, 2012

#17 Printing companies Alameda County

pic quality is good .

11:26 am - Thursday, August 30, 2012

#18 Peter

I too have owned a LX3 & LX5. I hesitate to add the 7 to my upgrade path for one very important reason. The LX5 saw the addition of the thumbwheel to the back side of the camera. Great concept but in my experience, and apparently for many others too, poorly implemented. After 13 months the wheel stopped working. The camera now only works in P mode w/ spot metering. Cost to repair - approx. $175 USD.

A bit of online search proved that I was not alone. Panasonic, for its part, claimed it was product abuse that was rendering the wheel inoperative (dust at the beach, no case etc). Fine, but I don’t go to the beach and I use a case 100% of the time.

All would be forgiven if I knew for sure that Panasonic had addressed the mechanical issue of keeping nature from getting into the camera and harming the contacts. But, there has been no buzz, no news, pretty much nothing to confirm one way or another that this issue has been resolved. Too bad, as I am a product loyal kind of person. That being said, I’m very much looking forward to reviews of the Olympus XZ-2.

12:06 pm - Sunday, October 28, 2012

#19 another Peter

Thanks for your critical review! Texts like this are much to rare.
:D

9:39 pm - Sunday, November 18, 2012

#20 Kustom48

After everything I read on here and elsewhere I managed to find a great deal on an LX5 with EVF and the wide conversion lens for sale at a good price, so I got it !

10:51 pm - Sunday, November 18, 2012

#21 Geza

Here you can find my testphotos from LX7:
http://www.4shared.com/get/8Ir6E5_R/Panasonic_LX7.html

193 MB, zipped.

5:13 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#22 Prakash Bhikha

Hi
I have taken pics with Te Panasonic LX7 and the Nikon P7700.
If any one is interested they are welcome to have a look at the Flickr photostream.

Regards
PHB

5:46 pm - Friday, December 14, 2012

#23 avi

I had canon a85 with better pictures.I bought the lx7 and I dont like the camera.I dont see any change from cameras that cost half price

10:54 pm - Sunday, December 23, 2012

#24 Paul Edwards

I think this camera is being a bit undersold in this review. I think the awful uk weather has got a lot to do with it - cameras like this really ‘shine’ on a nice sunny day with blue skies and lots of sunlight about.

I for one certainly wouldn’t buy this camera after looking at the sample images here - luckily there are other reviews - especially on youtube - and I think I definitely would consider this camera after looking at these images on neocamera!

I have always had a lot of respect for panasonic cameras, their build quality is wonderful - metal bodies, metal buttons, give you a strong impression of something very well made and that should last. I was actually holding this camera in my hands just the other day and right then thought to myself ‘this feels like a well made scientific instrument’, the weight and tactile feed back made me want to buy it there and then no cheap nasty plastic body…..... and then there’s the picture quality - outstanding!

http://www.neocamera.com/camera/panasonic/lx7/samples

1:15 pm - Monday, January 21, 2013

#25 Hans

I’m tempted to buy the LX7, but I’m also looking at the Sony NEX 3N 16-50. Who would win the battle, as an good all round point and shoot camera?

4:55 pm - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#26 Paul Edwards

The LX7 is a very fine camera but the Sony RX100 is better. Both of them are limited by a relatively small zoom range - around 100mm max.

The Sony (or Samsung) CSC are probably more versatile and of course with the correct adapter you can fit quite a lot of other vendors lens that are much cheaper and are just as good though they wont have the full functionality and connectivity that a native lens would have..They also have full size APC sensors same size ad a DSLR but are much smaller (not light on the pocket however!)

8:52 pm - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#27 Hans

Thanks for your view Paul!

I’m in a dilemma…

Today I have a Nikon Coolpix S8200, bought last year for a trip to Rio de Janeiro. It’s a good “compact” camera for both still and video, but I’m so disappointed with landscape pictures. I miss clarity, better focus and wider angle.

Now I’m going to Rio again, and this time I don’t want to be disappointed with my shots.

The cameras that is currently in my view:

1)
Panasonic LX7 - I’ve owned the LX3 before, and was very satisfied. I liked the wide angle, and pictures was very sharp.

2)
RX100 - seems to be a good choice also, a little more expensive than the LX7, but double up on megapixels.

3)
RX100M2 - right now I think it’s too expensive, and it’s not available at the moment.

4)
Sony NEX 5r or 6 - with the 16-50 lens. I don’t think, that I’m the type who would swap lenses, so would this be an option? I’ve never tried it in my hand, but it won’t go in a pocket… Maybe I’m willing to sacrifice the size, if the camera is worth it?

Please help me decide :)

Thank you

10:09 am - Thursday, July 4, 2013

#28 Paul Edwards

I think the Sony SVC will go in your pocket with apancakelens on it . Also have a lookout other manufacturers lenses. 

Also have s look at Samsung’s CSC cameras - not the Samsung galaxy I mean the NX series NX 1000 ,1100 and the new 2000 they really are very good with their 20MP sensors and mirrorless too.

Our what about the new Sony cybershot 50 or Panasonic tz 40…

10:21 am - Thursday, July 4, 2013

#29 Chris62

I owe LX7 with some accesories and I’m very glad I bought it.
I do not agree that Sony RX100 is better.
When I did some inspections I find LX7 the best camera in this class.

In sunny days optional LVF2 is useful.
additional battery when we go for long trip also is necessary.
filters, converter lens we can use with optional adapters.
Also better flash is possible to use.

Key advantages are:
1. great lens
2. multi aspect sensor - constant diagonal in 4 aspect modes and aspect mode bracketing!
we have picture for paper 4:3 3:2 1:1 and 16:9 for plasma at once from one shot.
3. built in auto ND filter necessary when we want to use F1,4 in sunny lighting or for other purposess.
4. step zoom 24/28/35/50/70/90 and additonal 135/180 mm eqv in intelligent zoom option.
zooming is faster then.
5. very good video and slow zooming in this mode.
6. Very good quality - made in Japan…
7. Fast and precise AF
8. Aperture ring !


Disadvantages?
Yes, they are: I prefer built in viewfinder then optional very ekspensive.
the new mirorrles GX7 solution looks very nice.
Lens in working mode is easy to damge so I use adapter to protect them in the crowd i.e.

 

2:11 pm - Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, hdmi, manual, RAW, lumix, 10 megapixel, panasonic, prosumer, professional, premium, 3.8x zoom, dmc-lx7, lx7, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7 Review, lx7 review, dmc lx7