Panasonic Lumix DMC-S3 Review

4.0
April 22, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

16 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 MegaPixelMan

Cheapest camera with optical stabilization? The pictures at full resolution looks too blury even in slower ISOs, maybe the S1 perform better.

4:43 am - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#2 Yianni

The camera looks great on paper. The lens looks to be the letdown though with a lot of side/corner blurring.

It’s a pitting because looking at the center part of the photos shows a lot of detail so the sensor is definitely capable of delivering quality images considering the price tag.

The ability to optically zoom and focus during HD video mode is also fantastic for this price tag.

Cheers

9:47 am - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#3 tayo

This Panasonic camera is of the hook. This is the face of Photography for cinematographers.

7:29 pm - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#4 Arsene

It’s an incredible little cam for its price, I think. The images look very clean. The noise is very well controlled considering how small this thing is. The anti-shake seems to work very well, it’s the typical Panny MEGA OIS, which is good! I still can’t believe you can zoom in video on this tiny thing. I may just have to grab this and keep it in my pocket.

5:48 pm - Monday, April 25, 2011

#5 R

Mr G - how is the Macro on this thing? I don’t think it has one per se, but I was wondering how close you can get to an object, say, a flower, as an example? Could you try one and show us what that looks like? ta

6:23 am - Tuesday, April 26, 2011

#6 tayo

Guy Great Article, Technology is advancing daily. When you claim to be a cinematographer and you are not updating yourself with changes occuring in the technology world. you’ev to get updated

11:45 am - Wednesday, April 27, 2011

#7 DM

Looks AWESOME for the money.  I almost bought one as a pocket cam for holiday, but then I remembered the price I paid for my TZ7 spare battery so checked the price for this (£40-50, presumably requiring a genuine battery).  Will look at Nikon s3100 or 5100, or Ixus 115 instead. Panasonic do themselves no favours.

5:58 pm - Friday, July 29, 2011

#8 four

Guys, are you sure you can zoom in and out while recording video 720p?

I saw a lot of reviews in Amazon.com; and all of them say that there’s no feature to zoom in and out while recording a video; please clarify. I have plans on buying this digicam. Thanks!

5:31 pm - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

#9 SMG

You can’t zoom whilst the recorder is running, but you can stop, change the zoom setting and run again.

Don’t read too much into the disparaging comments about resolution above - this is a good little camera for the money, and the macro range is pretty good. I also like that it’s easy to use the exposure compensation. The only snag with that is that it doesn’t reset after you’ve taken a picture - or even after you’ve switched the camera off; you have to remember to reset this for yourself, as I discovered the hard way…

It’ll do me as a cheap compact for quite a while, I think.

9:51 pm - Friday, September 9, 2011

#10 mehmet

panasonic s3 s1,fs10 or canon a2200,kodak m575,m580 i will buy soon.Which is better can you make priority list?

9:32 pm - Wednesday, September 21, 2011

#11 EG

could someone tell me if I can crop photos in the S3

7:48 am - Monday, September 26, 2011

#12 Herman

A great camera, image quality is superb and video is definitely HD. I can’t fault it and the only problem is the lack of a viewfinder but that is par for the course of all cameras of this type. I sold my Nikon D3100 and in my opinion this little Lumix does just about all that crude D3100 could at 10% of the price! Highly recommended.

9:27 pm - Wednesday, March 7, 2012

#13 debojit das

how do i get the Macro setting? i bought this cam and unable to find Macro setting. I am just a beginner. plz help.

7:49 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#14 may

Have you got a video showing you how to set-up the Panasonic lumix S3 & instruction how to take pictures & video?

11:02 am - Wednesday, August 1, 2012

#15 Madhav

There are some people who buy a SLR without knowing what it is capable of and later whining that its crude / Heavy / No live view blah blah…. Very funny…. Its like buying a yamaha r1 when you just need a commuter…. Comparing this cam with 3100 is hilarious

11:23 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#16 WENDY

HOW CAN DATE PUT IN PIC?MODEL CAM. : PANASONIC LUMIX DMC S3

7:32 am - Monday, August 27, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, wide-angle, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, 14 megapixel, lumix, 28mm, 4x zoom, budget, s3, dmc-s3, Panasonic Lumix DMC-S3 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry