Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10 Review

4.5
March 10, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

124 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 darth

Why the burst mode is not like tz7?
I hope soon in a software update.

7:27 pm - Wednesday, March 10, 2010

#2 AA

ONCE AGAIN, Mark, you neglect to explain the various aspect ratio options on the camera properly, with examples.  You should always explain how the Circle of View works, with the diagramme, so people can understand how the various aspect ratios are captured from the angle of view! Please, you need to do this EVERY time with these Pannys. Otherwise, your review is incomplete, especially when all of your sample photos only show shot taken in 4x3. You MUST always show the same exact shot in 4x3, 3x2 and 16x9, otherwise you are not showing the camera’s potential - especially when you tell us how amazing the 25mm is! Please, Mark, go back and add a detailed explanation of the aspect ratios and how it works on the chip. You’ve done it before. Thank you.

8:07 pm - Wednesday, March 10, 2010

#3 Pascal

Thanks for the review. But so many samples shooted at iso 80, only one à 1600, no one à 800… Why ?

10:58 pm - Wednesday, March 10, 2010

#4 somebody

i cant belive how reviewer says the image quality is good.i mean a normal eye can see that the images are looking like they were taken with webcam or somthing.i’m not sure about the reviews of this site,after reading that review i might think that there’s some backstage thing going on here…

11:49 pm - Wednesday, March 10, 2010

#5 link building packages

Photos are quite dull/dark (despite it being a bright sunny day) and lack crispness and depth.

not sure if that’s too harsh…

6:25 am - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#6 Russell

I’m sorry but the lens/image sensor is bad. IQ is bad and the camera is based on marketing to morons who think more MP= better camera. it’s a cheap toy.

6:45 am - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#7 AA

Yeah but - that’s London. It’s always gret and dark there. LOL

8:17 am - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#8 r4 adapter

I am looking to buy a compact with high zoom capicity digital camera with possibility to buy a dedicated uderwater housing (for example i do not think the ricoh has one). is there anything better than the Panasonic tz10?

8:30 am - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#9 Guenther

I own a DMC TZ3, and am looking forward to get it replaced with this new normal.

I just can say, that the TZ3 is making great photos under sunlight.

Also the 16:9 mode is great!

I’ll probably get this cam soon, as prices drop a bit.

8:42 am - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#10 Guenther

The GPS feature is nice also:

just downloaded the sample image of the “denmark house”, it has the gps data in EXIF.

It’s been shooten here: http://maps.google.com/maps?q=51.46294667,-0.11727500&spn=0.001,0.001&t=k&hl=en

39-73 Nursery Rd
Lambeth, Greater London SW9 8, UK

9:16 am - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#11 Guenther

Also nice: the photos coming from this camera are rotated correctly in Adobe Lightroom (doesn’t happen with images taken with the DMC TZ3 or my Nikon D70).

Example:
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/panasonic_lumix_dmc_tz10/sample_images/panasonic_lumix_dmc_tz10_10.jpg

Which has been taken here: http://maps.google.com/maps?q=51.50618000,-0.08551667&spn=0.001,0.001&t=k&hl=en

1 Cottons Ln
Camberwell, Greater London SE1 2, UK

9:24 am - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#12 Thomas

Nice camera, but I don’t like these kind of JPG-polaroid shooters. No RAW - no BUY.

9:48 am - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#13 Bilbo

been looking at getting either this or the Lumix DMC-FX38EB-K for my Safari in Kenya next March. What would you guys recommend. My only thing is that I prefer a view finder which makes me go towards the later. 

What do you think?

3:37 pm - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#14 rob

Any chance of reviews of similar cameras coming on the market now. The Casio ex fh100, sony hx5v and the Samsung wb650. cheers

3:43 pm - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#15 CSP

Please test and write review about Samsung WB650 and Sony HX5V! And compare Panasonic TZ10 and Samsung WB650 and Sony HX5V! Thank you very much!

4:47 pm - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#16 Dinosaur

I know it’s very similar to the TZ8 but so were the comments and text! Must get tiring doing camera reviews. And the sample images were the same as the TZ8!

7:03 pm - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#17 AA

No chance of the various Aspect Ratio examples, eh, and how it uses the same angle of view? Still waiting…......

12:24 am - Saturday, March 13, 2010

#18 glanglois

Mark, pay no attention to the whinging. 

As you note, this is a travel P&S.  My DLSR has better IQ - it should do with 15X the sensor area and many times the price.

Different job, different tool.  A point that has escaped some here who need to find something helpful to do with their time.

Thanks for the info on GPS.  Oddly enough, the only question I had on GPS is how well it would function in central London.  I’m afraid that holidays in London are my second vice (first is LBA). 

Now I have to find a buyer for my ZS-3.  I expect that those commenting above would not be interested .......

1:22 am - Saturday, March 13, 2010

#19 Peter

I will be very interested in seeing how this camera compares with the Canon SX210 since my next camera will be an ultrazoom P&S. Thanks for a great review!

10:00 am - Saturday, March 13, 2010

#20 macwho

I had been thinking of asking for a TZ7 for my birthday. (cost about £215). Do I now go for the TZ8 or the TZ10 or is the TZ7 still the best ?
I’m confused by the review and comments.

3:46 pm - Monday, March 15, 2010

#21 Vitaly

TZ7 is now sold for $230 and TZ10 for $400. Image quality is the same at best. If GPS, slightly better OIS and exposure modes are worth extra $170 to you, then go ahead. If not, TZ7 is still an excellent camera, I believe.

3:07 pm - Tuesday, March 16, 2010

#22 wm

I have this camera and the picture colour contrast and taking pictures in low light areas makes the image quality really bad. I don’t know why the review here says the pictures are good. Im very disappointed in this camera.

4:32 pm - Thursday, March 18, 2010

#23 Sofie

.

Hi.
I want to buy a new camera and cant decide between this one or a sx200. I’m going to a lot of concerts so video recording needs to be good on the camera I choose.
I saw some vids shot by the tz7 and I was blown away by the amazing sound quality. After that I was pretty set on buying the panasonic one.  However, I was a bit worried when I read a few reviews on the image quality. dont think I’ll mind the colour issues on the pani so much but some reviews tell me that it doesnt take so good shots in low light. What do you people think about taking photos at concerts? My friend has a sx200 and her concert photos are amazing.
So basically, I want a camera with superb video recording and ability to take good photos at concerts. If the pani takes shitty concert photos I’ll have to reconsider once again.
Im sorry if my english is bad, I’m not a native speaker. lol.
Thanks for your help!
/Sofie

2:25 am - Friday, March 19, 2010

#24 kitepuppet

I bought this camera to record my year in China. Wish I’d read the small print first- GPS is disabled in China:(
Otherwise its a top performer so far

8:46 am - Saturday, March 20, 2010

#25 Charles K

@Thomas—if you learn to get the image right the first time, you don’t need, and won’t miss, RAW.  Besides, you’d probably be relegated to using Silkypix RAW converstion to JPG.  No thanks.  If this camera is at least as good as the ZS3, it’s lightyears ahead of the competition IMHO.

6:02 pm - Thursday, March 25, 2010

#26 Gabriel

Image quality of Sony HX5 (score 4.5) better than Panasonic TZ-10/SZ-7 (score 4.0). That’s right??

12:31 pm - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#27 johan

I bought this camera a few weeks ago, when it was introduced in Sweden.

It’s a pretty nice camera. Not as bulky as I feared, pretty responsive and pretty nice average images.

MAIN DISAPPOINTMENT - It’s the AVCHD Lite format. In Vista, it doesn’t play in Media Player and it’s not possible to edit in Movie Maker. And no codec comes with the camera. THAT IS UNBELIEVABLE. Panasonic should really provide that.  The only simple way seems to play movies in VNC and use a video converter first before using the movies in movie maker.

Image quality - In good light, it’s very nice. But I am a bit disappointed when taking photos in ordinary indoor lighting. The pictures get very noisy. I cannot compare to anything but what I have tried on demo ex in stores, and it’s probably the same with other compacts. But for instance, Panasonic GF1 and Olympus Pen are a whole different world.

9:27 pm - Saturday, April 10, 2010

#28 Robert

I am also very disappointed with the image quality. Too say the least it is really crappy compared to my old Canon ixus 860IS

3:58 pm - Tuesday, April 13, 2010

#29 Brittany

HELP! I need a camera to take with me when I go to concerts (low-light). I have really high standards for quality and am feeling underwhelmed by the P&S options with manual capabilities. I think I’ve narrowed it down to Panasonic ZS7 (TZ10), Canon SX210, or Sony HX5V. I need more feedback from people who own these cameras… pros ? cons? image and VIDEO quality? recorded sound? I’d really appreciate the feedback. Thanks so much!!!

2:28 am - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#30 candy

why is the tz7 has a higher rank on the picture quality ( 4.5) than the tz10(4) ?

10:50 pm - Tuesday, April 20, 2010

#31 pandzik

I have an old Canon A510. It still makes a good picture indoors in low light.
Which of the new cameras will do just as good pictures of the inside, Panasonic tz*, Sony HX5, and Canon sx2*0?

10:01 pm - Monday, April 26, 2010

#32 Dan

All the example pictures have fine lines of missing data - is this a camera artefact, a display problem, or something else. 

If this is what the camera produces then I’m sure going somewhere else. Someone explain please.

7:24 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#33 Bob

Been trying to decide between the Nikon S8000 and this Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7. I hear good about both, like the flash placement on the Panasonic better, but poor low light pictures, also one reviewer dropped theirs less than 2 feet onto a bus floor and the zoom broke. My old Nikon Coolpic 4100 is getting dated and the pictures leave a lot to be desired to others in our group so I decided to upgrade to a better camera… Who would have thought it would be so hard to make a decision on a point and shoot camera.  Any experience with both?

8:12 pm - Thursday, May 6, 2010

#34 MRH

@Darth: Yes! It’s a total pain that the “infinite” burst have been removed. I used it all the time with my TZ7 and I need that feature badly. In my point of view it’s takes away the whole pleasure of buying a new camera every or every second year to stay updated. No point in that anymore if the the take away one feature to make room for another. Can that be done by a software update? If so; Software update asap pls. Does anybody know where to send that request?

4:08 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#35 Englaise

Here is the definitive comparison between this camera and the SX210. Both are very good cameras, and I’ve seen them both compared, of course unfavorably, to SLR models. To put it succinctly, a camera’s performance, when all other factors are on par, e.g., sensor size, etc., has to do with the glass.

Many seem to mistake graininess in low-light conditions as a camera “problem” when in fact it is due to too-short exposure times. You need time to gather enough light for the sensor to make good sense of it.

Both the Canon and Panasonic perform very well here.

Now to the important factors influenced by the Lens:

The Canon has a greater native or optical zoom factor because of lens design. As well the Canon has much better control over the zoom speed, especially when transitioning between the optical and digital zoom ranges.

The Panasonic, by contrast, has a very slow zoom, and the transition to digital zoom is abrupt and ultra-fast, making it difficult to make fine adjustments.

That being said, the Panasonic does have features ‘under the hood’ which help make up for its comparatively limited optical zoom factor. If one engages the iZoom, the maximum 12x can be increased to 15x, with very subtle image degradation. As well, one can affect further 1.7 and 2.1 zoom factor amplification range changes, which include the optical and digital ranges. I experimented with low-light indoor conditions, and despite extreme magnification, while there was some noise, I could easily read even the smallest print on a card from twenty feet away…but keep in mind that sufficient exposure time is needed to produce good results. So many seem to forget this.

The two cameras shoot video quite well, but the Panasonic has the edge…shot from the same location, with spots of tree-filtered sun on the patio, I noticed aliasing at the edges of the spots with the Canon, whilst those recorded by the Panasonic were smooth…and yes, they were shot in the same resolution, and recorded in the .MOV format. The audio quality is comparable, however the Panasonic has a ‘wind noise’ feature which is fairly effective at deadening this annoying interference. In a still environment, with bird-song about, playing back such recordings made by both cameras produces startlingly effective ‘surround’ sound, complete with some birds sounding like they’re behind me…using only stock stereo computer speakers. I actually had to check to see that I had closed the patio door!

The Canon has much faster camera-to-PC transfer times than does the Panasonic, and I’m wondering if that is because the Panasonic’s firmware is at Rev. 1.0, because inserting the SDHC 8GB card into a reader puts things on par with the Canon.

The Macro department is where the Panasonic really shines, with its special Macro Zoom feature. Combined with its 2cm. (vs. 5cm for the Canon) minimum focal distance, the Macro Zoom mode puts the Leica lens in a special configuration for extreme close-ups, which puts it right up with the best of the macro shooters.
Unfortunately, the Canon falls short here.

So, the only places where the Canon does not hold up to the Panasonic, are its Macro abilities, and slightly greater edge-aliasing in the video.

Where the Canon shines is its superior zoom control (and I’m not referring to the controls themselves, but, rather, how it operates), and optical zoom factor for bringing close really distant objects.

But all else being equal, the Panasonic’s Leica lens lends a clarity and sharpness not seen in the Canon. Of course, even lenses from the same manufacturer have slight differences, one being sharper than another of the same type/model, so the exceptional clarity I’m getting with my Lumix may simply have been circumstance…however, Leica has traditionally been a name synonymous with quality. When I compare the lens build elements of both cameras, this quality difference shows.

For my particular shooting needs, the Panasonic is the superior camera.

8:28 pm - Wednesday, May 26, 2010

#36 Englaise

Um…a friend pointed out that with some of the features I listed above I got the brands changed over.

First, the 1.7x and 2.1x zoom factors belong to the Canon, and not the Panasonic. I also failed to note that when this feature is activated, one loses the wide-angle aspect of the lens, but if you’re in a situation of bringing a subject close, this configuration works well with little quality degradation.

As well, the slow zoom grade I gave to the Panasonic only applies when you’re doing a video, but its abrupt switch between optical and digital zoom ranges (that is, if digital zoom is enabled) applies in all situations.

5:20 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#37 Fiqqer

in my experience the TZ10 has very good (better than most, not quite the best photos for a compact superzoom.  It easily has the best video mode.

For better photos but worse video try the Fuji F70 or F80 exr range (f80 if you want hd video).

The Fuji’s are not as easy to use, however they will grow with you as there are many things you can change to improve your photography.

12:37 pm - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#38 Morten

I own the TZ10 - bought it after reading this review (and lots of others) and ended up with this one.

I have the following comments:
1. Over all a nice camera - I think the review tells the thruth about this camera.
2. Photos: Not the best I´ve seen - but for snapshots it´s OK. I keep getting a little too light overexposed pictures so I have -1 in exposure as default all the time. Maybe this is not a common problem, but it is for me though.
Reaaly nice with both wideangle and zoom. Even though the digital zoom is not really of any use for making large pictures - it looks quite nice and can be used for documentations. I´ve taken some reaaly sharp and detailed phots using the maximum zoom. Not for print - but for web etc. its OK to some extend.
Colours are a bit too light for my taste, and you don´t have too zoom a lot in to the pictures before you see artifacts and pixels. But you can easely print up to A3 with no major issues.
3. Actually very nice video. I work partly as a professional video-producer/photographer and use Panasonic HMG151E as my main video-camera. And I must say I´m quite impressed with the video in this little camera. I recently tried to put my SD card with videos in to my parents 42” Panasonic plasma tv, and it played right away and looked really nice. Allthough it is not professional quality and you can see the framerate is not the best, it looks sharp and detailed and the sound is reaaly good compared to all other digital pocket-cameras I´ve been using.
4. GPS - I have not been using it because it uses up my battery in no time. So I guess I will only be using that for fun from time to time.
5. Other functionalities: A lot like all other small cameras - and it mostly works. What I reaaly like about the TZ10 is the possibilty to make manual settings - adjusting a lot of things manually. And still you can just shoot 100% automatic = sometimes quite awfull pictures. Zooming goes fast, focusing really fast. in videomode zooming is slow, but I canlive with that. If you can´t this camera is not for you. it takes quite a while to zoom in in videomode.
6. Design: Small and handy - can easely be in a pocket. But it´s sometimes hard to get a good grip. The cameras surface is very smmoth and shiny (so don´t eat french fires as you shoot ;-)
But with a little training it goes fine. And remember the wrist-strip, so you do not accidently drop the camera. It could easely slip out of your hands.

i like this camera. I own a Nikon D70 and a Nikon D300 as weel with a lot of lenses and other stuff - and it´s so heavy and i can not take a short movie of something on the road. So often I take my D300 and my TZ10 with me and uses the D300 for serious photos and the TZ10 for snapshots and video. A perfect couple.

Enjoy.

(Thx for a really nice website and awsome reviews!).

:)

10:20 pm - Sunday, June 6, 2010

#39 Yves

It is a very good camera. Small but perfect for who want something light in a travel. It is always ready and give very nice photos and videos. The best of its category.
If you want to see a sample go on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRPFJVQTsLY
The photos permit, when making editing to zoom on it. And videos are very amazing.
I never hope to find a so little camera with this
powe.

3:33 pm - Monday, June 7, 2010

#40 Yves

It is a very good camera. Small but perfect for who want something light while traveling. It is always ready and give very nice photos and videos. The best of it category.
If you want to see a sample go on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRPFJVQTsLY
The photos permit, when making editing, to zoom on it. And videos are very amazing.
I never hope to find a so little camera with this
power.

3:37 pm - Monday, June 7, 2010

#41 Andrew

I noticed a few comments about limited burst mode. I just bought one of these and the camera can take 10 shots a second up to a maximum of 100 shots per burst. The high speed burst mode is in the scene settings.

The video is amazing.

The picture quality seems great, I’m using this for quick family/baby shots, it’s small enough to have on me (couldn’t see myself lugging around an SLR).

Very low light no flash pictures can be grainy in auto mode. This seems to be if the camera detects movement, scenery auto pictures seem fine (outdoor night scene on a tripod).

Indoor night shots with normal room lighting look good. Leaving the flash on auto works for low light shots with movement. Playing with the manual settings and adjusting exposure for low light no flash situations should help, but I’m still experimenting with this and haven’t quite got my head around the various compromises yet.

4:26 am - Monday, June 14, 2010

#42 Declan Mcmanus

I’m just thinking of purchasing this camera. Principally for family holiday snaps and also the ability to video in seemingly excellent quality. I am replacing a failing Sony compact and Sony camcorder with one simple device.

I am nervous however over all this talk of the video format. Will i be ok to transfer this avhc video to my Mac Running snow leopard.  I am not looking for big productions just mementos of holidays and cute family moments. Is it just vista it isn’t compatible with?

Don’t need the gps, it will be off mostly but the extra video capability attracts me, especially at amazons £253.70.  Will all SD cards work or should I just get a good higher speed card?

Thanks in advance.

8:26 am - Monday, June 14, 2010

#43 yves

There some problems with the AVCHD format. I worked with Final Cut Express and with a iMac. I must convert the AVCHD video format (“MTS) into a .Mov. I do that with Toast Titanium. Some says that the format motion jpeg is easier to work with but I never try it, I work with the AVCHD. As you can see with the example given
above, it is not too bad.

7:51 pm - Friday, June 18, 2010

#44 yves

The best is to use a SDHC. If you take a lot a videos, bye a 8GB. I have two of them and it is enough for a summer trip in Europe. A lot of pictures and few hours of videos.

7:56 pm - Friday, June 18, 2010

#45 Pia

@Declan Mcmanus
I “upgraded” my camera with a 32GB SDHC card and ‘the camera said’ that the card was locked, buy it wasn’t. I contacted Panasonic an after a few mails back and forth they told med that the card must be a version 6 or 10. Earlier version should not work. I also asked how I could see on the card whick version it was, but I could’nt - I should ask at the store….

I really think this is a great camera. My first Panasonic was the TZ1, then I bought the TZ7 and now this. I have been taken so many great pictures with all three cameras and I can do nothing but recommend it.

Enjoy!

4:28 am - Monday, June 21, 2010

#46 Vlado

Review says that there is no longer danger of getting the message “Dial is in the wrong position.” Well, I am getting it all the time as I carry the otherwise satisfactory camera in my pockets for the quick draw readiness. I updated to this model from TZ3 to expand the zoom to 25mm at the wide end.  Also to have the HD video function in a single compact package with the camera when the standard camcorder is just too big for the occasion. Sacrifice in video quality is acceptable compromise in the situations like mountaneering, etc. Don’t care for the GPS function, it is the battery draining gimmick. I only use it to reset the camera clock to the local time when traveling. I have three compacts, each for different function. One for the picture quality, another for the low light and this one for versatility thanks to its long zoom. Except for the constant turning of the dial ring in my pockets, I am happy with this camera.

4:30 pm - Monday, June 21, 2010

#47 Fiqqer

Panasonic were talking about the speed rating of the card.  All recent sdhc cards have a speed rating on them.  There will be a small C with a number IN it.  That is the speed rating.

The speed rating ranges from 2 for a standard sd card to 4 for faster cards (e.g. Sandisk Ultra II) to 6 or 10 for the Sandisk Extreme.

There are other brands that produce faster cards -Panasic, TDK Lexar, Sandisk, Transcend etc.  The Sandisk Extreme are fast but very pricey.

The good thing about the seed rating is you can see how good the card is and it guarantees a good write speed, whereas before you could buy a card with a good read speed but very poor speed.

1:23 pm - Tuesday, June 22, 2010

#48 John

Hello

I’ve been looking around on the web for a compact digital camera. One that I can use mainly for work, but one that’s also good to use out and about and for family photos and videos.

I’m willing to spend £350

I need one that’s got (In order of importance)
1) Good - Excellent picture quality.
2) Great HD video quality.
3) Does good in low light - For a compact digital camera.
4) Long optical zoom - 8x minimum.
5) (Not vital) Some sort of panorama feature.

I’m really not that bothered about fancy GPS features, I’ll probably turn it off anyway because it drains your battery. I’m still open but so far I’ve narrowed it down to the SONY CYBERSHOT-H55, PANASONIC TZ10 AND THE SAMSUNG WB650.

One thing I’m concerned about with this camera is purple streaks or “Purple fringing”. Is it that much of a drag? And does it have a panarama mode?

Which camera would you recommend? Thank you.

10:28 pm - Friday, June 25, 2010

#49 Morten Telling

Hi

I can recommend the TZ10. THe purple fringing is only a problem whenshootig straight into the sun or very bright sky - and ONLY in video. You will see the purple strokes at your screen when taking a picture, but it will not be present in your final shot. Only in video. I guess Panasonic will do something in next firmware update to get rid of this issue.

I myself do not use the GPS at all. You can turn it off and only use it from time to time. I can´t use it for anything right now. So I have turned off all the time.
/Morten

11:03 am - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#50 Morten Telling

BTW - you can watch this little movie I have made and see the purple strokes - it kind of give it some retro-like look ;-) But I hope Panasonic will get it solved in a future update:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WygdgLhPm4Q

:)
Morten

11:06 am - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#51 MRH

It’s really sad that the “infinite” burst have been removed. I used it all the time with my TZ7 and I need that feature badly. In my point of view it’s takes away the whole pleasure of buying a new camera every or every second year to stay updated. No point in that anymore if the the take away one feature to make room for another. QUESTION: Does anybody know if that can be changed by a software update? If so; Software update asap pls. Does anybody know where to send that request? Thank you very much in advance for your kind reply

11:48 am - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#52 John

Thank you (Morten Telling) - I liked that video. The water droplets look amazing.

So how many shots can you get in burst mode?
And does this camera have a Panorama setting at all?

3:24 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#53 Morten Telling

Hi again

Well - I just tried the burst mode today once more - I managed to take approx. 10 pictures in 3 megapixels pr. sec. It shoots as long as you push down the button - I don´t know when it stops - sounds and looks like infinite to me.

Read more about it here (about half down the page)
http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/compact/zs7_tz10/functions.html

Thx john - I am quite happy with this little movie myself. It looks quite nice when you consider I made it in about ten minutes - just edited very fast with no image effects besides crossdissolving.

I especially like the HD video for this camera. Photos are nice too, but the video is way beoyond what I imagened when I bought it. With a little excercise you can reaaly make som amazing stuff with this little fellow!

:)
Morten

8:57 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#54 Morten Telling

Oooh - I forgot - Yes it has panoramasettings as well. Take a look at all the features - I guess it´s all there?
the option for running 100% manual is quite cool too…
http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/compact/zs7_tz10/functions.html

:)
Morten

8:59 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#55 John

I bought this camera just yesterday - I’m looking foward to using it.

10:26 am - Sunday, July 4, 2010

#56 Annie

Having been very happy with the TZ7 I upgraded to the TZ10, I find it to be a great camera for it’s size but I’m very disappointed with the hiss you hear on video playback, has anybody else had this or know of a way round it?

4:16 pm - Wednesday, July 7, 2010

#57 Ann

I ride horses and want a camera that has a good action setting but also has good portait picture quality. Do ya’ll think this would be a good camera for me?  My max is $350.

1:16 am - Saturday, July 10, 2010

#58 olivia

Hi i bought my camera Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10 2 days back to replace my sony cybershot DSC320. However, after 2 days of playing with my camera, what I realised was that the TZ10 takes really good quality images in daylight whereas in slightly dimmer settings, the picture quality tends to be really grainy. Does anyone know why this is so or how it can be overcome? The promoter had assured me that the TZ10 was able to take good pictures even at night.

7:21 am - Tuesday, July 20, 2010

#59 Daisy

I had gone through the reviews for Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10 and Canon Powershot SX 210 IS

Both are loaded with features, and both are high on the cost. However ‘photographyblog’s’ rating of ‘Value for money’ is ‘4’ for Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10 at ‘3’ for Canon Powershot SX 210 IS. Why is this.

I have read multiple reviews in this sites. There seems to be some generic inclinication towards ‘Panasonic’ and ‘Sony’. Review are supposed to be neutral

10:48 am - Friday, July 23, 2010

#60 Sathish

Hi Friends,

I have Purchased a New Lumix DMC TZ10, after all my reviews in the Internet,
it could give me nice pictures when the lightning conditions are good, say in the Bright Sunlight, or where there is good light, where we can use IA Mode for taking pictures,
but the real problem for me is if the light condition is Dull the camera fails to produce Crisp Images, and the Photos taken Gets Blurred when viewing in Computer, and also if you zoom the images it is going Worst, i tried with IA and Auto Settings but nothing is giving me good results. even i kept at 12 MP, A3, A2 Size Settings.
You made me SAD LumiX DZ10, may be mine was a Faulty One but can’t say.

can any one guide me what setting to be kept so that the Pictures can be enlarged ( Zoomed) with out Grainy Blurrness.

8:30 pm - Tuesday, July 27, 2010

#61 Iczelion

For those of you who are deciding to buy ZS7/TZ10, there is a small but important difference between these two models. AVCHD video recording in ZS7 has limitation of 29.59 mins while TZ10 can record AVCHD video up to the limit of the memory card. If you happen to have ZS7 but want to get rid of this limitation, download the TZ10 firmware 1.1 update from Panasonic website, rename TZ10_V11.bin to ZS7__V11.bin (note the two underscores: the filename must be 8 characters in length) and use it to update the firmware. For those who already updated the firmware to v1.1, the camera won’t allow you to update the same version of firmware. You need to download and use this modified firmware.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=IS70WEW2

During the firmware update, the camera will recognize this firmware as v1.2 so it will allow the update. I used this update myself and had to wait for more than 10 mins for the camera to restart but it will not. I had to remove the battery to reset it. After the restart, I could record AVCHD video in SH mode up to 1 hour. The file size is nearly 4 GB (My memory card capacity is 4 GB).

1:18 pm - Saturday, August 21, 2010

#62 Simon Bleadale

Hi all,

I need a bit of advise please. I purchased a Lumix DMC-TZ10 recently and cannot transfer the video I have taken from the camera to my Mac (running 10.4). In fact, I cannot even see the video files on the camera’s folders when connected via USB.

If I have somehow saved the video to the internal memory of the camera, how do I retrieve it?

Also, once I do find the files, do I have to convert the file to another format to edit in iMovie?

You help would be very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Simon

11:49 am - Monday, August 23, 2010

#63 Iczelion

Hi, Simon
Perhaps you recorded the video in AVCHD Lite format? In that case, the video file is stored in Private\AVCHD\Stream folder.
As to the internal memory storage, you can save to it only when TZ10 doesn’t have memory card. In that case, just remove the memory card and connect TZ10 to your Mac and try again.

1:29 pm - Monday, August 23, 2010

#64 Simon Bleadale

Hi Iczelion,

Many thanks for the reply. I thoroughly searched all the folders, incl. Private\AVCHD\Stream folder, and there were no video files. I will record in MovieJpg from now on and see if I have more luck.

Regards

Simon

1:36 pm - Monday, August 23, 2010

#65 Iczelion

The AVCHD video file has an extension of .mts
If you don’t see any file in Stream folder, perhaps the video is stored in internal memory.
Remove the memory card and connect your camera to Mac and try to look for video files again.

3:38 am - Tuesday, August 24, 2010

#66 Simon Bleadale

Many thanks Iczelion,

I will try that tonight.

Regards

Simon

9:35 am - Tuesday, August 24, 2010

#67 Martin Cann

I bought this camera specifically for the Leica lens, and am very disapointed with the quality of my images. They are very grainy at full size. Any ideas on making me happy with it before itgets threw to the back of the cupboard.

9:14 pm - Saturday, August 28, 2010

#68 Simon Badalundabad

what to do…. get this or the tz7?? had almost decided on the canon sx210 is but then i learned about the lens shadow problem with it so thats cancelled!

9:20 pm - Friday, September 3, 2010

#69 enkeyajay

@Iczelion  
Does loading of TZ10 firmware in ZS7 make video mode from NTSC to PAL ? I bought ZS7 and I don’t belong to NTSC zone, hence willing to convert it to PAL.
Thanks.

10:38 pm - Friday, September 3, 2010

#70 Aytan Aydogan

Hi all,

I’m an estate agent and looking for a compact camera with wide angle. I’m stuck between Panasonic Lumix tz10 and Pentaz Optio x90.Would you kindly post your comments please on both cameras or any other camera you may recommend.Thanks in advance.

10:37 am - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#71 yymm

The Lumix tz10 sports mode - how does it work? In most other cameras, when sports mode is turned on, one depress the shutter button for a while & several frames would be captured. But this doesn’t seem to be working when I set to sports mode, my tz10 only captured one frame.
Wonder if anyone can advise?
Thanks a lot.

5:36 am - Friday, September 10, 2010

#72 JT

It`s a pleasure to read all the reviews and all the comments on the photographyblog.Only problem is that a decision about buying a new camera becomes very,very difficult.

10:55 am - Sunday, September 12, 2010

#73 Aggie

The same as a few others. Photos in low or dull, indoor lighting are too dark not crisp and clear… any ideas?  Thanks Aggie

4:09 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#74 DJ

Englaise: Thanks for the great comparison between the sx210 and the zs7 (tz10). 

One correction:

You were off by a cm when you mentioned Panasonic can focus at 2cm. It is actually 3cm.

But you were right about the Canon sx210. It focuses at 5cm. And it seems to be a rather soft focus at that. I’m thinking of exchanging, but it costs a LOT more at Future Shop, in Toronto. And I am only allowed to exchange, because I have passed the 2 week mark.

I got the Canon sx210 for $60 off. So that means I would have to pay a $180 difference + tax to get the Panasonic (it’s $499 and I got the CAnon at $319).  Is it really worth that much more?
The only way I could possibly get the Panasonic for less is if Future Shop is willing to match Amazon.ca prices. On Amazon.ca it’s $412. That would make it only $92 more. But is it even worth that much more?

Any thoughts?

I am not so happy with the Canon sx210 ‘s macro ability or it’s poorly placed pop up flash.

-DJ

7:30 am - Sunday, September 19, 2010

#75 DJ

ps: correction…

The zs7 is $449 at Future shop not $499.

And i found some cheaper prices on shopbot.ca (which i just discovered - it’s pretty cool for Canadians shoppers because now maybe I can get Future Shop to match some of the cheaper prices I found. The cheapest price I found is $369. 
d

10:57 am - Sunday, September 19, 2010

#76 mike

I might not know too much about cameras, as I’ve always had pretty cheap ones, but looking at the sample pictures (in full resolution) really makes me want to run as far away as possible from this camera. jeez that looks bad.

11:53 am - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#77 TIMBO

How annoying! There is a TZ9, exactly the same as the 10 but without the GPS which I really don’t think I’m going to use, but with the bigger, sharper 3” viewing screen, which I definately do want. However, because it’s not so well known and only supplied through a few dealers it’s currently priced at £249, which is more than the TZ10, currently available at £214! So it’d be ridiculous for me to pay more for fewer features.

7:02 pm - Wednesday, September 29, 2010

#78 Helmut

What kind of memory cards can I use with the TZ10?

12:28 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#79 Mike Fox

A very nice little camera. Easy to use and producing effective results. The one problem I’ve had with it is trying to connect it to a PC.

5:20 pm - Friday, November 12, 2010

#80 awong

Mike Fox, I just got the TZ10/ZS7 today.  You really don’t need to connect the actual camera, or any camera, to a PC if you have a card reader for the memory card.

4:23 am - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#81 Andre

the tz10 is a great camera but the “photo fun studio 5.1” disk supplied
suit be renamed “photo frustration studio 5.1”
it is that slow its not fun or is that just me?

11:15 am - Saturday, December 4, 2010

#82 Steve Franklin

You might think a little differently of the Panasonic DMC-ZS7/TZ10 if you knew it was actually a Leica V-Lux 20, which sells for $699.00. (That’s almost three times as much folks)

Before you toss the towel in on this camera, take an afternoon and play around with the settings a while. When you learn what this camera is capable of doing, you might just have a totally different opinion. There’s very little it won’t do.

Nothing is perfect in the world of snapshot cameras, and this product is no different. It has some flaws. But knowing all it’s available settings ands options and HOW to use it, you’ll most likely fall in love with this camera.

Also, check the panasonic website (below)for the lastest firmware updates. Version 1.2 has been posted Sept. 21, 2010 for: Improvement at GPS measurement time.

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/download/TZ10_ZS7/index.html

11:26 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#83 Chris

Thanks for your time to make your views.

I have just ordered TZ10; and still having double minds wether to recall. But I’m still having problem to find a better alternative. When cameras are priced this much (£206 etc), one will struggly to decide as money is tight.

Can someone (a professional or experienced user) just say in no qualified terms ‘buy’ this camera or ‘Dont buy this camera’ to put me out of my mesery!
I just want decent clear pictures. If all compact of same level will have grains in low light, well why bother moaning about this one. I just need a go ahead or no go ahead comment.

I also want to feel please that my money is not spent in vain. TZ7 is run out of stock and perhaps out of production to make way for T10. Unless, paying over £300 to Ligos etc.

11:54 am - Sunday, December 12, 2010

#84 Chris

Just got this cam for Xmas at £206 (excluding money back £30 - which I’m waiting for).

So far so good. Can’t talk about the GPS, as I need to be outside to use it. I think the issue with pic quality is common with all P7S cameras and dependent on the user in use of the exposure.

If your shots come out badly exposed; please read this link:http://lumix-tz10.co.uk/lumix_tz10_photo_tips.php, may be this could help. I’m working on that now.

1:57 pm - Saturday, December 25, 2010

#85 Eleanor

I have just bought the TZ10, a little worried as not as easy to use as my old point and shoot. The Zoom is harder for me to adjust quickly as my fingers are getting stiffer. also slower to learn new tricks. Please if you own a similar camera, would you like to tell me any tricks you have learnt for taking good photos.  zooming in quickly from the wide angle to get a close ups of people. I was a little disapointed with my first shot of Christmas lights from a boat. I am sure a lot of problem was our boat movement. as the lights were flashing I went for the fireworks mode. ? ?

7:47 am - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#86 Steve Franklin

The below is not so much a ‘help site’ as it is a posting/social site. Many people have uploaded their photos to flicker.com. There have been some really gorgeous photos taken with the Lumix TZ10/ZS7. (There are also many cameras makes of all types posted). Some entrants posted their photo settings too. The best site I’m aware of to view actual owner’s photos.

Go TO:    http://www.flickr.com/

4:55 pm - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#87 Eleanor

Thanks Steve I will see if I can find any.

3:26 am - Monday, December 27, 2010

#88 Peter

How does the gps function work?

4:36 am - Monday, December 27, 2010

#89 Hansen

How do you get and install software update for TZ10? - is there any available yet?

Thank you very much in advance for kind replies.

Happy New Year

9:12 am - Monday, December 27, 2010

#90 Dipen Desai

Hey guys,

I’m not sure if I’ve missed something here but if the TZ10 is the newest addition why do several sources have it cheaper than the TZ7? I’m also struggling to understand why I can’t find many online dealers selling the TZ7.

Can someone please help me here?

1:06 am - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#91 stan chodzynski

My advice is DON’T buy this camera.  Its image quality is poor and I’ve found it produces electric blue vertical lines when shooting videos in low light conditions.  Doesn’t do the job it is supposed to do and that the expensive TV advertising campaign suggests it should do.  A huge disappointment I’m afraid and not worth the money.

2:02 am - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#92 Chris

Thanks Stan

If I ‘ve had your comment before purchase, I would have delayed things. The big problem is; which camera (at same price range) should I go for, assuming I still have time to return.

Does anyone know any compact camera with good quality image. Plse respond quick.

Thanking you

10:12 am - Friday, December 31, 2010

#93 Chris

But I still have not found any better at same range. I think if you spend sometime with this cam, you’ll find some good settings and results; considering the AP/Manual controls etc.

I think the image quality is excellent given the size and range. If you need more punchier results in image, I’ll advise you go for Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX5 and then for the full DSLR…

This is pocket cam for point and shoot, with acceptable results.

I’m not consoling myself here, as I have a canon DSLR plus high zoom (film)Nikon SLR etc. This is for my wife and her brood; and for me in times of emergency and leisure!

I’m still playing with the controls and how to take fotos in low light (by allowing shutter to remain open for a reasonable time before final push etc)

11:38 am - Friday, December 31, 2010

#94 Chris

PHOTOGRAPHY BLOG, Plse check your internal clocking device. My comment was posted at 10:38am and not 11:38am

11:41 am - Friday, December 31, 2010

#95 hilton

tz 10 is a brilliant camera BUT do not use the software ,it is not user friendly and you could battle to find your pics quickly .DONT LOAD THE SOFTWARE ,rather use another safer programme .USE A CARD READER TO DOWNLOAD YOUR PICS ( FLASH ).

11:56 am - Monday, January 10, 2011

#96 hilton

TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANDRE ,#81 Andre .

the tz10 is a great camera but the “photo fun studio 5.1” disk supplied
suit be renamed “photo frustration studio 5.1”
it is that slow its not fun or is that just me?


11:15 am - Saturday, December 4, 2010

12:06 pm - Monday, January 10, 2011

#97 Martin

I bought one of these and I all I can say is, if you are thinking of buying on don’t. Image quality is so bad, photos are dark and lifeless and especially in low light it produces allot of noise. I have a cheap Nikon coolpix L10 that I bought from the local supermarket that takes better photos, very disappointed, waste of money.

5:10 pm - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#98 Simone

Absolutely agree with #81 Andre and#97 Martin!
Every time I try to use the so-called Photo ‘Fun’ Studio, I get a message that “Photo Fun Studio has encountered a problem and needs to close. We apologise for the inconvenience”. This would not be so much of a problem if all I wanted to do was edit stills pics, because I have other software that can do the job, but the Photo Fun Studio is the only software I have that can convert the AVCHD Lite format to MPEG format, which turns out to be a critical point, as my computer cannot read the AVCHD format! I have learned my lesson and will, in future, not shoot videos in AVCHD, but what am I to do about those videos I shot on my holiday last week to the French Alps? I read on another site that other people have encountered this problem. Can anyone help me, please?

12:33 pm - Friday, February 4, 2011

#99 Martin

Simone #98

To convert your AVCHD videos use.. Free HD Converter, just google it, its free and easy to use.

8:04 pm - Friday, February 4, 2011

#100 Chris

Exposure time.

Englaise, how in reality could I manipulate this camera for long exposure time. I have about this before and I’ll really like to know.

I gues the Fun studio is not ‘funny’ then. Won’t bother with mine

11:17 pm - Friday, February 4, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, beginner, manual, travel-zoom, travel, lumix, prosumer, GPS, 25mm, 12x zoom, tz10, dmc-tz10, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ10 Review, zs7, dmc-zs7

Tracker Pixel for Entry