Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ18 Review

4.0
April 11, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mino

I think, slower zoom for video is a BIG advantage :-) It looks much more smooth and natural (huge change in focal length in video looks bad, very aggressive and amateurish).

2:45 pm - Monday, April 11, 2011

#2 Thomas

My daughter got a used Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ6 / DMC-ZS1 which works fine. The startup is faster as the newer versions, but video is low res. We opted for this used cam because of the 25-300 zoom lens.
Very good investment for 130 €uro!!

7:45 am - Wednesday, April 13, 2011

#3 SueK

Im a great fan of the Lumix TZ range. I have a 42” Panasonic TV and the quality of the HD video recorded on my TZ10 is amazing. The editing software is basic but easy to use. Sony vegas platinum can edit the avchd lite video if you’re looking for something a bit more advanced.

9:09 am - Monday, April 18, 2011

#4 Cardiff Photo Marathon

The 16X optical zoom is amazing for the size of the camera. So many people think that just because a camera has digital zoom to the equivelant specs it will match, but digital reduces the quality greatly and this is actually an amazing deal.

5:15 pm - Thursday, May 12, 2011

#5 Ted

I’ve used the Aquapac 420 Hard Lens Camera Case for Mini Digital Cameras with a zoom lenshttp://www.assoc-amazon.co.uk/e/ir?t=dinghsailoinf-21&l=as2&o=2&a=B001FAEQMM
with my TZ10 and it works a treat.
It obviously protects the camera from water and enables underwater photos but when filming massively reduces wind noice while still capturing the sounds you want. It works with all TZ cameras

3:43 pm - Saturday, May 28, 2011

#6 Elfie

Software does not recognize the camera, cannot transfer photo’s from camera to computer. Suggestions?

12:54 am - Saturday, August 6, 2011

#7 Randall Hansen

Elfie with all of my camera I rarely use the software that comes with the cameras,simply get a card reader and the Free great program FastStone for downloading and any adjustments you want to make to the pictures downloaded from the card reader.
Its really easier to do it that way than to use the usb port on the camera.

4:40 pm - Friday, August 12, 2011

#8 TT

Hey, somebody knows how can i limit the max iso?
cant find this option

9:37 pm - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#9 SHA

What is the best settings to take night shots?

11:34 pm - Friday, September 30, 2011

#10 Randall Hansen

I have found that the intelligent auto mode does a great job in most situations.

Amazing camera for the money!

1:54 pm - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#11 Randall Hansen

TT,that is in the manual.

2:07 pm - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#12 Randall Hansen

@SHA,That I am not sure about as I have taken many night shots,I suggest checking the manual.

2:08 pm - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#13 Czawaj

Hi,

How can I connect TZ18 to my TV but with HD resolution? What cable I must use? The cable in box is chinch, so quality is poor.

The author of this review write that is the miniHDMI-Hdmi cable- is not true!

Good review, thanks!:-)

3:43 pm - Thursday, October 6, 2011

#14 Dennis C

Have just returned from Kruger National Park, the shots from the TZ18 are unbelievable. The 16 zoom got me up close and personel to all the animals in the wild i wanted. clarity and colours true to life. Plus the compact size made it easy to handle when 4 people are trying to get a photo out of the same window before the moment disappears. animals in the wild don’t wait for you to click.

2:43 pm - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

#15 Alisa Wong

May i know TZ18 is it good for night mode & indoor shooting ? I always need to use camera for inside the car shooting for moving science , so this camera reaction is it fast, because I understand some camera if need to use flash will be slow, and also without flash the target sometimes is blur too.
So far people recommend me for the Nikon P300, that is good for ngiht & indoor shooting. but other than that, not much choice of function. So I am hesitating that want to buy Lumix TZ 18 or Nikon P300.  Can you give me your best suggestion ? Tks.

12:12 pm - Tuesday, December 27, 2011

#16 Thomas Foster

does the sport/high speed burst function on this camera take pictures very quickly immediately after one and other without letting go of the button, as this is the feature I really want for taking pictures of sport and wildlife

5:38 pm - Sunday, February 26, 2012

#17 Dennis C

Thomas, the burst feature on the TZ18 works great with moving wildlife. I used mainly the short 3 shot burst as it is easy to change to and you can just hold it down to get 3 more. But did use the sports mode as well. just another fab part of the camera.

11:08 am - Monday, February 27, 2012

#18 Justin Smith

I`ve only just bought a DMC-TZ18 to replace my DMC-TZ5 which I liked but was getting as bit worn after about 15,000 pictures ! It needed repairing twice though, but I always buy an extended warranty and nearly always end claiming for at least one repair. Jessops 2+1 year warranty extemsion only costs about £45 and covers accidental damage too.
The TZ5 was a well made camera with a metal alloy lens barrel, I don`t think the TZ18 seems as sturdy, we`ll see.
However, my TZ5 didn`t have an infinity focus setting and neither, as far as I can see, does the TZ18. Why can`t they fit an infinity focus setting ? ! ? I find I need this every now and again and I can`t for the life of me see why it`s not fitted as standard on all decent cameras, I`m sure my old Ricoh Caplio R4 had an infinity focus setting ! What gives ?

4:55 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#19 Leonard Lee

The reviewer incorrectly describes the E.Zoom feature.

“offers the useful ability to quickly zoom to the full 16x optical focal length, and not so usefully then digitally extend it further to 33.8x (810mm), with a drop in resolution to 3 megapixels.”

The E.Zoom is not digital zoom.  Pushing the button a second time narrowly focuses the image on to the center of the chip, which does reduce the resolution to 3MP.  However, since that is the section that is most densely populated with pixels, it allows a 33.8X true optical zoom. 

It’s a great feature and an outrageous optical zoom capability for a point-and-shoot camera.

Kicking in the digital zoom feature extends maximum zoom all the way out to a ridiculous 100X, but by that point, you’re experiencing all the drawbacks of digital zoom (pixelation, fuzzy images, etc.) this time magnified even more.

5:44 am - Wednesday, May 9, 2012

#20 Michael Milne

This is the second one of these I’ve had. They each have gotten dust inside the lenses within 6 months. Is that a problem with panasonic?

Mike

8:25 pm - Monday, July 16, 2012

#21 Justin Smith

All my previous cameras have got dust in the lenses, I think it`s quite common, particularly for cameras “given some hammer”, like mine are ! Which is yet another reason I`d never buy a camera without an extended warranty (including accidental damage cover, they`re not worth it if they don`t) because the dust was removed each time my cameras have gone in to be repaired.

I`ve taken about 1500 pics in 3 months with my TZ18 and I like it, though I`m still unconvinced it`s as sturdy as my previous TZ5, and I`m still of the view it should have a manual focus setting, or at the very least an infinity focus setting.

9:01 am - Thursday, July 19, 2012

#22 Joe

Is it possible to charge the camera via the USB cable?  Or does the battery have to be removed and charged via the separate charger?  I’m going hiking and am trying to minimize weight carried.

7:54 pm - Friday, July 20, 2012

#23 Chris

Is it possible to add a soundclip to video?

1:16 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#24 Leonard Lee

Joe, unfortunately the battery cannot be charged via the usb cable.  It has to be removed and put into the a.c. charging cradle.

1:47 pm - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#25 Justin Smith

Unfortunately my opinion of the TZ18 has rather gone down hill ! Don`t get me wrong it takes good pictures, but not once but TWICE it has had dust in the lens/sensor assembly which required me to send it off to be cleaned out. If I hadn`t taken out an extended warranty (including accidental cover) I`d have been left with two sizeable bills. But it isn`t just the money, on both occasions the problem occured when I was on holiday so every pic I then took had a dust splodge on it, very VERY annoying. The camera repairer told me that Panasonic cameras were more prone to dust in the lens or CCD than other makes. My old Fujis didn`t suffer from this as far as I can remember.

12:48 pm - Saturday, September 28, 2013

#26 Justin Smith

Oh dear. Up to press it`s now 5 (five ! ) times that I`ve had dust in the lens or on the CCD sensor with my TZ18. OK the camera gets some hammer but I don`t think it`s ever used in a particularly dusty environment and it`s stored in a (soft) case. It`s a major design flaw. Very frustrated and annoyed…...

9:34 am - Wednesday, June 25, 2014

#27 nIMAL

Panasonic DMC-TZ18 is just the one I looked for but in my Video Clip the Volume is very low. Please let me know how to increase it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3:37 am - Saturday, August 30, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, wide-angle, beginner, 14 megapixel, manual, travel-zoom, travel, lumix, 24mm, prosumer, 16x zoom, zs8, dmc-zs8, tz18, dmc-tz18, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ18 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry