Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ19 Review

4.5
July 25, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

23 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Eyal Gurevitch

Where did the TZ19 come from?
It doesn’t appear on any of Panasonic’s sites.
Seems like a TZ18 with a touchscreen, yes?

2:21 pm - Monday, July 25, 2011

#2 fiatlux

This is not the TZ10 replacement - the TZ20 is (GPS, Full HD).

This looks like a slightly tweaked TZ18, exclusive to a few retailers?

4:12 pm - Monday, July 25, 2011

#3 Alan Chin

Technically it has the great features specially for the newbies on the Lumix itself since it won’t be that sucks on the color rendition from this model. Simply cool , but slightly not good is in the accuracy of the exposure I guess.

5:37 pm - Monday, July 25, 2011

#4 Dana

Yet another addition to Panasonics long march of muddy image quality and nonexistent low light performance. Wish Panasonic would finally give the TZ series a sensor worthy of the Leica lenses after the better part of a decade.

8:33 pm - Monday, July 25, 2011

#5 zebarnabe

+1 @Dana, since TZ7 image has become muddier and muddier :/

Well, marketing is what sells cameras nowadays…

1:13 am - Tuesday, July 26, 2011

#6 Jimjam

It looks like the TZ19 only has a CCD sensor opposed to the CMOS sensor in the TZ20. If your filming HD on the TZ19 you want to make sure you’re using a class 10 SD card like the Transcend 16GB SDHC Class 10 Memory Card otherwise the quality of your video will be affected as a lower class card will struggle to keep up. This actually applies to most small HD cameras.

11:50 am - Tuesday, July 26, 2011

#7 MarkG

On page 2 of the review you state “The pop-up flash worked well indoors, with no red-eye and adequate exposure…”

If you take a closer look at the camera you may notice that it does not have a pop-up flash.

This is a recurring error in your compact reviews and needs to be addressed.

2:59 pm - Wednesday, July 27, 2011

#8 Yakov

This camera is surprisingly even better then I expected (Ohhh leica ..)  the only cons is poor night pictures but what can you expect from such small and efficient creature

5:47 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#9 dude

A picture of a bridge on a sunny day taken with iso400 and a night shot below it with iso100??? Where’s the logic?

1:07 pm - Tuesday, August 30, 2011

#10 Mike Ogston

Totally chuffed with my Lumix! Only thing - you say it has a touch-screen. Well my one doesnt, or do I need to set something to get it? The zoom & quality is unbelievable. Love it!

4:54 pm - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#11 John Glover

There are several factual errors in this review.

To clear things up about what a TZ19 is, the manual supplied is for both the TZ18 and TZ19 - the only difference being that the TZ19 has a second mic for stereo sound with movies, and so uses a different format for storage, taking up slightly more memory for the same duration recording.

It definitely doesn’t have a touchscreen! But I’m very pleased with it and the results.

4:12 pm - Monday, October 3, 2011

#12 Mr P

Big sections of this review are for a different camera. you claim the TZ19 has all of the following that it doesn’t have :- Touch screen, Pop up flash, GPS, CMOS Sensor etc. mostly taken from the TZ20 spec. I presume

5:29 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#13 Mr P

Quite a list of errors, The review also claims the TZ19 has 3D mode, 60fps and 220fps slow motion modes, Not of which are on the TZ19

12:29 pm - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#14 Sue

So can someone tell me if the Panasonic TZ19 is an updated or the same model as the TZ18 please. I am looking to purchase this one or the Canon Powershot SX220HS or 230HS. Would appreciate comments as this is a very hard choice!! I like taking pictures outdoors mainly, landscapes, oceans, sunsets and best of all my dog. Can any one help pleeeassse!!

6:34 pm - Friday, January 20, 2012

#15 zebarnabe

Sue,
Looks more like a tweaked version of TZ18 than an upgrade, sensor is probably the same… much like TZ20 is the top version of the travel zooms in the line…

I would prefer the SX220HS or 230HS, but that is down to a personal choice, Canon suffers from a bit of chromatic aberrations, but it is prolly the best camera in terms of price and features balance (image quality, versatility, ISO performance, etc)... though I would get an extra battery for it. Anyway, you are the person who have to decide, looks at PB samples regarding image quality, and see if the features suit your use for it. Try the camera in store if possible… sometimes ergonomics can be a pain and remember you will have to hold it to shoot.

While not official, SX220 and SX230 are hackable using CHDK for some more esoteric uses…

8:41 pm - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#16 Sue

Hi Zebarnabe,
        Thankyou for the info, much appreciated. I shall go and check them out in store!! Thanks again.

2:03 pm - Monday, January 23, 2012

#17 mark

Reading the review i have found that there are some features that the tz19 is said to have but do not. There is NO touch screen, No gps mode, No slow motion setting. No doubt there are more but after reading so many inaccuracies in the review on the first page i gave up.
This is an inaccuate review.
I have personally got one of these while on sale at currys for £159.99 and feel that it is worth the money, as it does take very good photos and has some good features.

5:45 pm - Wednesday, January 25, 2012

#18 Cathy

Just got camera and no does not have touch screen,as your review states. Maybe need to ensure facts correct

7:38 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#19 keith m

Definitly no touch screen as I have physicly played around with one in PC World. But when I have the money panasonic lumix such as this do AWESOME videos!

12:00 pm - Thursday, April 5, 2012

#20 Stephen C

Hi people,

Just wondering if anyone has a link for this camera to find out what the best settings to use are. Mostly use the IA setting but going to do the Great Ocean Road in Melbourne tomorrow and want to use the SCN settings as much as i can to make sure i get the best photo’s the camera can give.

1:29 am - Saturday, April 7, 2012

#21 DeeBee

so http://www.photographyblog.com can’t even write an accurate review

Specs / features are all wrong - what a bunch of wasters !

DeeBee

9:58 pm - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

#22 B.Reeves

My recently bought TZ19 does not have a touch-screen or a movie record button on the top. It does not ‘appear large’ to me, in fact smaller than my old TZ3 and hence a bit ‘fiddley’ for my largish fingers. Haven’t checked for other inaccuracies in this review but the review is misleading and therefore unreliable which is a pity .

11:55 am - Wednesday, November 7, 2012

#23 Richard

The TZ19 I have does NOT have a touch screen!

1:01 am - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, wide-angle, beginner, 14 megapixel, manual, touch-screen, travel-zoom, travel, lumix, touch screen, 24mm, touchscreen, prosumer, 3D, 16x zoom, dmc-tz20, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ20 Review, zs10, dmc-zs10, tz20

Tracker Pixel for Entry