Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ20 Review

4.5
February 28, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

76 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 spiros

A good upgrade of tz10.
Since tz7 has great colors

9:29 pm - Monday, February 28, 2011

#2 Michael Sh

Thank you for review!
The picture quality looks similar to TZ10.
No small details on Tower Bridge and stange color of pixel groups on every photo… With this camera we can do fine 7-8MP images from original 14MP using Photoshop. Of course ,it will be still without details.
From other side - a lot of automatic features will be fine for beginners.
I just waiting for Canon is220/230 HS or 310 HS review to choose my next pocket camera.

10:14 pm - Monday, February 28, 2011

#3 Thomas

We have still the old ZS-1. The only reason to switch this P&S camera would be a model with a bigger sensor.

10:58 pm - Monday, February 28, 2011

#4 paul

Still no RAW then ? To recycle bin…

11:16 pm - Monday, February 28, 2011

#5 Yianni

Terrible IQ compared to the TZ10 at pixel level. The MOS Panasonic sensor is rubbish compared to the CCD sensor in the TZ10 purely looking at it from a stills point of view.

It does have some great features and will be a great camera for the average Joe but enthusiasts will no doubt look elsewhere.

3:29 am - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#6 Luigi

Engraved on the lens of my tz10 you can read mm 4,1-49.2 of focal length for a 35mm eqivalence at the wide end of mm25.
the new tz20 at the wide end is mm 4,3 and in this case the equivalence is said to be mm 24.
Power of tecnology?

10:02 am - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#7 prashant

Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ20 picture quality looks similar to TZ10.This camera we can do fine 7-8MP images from original 14MP using Photoshop.t does have some great features and will be a great camera for the average Joe but enthusiasts will no doubt look elsewhere.
Beside it if you have interested in cannon camera. Below link may guide you.
http://www.canon60dprice.org

10:32 am - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#8 prashant

Awesome IQ compared to the TZ10 at pixel level. This camera we can do fine 7-8MP images from original 14MP using Photoshop. Of course ,it will be still without details. If you are looking forward for Cannon camera following link may guide you.
http://www.canon60dprice.org

10:34 am - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#9 Jay Dickinson

The picture sharpness is disappointing.  It appears that the predictions that the increase in megapixels and change in sensor would hurt sharpness have come true.

4:52 pm - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#10 Mino

Luigi: It is very, very simple. TZ10 does not use 1/2,33” sensor area, it has only “1/2,5” chip” ;-) To be precise, TZ10 has 1/2,33” sensor but it only uses 1/2,5” area. If you watch carefully, you can see that TZ10 has 14MPx sensor (1/2,33”), but only 12MPx effective resolution (1/2,5” area of 1/2,33”). Therefore it is very probable that TZ18 will have the same image quality as TZ8/TZ10 because it uses the same 14MPx 1/2,33” sensor (in TZ18 it uses whole 1/2,33” area while TZ8/TZ10 uses only 1/2,5” area). Therefore the crop factor of chip is smaller and even with longer real focal lenght is the 35mm equivalent wider ;-)

9:05 pm - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#11 Mino

Luigi: TZ10 uses only 1/2,5” area (12MPx) of its 1/2,33” chip (which has total resolution of 14MPx). TZ20 uses whole 1/2,33” area of the same 14MPx chip, so it has smaller crop factor (cca 5,6 instead of 6 in TZ10).

TZ20: 4,3mm x crop factor 5,6 = 24 mm
TZ10: 4,1mm x crop factor 6 = cca 25mm

9:11 pm - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#12 Tech

The reviewer says “MC-TZ20 produces noise-free images at ISO 100-200”, and I’m still laughing hard at that statement, as all published images show significant noise and noise-reduction artifacts galore at all ISO including ISO 100, most especially in shadows let alone anywhere where fine detail should be but isn’t.

This thing’s image quality is even worse than last year’s TZ10, let alone the awesome TZ7. A sad case of pixel wars going mad with more and more megapixels and less and less image quality. What good are all the gimmicky features if it fails the essentials for a camera, i.e., image quality ?

Another tiny-CMOS-sensor-afflicted camera for the trash bin, only good for patzers who will be happy with 6"x4” and small, heavily Photoshopped pics to upload on the net. It does interlaced (not progressive) videos too.

11:58 pm - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#13 Profe

The ZS10 (TZ20) is NOT in my short list because it is using the same MOS sensor from the FZ100. For the same reason I bought an FZ40 instead of an FZ100 (because of its worst photoquality compared to the FZ40) I will pick the ZS8 (TZ18) anytime over the ZS10 (TZ20) even if both were sold at the same price. The ZS8 (TZ18) has the same lens, a 14MP’s CCD sensor instead of the noisy 14MP’s MOS sensor, and better & more accurate colors (because of the CCD sensor). Yes it is slower, its screen its only 230K instead of 460K and its movie mode is only 720dp instead of 1,080dp, but it is my choise anyway for its intended use as a travel camera for occasional use. If I need something better I use my FZ40 or my GH2.

12:15 am - Wednesday, March 2, 2011

#14 gus

I’m in the market for a new travel camera, still have the rather lovely Lumix TZ5, but have just sold my Lumix zs7. I was excited at the thought of getting this tz20 when it comes out though looking at the samples I tend to agreed with the lack of detail and noise issues rised here. So I doubt I shall be getting another Lumix.

Offerings from the other companies look very interest, sony (less interesting), samsung WB700 looks nice with 18x zoom, but the most interesting to me looks to be the new Olympus SZ-30MR, if this lives up to the spec it’ll be just what I need, HD movies and photos can be taken at the same time, 24x zoom etc.  and the shape of the camera looks very nice to hold.  I’m getting excited about this one.

10:14 am - Friday, March 4, 2011

#15 RichinGib

Can anyone comment on the the use of manual white balance on this new model? I have the TZ10 and use it for underwater photography, but peeved at the lack of quick access to ‘setting’ the white balance, the Q.Set allow quick selection, but not setting - grr!!! Maybe this camera will now allow quick setting of white balance too???

4:51 pm - Friday, March 4, 2011

#16 HT

Seems like they used the same sensor from the FZ100… same pastel-like images, everything looks like its made out of clay close up.

Guess I’m looking elsewhere for my TZ cam.

1:18 am - Sunday, March 6, 2011

#17 LVArturs

Darn, it’s so hard to choose a decent cam. Casio EX-FH100 or ZR100, Panasonic Lumix TZ10 or 20, Canon PowerShot SX210Is or whatever the next is. Which one has the most manual controls and best image quality? Now I am almost counting out Canon, and the Casio is taking the lead in my list because of manual focus. Then again, I am thinking about buying FZ38 - this one outcompetes all of previously mentioned, but it’s a little off my budget. Which one should I choose :D ?

11:44 am - Sunday, March 6, 2011

#18 Bob Bee

If your not a “camera snob” and have the money, it is a great camera for the average, non professional person.  Its features and picture quality make this a perfect camera for any occasion.  GPS works great and has several options for stamping photos.  Expensive…yes but has all the “bells and whistles” for years to come.  Its a keeper!

12:48 am - Thursday, March 31, 2011

#19 Gare Bare

Just my 2 cents worth… I’m no pixel peeper and I shoot my “important” photos with my Sony DSLR, but I have taken close to 1,000 pics with my ZS10 and deleted no more than a dozen due to displeasure with the camera’s results (deleted hundreds more due to my shoddy composition, etc!). This is an upgrade from my ZS3 and I found it very worthwhile. I’ve found that the ZS10 delivers on just about everything Panasonic promised. Its fast to start-up, to focus, and to shoot. The vibration reduction is rock solid… I shot hand-held concert video at Ultra Music Fest last week at full zoom, plus 2x digital (approx 36x) and there is no jumpiness whatsoever. The new sensor also resolved the purple flaring that drove me nuts in videos. My favorite part is the ability to shoot photos during video with no skipping in the video (unlike my Canon SX20 and 30 would).. best of all you can even clip low res photos right out of the video during playback! As far as pictures go, I’ve found the colors to be a bit punchier than the ZS3 and for snap-shooting and sharing I do like that. The 5 fps mode is great for kids and pets and the IA mode continues to work very well. I do not like the IA results in low-light without flash because the ISO JUMPS really high (upwards of 1,000) and the pictures become terribly noisy so I shoot either in P mode or with the flash turned on. This is a rather slow lens and a really tiny sensor so it’s no surprise that lower light without a flash is not its strong point… but then again, no camera with these specs will be great in low-light, no matter the manufacturer. IMHO, this is currently the best high-zoom do it all carry everywhere camera that money can buy.  I’m very pleased with the upgrade!

2:29 am - Wednesday, April 6, 2011

#20 jack869

Did anyone make 3d photos? How they look like? is possible to find somewhere mpo files from tz20?

10:24 am - Wednesday, April 27, 2011

#21 jack869

Btw, why in this review, there is no examples of 3d pics? is was too difficult to attach few mpo files? In the future this option will be standard in all cameras, dont you see that?

8:55 am - Friday, April 29, 2011

#22 markg

In Section 2 the reviewer refers to a pop-up flash. This model does not have one.

5:35 pm - Sunday, May 1, 2011

#23 Klaas

Finally after 5 months searching and comparing many cameras I bought this one.
I wanted a small camera with good picture and video qualities.
I campared for instance Nikon S9100, Canon SX230HS, Sony HX9V, but looked also at the bigger cameras like Canon G12, Leica V Lux 2, Nikon P500 and Sony HX100V. Leica was very good but it felt not good in the hand and the “rope” gets in the way because the grip is small and screen goes wide which is not handy to take pictures like P500 or HX100V and my old camera Konica Minolta A2.
They all have their good points and minor points.
But I choose the flat TZ20 because of the many review sites and the features like PSAM, 1080p, superzoom, SDXC/SDHC, 14mp and took 3.3-5.9 lens for granted. I bought TZ20 this weekend and bought extra battery and 16gb card. The camera is a bit heavier than other flat cameras but feels good in the hand, fits easily in a jacket. The qualities are for me very good. It takes a little time of practice to know the features which are very helpfull. But it amazes me what you can do. I have to write down what is useful and handy. I’m very happy.

8:26 am - Monday, May 2, 2011

#24 Doug

Can someone please advise if I should purchase the TZ20 or the TZ10? I seem to be reading mixed views, most saying that the image quality is worse in the 20 than it is 10? Im not bothered about 3D, and although 1080 is nice, i feel 720 is sufficient. I will be taking the camera on Safari with me and im a complete novice

1:56 pm - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#25 Klaas

Doug, I just made a short film with 720x1280 50fps and 1080x1920 25 fps. The difference is huge and 720x1280 is like first HD ready tv. You don’t see details and faces are terrible. Filming wild life will be very disapointing when filming 720x1280. And you can’t judge looking back on the camera screen. You have to watch the film on pc or tv first.

5:44 pm - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#26 Sue

I’ve used the Aquapac 420 Hard Lens Camera Case for Mini Digital Cameras with a zoom lenshttp://www.assoc-amazon.co.uk/e/ir?t=dinghsailoinf-21&l=as2&o=2&a=B001FAEQMM with my TZ10 and it works a treat.
It obviously protects the camera from water and enables underwater photos but when filming massively reduces wind noice while still capturing the sounds you want. It works with all TZ cameras

11:41 am - Monday, May 16, 2011

#27 Ace

This is come down in price on Amazon - http://amzn.to/mwx1QK

11:53 am - Monday, June 6, 2011

#28 Anton

I got ZS10. A bit disappointing for such expensive camera. Dark areas look darker then they should. Still think it is a very good camera.

7:01 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#29 Michael

I bought a TZ20 on the basis of this review but unfortunately didn’t read “Your Comments” until after the order was placed.

On receipt I compared the TZ20 picture quality with my TZ7 and TZ5 and was very dissapointed with the mushy detail and poor colour contrast on TZ20 output compared with the 2 older models.The difference is so appreciable I can’t live with the TZ20 and it has been returned.

It’s all very well Panasonic adding more and more appealing features but to forget that picture quality must be a primary aim is a crime.

12:23 pm - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#30 ANG GHIM LIAN

Just bought TZ20 last week.  Then only read about the no good thing of its picture colour quality.  Is it true?  Can it be adjusted to be good?

8:43 am - Saturday, August 27, 2011

#31 julio

Well I bought this camera as a travel camera in-between an iPhone and my dslr. It has loads of great features that mean that I get the shot rather than fiddle around. I didn’t expect to get the best quality at this price but the portability, zoom and video make it a winner for me. I bought the Leica leather case to finish the package off.

10:33 pm - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

#32 Phil

I bought the TZ20 last week. I also ordered a Play.COM 16 GB Class 10 SDHC card. When I put the card in the camera it told me “this card is not formatted with this camera and not suitable for movie r5ecording”. I have updated the camera firmware to v1.2. Any ideas for a work around?

3:03 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#33 Colin Hay

What I can’t understand is no one has commented on the difference in audio quality. The TZ6 could record from the front of a rock concert crowd and sound fine. The TZ20 seems to cut out all the loud bass/drums and the audio is unlistenable - I only discovered this after 2 days solid of filming :-( Am I the only one with this problem - is there a fault with my camera or has someone else experienced the same problem ?

6:54 am - Sunday, September 11, 2011

#34 Robyn Mc

Can someone please tell me how to set the burst shooting on this camera?  Trying to take a photo of horses jumping and not having any sucess.
Thanks

8:54 am - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#35 Phil S

I agree with Colin Hay. The sound is very poor at high levels as the bass pumps the AGC making the sound unlistenable. I have recorded many music clips at live gigs on my TZ7 and got good comments about them. The TZ20 clips are unusable unless you stick a bit of tape over the mics and make two pin holes in it. Even then it’s not as good. I will probably have to keep my TZ7 for gigs :(

2:50 pm - Friday, September 23, 2011

#36 Muk

@Colin & Phil: I have exactly the same problem :-( The sound level is very low and it seems to be cut off and “hovering” in volume.
Maybe I’ll try Phils suggestion!

8:54 am - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#37 ollie

I bought TZ20 on the basis of awards it has ‘won’.
It is a great portable travel camera that takes good pictures - and if you spend a little time, you can get very good pictures.
This is yet another website full of techno wannabees who criticse but miss the point.

I find it incredible that someone is critical of sound issues ? On a camera ? At a rock concert ?
Man up guys and spend the money you should be spending if that is an issue.

I spent 3 weeks trekking thru the Rockies and I ahve some incredible pics & vids. \Some of the pics aren’t as goos as they could be but then I obnly spent £200 on a travel camera. It’s not a DSLR and doesn’t claim to be but I think it’s great value and great fun too.

1:23 am - Thursday, September 29, 2011

#38 Muk

@Ollie: of course you are right. I took the TZ20 with me on my holidays in Spain and Italy and the pictures were very OK for a compact.

It’s just that I heard that the TZ10 was very good for concert movies and I supposed it would be the same for the TZ20, but unfortunately that was not the case.

In the meantime I bought a second-hand TZ10 :-)

7:45 am - Thursday, September 29, 2011

#39 Colin Hay

I wouldn’t be complaining about the sound if I hadn’t already shot many many rock concerts as a semi-pro from the front - Guns N Roses for instance - with a TZ6 and a TZ10 and got great sound with NO distortion whatsoever. See my YouTube channel for examples of the TZ6/TZ10. I upgrade to a new model and the sound is unlistenable. I’m so disappointed I think an explanation from Panasonic is in order ... why change something that was working fine ... When comparing the video I have this from the TZ6 http://www.youtube.com/my_videos_edit?ns=1&video_id=DYVC2Aa4A_c&next;=/my_videos and this from the TZ20 http://www.youtube.com/my_videos_edit?ns=1&video_id=hD1JeInOVts&next;=/my_videos at the same venue and you can plainly see the TZ20 has far more grain despite the same lighting ....

2:04 pm - Thursday, September 29, 2011

#40 Phil S

Couldn’t make the links work, but my videos have poor IQ in low light as well. It’s better in P mode rather than Ia, However, the TZ7 was still better.

I agree with Ollie, it’s an excellent travel zoom camera. But, with respect, I disagree with your wise-up bit Ollie. My TZ7 took great concert videos - people commented on youtube about how good they were. The TZ20 is a disaster in comparison with the TZ7 so in this particular respect it is a serious disappointment :(

7:42 pm - Thursday, September 29, 2011

#41 Colin Hay

Sorry here they are again

TZ-6
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYVC2Aa4A_c

TZ-20 in HD
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hD1JeInOVts

This shows the lack of quality in low light

I’ll upload an example of the audio problem soon

11:50 am - Friday, September 30, 2011

#42 Colin Hay

Audio problem with the TZ20 link

especially after 1:25 ....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ltNgjd8mjhw

9:23 am - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#43 Vladi Baddy

I had TZ7 and recorded many concerts and DJ sets. The Sound was great, not a single problem! Then I bought TZ10 - and here we got all wrong. The louder the sound, even more less we hear. When Kick or Bass comes in, suddenly the sound drops with 20db or even more, so quiet, that I can hardly hear it! This is not a good AGC, this is complete disaster! PANASONIC, shame on you, I want my TZ7 sound, not your poor inventions! I’m paying for that newer camera, and I deserve quality! ... or I have to look for some TZ7 just for video?

11:34 pm - Sunday, October 9, 2011

#44 Patrick

According to Panasonic the GPS tagging only works when the mode dial is set to the Program AE mode.  Same goes for video GPS tagging. Not a big deal, but something to be aware of.  I just ordered a blue one and am looking forward to its arrival!

4:58 am - Wednesday, November 2, 2011

#45 Patrick

Panasonic has firmware upgrade:

Aug. 3, 2011, Ver 1.2
  Improvement of GPS measurement accuracy.
  Enhancement of picture detail.

(Apr. 25, 2011, Ver 1.1 - Improvement of landmark acquisition accuracy - especially Europe).

5:20 am - Wednesday, November 2, 2011

#46 Colin Hay

Interesting that Vladi has the same problem but on a TZ10 - I’m taking my TZ20 in for repairs - I now think someting inside has blown as Joe Bonamassa from second row sounded great (the first one I shot) but Heart from the back of the arena has volume levels that come and go. I will let everyone know how it goes ...

6:59 am - Wednesday, November 2, 2011

#47 Patrick

My comment (#44 above) was incorrect - GPS tagging apparently works in all photo/video modes.  Given a few minutes to lock on position it is accurate within about 2 meters (firmware v1.2).  Walking around my neighborhood, turning it on and off between sets, it placed a number of photos at a previous location unless it had a minute or two to update the position. 

Photo quality is good - if you view the photos at about half of full resolution.  If you want this camera for 14 megapixels, you are wasting your money. I don’t print photos, but sometimes like to zoom and crop, yet am not disappointed.  Image quality is about as I expected.  The colors seem accurate and the night shot modes work well.  The face recognition takes great people shots, in focus, properly exposed.

If the camera were mounted on a tripod the touch-screen might work well.  Holding the camera in my right hand and trying to select a focus point via touch with my left does not work, as touching the screen causes the camera to move and often the touch is not registered.  I did apply a screen-guard, but it is the same as I use on my touch cell-phone and have had no troubles there.

It will take time to understand all the icons, but the menus are clear and easy to navigate. It focuses quickly and accurately.  In macro it had difficulty focusing on one particular flower stem, and in that instance a tripod may have been required. I had to move back to 4 cm and use a wider lens setting to get the shot.  All-in-all I like it.  (Paid $249)

3:51 am - Saturday, November 5, 2011

#48 Mitch

The video editing software that comes with the TZ20 is ok but I wanted something a bit more creative. After some research I found that some editing software struggles with the AVCHD format.

In the end I opted for Sony Movie Studio HD 10 Platinum Suite which works perfectly with my TZ20 footage. Apparently Sony and Panasonic developed the AVCHD format together.

2:36 pm - Wednesday, November 9, 2011

#49 youcef

hello
i i compare tz10 withe zs10 (tz20) on panasonic.com
i finde tz10 have more options then tz10????
so whos the good tz10 or tz20?? dont speak about 14mp or zoom i speak about options?
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

8:51 am - Monday, November 14, 2011

#50 Rudy

#14 gus
I have had the TS5 for the last few years. I loved it. My wife’s Olympus packed up, so she has the TZ5 now and I have the TZ20. Very impressed with the latter.

10:52 am - Friday, December 23, 2011

#51 Colin Hay

OK after much road testing of the video mode for rock concerts this is what I’ve found:

The TZ6 captures the whole range of audio with no distortion or audio supression in loud passages - see my Foo Fighters vids. The TZ10 does have audio issues when audio is LOUD but its fixable - see Heart/Def Leppard vids. The TZ20 has issues even at the back of crowd. The problem is when bass sounds kick in i.e. drums and bass guitar the audio is then often unusable. It seems that Panasonic have introduced some volume levelling/supression into their software which can not be overriden. I’ve taken my TZ20 in for it to repaired - replacing the motherboard - and will let everyone know if that helped. Apparently its not possible to ‘blow’ something by exposing it to extreme volume but currently rely on my old TZ6 and its mono audio. Re Video the TZ10 is the best - the TZ20 may have a bigger zoom but the quality with limited light is pretty awful.

3:52 am - Saturday, December 24, 2011

#52 Dennis Mansell

My TZ20, after not 200 shots now wont read SD cards. Took for repair($55) and it requires a new main board which will end up costing nearly $300.00AUD.It was a gift , Aust. model, serial number indicated how new it was but Panasonic dont wont to know , MUST have that reciept. Nokia dont require purchase paper work. My next camera will be Canon.

12:40 am - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#53 Donna

Sharpening?

On the page about image quality it says:
You can change the in-camera sharpening level via the Picture Adjust menu option….

I can´t find this setting! Can anybody guide me?

5:46 pm - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#54 Brian

What a great camera the TZ20 is. I can’t believe anyone can find too many faults when considering what it is intended as i.e. a travel zoom. Using it on holiday with my Gorillapod the quality of the HD video was amazing. The pictures were also great thanks in part to the 16x zoom. I would definately recommend this camera.

1:50 pm - Thursday, January 19, 2012

#55 Pern

I have a DMC-TZ10 camera and despite the GPS mode being turned off my battery drains away in a couple of days when not n use. The spare battery I bought does the same thing so I assume that its a camera problem,not a battery problem. Please can you tell me if this is a recurrent problem with this camera and give me some idea hw to remedy this irritating defect. I have previously owner a similar Panansonic Lumix camera which never let me down.

8:39 pm - Monday, January 23, 2012

#56 Murat ATASOY

Have you ever seen any differences after updating the V1.1 TO V1.2 on TZ20 ?
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/download/TZ20_ZS10/index.html

Video footages are noisy on dark places. Its a shame. Is there any changing ?

Enhancement of picture detail???

9:54 pm - Thursday, January 26, 2012

#57 Ieuan Wynne-Williams

Been very happy with my TZ10, and also my TZ7. I don’t like the new touch screen on the TZ20, and i don’t need gps. May opt for new Canon Powershot SX230HS which looks good on paper. It also comes in a nice blue colour.

5:22 pm - Thursday, February 2, 2012

#58 Murat ATASOY

New update make GPS better. Not it can connect to satalites faster. But i cant see any other changes on new firmware update

12:39 am - Friday, February 3, 2012

#59 John Tiou

Lumix TZ series stopped at Tz7,
colors, sharpness, sound quality and more.

3 Years later and i can’t find 1 reason for upgrade.

12:51 pm - Monday, March 5, 2012

#60 b.mahesan

i from india purchased dec2011,this camera from netherland thro’ my son in law which reached my hand in Feb 2012 with only three test photos made by him. Ofcourse the camera seems good.

But the battery charger was worked only one time and second time itself failed.(china make). all i made about 100 photos and some videos in all.

panasonic guided to visit their service center. i am in dilema and calculating the travel expenses to the nearest service center and the price of a new charger and who will bear.

any how iam unable to use the camera nearly 1 month.

12:29 pm - Wednesday, March 21, 2012

#61 pov

I have never seen so many knuckle heads in one place in all my life ! Firstly were talking about the ZS20/TZ30 (non American version) not any of the other cameras you bring up. I think most of you should be using Brownies then you wouldn’t have anything to adjust just push a button. I’ve had the camera for about a month now & after I learned how to use it I’m getting nothing short of excellent pictures & video.I highly recommend it but you do have to learn how to use it.

12:54 am - Monday, May 21, 2012

#62 maes

Hi pov, we are here because the most of us had the Tz5/tz7 and thought that changing to tz20 could be an upgrade.  Now, im dissapointed i think that the quality of pictures in tz5 is better than the tz20.   

I must recognize that maybe,  i still need to learn how to use it,  but this is a travel camera,  it should be only… focus… shot… nice pic…  and this is not happening with this camera. 
If you have any recomendation for people like me,  would be appreciated.

Maestrino.

7:51 pm - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

#63 Rick

Thanks for your excellent reviews, I purchased my TZ20 today.  Needing a compact travel camera as an alternative to lugging my full body Nikon with lenses and other parts around. I’m looking forward to playing with this little power house.

2:21 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#64 LT

I purhcased the TZ20 for a trip to Morocco.
I spent ages researching cameras and based a lot of my decision on the reviews. However, i was very disappointed. I found the shutter speed was slow, group shots were always fuzzy. (even when you pressed the shutter down to focus) I found that landscapes were often over exposed on the IA aetting and low light shots were always grainey.
I will be going back to a Cannon shortly.

9:26 am - Friday, November 9, 2012

#65 murat atasoy

But TZ20 has a bad video quality on Dark. my cell phone Sony Ericson Xperia Pro has more clean video on darkness.

9:43 am - Friday, November 9, 2012

#66 Mark

For all of the kids out there depressed from buying the TZ-20 because the audio sucks when recording a concert. Well listen up I’ve fixed the problem. Save MTS video file from camera on desktop. When u play the vid as soon as the drums kick in the sound is terrible. Download pc app called ‘Audacity’. Press record button in audacity then play MTS video file. This will record premium sound from the video. At the end of vid press stop in audacity. Export and save the audio at 320kbps. Open MTS video file in ‘windows movie maker’ , paste saved audio over shitty audio. Now u have good video and audio. Here is sample vid from concert with TZ-20. Enjoy.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOPHcKeeb8A&feature=youtube_gdata_player

11:23 am - Saturday, December 15, 2012

#67 Colin Hay

Hmmm interesting ... used Audacity before - may give it go tomorrow night and see how it goes

12:45 pm - Saturday, December 15, 2012

#68 Keith

So did Audacity help? Not sure how it could, but who knows?

Happy owner of the TZ-7 here and was wondering if its stellar audio had ever been surpassed. It seems not. Didn’t know the TZ-6 was mono though?

My Panasonic 3D1’s audio is decent but certainly not as good…

2:50 am - Wednesday, February 13, 2013

#69 Colin Hay

Interesting ... Sounds like the TZ7 audio might be even better than the TZ10 - in fact there is not much difference between these models except for the GPS and priority modes. If my TZ6 ever bites the dust - and I am getting a fair few audio ‘glitches’ which I have to ‘cut out’ of the mix - then I might try the TZ7 over another TZ10. Yet to try the Audacity ‘fix’ ...

12:49 pm - Wednesday, February 13, 2013

#70 Keith

Yep it seems the TZ7 remains best in class!

So is the audio on the TZ6 really mono ?

6:26 pm - Wednesday, February 13, 2013

#71 Brunnhilde

touch screen problem. Just holding the camera, if any part of your hand touches the touchscreen, whoops, you’ve taken a pic - of your feet, or the floor eg.  How can I disable this feature of the touchscreen -it drives me insane!? 
Brunnhilde

12:25 am - Thursday, March 7, 2013

#72 Colin Hay

On Keith reommendation I bought a second hand TZ7 on ebay and yes - it does appear to tick ALL the boxes for me:

No obvious audio distortion at volume AND Stereo
Sounds better than the TZ10 for sure
HD (720P)
Ability to handle low lighting
Can record for as long as the battery / or card lasts

A definite upgrade from my TZ6
I never use GPS so better than a TZ10 and WAYYY better than a TZ20

If you can find one get one !

2:48 am - Monday, April 29, 2013

#73 Keith

Glad that helped, mine is the Euro version with a 15 minute limitation, but it’s probably enough at the end of the day.

It could be due to my camera (had to be serviced at some point) but I find that it “hunts” a bit in low-light in video mode.

8:44 am - Monday, April 29, 2013

#74 John Burden

What’s best movie-editing software for Panasonic TZ20?  I just want to do simple picture editing. Is there a problem with using the AVCHD format?
Thanks

2:33 pm - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#75 Marinela

I have a question, since I have had a Panasonic Lumix before, how is the durability (wind, water, sand, dust resistance) or the longevity of this camera?

3:51 pm - Sunday, November 10, 2013

#76 Audrey

I have a Panasonic DMC-TZ20. Two months ago I was visiting New York and East Canada and took lots of photos. I just found out that I have deleted many photos by mistake. Is there a free software to download to recover my photos? If yes, could i have the link to the free software?
Thank you

9:44 am - Sunday, September 21, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, wide-angle, beginner, 14 megapixel, manual, touch-screen, travel-zoom, travel, lumix, touchscreen, touch screen, 24mm, 1080i, prosumer, GPS, 3D, 16x zoom, full HD, tz20, dmc-tz20, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ20 Review, zs10, dmc-zs10

Tracker Pixel for Entry